DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on June 12, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 13, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Specification:
Applicant amended the specification and addressed all previous objections. The previous objections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b):
Applicant amended the claims to address indefinite language as referenced in all previous 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections. The rejections have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 103:
On pages 8-9 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that D’Ambrosio in view of Higgins does not establish that the references, alone or in combination with each other, teach or suggest the features of all of the limitations of independent claims 1 and 15. Examiner agrees that D’Ambrosio in combination with Higgins does not establish all of the limitations of independent claims 1 and 15. See the new ground of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Ambrosio et al. (US 20170348470 A1, published 12/07/2017, hereinafter known as D'Ambrosio) in view of Higgins (US 20200030510 A1, published 01/30/2020).
Regarding claim 1, D’Ambrosio teaches a pump housing for a blood pump comprising: a distal end portion (shown below in annotated Fig. 5) having a first blood flow opening (input port 111 in Fig. 3, [0044]); a proximal end portion (proximal end 101 in Fig. 5, [0046]); an intermediate portion extending in an axial direction between the distal end portion and the proximal end portion (shown below in annotated Fig. 5), the intermediate portion having at least one second blood flow opening (output port 125 in Fig. 5, [0053]); and a first sensor for sensing at least one first parameter (sensor 1020 in Fig. 5, [0047]); wherein the first sensor is disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the intermediate portion (sensor 1020 in Fig. 5), the second sensor able to sense at least one second parameter comprising pressure at the first blood flow opening (“the sensor 1020 may sense blood pressure, blood flow rate, and/or other parameters” [0047]).
However, D’Ambrosio does not teach wherein the pump housing further comprises a second sensor, disposed on the distal end portion for sensing at least one parameter, and the at least one first parameter of the first sensor comprises aortic pressure.
Higgins teaches an intravascular blood pump comprising a pump assembly without a flow inducer or diffuser, and proximal and distal flow rate or pressure sensors, wherein the distal flow rate or pressure sensor may be tracked distal to the impeller after placement of the blood pump within the patient's vasculature (Abstract). As shown in Fig. 6, at least one distal sensor (sensor 202), which may comprise a pressure sensor or an ultrasonic flow meter, may be initially disposed within or along the blood pump device at a first location ([0041]). Known solutions provide an aortic pressure measurement through a pressure sensor located proximal to the impeller pump housing assembly ([0038]). Output flow is calculated in these known devices based on the aortic pressure, the impeller rotational speed and the motor current ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the blood pump housing with a sensor disposed on the housing of D’Ambrosio with a second sensor placed on the distal end of the blood pump and measurement of aortic pressure of Higgins because the distal positioning of the sensor allows the sensor to be operatively attached to the inlet so that as the inlet moves from a collapsed position to the expanded position, the distal sensor is pulled distally to a point within the left ventricle (Higgins [0042]). Further, blood pumps are typically inserted into the aorta, so this measurement is important to ensure effectiveness of the blood pump device by monitoring output flow.
Regarding claim 7, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the pump housing further comprises a first elongated transmitting device (transmission fiber 1024 in Fig. 5, [0055]), wherein the first sensor comprises a first axial end and a second axial end (sensor 1020 is parallel to longitudinal axis as shown in annotated Fig. 5), and wherein the first elongated transmitting device is coupled to the second axial end of the first sensor (distal end of transmission fiber 1024 is coupled to second axial end of sensor 1020 as shown in annotated Fig. 5, [0066]), the first elongated transmitting device extending to the proximal end portion of the pump housing (transmission fiber 1024 extends proximally towards end 101 as shown in annotated Fig. 5.), wherein the first elongated transmitting device is preferably a cable, a fiber or an optical conductor (“in some implementations, the transmission fiber is an optical fiber” [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the pump housing further comprises a first channel (strut 127 in Fig. 5, [0053]) extending between the intermediate portion and the proximal end portion of the pump housing (strut 127 in Fig. 5, [0053]), wherein the first elongated transmitting device is disposed in the first channel (“transmission fiber 1024 extends along one of the plurality of struts 127 of the blood pump housing component 103”, Fig. 5, [0055]), wherein the first channel is preferably recessed from the outer peripheral surface of the intermediate portion and an outer peripheral surface of the proximal end portion of the pump housing (“recessed in the outflow cage 400 of the blood pump housing component 103” Fig. 5, [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the blood pump housing as described in claim 1, wherein the second sensor comprises a first axial end and a second axial end (sensor 1020 is parallel to longitudinal axis as shown in annotated Fig. 5).
However, D’Ambrosio does not teach the first axial end of the second sensor is flush with the first blood flow opening in a radial direction.
