DETAILED ACTION
CLEANER
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 recites the limitation "rotation member" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interpreting the “rotation member” as the “first rotation member”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-9,11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onishi (US20010023517A1).
Regarding claim 1, Onishi teaches a cleaning module (6, figure 4) which sucks outside air;
a body ( 1, figure 2) which provides a suction force to the cleaning module;
a first rotation member (7, figure 2)which is disposed between the cleaning module and the body and rotates the body about a first rotational axis disposed in one direction (figure 4);
a second rotation member (8, figure 2) which is disposed between the first rotation member and the body and rotates the body about a second rotational axis in a direction intersecting the first rotational axis (figures 6-8); and
a rotation prevention assembly (para 0039-0050) which selectively fixes the first rotation member and the second rotation member,
wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes:
a catching groove (21, figure 5) formed in the first rotation member; and
a fixing member (81, figure 5) which is rotatably coupled to the second rotation member, extends in the direction of gravity, has a portion thereof that is inserted into the catching groove when an angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a first angle, and is not inserted into the catching groove when the angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a second angle (para 0039-0050).
Regarding claim 3, Onishi teaches wherein the fixing member (81, figure 5) extends in the circumferential direction about the second rotational axis (figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Onishi teaches wherein the rotation member (7, figure 5) includes a hollow formed therein in which an air flow path is disposed, andwherein the catching groove (21, figure 5) is disposed on a radially outer side of the hollow.
Regarding claim 5, Onishi teaches wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes: a stopper (81c, figure 5) which is disposed on the second rotation member; and a catching protrusion (25, figure 10)which is disposed on the first rotation member and by which the stopper is caught when the second rotation member is rotated up to a critical angle.
Regarding claim 6, Onishi teaches wherein the stopper (81c, figure 5) is disposed on the fixing member (81, figure 5) and extends in a direction intersecting an extension direction of the fixing member.
Regarding claim 7, Onishi teaches a third rotation member (13, para 0035) of which the
front is rotatably coupled to the cleaning module and which rotates about a third rotational axis intersecting both the second rotational axis and the third rotational axis (para 0034-0041),wherein a front of the third rotation member is rotatably coupled to a rear of the first rotation member, and wherein a front of the second rotation member is rotatably coupled to a rear of the third otation member.
Regarding claim 8, Onishi teaches wherein the first rotational axis is a pitching axis which rotates the body up and down with respect to the cleaning module (para 0035), wherein the second rotational axis is a rolling axis which rotates the body with respect to a moving direction of the cleaning module (para 0034-0041, figure 8 “turning over”) and wherein the third rotational axis is a yawing axis which rotates the body left and right with respect to the cleaning module (para 0035).
Regarding claim 9, Onishi teaches wherein the rotation prevention assembly further comprises an elastic member (22, figure 5) which provides a restoring force in the opposite direction when the third rotation member rotates in one direction.
Regarding claim 11, Onishi teaches a cleaning module (6, figure 4) which sucks outside air;
a rolling axis (para 0034-0041, figure 8) which passes through the cleaning module and is disposed to be able to pitch about a connection point with the cleaning module as a pitching axis;
a body (1, figure 2) which is disposed on the rolling axis, provides a suction force to the cleaning module, and is disposed to be able to roll about the rolling axis; and
a rotation prevention assembly (para 0039-0050) which is disposed between the cleaning module and the body and selectively limits the rolling of the body, wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes: a fixing member (81, figure 5) of which a length direction is disposed in the direction of gravity; and a catching groove (21, figure 5) into which the fixing member is inserted when an angle between the rolling axis and the ground is greater than or equal to a predetermined angle. (para 039-0050)
Regarding claim 12, Onishi teaches wherein the fixing member (81, figures 6-9) is disposed to be able to rotate about a rotation axis parallel to the pitching axis.
