DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
This application is a 371 of PCT/IB2022/061806 filed on December 6, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 7, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 should depend from claim 9 since claim 8 is canceled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 should depend from claim 9 since claim 11 is canceled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 17 should depend from claim 9 since claim 16 is canceled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peart (WO 2010/012989).
In regards to claim 1, Peart teaches an overhead line clamp (1; figure 1) securable to an overhead line (cable or wire; page 1, lines 1-5), the overhead line clamp (1) comprising: pincer members (12); a hinge (9, 16) to enable the pincer members (12) to actuate between an open position and a closed position (see open and closed positions in figure 13 (open) and 14 (closed)), wherein at the closed position (figure 14) the pincer members (12) are configured to secure the overhead line (6); and a hand-operable latch (18) configured to actuate the pincer members (12) between the open position and the closed position (figures 13, 14).
In regards to claim 2, Peart teaches the overhead line clamp of claim 1, wherein the hand-operable latch (18) comprises a hand-operable lever (20).
In regards to claim 3, Peart teaches the overhead line clamp of claim 1, wherein the hand-operable latch (18) is a bistable latch mechanism (manual operation vs. spring operation).
In regards to claim 5, Peart teaches the overhead line clamp of any preceding claim1,wherein the hand-operable latch (18) further comprises a catch (33) that is engageable when the pincer members (12) are actuated at the closed position (see figure 14) to inhibit movement of the pincer members (12) away from the closed position (figure 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peart (WO 2010/012989) in view of Chandler (US 1,461,752).
In regards to claim 6, Peart teaches the overhead line clamp of any preceding claim1.
Peart does not explicitly teach electrically conductive material to form an electrical connection between a socket of the overhead line clamp and the pincer members.
Chandler teaches electrically conductive material to form an electrical connection between a socket of the overhead line clamp and the pincer members (elec- trio conductors and particularly that class of supports used for suspending a trolley wire or conductor from an overhead hanger, page 1, lines 9-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included in the teaching of Peart the electrically conductive material to form an electrical connection between a socket of the overhead line clamp and the pincer members as taught by Chandler to support for elec- trio conductors and particularly that class of supports used for suspending a trolley wire or conductor from an overhead hanger and to produce a device which will, be simple, efficient, easy of installation and operation (page 1, lines 5-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 9-10, 12-14, 17 and 19-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attachment of the USPTO-892 form.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848