Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 14 -17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019/212282 to Jung (the art rejection is made based on the respective issued US Patent 11,535,975) in view of KR 2012 0014429 to Kim.
In Reference to Claims 1, 2 and 3
Jung discloses method for controlling a clothes dryer, wherein the clothes dryer comprises a drum driven by a drum motor (Fig. 3A, 361) and a fan (Fig. 3A, 302) driven by a fan motor (Fig. 3A, 362), and the method comprises: controlling the drum motor to rotate according to a preset rotation speed value to drive the drum (Fig. 18, Step S402); acquiring a weight value in the drum (Fig. 18, Step S403) and controlling (Fig. 18, Step S404) the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan to provide dry airflow for the clothes,
Jung does not teach the detail of step of rotating the blower with respect to the load in the drum.
Kim teaches wherein the larger the weight value, the larger the target rotation speed value; or the smaller the weight value, the smaller the target rotation speed value. (When the weight of the object to be dried is greater than the preset reference weight, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor (rpm) is controlled to increase so as to increase the air volume of the blower fan. When the weight of the object to be dried is less than the reference weight, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor is controlled to decrease so as to reduce the amount of wind in the blower fan.)
the weight value of the clothes comprises an initial weight value of the clothes (Kim teaches there is a preset reference weight); determining the target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the weight value comprises determining a fixed target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the initial weight value (Kim teaches the rotation of blower is determined by the weight of the object); and controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan comprises controlling the fan motor to rotate at a fixed speed according to the fixed target rotation speed value to drive the fan. (Kim teaches the rotation of the blower is determined by the weight of object to be dried)
the weight value of the clothes comprises a real- time weight value of the clothes (Kim teaches the weight of object is measured by weight sensoring means); determining the target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the weight value comprises determining a real-time target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the real- time weight value (As taught by Kim, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor is controlled based on the weight of the object to be measured); and controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan comprises controlling the fan motor to rotate at a variable speed according to the real-time target rotation speed value to drive the fan. (Kim teaches the comparing the real weight and a stored reference weight to rotate the blower motor.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Kim into the design of Jung. Doing so, would result in the control method of Kim being integrated into the system of Jung to control the operation of the device of Jung. Both inventions of Jung and Kim are in the same field of endeavor, a dryer with heat pump, Kim teaches a method of supply an efficient variable blowing amount according to a variable energy requiring amount (Abstract of Kim).
In Reference to Claim 7
Jung discloses acquiring the weight value of the clothes in the drum comprises: acquiring at least one of load power of the drum motor or load current of the drum motor; and determining the weight value of the clothes based on the at least one of the load power or the load current. (Jung discloses the control unit 380 may detect the weight of fabric accommodated in the drum using information sensed by the sensing unit 340, the unit 340 measures the current flow to motor.)
In Reference to Claim 8
Jung discloses controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan to provide the dry airflow for the clothes comprises: starting a heater and controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan to provide the dry airflow for the clothes.
In Reference to Claim 9
Jung discloses controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan (Fig. 17, S802) to provide the dry airflow for the clothes comprises: starting a heater (Fig. 17, S803, driving the compressor of the heat pump) and controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value (Fig. 17, S803) to drive the fan to provide the dry airflow for the clothes.
In Reference to Claims 14, 16-17
Jung discloses a clothes dryer, comprising a memory, a processor, ( Jung discloses the clothing treatment apparatus and the control method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented as computer-readable codes on a medium in which a program is written The computer-readable media may include any types of recording devices in which data readable by a computer system is stored. Examples of the computer-readable media may include ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, magnetic tape) a drum driven by a drum motor (Fig. 3A, 361), a fan driven by a fan motor (Fig. 3A, 362), and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor (Fig. 3A, 380), wherein the processor is configured to, when executing the computer program, perform the following: controlling the drum motor (Fig. 5, Step S52) to rotate according to a preset rotation speed value to drive the drum;
acquiring a weight value of clothes in the drum (Fig. 18, Step S403); determining a target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the weight value (Fig. 18, S404);
Jung discloses control the blower fan based on the load condition of the dryer.
Jung does not teach the detail of the operation method.
Kim teaches wherein the larger the weight value, the larger the target rotation speed value; or the smaller the weight value, the smaller the target rotation speed value. (When the weight of the object to be dried is greater than the preset reference weight, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor (rpm) is controlled to increase so as to increase the air volume of the blower fan. When the weight of the object to be dried is less than the reference weight, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor is controlled to decrease so as to reduce the amount of wind in the blower fan.)
the weight value of the clothes comprises an initial weight value of the clothes (Kim teaches there is a preset reference weight); determining the target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the weight value comprises determining a fixed target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the initial weight value (Kim teaches the rotation of blower is determined by the weight of the object); and controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan comprises controlling the fan motor to rotate at a fixed speed according to the fixed target rotation speed value to drive the fan. (Kim teaches the rotation of the blower is determined by the weight of object to be dried)
the weight value of the clothes comprises a real- time weight value of the clothes (Kim teaches the weight of object is measured by weight sensoring means); determining the target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the weight value comprises determining a real-time target rotation speed value of the fan motor based on the real- time weight value (As taught by Kim, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor is controlled based on the weight of the object to be measured); and controlling the fan motor to rotate according to the target rotation speed value to drive the fan comprises controlling the fan motor to rotate at a variable speed according to the real-time target rotation speed value to drive the fan. (Kim teaches the comparing the real weight and a stored reference weight to rotate the blower motor.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Kim into the design of Jung. Doing so, would result in the control method of Kim being integrated into the system of Jung to control the operation of the device of Jung. Both inventions of Jung and Kim are in the same field of endeavor, a dryer with heat pump, Kim teaches a method of supply an efficient variable blowing amount according to a variable energy requiring amount (Abstract of Kim).
