Claims 1-7,12,16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, “a channel disposed” (line 3) 44 is problematic because the channel 44 is part of “a soap container” (line 2) 26. In effect, the soap container 26 includes a soap channel 44 (as expressed in Para 29 of Pub), and thus the claim is claiming the same structure (i.e. the channel 44) twice.
As to claim 3, the disclosed soap level indication system 28 does not comprise the dispenser housing 12 as claimed. The disclosure and drawings indicate that the system 28 is inside of the housing 12. This claim is not consistent with specification and drawings.
As to claim 5, this claim separately calls for “a level indicator” (line 7, claim 1) and “a level indicator plate” (line 1) 74; when in fact the - - level indicator comprises a level indicator plate - - (Para 36 of Pub). In effect, the same structure (i.e. level indicator plate) is mistakenly being twice claimed.
As to claim 12, this claim separately calls for “a level indicator” (line 8, claim 8) and “a level indicator plate” (line 2) 74; when in fact the - - level indicator comprises a level indicator plate - - (Para 36 of Pub). In effect, the same structure (i.e. level indicator plate) is mistakenly being twice claimed.
As to claim 16, “a channel disposed” (line 6) 44 is problematic because the channel 44 is part of “a soap container” (line 4) 26. In effect, the soap container 26 includes a channel 44 (as expressed in Para 29 of Pub), and thus the claim is claiming the same structure (i.e. the channel 44) twice.
As to claim 19, this claim separately calls for “a level indicator” (line 10, claim 16) and “a level indicator plate” (line 1) 74; when in fact the - - level indicator comprises a level indicator plate - - (Para 36 of Pub). In effect, the same structure (i.e. level indicator plate) is mistakenly being twice claimed.
Claim(s) 1,6,7,8,13,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tang et al 113514134.
As to claims 1,6, Tang et al 113514134 teach (Figure 7) a soap (detergent) indication system comprising
a soap container 151 having a main volume surrounded by one or more sidewalls;
a channel disposed along at least one sidewall of the one or more sidewalls, the channel fluidically coupled to the main volume of the soap container via a passage;
a float structure disposed within the channel, the float structure configured to float in a liquid within the soap container; and
a level indicator disposed along an exterior surface of at least one sidewall of the one or more sidewalls, the level indicator disposed adjacent the float structure, the level indicator and the float structure being magnetically coupled to each other so that the level indicator indicates the location of the float structure within the channel.
As to claims 1,6,8,13, the output signal of the sensor indicates location of float as much as is claimed.
` As to claim 7,14, the float is removable as noted by either Figure 6 and 12’ isolated parts.
As to claim 8,
Claim(s) 2,9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tang et al 113514134.
The magnet is in the float structure whose components are otherwise not expressed.
As to claims 2,9, it would have been obvious to employ either adhesive or screw to secure the magnet withing the float, as one of ordinary skill recognizes that such will effectively secure the magnet prior to float attachment, and thereafter.
Claim(s) 1,2,4,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Arija ES 1166083 in view of Guan et al CN 217605089.
Arija teach (figure 1) a tank containing detergent, and sight glass 60.
Arija does not teach sight glass particulars.
Guan et at teach (Figure 1) a sight glass including: channel that includes a soap level indication system comprising:
As to claims 1,6, it would have been obvious to employ Guan’s sight glass in Tang because Guan teaches a glass that can be effectively seen by a viewer.
As to claim 2, the float in the figure has many connected elements.
As to claim 4:
Claim(s) 8,9,11,13,14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Arija ES 1166083 in view of Guan et al CN 217605089.
Arija teach (Figure 1) a soap container and sight glass.
The location of the sight glass relative to walls of the container is not apparent, and particular of the glass are not apparent.
Guan teach (Figure 1) a sight glass that has a float and level indicator 6, and fluid connection for connection to a storage container.
As to claim 8, it would have been obvious to employ Guan’s sight in place of Arija’s because Guan suggests employing a sight glass that provides for a well-lit indicator.
As to claim 9, the float is of many element of construction in Guan.
As to claim 11,13,
As to claim 14, float is removable, as can be seen from bolted top and bottom of pathway.
As to claim 15, the sight glass is tiny relative to the container in Arija, resulting in Guan providing a corner relative to the outline of sides walls in second drawing above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lindstrom et al 110382122 teach (Figure 2) a dispenser 100 that includes a soap container 200 within a housing 116.
Salter et al’s 10300869 magnet holder is within a container 66 having main volume and a channel volume.
Hagleitner EP 3231338 teach a soap dispenser that employs magnet level sensing.
Bjorn WO 2014088482 teach (Figure 3c) teach a flow dispenser employing a floating magnet element 208 traveling down a channel 212 relative to a main volume 207. That element is visually discernable from the outside.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/ROBERT R RAEVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855