RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
This Action is in response to the Amendment for Application Number 18717837 received on 11/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This application claims foreign priority to 20210100868, filed 12/10/2021 and PCT/EP2022/051966, filed 1/27/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiebaut et al. (US 20230388386) in view of 3GPP (3GPP, "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Architecture enhancements for 5G System (5GS) to support network data analytics services (Release17)", 3GPP TS 23.288 V17.1.0, June 2021, pages 1-192; See IDS, filed 6/07/2024, Non-Patent Literature Documents, Cite No. 9) and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20220330303).
Regarding claim 1, Thiebaut disclosed an apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory (Thiebaut, [0048], “combinations of circuits and computer program product(s) comprising software and/or firmware instructions stored on one or more computer readable memories that work together to cause an apparatus to perform one or more functions”; See also [0049]-[0051]); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Thiebaut, [0048], “microprocessor(s)”; See also [0049]-[0051]) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a subscription request from a second network device, wherein the subscription request comprises a request to receive analytics for an analytics event, the analytics event comprising a target ID (Thiebaut, [0097], “In FIG. 8, 610 1a and 616 3a are analytics subscription/info request/responses between NWDAF Service consumer or AF 602 and NWDAF 606. 610 1b, 616 1c and 616 3b, 616 3c are analytics subscription/info request/response by AF 602 via NEF 604.”; [0098], “the NWDAF 606 receives, from a network function consumer or an application function (e.g., NWDAF Service consumer or AF 602) in a communications system, an analytics subscription request comprising one or more subscriber categories and/or one or more allowed services as shown by 610 1a. In response, the NWDAF 606 is configured to cause transmission of an event exposure request (e.g., request 612 of FIG. 8) to at least one network function such as NEF 608”; [0085], “target identifier” is added to the AF request for provisioning analytics subscription information); and
transmit a subscription response corresponding to the subscription request (Thiebaut, [0097]-[0098], “In FIG. 8, 610 1a and 616 3a are analytics subscription/info request/responses between NWDAF Service consumer or AF 602 and NWDAF 606. 610 1b, 616 1c and 616 3b, 616 3c are analytics subscription/info request/response by AF 602 via NEF 604.”; See Fig. 8, 616 3a and 3b).
Thiebaut additionally disclosed, in response to the subscription request, the NWDAF is configured to collect data specific to user equipment corresponding to the one or more subscriber categories and/or the one or more allowed services from other network functions” (Thiebaut, [0098]).
However, Thiebaut did not explicitly disclose obtaining a first set of data related to the slice from at least one data producing entity; and
determining application data analytics for the slice corresponding to the subscription request and based on a second set of data.
In an analogous art, 3GPP disclosed wherein the analytics event is related to application server performance predictions or statistics, application session performance predictions or statistics, predictions for a slice, or a combination thereof (3GPP, page 165, Figure 6.14.4-1, Element 2c, NWDAF derives requested analytics for an Application; page 166, “The procedure illustrated in figure 6.14.4-1 allows an analytics consumer to request Analytics ID "DN Performance" for a particular Application. The analytics consumer includes the Application ID for which DN Performance is requested. The consumer indicates the Target of Analytics Reporting (e.g. "any UE") and may include as Analytic Filter information the UPF anchor ID, DNAI, or Application Server instance that DN performance analytics are requested.”);
transmit a subscription response corresponding to the subscription request (3GPP, page 165, Figure 6.14.4-1, Element 3, “Nndwaf_AnalayticsInfo_Request Response”; page 166, “3. NWDAF provides the data analytics, to the analytics consumer by means of either Nnwdaf _ Analyticsinfo Request response or Nnwdaf _ AnalyticsSubscription Notify, depending on the service used in step 1.”; See page, 26, 6.1.3, See "Note 1", Analytics Reporting Parameters may indicate periodic reporting, thereby including multiple rounds of reporting. “Nndwaf_AnalayticsInfo_Request Response” therefore be provided periodically after estimating the DN Performance for the application in 2b-c);
obtain a first set of data related to the slice from at least one data producing entity (3GPP, page 165, Figure 6.14.4-1, Element 2b; page 166, “2b. NWDAF subscribes to the network data from 5GC NF(s) defined in table 6.14.2-2 by invoking Nnf_EventExposure Subscribe service. 2c. With the collected data, the NWDAF estimates the DN Performance for the application.”); and
determine application data analytics for the slice corresponding to the subscription request and based on a second set of data (page 166, “2c. With the collected data, the NWDAF estimates the DN Performance for the application”, which corresponds to the subscription request recited in element “1.” Using the specific parameters requested; See “3. NWDAF provides the data analytics, to the analytics consumer”).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Thiebaut and 3GPP, as Thiebaut explicitly suggests the use of 3GPP Releases, and as such, the motivation to combine is found within the reference.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the procedures to request DN Performance Analytics for an Application within the teachings of Thiebaut in order to improve upon Thieabaut’s technique for data collection and analytics, as well as on demand provisioning of analytics to consumers, making the system more desirable to use by its customers.