Higgins teaches one proximal pressure or flow rate sensor may be mounted within the blood pump sheath, a region that is generally located within the patient's aorta when operationally positioned (sensor 206 is flush with the proximal end of the blood pump sheath in Fig. 6A, [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the blood pump housing of D’Ambrosio with the placement of the second sensor of Higgins because the sensor can then be in operative connection and communication with the external power source and the controller and adapted to transmit pressure or flow rate data to the controller (Higgins, [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the pump housing further comprising a second elongated transmitting device (transmission fiber 1024 in Fig. 5, [0055]), wherein the second elongated transmitting device is coupled to the second axial end of the second sensor (distal end of transmission fiber 1024 is coupled to second axial end of sensor 1020 as shown in Fig. 5, [0066]), the second elongated transmitting device extending to the proximal end portion of the pump housing (transmission fiber 1024 extends proximally towards end 101 as shown in annotated Fig. 5.), wherein the second elongated transmitting device is preferably a cable, a fiber or an optical conductor (“in some implementations, the transmission fiber is an optical fiber” [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the pump housing further comprises a second channel (strut 127 in Fig. 5, [0053]) extending between the distal end portion and the proximal end portion of the pump housing (strut 127 in Fig. 5, [0053]), wherein the second elongated transmitting device is disposed in the second channel (“transmission fiber 1024 extends along one of the plurality of struts 127 of the blood pump housing component 103”, Fig. 5, [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the first sensor is an optical sensor and/or wherein the second sensor is an optical sensor (“the sensor is an optical sensor that transmits optical signals” [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, D’Ambrosio teaches a pump housing for a blood pump comprising: a distal end portion (shown above in annotated Fig. 5) having a first blood flow opening (input port 11 in Fig. 3, [0044]); a proximal end portion (proximal end 101 in Fig. 5, [0046]); an intermediate portion extending in an axial direction between the distal end portion and the proximal end portion (shown below in annotated Fig. 5), the intermediate portion having at least one second blood flow opening (output port 125 in Fig. 5, [0053]); and a first sensor for sensing at least one first parameter (sensor 1020 in Fig. 5, [0047]); wherein the first sensor is disposed on an outer peripheral surface of the intermediate portion (sensor 1020 in Fig. 5), wherein the pump housing further comprises a second sensor (sensor 1020 in Fig. 5, [0047]), the second sensor able to sense at least one second parameter comprising pressure at the first blood flow opening (“the sensor 1020 may sense blood pressure, blood flow rate, and/or other parameters” [0047]), wherein the blood pump is preferably a catheter pump or an intravascular blood pump (“catheter-based blood pump assembly” [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize two sensors as described in the claimed invention since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success.
However, D’Ambrosio does not teach that the wherein the second sensor is disposed on the distal end portion for sensing at least one parameter, and the at least one first parameter of the first sensor comprises aortic pressure.
Higgins teaches an intravascular blood pump comprising a pump assembly without a flow inducer or diffuser, and proximal and distal flow rate or pressure sensors, wherein the distal flow rate or pressure sensor may be tracked distal to the impeller after placement of the blood pump within the patient's vasculature (Abstract). As shown in Fig. 6, at least one distal sensor (sensor 202), which may comprise a pressure sensor or an ultrasonic flow meter, may be initially disposed within or along the blood pump device at a first location ([0041]). Known solutions provide an aortic pressure measurement through a pressure sensor located proximal to the impeller pump housing assembly ([0038]). Output flow is calculated in these known devices based on the aortic pressure, the impeller rotational speed and the motor current ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the blood pump housing of D’Ambrosio with the distal sensor and measurement of aortic pressure of Higgins because the distal positioning of the sensor allows the sensor to be operatively attached to the inlet so that as the inlet moves from a collapsed position to the expanded position, the distal sensor is pulled distally to a point within the left ventricle (Higgins [0042]). Further, blood pumps are typically inserted into the aorta, so this measurement is important to ensure effectiveness of the blood pump device by monitoring output flow.
Claims 2-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Ambrosio in view of Higgins as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Benkowski et al., (US 5947892 A, published 09/07/1999, hereinafter known as Benkowski).
Regarding claim 2, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches wherein the second sensor is disposed in the thickened portion
However, D’Ambrosio does not teach the distal end portion comprises a thickened portion, the thickened portion, extending radially inwardly from the distal end portion, wherein the distal end portion comprises a cannula attachment portion, the thickened portion extending radially inwardly from the cannula attachment portion.
