DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 06/07/2024
Claims 1-14,17-18 and 20-23 are pending in this action. Claims 1, 9, 17, and 18 are independent
Claims 15, 16, and 19 are cancelled
This application claims the benefit of priority of PCT/CN2021/136886 filed on 12/09/2021
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/30/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the 06/07/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 10 and 12 recite the limitation “in response to”. The “in response to” clauses indicates that the associated limitations occur only when the criteria of these clauses are met. However, the present claims never affirmatively require such events to occur. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations does not require these conditional steps to be performed. See Ex parte Schulhauser, 2013-007847 (PTAB 2016) (precedential) (MPEP 2111.04 II) where the board held that when method steps are to be carried out only upon the occurrence of a condition precedent, the broadest reasonable interpretation holds that those steps are not required to be performed. As such, the limitations preceding and followed by “in response to” clause do not appear to have patentable weight since they are contingent upon a condition occurring. Examiner suggests for example, for claim 5, “determining the first search space is a paging search space; scrambling, in response to the determining the first search space is a paging search space, a channel for transmitting the DCI for carrying the PEI using a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)” and similar for claims 2, 3, 7, 10 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-14, 17-18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20220046585, filed on 2021-08-02 (hereinafter Wu) in view of Fu et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20190141711, published on 2019-05-09 (hereinafter Fu).
As for independent claim 1, Wu discloses a system and method for determining downlink control information (DCI), performed by a network device, comprising: wherein the first search space is a search space for transmitting the DCI for carrying the PEI.
(Wu paragraphs [0206] and [0209] disclose a network device (base station) using a DCI carrying a PEI in a search space, “It can be understood that the embodiments of the disclosure provide a variety of specific implementations of a DCI carrying a PEI, so that the DCI carrying a PEI is more diverse, which can be flexibly selected and used by the base station according to needs, and when indicated by a 1-bit field, it can further save system overhead and reduce system power consumption…. The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1.”)
Wu does not appear to discloses a system and method comprising determining, based on a first search space, a number of bits of DCI.
However, Fu discloses a system and method comprising determining, based on a first search space, a number of bits of DCI.
(Fu paragraph [0060] discloses a device determining the number of bits by having it equal the number of bits of another DCI, “the number of bits of the DCI for the fallback transmission mode may be same as that of the UE-group DCI. Thus, the fallback transmission mode may use the UE specific search space.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
invention to combine Fu with Wu “so as to further reduce the number of times of blind detection”, Fu [0061].
As for claim 4, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method wherein the method further comprises: generating the DCI for carrying the PEI; sending the DCI for carrying the PEI to a user equipment through the first search space.
(Wu paragraph [0199] discloses a base station defining a DCI (same as generating) and transmitting it, “a PEI is carried by a DCI, that is, the base station carries a PEI by transmitting a PDCCH, and the terminal receives the PEI by monitoring the PDCCH. For example, the system defines a dedicated DCI for indicating a PEI”, and FIG 27 and 28 show the DCI is transmitted to a UE.)
As for claim 5, the limitations of the parent claim 4 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method wherein the sending the DCI for carrying the PEI to the user equipment through the first search space comprises: scrambling, in response to the first search space being a paging search space, a channel for transmitting the DCI for carrying the PEI using a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); wherein, the first RNTI is different from a second RNTI for scrambling a channel for transmitting the Paging DCI.
(Wu paragraphs [0208] and [0209] disclose the PEI and paging search space being the same scrambling a channel (called a CRC) using an RNTI different from the paging RNTI (called P-RNTI), “the above DCI carrying a PEI can scramble the CRC with a RNTI value fixed with a whole network fixed RNTI value different from that of the PDCCH used for scheduling paging messages, and the whole network uses a fixed RNTI value similar to P-RNTI used for paging messages and SI-RNTI used for system information. For example, the above PDCCH carrying a PEI uses PEI-RNTI (the corresponding hexadecimal value is fixed as EEFD) to scramble the CRC…. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace)”)
As for claim 6, the limitations of the parent claim 5 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method wherein the first RNTI is a paging early indication-radio network temporary identifier (PEI-RNTI).