Thiebaut and 3GPP additionally disclosed that the target identifier in the analytics request includes "allowed services" and "subscriber categories", both of which describe the type of analytics requested. For example, identifying a subscriber category amounts to identifying target UEs that "belong to a certain subscriber category” (Thiebaut, [0082]) and therefore identifies the type of analytics requested.
However, Thiebaut and 3GPP did not explicitly disclose the analytics event comprising an analytics event identifier (ID), an analytics type of event.
In an analogous art, Zhao disclosed receiving a subscription request from a second network device, wherein the subscription request comprises a request to receive analytics for an analytics event, the analytics event comprising an analytics event identifier (ID), an analytics type of event, and a target ID (Zhao, [0078], “The monitoring events subscription request can include the information related to the events that the VAL server is interested in. In some embodiments, the monitoring events subscription request can include one or more of the following information elements: (1) a list of VAL users or VAL UEs for which the events monitoring is requested. (2) A list of monitoring and/or analytics events that the VAL server is interested in“; [0099], “The network connection status information request (also referred to as a monitoring event subscription request for network connection status information) can indicate one or more target VAL UEs for which the network connection status information is requested”; [0100] “the network connection status information request may indicate what types of network connection status are to be monitored”; Zhao’s list of VAL users or VAL UEs amount to target identifiers, Zhao’s list of analytics events amount to analytic event identifiers; Zhao’s “types of network connection status” amount to analytics type of event).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Thiebaut and 3GPP with Zhao, as they all relate to analytics request technology, and are therefore within similar environments.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include Zhao’s specific analytics request functionality within the teachings of Thiebaut and 3GPP in order to improve upon their combined technique for data collection and analytics, as well as on demand provisioning of analytics, making the system more desirable to use by its customers.
Claim 15 recites a method of performing a network function with limitations that are substantially similar to the limitations of claim 1. As Thiebaut in view of 3GPP disclosed an apparatus performing such limitations/steps, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale applied above.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1 and method of claim 15, wherein the apparatus/network function comprises an application enablement unit (Thiebaut, [0060]-[0061], Thiebaut disclosed the DN 116 or CN 101 can be in communication with an Application Server (AS) or Application Function (AF) 112; See also Fig. 8m NQDAF in communication with NWDAF Service Consumer OR AF at 602; Thiebaut therefore disclosed NWDAF including the software components for application enablement). See motivation to combine above.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1 and method of claim 15, wherein the second network device comprises an application analytics consumer (Thiebaut, Fig. 8, 602 “NWDAF Service Consumer OR AF”). See motivation to combine above.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1 and method of claim 15, wherein the at least one data producing entity comprises an operations and management (OAM) function, a network data analytics function (NWDAF), or a combination thereof (3GPP, page 57, 6.2.3.1, “The NWDAF may collect relevant management data from the services in the OAM”). See motivation to combine above.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1 and method of claim 15, wherein the first set of data comprises slice related analytics, performance data, slice enabler data, or a combination thereof (3GPP, page 165 Element 1, and relevant section on page 166, See also page 164, 6.14.3 Output Analytics which includes two tables 6.14.3-1 and 6.14.3-2, which includes slice related analytic data). See motivation to combine above.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 5 and method of claim 19, wherein the slice related analytics is received from a network data analytics function (NWDAF) (3GPP, page 36-37, 6.1A.1, “In a multiple NWDAF deployment scenario, an NWDAF instance may be specialized to provide Analytics for one or more Analytics IDs”, and “An NWDAF may have the capability to support the aggregation of Analytics (per analytics ID) received from other NWDAFs, possibly with Analytics generated by itself”). See motivation to combine above.