Regarding claim 13, Onishi teaches a yawing axis (E; figure 4) which is disposed between the pitching axis and the rolling axis and is disposed perpendicular to both the pitching axis and the rolling axis. (figure 4; para 0035)
Regarding claim 14, Onishi teaches wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes:
a catching protrusion (25, figure 10) which is disposed on a radially outer side of the rolling axis; and a stopper (81c, figure 5) which is disposed in the circumferential direction of the rolling axis from the catching protrusion and is caught by the catching protrusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (KR100768860B1) cited in IDS in view of Henderson (US20120090105A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a cleaning module (110, figure 3)which sucks outside air; a body (2, figure 2) which provides a suction force (“Inside the main body 2, a fan motor (not shown) “) to the cleaning module (110, figure 3);
a first rotation member (120, figure 3) which is disposed between the cleaning module and the body and rotates the body about a first rotational axis (y, figure 3) disposed in one direction;
a second rotation member (140, figure 3) which is disposed between the first rotation member and the body and rotates the body about a second rotational axis (x, figure 3) in a direction intersecting the first rotational axis.
Hwang fails to teach a rotation prevention assembly which selectively fixes the first rotation member and the second rotation member,
wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes:
a catching groove formed in the first rotation member; and a fixing member which is rotatably coupled to the second rotation member, extends in the direction of gravity, has a portion thereof that is inserted into the catching groove when an angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a first angle, and is not inserted into the catching groove when the angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a second angle.
Henderson teaches a surface cleaning device (abstract, figures 1-9, 16-19) that includes a rotation prevention assembly (para 0052-0057) which selectively fixes rotation member (para 0052-0057),
wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes:
a catching groove (236; para 0052-0057) formed in the first member; and a fixing member (206;222 figure 18) which is rotatably coupled to the member, extends in the direction of gravity, has a portion thereof that is inserted into the catching groove when an angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a first angle, and is not inserted into the catching groove when the angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a second angle (para 0052-0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hwang to include a rotation prevention assembly which selectively fixes the first rotation member and the second rotation member, wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes:
a catching groove formed in the first rotation member; and a fixing member which is rotatably coupled to the second rotation member, extends in the direction of gravity, has a portion thereof that is inserted into the catching groove when an angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a first angle, and is not inserted into the catching groove when the angle between the second rotational axis and the ground is a second angle based on the teachings of Henderson. This modification would allow a user to recenter the apparatus after it been rotated by user and selectively prevent rotation. (see Henderson para 0052-0057).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hwang teaches wherein the second rotational axis passes (see Hwang z, figure 3) through the cleaning module and the body.
Regarding claim 3, modified Hwang wherein the fixing member (see Hwang 206, figure 17) extends in the circumferential direction about the second rotational axis
Regarding claim 4, modified Hwang teaches wherein the rotation member includes a hollow formed therein in which an air flow path is disposed, and wherein the catching groove is disposed on a radially outer side of the hollow. (see Hwang 120 figures 3-5)
Regarding claim 5, modified Hwang teaches wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes: a stopper (see Henderson 222, figure 18) which is disposed on the second rotation member; and a catching protrusion (see Henderson 218, figure 18) which is disposed on the first rotation member and by which the stopper is caught when the second rotation member is rotated up to a critical angle.
Regarding claim 6, modified Hwang teaches wherein the stopper is disposed on the fixing member and extends in a direction intersecting an extension direction of the fixing member (see Henderson figure 18).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hwang teaches a third rotation member (see Hwang 130, figure 3) of which the front is rotatably coupled to the cleaning module and which rotates about a third rotational axis (see Hwang z, figure 3) intersecting both the second rotational axis and the third rotational axis,
wherein a front of the third rotation member (see Hwang 140, figure 3) is rotatably coupled to a rear of the first rotation member (see Hwang 120, figure 3), and wherein a front of the second rotation member is rotatably coupled to a rear of the third rotation member (see Hwang 140, figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hwang teaches wherein the first rotational axis is a pitching axis (see Hwang y, figure 3) which rotates the body up and down with respect to the cleaning module, wherein the second rotational axis is a rolling axis (see Hwang x, figure 3) which rotates the body with respect to a moving direction of the cleaning module, and wherein the third rotational axis is a yawing axis (see Hwang z, figure 3) which rotates the body left and right with respect to the cleaning module.