(Wu paragraph [0208] discloses using a PEI-RNTI, “For example, the above PDCCH carrying a PEI uses PEI-RNTI (the corresponding hexadecimal value is fixed as EEFD) to scramble the CRC”)
As for claim 7, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method comprising configuring, in response to the first search space being a paging search space, a first information field in the DCI for carrying the PEI to comprise a first information bit; wherein the first information field is used to distinguish the DCI for carrying the PEI from the Paging DCI.
(Wu paragraphs [0202], [0205], and [0209] disclose a DCI carrying a PEI with a first bit information containing system information and if there is a paging alongside the PEI with the possibility of the search space for both the PEI and paging being the same, “1-bit information for indicating the change of system information, systemInfoModification;… the DCI carrying a PEI contains at least one of the above bitmap information and the above short message, i.e., it may contain M-bit bitmap information for indicating whether there is a paging message to be transmitted… The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace)”)
As for claim 8, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method comprising determining the first search space.
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses a search space being determined (called configured) to be the same as a paging search space or its own dedicated PEI search space, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace); or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
As for independent claim 9, Wu discloses a system and method comprising receiving, through a first search space, DCI for carrying a paging early indication (PEI) sent by a network device;
(Wu paragraph [0199] discloses a terminal receiving a PEI carried by DCI from a base station, “Optionally, a PEI is carried by a DCI, that is, the base station carries a PEI by transmitting a PDCCH, and the terminal receives the PEI by monitoring the PDCCH.”)
and the first search space is a search space for transmitting the DCI for carrying the PEI.
(Wu paragraphs [0206] and [0209] disclose a network device (base station) using a DCI carrying a PEI in a search space, “It can be understood that the embodiments of the disclosure provide a variety of specific implementations of a DCI carrying a PEI, so that the DCI carrying a PEI is more diverse, which can be flexibly selected and used by the base station according to needs, and when indicated by a 1-bit field, it can further save system overhead and reduce system power consumption…. The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1.”)
Wu does not appear to disclose a system or method wherein a number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is determined based on the first search space. However, Fu discloses a system or method wherein a number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is determined based on the first search space.
(Fu paragraph [0060] discloses a device determining the number of bits by having it equal the number of bits of another DCI, “the number of bits of the DCI for the fallback transmission mode may be same as that of the UE-group DCI. Thus, the fallback transmission mode may use the UE specific search space.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Fu with Wu “so as to further reduce the number of times of blind detection”, Fu [0061].
As for claim 12, the limitations of the parent claim 9 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method wherein the receiving DCI for carrying the PEI sent by the network device through the first search space comprises: descrambling, in response to the first search space being a paging search space, a channel for transmitting the DCI for carrying the PEI using a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); wherein, the first RNTI is different from a second RNTI for descrambling a channel for transmitting the Paging DCI.
(Wu paragraphs [0098], [0208], and [0209] disclose the PEI and paging search space being the same scrambling a channel (called a CRC) using an RNTI different from the paging RNTI (called P-RNTI) and the scrambled channel is received by a UE and it is inherent the UE must descramble the scrambled channel, “The UE monitors whether there is a PDCCH scrambled by P-RNTI for scheduling a paging channel in the corresponding PDCCH monitoring occasions, and the monitoring result is that there may be or may not be a corresponding paging PDCCH/PDSCH….the above DCI carrying a PEI can scramble the CRC with a RNTI value fixed with a whole network fixed RNTI value different from that of the PDCCH used for scheduling paging messages, and the whole network uses a fixed RNTI value similar to P-RNTI used for paging messages and SI-RNTI used for system information. For example, the above PDCCH carrying a PEI uses PEI-RNTI (the corresponding hexadecimal value is fixed as EEFD) to scramble the CRC…. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace)”)
As for claim 13, the limitations of the parent claim 12 have been discussed. Claim 13 recites substantially similar subject matter as claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 14, the limitations of the parent claim 9 have been discussed. Claim 14 recites substantially similar subject matter as claim 7 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 17, claim 17 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the method of claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 18, claim 18 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the method of claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 22, the limitations of the parent claim 19 have been discussed. Claim 22 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the method of claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 23, the limitations of the parent claim 22 have been discussed. Claim 23 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing the method of claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 2, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Fu in further view of Hwang et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20190239189, published on 2019-08-01 (hereinafter Hwang).