Regarding claim 7, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the performance data is received from an operations and management (OAM) function (3GPP, page 57, 6.2.3.1, “The NWDAF may collect relevant management data from the services in the OAM”). See motivation to combine above.
Regarding claim 8, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the slice enabler data is received from a network slice capability enablement (NSCE) function (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 5, the “slice enabler data” is listed in the alternative, and not selected to meet the requirements of claim 5 in the rejection. As the entirety of claim 8 is directed to further describing the “slice enabler data”, claim 8 is met by the same citations provided by claim 5; 3GPP, page 165 Element 1, and relevant section on page 166, See also page 164, 6.14.3 Output Analytics which includes two tables 6.14.3-1 and 6.14.3-2, which includes slice related analytic data). See motivation to combine above.
Regarding claim 9, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second set of data comprises a subset of the first set of data determined based on the subscription request (3GPP, page 37, 3GPP disclosed the utilization of an Analytic Filter for multiple NWDAFs and then Aggregate Analytics Outputs; Additionally, page 166, “2c. With the collected data, the NWDAF estimates the DN Performance for the application.” Estimating the DN Performance from the collected data amounts to a subset of the collected data).
Regarding claim 10, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to configure the second set of data based on the first set of data (3GPP, page 165, “2c. With the collected data, the NWDAF estimates the DN Performance for the application.”; Estimating the DN Performance from the collected data amounts to a configuring a second set of the collected data).
Regarding claim 12, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the application data analytics comprise analytics for end to end application server performance sustainability, end to end application session performance sustainability, or a combination thereof (3GPP, page 107, 6.6 Network Performance Analytics, page 108, 6.6.3 Output Analytics, both tables providing output analytics that may be for end to end application server performance sustainability, end to end application session performance sustainability).
Regarding claim 13, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to send an application analytics output to the second network device (3GPP, page 166, “3. NWDAF provides the data analytics, to the analytics consumer by means of either Nnwdaf_Analyticsinfo Request response or Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription Notify, depending on the service used in step 1.”).
Regarding claim 14, Thiebaut, 3GPP, and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the subscription request comprises a target vertical application layer (VAL) user equipment (UE) ID, a VAL session ID, a VAL server ID, a VAL application ID, a time validity, an area, a confidence level, permissions, subscriptions, whether offline analytics are needed,whether online analytics are needed, an exposure level, analytics constraints, or a combination thereof (Zhao, [0078], “The monitoring events subscription request can include the information related to the events that the VAL server is interested in. In some embodiments, the monitoring events subscription request can include one or more of the following information elements: (1) a list of VAL users or VAL UEs for which the events monitoring is requested. (2) A list of monitoring and/or analytics events that the VAL server is interested in“; [0099], “The network connection status information request (also referred to as a monitoring event subscription request for network connection status information) can indicate one or more target VAL UEs for which the network connection status information is requested”; [0100] “the network connection status information request may indicate what types of network connection status are to be monitored”).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiebaut et al. (US 20230388386) in view of 3GPP (3GPP, "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Architecture enhancements for 5G System (5GS) to support network data analytics services (Release17)", 3GPP TS 23.288 V17.1.0, June 2021, pages 1-192; See IDS, filed 6/07/2024, Non-Patent Literature Documents, Cite No. 9) in view of Zhao et al. (US 20220330303) and further in view of Anastasopoulos et al. (“AI and ML – Enablers for Beryond 5G Networks”, 5G PPP Technology Board, May 11, 2021, pages 1-145, See IDS submitted 6/07/2024, Cite No 4).
Regarding claim 11, Thiebaut, 3GPP and Zhao disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, but did not explicitly disclose wherein the application data analytics is determined based on a regression method, an artificial intelligence (AI) method, a machine language (ML) method, or a combination thereof.