Regarding claim 9, modified Hwang teaches wherein the rotation prevention assembly further
comprises an elastic member (see Henderson 204, figure 18) which provides a restoring force in the opposite direction when the third rotation member rotates in one direction.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hwang teaches wherein the elastic member is a torsion spring (see Henderson para 0055) which is
fixed to the first rotation member and is disposed about the third rotational axis as the center of rotation.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang teaches a cleaning module (110, figure 3) which sucks outside air;
a rolling axis (x, figure 3) which passes through the cleaning module and is disposed to be able to
pitch about a connection point ( Hwang discloses “First, the first connector 120 is connected to the central rear portion of the suction nozzle body 110. The first connecting member 120 allows the connecting portion to pivot (rotate about the y axis on the coordinate axis) in the high and low direction with respect to the suction nozzle body 110. On the other hand, the suction nozzle main body 110 and the first connector 120 are pivotally coupled with respect to the y-axis, so that it is impossible to rotate in the x-axis direction or the z-axis direction. In this aspect, the first connector 120 may be defined as a high and low pivot member.
The first connector 120 is pivotally coupled to the second connector 130 at a rear end thereof. Therefore, the first connecting body 120 and the second connecting body 130 may rotate (yawing) with each other. On the other hand, between the first connector 120 and the second connector 130 is pivotally coupled to the z-axis is impossible to rotate in the x-axis direction or y-axis direction. In this aspect, the second connecting member 130 may be defined as a pivot member.
The second connector 130 is coupled to the third connector 140 at a rear end thereof. The inner circumferential surface of the third connector 140 is coupled with the outer circumferential surface of the second connector 130 so that the third connector 140 is connected to the second connector 130 (as a result, to the suction nozzle body). Rolling around the x axis is possible. On the other hand, since the inner circumference of the third connector 140 is coupled to the outer circumference of the second connector 130, it is impossible to rotate in the y-axis direction or the z-axis direction. In this aspect, the third connecting member 140 may be defined as a roll rotating member”
with the cleaning module as a pitching axis (y, figure 3);
a body (2, figure 2) which is disposed on the rolling axis, provides a suction force (“Inside the main body 2, a fan motor (not shown) “) to the cleaning module, and is disposed to be able to roll about the rolling axis; and
Hwang fails to teach a rotation prevention assembly which is disposed between the cleaning module and the body and selectively limits the rolling of the body, wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes: a fixing member of which a length direction is disposed in the direction of gravity; and a catching groove into which the fixing member is inserted when an angle between the rolling axis and the ground is greater than or equal to a predetermined angle.
Henderson teaches a cleaning apparatus (abstract) that includes a rotation prevention assembly(para 0052-0057) which is disposed between a cleaning module (12g, figure 16) and the body and selectively limits the rolling of the body, wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes: a fixing member (206, 22, figure 18) of which a length direction is disposed in the direction of gravity; and a catching groove (236, figure 18; para 0052-0057) into which the fixing member is inserted when an angle between the rolling axis and the ground is greater than or equal to a predetermined angle. (para 0052-0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hwang to a rotation prevention assembly which is disposed between the cleaning module and the body and selectively limits the rolling of the body, wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes: a fixing member of which a length direction is disposed in the direction of gravity; and a catching groove into which the fixing member is inserted when an angle between the rolling axis and the ground is greater than or equal to a predetermined angle based on the teachings of Henderson. This modification would allow a user to recenter the apparatus after it been rotated by user and selectively prevent rotation. (see Henderson para 0052-0057).
Regarding claim 12, modified Hwang teaches wherein the fixing member (see Henderson para 0052-0058) is disposed to be able to rotate about a rotation axis parallel to the pitching axis.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hwang teaches a yawing axis (see Hwang z, figure 3) which is disposed between the pitching axis (see Hwang y, figure 3) and the rolling axis (see Hwang x, figure 3) and is disposed perpendicular to both the pitching axis and the rolling axis.
Regarding claim 14, modified Hwang teaches wherein the rotation prevention assembly includes a catching protrusion (see Henderson 218, figure 18) which is disposed on a radially outer side of the rolling axis; and a stopper (see Henderson 222, figure 18) which is disposed in the circumferential direction of the rolling axis from the catching protrusion and is caught by the catching protrusion.
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723