As for claim 2, the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method comprising determining, in response to the first search space being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the same search space, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
determining, in response to the first search space not being a paging search space,
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the different search spaces, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
Wu does not appear to disclose a system and method wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to a number of bits of paging downlink control information (Paging DCI) and wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to or less than the number of bits of the Paging DCI.
However, Hwang discloses a system and method wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to a number of bits of paging downlink control information (Paging DCI)
(Hwang paragraph [0245] discloses the two DCIs having the same number of bits “That is, the number of bits expressed by the new DCI is equal to the number of bits expressed by DCI for paging. This may be for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI.”)
wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to or less than the number of bits of the Paging DCI.
(Hwang paragraph [0245] discloses the two DCIs having the same number of bits “That is, the number of bits expressed by the new DCI is equal to the number of bits expressed by DCI for paging. This may be for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hwang with Wu and Fu “for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI”, Hwang [0245].
As for claim 10, the limitations of the parent claim 9 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method comprising determining, in response to the first search space being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the same search space, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
determining, in response to the first search space not being a paging search space,
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the different search spaces, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
Wu does not appear to disclose a system and method wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to a number of bits of paging downlink control information (Paging DCI) and wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to or less than the number of bits of the Paging DCI.
However, Hwang discloses a system and method wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to a number of bits of paging downlink control information (Paging DCI)
(Hwang paragraph [0245] discloses the two DCIs having the same number of bits “That is, the number of bits expressed by the new DCI is equal to the number of bits expressed by DCI for paging. This may be for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI.”)
wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to or less than the number of bits of the Paging DCI.
(Hwang paragraph [0245] discloses the two DCIs having the same number of bits “That is, the number of bits expressed by the new DCI is equal to the number of bits expressed by DCI for paging. This may be for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hwang with Wu and Fu “for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI”, Hwang [0245].
As for claim 20, the limitations of the parent claim 19 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method comprising determining, in response to the first search space being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the same search space, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
determining, in response to the first search space not being a paging search space,
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the different search spaces, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
Wu does not appear to disclose a system and method wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to a number of bits of paging downlink control information (Paging DCI) and wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to or less than the number of bits of the Paging DCI.
However, Hwang discloses a system and method wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to a number of bits of paging downlink control information (Paging DCI)
(Hwang paragraph [0245] discloses the two DCIs having the same number of bits “That is, the number of bits expressed by the new DCI is equal to the number of bits expressed by DCI for paging. This may be for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI.”)
wherein the number of bits of the DCI for carrying the PEI is equal to or less than the number of bits of the Paging DCI.
(Hwang paragraph [0245] discloses the two DCIs having the same number of bits “That is, the number of bits expressed by the new DCI is equal to the number of bits expressed by DCI for paging. This may be for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hwang with Wu and Fu “for reducing the number of times the wireless device needs to perform blind decoding in order to detect the two pieces of DCI”, Hwang [0245].
Claims 3, 11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Fu in further in view of Islam et al, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20230037852 effectively filed on 2021-10-01 (hereinafter Islam).
As for claim 3 the limitations of the parent claim 1 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method wherein determining, in response to the first search space being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the same search space, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace)”)
determining, in response to the first search space not being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the different search spaces, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
Wu does not appear to disclose the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises a first field and any N fields among a second field, a third field, and a fourth field, wherein N is a positive integer and 0 <=N<=3, and the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises the first field and any M fields among the second field and the third field, wherein M is a positive integer and 0 <= M <= 2 wherein the first field is a paging indication field, the second field is a tracking reference signal availability indication field, the third field is an other information field, and the fourth field is a reserved bit field.
However, Islam discloses the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises a first field and any N fields among a second field, a third field, and a fourth field, wherein N is a positive integer and 0 <=N<=3.