Benkowski teaches a blood pump that comprises a pump housing having a blood flow path therethrough, a blood inlet, and a blood outlet (Abstract). Downstream end 192 of the outlet housing segment has a tapered thickness (shown in Fig. 6A, Col. 3, lines 37-38). The retaining member preferably has a tapered thickness along its axial length (shown in Fig. 11A, Col. 3, lines 43-44). On the downstream side of the stator housing segment 372 is the outlet housing segment 374, preferably having a diameter substantially the same as the inlet housing segment 370. The pump will typically be implanted with an inlet cannula (shown in Fig. 11A, Col. 15, lines 24-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the blood pump housing of D’Ambrosio with the thickened portion and cannula attachment of Benkowski because the materials that the rotor, rotor blades, and other components are made of need to have sufficient thickness to produce a buoyant effect (Benkowski, Col. 11, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the thickened portion comprises a support recess, wherein the second sensor is disposed in the support recess (“the recess is configured to be wider than the sensor so that the blood can easily flow away”, shown in Fig. 5A, [0060]).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio does not teach the thickened portion tapers in the axial direction from the first blood flow opening to the intermediate portion.
Benkowski teaches the downstream end of the outlet housing segment has a tapered thickness, retaining member preferably has a tapered thickness along its axial length (shown in Fig. 11A, Col. 3, lines 40-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the tapered thickness of Benkowski with the blood pump housing of D’Ambrosio because it allows for reduced turbulence of the blood traveling in the axial direction (Col. 6, lines 29-33).
Regarding claim 5, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches a support member with at least two arm portions is disposed in the distal end portion, wherein one of the at least two arm portions comprises the thickened portion (shown in Fig. 6, [0052])
.
Regarding claim 6, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the support member (support member 110 in Fig. 6, [0044]) comprises a bearing support portion being concentric with the distal end portion (bearing support portion 113 in Fig. 6, [0044]), the at least two arm portions being connected to the bearing support portion (as shown in annotated Fig. 6), wherein the bearing support portion preferably has an axial end facing the first blood flow opening (bearing support position 113 is facing input port 111 as shown in Figs. 3 and 6 [0044]), wherein the axial end of the bearing support portion is preferably displaced axially inwardly from the first blood flow opening into a direction of the intermediate portion (as shown in Fig. 5, [0063]).
Regarding claim 13, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio does not teach the proximal end portion of the pump housing has a smaller diameter than the intermediate portion of the pump housing, wherein the intermediate portion of the pump housing tapers into the proximal end portion of the pump housing.
Benkowski teaches the diameter of the diffuser hub 218 at its upstream end is preferably greater than the diameter of the impeller hub 223, (shown in Fig. 6A, Col. 12, lines 29-34). Inducer hub 221 has a tapered diameter (shown in Fig. 6A, Col. 12, lines 24-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the smaller diameter of the proximal end and tapering of the intermediate portion of the housing of Benkowski with the blood pump housing of D’Ambrosio because this configuration permits the pump, including the stator, to be inserted entirely or nearly entirely into the left ventricle, with only the outlet end of the flow tube outside the wall of the heart (Benkowski, Col. 17, lines 15-19).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Ambrosio in view of Higgins as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Siess et al., (US 20200330666 A1, published 10/22/2020, hereinafter known as Siess).
Regarding claim 12, in the modified device of D’Ambrosio, D’Ambrosio teaches the distal end portion of the pump housing comprises an outer peripheral surface (shown in Fig. 5) and the proximal end portion of the pump housing (shown in Fig. 5) comprises an outer peripheral surface (outflow cage 400 in Fig. 5, [0052]), wherein the second channel is recessed from the outer peripheral surface of the distal end portion, the outer peripheral surface of the intermediate portion, and the outer peripheral surface of the proximal end portion of the pump housing (“the blood pump housing component includes a plurality of blood exhaust windows and a plurality of struts extending between the blood exhaust windows, and the blood recess is positioned in a strut of the plurality of struts in the blood pump housing component”, [0021]).
However, D’Ambrosio does not teach wherein the second channel is lined with a resin, so that the second elongated transmitting device is fixed within the second channel.
Siess teaches an intravascular blood pump comprises a pump casing having a blood flow inlet and a blood flow outlet, and an impeller arranged in said pump casing so as to be rotatable about an axis of rotation (Abstract). Coil windings may be embedded in a thermally conductive matrix; the matrix may comprise an epoxy resin ([0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the coating of resin of Siess with the blood pump housing of D’Ambrosio because this allows for the second transmitting device to be fixed within the second channel and protection of transmitting device ([0038]).
Conclusion
/F.M.K./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796