In Reference to Claim 21
Jung discloses acquiring the weight value of the clothes in the drum comprises: acquiring at least one of load power of the drum motor or load current of the drum motor; and determining the weight value of the clothes based on the at least one of the load power or the load current. (Jung discloses the control unit 380 may detect the weight of fabric accommodated in the drum using information sensed by the sensing unit 340, the unit 340 measures the current flow to motor.)
In Reference to Claim 15
Jung discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor (Jung discloses the clothing treatment apparatus and the control method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented as computer-readable codes on a medium in which a program is written The computer-readable media may include any types of recording devices in which data readable by a computer system is stored. Examples of the computer-readable media may include ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, magnetic tape) , causes the processor to perform the following: controlling a drum motor to rotate according to a preset rotation speed value to drive a drum (Fig. 3A, 361); acquiring a weight value of clothes in the drum (Fig. 18, S403); determining a target rotation speed value of a fan motor based on the weight value (Fig. 18, S404);
Jung does not teach the detailed operation steps.
Kim teaches wherein the larger the weight value, the larger the target rotation speed value; or the smaller the weight value, the smaller the target rotation speed value. (When the weight of the object to be dried is greater than the preset reference weight, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor (rpm) is controlled to increase so as to increase the air volume of the blower fan. When the weight of the object to be dried is less than the reference weight, the fan speed of the blower fan driving motor is controlled to decrease so as to reduce the amount of wind in the blower fan.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Kim into the design of Jung. Doing so, would result in the control method of Kim being integrated into the system of Jung to control the operation of the device of Jung. Both inventions of Jung and Kim are in the same field of endeavor, a dryer with heat pump, Kim teaches a method of supply an efficient variable blowing amount according to a variable energy requiring amount (Abstract of Kim).
In Reference to Claim 20
The combination of Jung and Kim teaches a method of rotating fan based on the measured load.
The combination of Jung and Kim does not teach the function of the control method.
The Office considers “the preset function comprises a linear function or a quadratic" as functional language. The use of the function language only requires that apparatus is capable of performing the function, and does not add any specific structural limitations to the apparatus. Since the combination of Jung and Kim as applied to Claim 14 already teaches the a processor controlling individual motor to operate motor and blower, it must provide mathematical function with meets the functional limitation. Furthermore, “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.”
Jung discloses acquiring the weight value of the clothes in the drum comprises: acquiring at least one of load power of the drum motor or load current of the drum motor; and determining the weight value of the clothes based on the at least one of the load power or the load current. (Jung discloses the control unit 380 may detect the weight of fabric accommodated in the drum using information sensed by the sensing unit 340, the unit 340 measures the current flow to motor.)
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jung and Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of EP3252211 to Garzena.
In Reference to Claims 4 and 5
Jung discloses the drum motor is driven by drum motor (Fig. 3A, Step 361, and Step 301) and according to preset ration speed value (Fig. 17, drive in the first operation mode)
Jung does not teach the drum can be driven backward and forward.
Garzena teaches the “Preferably, the speed of the drum and/or the process air fan is adjustable. Synchronous rotation of the drum includes a forward and backward rotation according to the motor forward and backward rotation”
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Garzena into the combination of Kim and Jung as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in the drum could be driven backward as well as forward as being taught by Garzena. Both inventions of Garzena and Jung are in the same field of endeavor, Garzena teaches the method of optimizing the drying process by synchronizing the fan motor and the drum motor with predictable result of success.
Claim 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jung and Kim as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Garzena.
In Reference to Claims 18 and 19
Jung discloses the drum motor is driven by drum motor (Fig. 3A, Step 361, and Step 301) and according to preset ration speed value (Fig. 17, drive in the first operation mode)
Jung does not teach the drum can be driven backward and forward.
Garzena teaches the “Preferably, the speed of the drum and/or the process air fan is adjustable. Synchronous rotation of the drum includes a forward and backward rotation according to the motor forward and backward rotation”
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Garzena into the combination of Kim and Jung as applied to Claim 1. Doing so, would result in the drum could be driven backward as well as forward as being taught by Garzena. Both inventions of Garzena and Jung are in the same field of endeavor, Garzena teaches the method of optimizing the drying process by synchronizing the fan motor and the drum motor with predictable result of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6 recites method of controlling is a linear function or q quadratic function. Claim 8 recites the controlling is based on the clothes collision frequency and the clothing collision amplitude. Claim 10 recites the method including when the temperature of cloth meet preset value, turn off the heater and controlling the fan motor. Claim 11 and 12 recites a plurality of fans, determining a target fan and control the target fan rotation speed.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 10/6/26