(Islam paragraphs [0018] and [0019] disclose a DCI containing 2 bit fields for information, “Identifier what information will be contained in the DCI format x-y, such as the DCI format can be used to provide information on one or more of: UE sub-grouping information, TRS availability indication in idle/inactive mode, where the information is common to a group of UEs or all UEs camped in the carrier [0019] In one example, of the payload of K bits, a N bit block can be used for UE sub-grouping information (if configured to be included in the DCI format), and M bit block can be used for TRS availability indication (if configured to be included in the DCI format) and M+N≤K holds”. Examiner notes the prior art is anticipating the claim limitation when N=1 and N=0 which is sufficient given the claim limitation.)
the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises the first field and any M fields among the second field and the third field, wherein M is a positive integer and 0 <= M <= 2.
(Islam paragraphs [0018] and [0019] disclose a DCI containing 2 bit fields for information, “Identifier what information will be contained in the DCI format x-y, such as the DCI format can be used to provide information on one or more of: UE sub-grouping information, TRS availability indication in idle/inactive mode, where the information is common to a group of UEs or all UEs camped in the carrier [0019] In one example, of the payload of K bits, a N bit block can be used for UE sub-grouping information (if configured to be included in the DCI format), and M bit block can be used for TRS availability indication (if configured to be included in the DCI format) and M+N≤K holds”. Examiner notes the prior art is anticipating the claim limitation when M=1 and M=0 which is sufficient given the claim limitation.)
wherein the first field is a paging indication field, the second field is a tracking reference signal availability indication field, the third field is an other information field, and the fourth field is a reserved bit field.
(Islam paragraph [0020] discloses the information bit blocks containing information for paging indication (called sub-groups for paging occasions), and tracking reference signal called (TRS), “In one example, each of block of M and N bits is a bitmap, where each bit of M bit block map to a UE paging sub-group or a set of UE paging sub-groups where the sub-groups addressed by the M bit block may belong to one or multiple paging occasions (POs), and each bit of N bits map to a TRS resource or a TRS resource set or a group of TRS resource sets or a TRS configuration or a set of TRS configurations.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Islam with Wu and Fu in order to have a more energy efficiency.
As for claim 11, the limitations of the parent claim 9 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method wherein determining, in response to the first search space being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the same search space, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace)”)
determining, in response to the first search space not being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the different search spaces, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
Wu does not appear to disclose the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises a first field and any N fields among a second field, a third field, and a fourth field, wherein N is a positive integer and 0 <=N<=3, and the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises the first field and any M fields among the second field and the third field, wherein M is a positive integer and 0 <= M <= 2 wherein the first field is a paging indication field, the second field is a tracking reference signal availability indication field, the third field is an other information field, and the fourth field is a reserved bit field.
However, Islam discloses the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises a first field and any N fields among a second field, a third field, and a fourth field, wherein N is a positive integer and 0 <=N<=3.
(Islam paragraphs [0018] and [0019] disclose a DCI containing 2 bit fields for information, “Identifier what information will be contained in the DCI format x-y, such as the DCI format can be used to provide information on one or more of: UE sub-grouping information, TRS availability indication in idle/inactive mode, where the information is common to a group of UEs or all UEs camped in the carrier [0019] In one example, of the payload of K bits, a N bit block can be used for UE sub-grouping information (if configured to be included in the DCI format), and M bit block can be used for TRS availability indication (if configured to be included in the DCI format) and M+N≤K holds”. Examiner notes the prior art is anticipating the claim limitation when N=1 and N=0 which is sufficient given the claim limitation.)
the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises the first field and any M fields among the second field and the third field, wherein M is a positive integer and 0 <= M <= 2.
(Islam paragraphs [0018] and [0019] disclose a DCI containing 2 bit fields for information, “Identifier what information will be contained in the DCI format x-y, such as the DCI format can be used to provide information on one or more of: UE sub-grouping information, TRS availability indication in idle/inactive mode, where the information is common to a group of UEs or all UEs camped in the carrier [0019] In one example, of the payload of K bits, a N bit block can be used for UE sub-grouping information (if configured to be included in the DCI format), and M bit block can be used for TRS availability indication (if configured to be included in the DCI format) and M+N≤K holds”. Examiner notes the prior art is anticipating the claim limitation when M=1 and M=0 which is sufficient given the claim limitation.)
wherein the first field is a paging indication field, the second field is a tracking reference signal availability indication field, the third field is an other information field, and the fourth field is a reserved bit field.