Anastasopoulos dislosed wherein the application data analytics is determined based on a regression method, an artificial intelligence (AI) method, a machine language (ML) method, or a combination thereof (Anastasopoulos, page 99-100, “the functionality of the NWDAF is of great importance to the optimization of the control and management functions and the overall performance of the network. Three major aspects are key to the realization of NWDAF solutions:” and “Selection of the Machine Learning model, which can best fit the target intelligent optimization target and data characteristics and behaivior (e.g. RL, DRL, RNN, game theory, etc.”)).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Thiebaut, 3GPP and Zhao and Anastasopoulos as they all disclose technigues involving data analytics, and as such, they are within similar environments.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate Anastasopoulos teachings within the combined teachings of Thiebaut, 3GPP and Zhao in order to achieve a best fit for the target intelligent optimization target and data characteristics and behavior, better satisfying consumer requests, thereby improving customer desirability of use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 11/25/2025 have been carefully considered but they are not deemed fully persuasive.
It is noted that the amendments to Independent claims 1 and 15 change the scope of the invention, requiring further search and/or consideration.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 15, Applicant presents an argument directed to the amended limitation, “receive a subscription request from a second network device, wherein the subscription request comprises a request to receive analytics for an analytics event, the analytics event comprising an analytics event identifier (ID), an analytics type of event, and a target ID” [Response, 8].
With respect to the above limitation, Applicant asserts that the cited prior art “does not disclose or require a subscription request containing all three distinct components of an event identifier, event type, and target ID in a single structured message” [Response, 8].
In response to Applicant’s argument, Examiner notes that the limitation does not define the recited “subscription request” to comprise “an analytics event identifier (ID), an analytics type of event, and a target ID”. There are no requirements in the claim as to what makes up the subscription request other than comprising a request to receive analytics for an analytics event. While the limitation further defines the analytics event to comprise “an analytics event identifier (ID), an analytics type of event, and a target ID”, such does not in any way require or define the recited “subscription request “to include these elements. Therefore, the argument does not appear consistent with the limitation as recited.
Regardless, as shown in the above rejection, the combination of references disclosed the limitation as claimed.
Specifically, Thiebaut disclosed receiving a subscription request from a second network device, wherein the subscription request comprises a request to receive analytics for an analytics event, the analytics event comprising a target ID (Thiebaut, [0097], “In FIG. 8, 610 1a and 616 3a are analytics subscription/info request/responses between NWDAF Service consumer or AF 602 and NWDAF 606. 610 1b, 616 1c and 616 3b, 616 3c are analytics subscription/info request/response by AF 602 via NEF 604.”; [0098], “the NWDAF 606 receives, from a network function consumer or an application function (e.g., NWDAF Service consumer or AF 602) in a communications system, an analytics subscription request comprising one or more subscriber categories and/or one or more allowed services as shown by 610 1a. In response, the NWDAF 606 is configured to cause transmission of an event exposure request (e.g., request 612 of FIG. 8) to at least one network function such as NEF 608”; [0085], “target identifier” is added to the AF request for provisioning analytics subscription information).
Additionally, the newly applied reference, Zhao et al. (US 20220330303) disclosed that which is required by the claim. Specifically, as claimed, Zhao disclosed receiving a subscription request from a second network device, wherein the subscription request comprises a request to receive analytics for an analytics event, the analytics event comprising an analytics event identifier (ID), an analytics type of event, and a target ID (Zhao, [0078], “The monitoring events subscription request can include the information related to the events that the VAL server is interested in. In some embodiments, the monitoring events subscription request can include one or more of the following information elements: (1) a list of VAL users or VAL UEs for which the events monitoring is requested. (2) A list of monitoring and/or analytics events that the VAL server is interested in“; [0099], “The network connection status information request (also referred to as a monitoring event subscription request for network connection status information) can indicate one or more target VAL UEs for which the network connection status information is requested”; [0100] “the network connection status information request may indicate what types of network connection status are to be monitored”; Zhao’s list of VAL users or VAL UEs amount to target identifiers, Zhao’s list of analytics events amount to analytic event identifiers; Zhao’s “types of network connection status” amount to analytics type of event).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY B DENNISON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409