(Islam paragraph [0020] discloses the information bit blocks containing information for paging indication (called sub-groups for paging occasions), and tracking reference signal called (TRS), “In one example, each of block of M and N bits is a bitmap, where each bit of M bit block map to a UE paging sub-group or a set of UE paging sub-groups where the sub-groups addressed by the M bit block may belong to one or multiple paging occasions (POs), and each bit of N bits map to a TRS resource or a TRS resource set or a group of TRS resource sets or a TRS configuration or a set of TRS configurations.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Islam with Wu and Fu in order to have a more energy efficiency.
As for claim 21, the limitations of the parent claim 18 have been discussed. Wu discloses a system and method wherein determining, in response to the first search space being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the same search space, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace)”)
determining, in response to the first search space not being a paging search space
(Wu paragraph [0209] discloses the PEI and Paging using the different search spaces, “The above DCI carrying a PEI is similar to other broadcast channels (such as SIB1, other system information, paging information, random access response, etc.), and its CORESET and search space can be configured in the downlink initial BWP through SIB1. The system can specify that the DCI carrying a PEI and the PDCCH for scheduling paging information use the same search space, that is, paging search space (pagingSearchSpace) or, the system may configure a dedicated search space for the DCI carrying a PEI, such as PEI search space (PEISearchSpace).”)
Wu does not appear to disclose the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises a first field and any N fields among a second field, a third field, and a fourth field, wherein N is a positive integer and 0 <=N<=3, and the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises the first field and any M fields among the second field and the third field, wherein M is a positive integer and 0 <= M <= 2 wherein the first field is a paging indication field, the second field is a tracking reference signal availability indication field, the third field is an other information field, and the fourth field is a reserved bit field.
However, Islam discloses the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises a first field and any N fields among a second field, a third field, and a fourth field, wherein N is a positive integer and 0 <=N<=3.
(Islam paragraphs [0018] and [0019] disclose a DCI containing 2 bit fields for information, “Identifier what information will be contained in the DCI format x-y, such as the DCI format can be used to provide information on one or more of: UE sub-grouping information, TRS availability indication in idle/inactive mode, where the information is common to a group of UEs or all UEs camped in the carrier [0019] In one example, of the payload of K bits, a N bit block can be used for UE sub-grouping information (if configured to be included in the DCI format), and M bit block can be used for TRS availability indication (if configured to be included in the DCI format) and M+N≤K holds”. Examiner notes the prior art is anticipating the claim limitation when N=1 and N=0 which is sufficient given the claim limitation.)
the DCI for carrying the PEI comprises the first field and any M fields among the second field and the third field, wherein M is a positive integer and 0 <= M <= 2.
(Islam paragraphs [0018] and [0019] disclose a DCI containing 2 bit fields for information, “Identifier what information will be contained in the DCI format x-y, such as the DCI format can be used to provide information on one or more of: UE sub-grouping information, TRS availability indication in idle/inactive mode, where the information is common to a group of UEs or all UEs camped in the carrier [0019] In one example, of the payload of K bits, a N bit block can be used for UE sub-grouping information (if configured to be included in the DCI format), and M bit block can be used for TRS availability indication (if configured to be included in the DCI format) and M+N≤K holds”. Examiner notes the prior art is anticipating the claim limitation when M=1 and M=0 which is sufficient given the claim limitation.)
wherein the first field is a paging indication field, the second field is a tracking reference signal availability indication field, the third field is an other information field, and the fourth field is a reserved bit field.
(Islam paragraph [0020] discloses the information bit blocks containing information for paging indication (called sub-groups for paging occasions), and tracking reference signal called (TRS), “In one example, each of block of M and N bits is a bitmap, where each bit of M bit block map to a UE paging sub-group or a set of UE paging sub-groups where the sub-groups addressed by the M bit block may belong to one or multiple paging occasions (POs), and each bit of N bits map to a TRS resource or a TRS resource set or a group of TRS resource sets or a TRS configuration or a set of TRS configurations.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Islam with Wu and Fu in order to have a more energy efficiency.
Conclusion
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646