DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 16 – 26 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 8, 12 – 13, and 27 are currently amended.
In view of amendment, filed on 06/18/2026, the following objection / rejections are withdrawn from the previous office action, mailed on 03/12/2026:
Objection of claim 1
Rejection of claims 1-15 and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
The following rejections are maintained for the reason of records as given in the previous office action. The bases of these rejections are the same as given in the office action, mailed on 03/12/2026:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kikuchi et al. (WO 2011/136273), all the citations in the body of the following rejections relies on English Translation of Kikuchi et al. (WO 2011/136273).
As to claim 1, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) discloses a method for extruding wood pellets (see claim 1), wherein the method comprises at least the steps of:
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Two screws (42b))][AltContent: textbox (A twin-screw extruder (42))][AltContent: arrow]
(a) providing pieces of wood (¶ [0008]: wood flour is the other major component of wood molding materials);
(b) grinding (¶ [0008]: crushing waste materials using a crusher, cutter) and partially drying (¶ [0011]: the wood flour is preferably dried before blending with other raw materials), in a twin-screw extruder (¶ [0027]: a screw-type extruder 42 that melts and kneads and extrudes the raw material) including at least shear generating elements (¶ [0031]: the two screws 42b has a function of promoting heat generation and melting the resin by applying shearing force to the material), pieces of wood to obtain wood particles having a reduced water content compared to the pieces of wood (¶ [0011]);
(c) compressing the particles (¶ [0161] and ¶ [0163]) and shaping in at least one die (die nozzle 43, ¶ [0013]) to obtain wood pellets (¶ [0023] - ¶ [0024]).
As to claim 2, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) disclose the step (a) of wood comprises only providing pieces of wood as is without the addition of an additive. (¶ [0008] discloses wood flour is the other major component of wood molding materials. As it has been concluded no additive is introduced.)
As to claim 3, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) teach the shear generating elements comprise kneading elements (¶ [0011]), the grinding of step (b) being carried out by applying a shear force to the pieces of wood (¶ [0031], ¶ [0033], and ¶ [0066]).
As to claim 4, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) disclose the shear generating elements (¶ [0031], ¶ [0033], and ¶ [0066]) comprise at least one reverse screw pitch element (¶ [0031]), and wherein during the grinding of step (b), the pieces of wood are concomitantly moved along an axial direction, relative to the axis of the screws of the extruder, but retained by the at least one reverse screw pitch element.
As to claim 5, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) disclose during step (b), the partial drying is carried out by using heat generated by the grinding to a temperature of at least 100° C. (¶ [0032]: …introduced at a temperature of 170 ̊C. to 250 ̊C., preferably 200 ̊C. to 230 ̊C)
As to claim 6, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) teach step (b) comprises at least one phase of discharging water extracted from the wood fibers, outside the extruder (a screw-type extruder 42).
As to claim 7, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) discloses the compression step (c) is carried out by applying a radial compression force, relative to the axis of the screws of the extruder (a screw-type extruder 42, ¶ [0134], ¶ [0161], and ¶ [0163]), so as to push the wood particles along a substantially radial direction (see ¶ [0027]), relative to the axis of the screws of the extruder (a screw-type extruder 42), in the at least one die (die nozzle 43, ¶ [0027]) to form at least one extruded strand and obtain, after cutting, the wood pellets.
As to claim 8, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) teaches a step (d) of final drying of the wood pellets at the outlet of the die (¶ [0095]), including a moisture content of less than 12%. (¶ [0095]: it is preferable to dry the composite pellets until the water content becomes 0.2 mass% or less)
As to claim 13, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) disclose the wood particles obtained at the output of step (b) has an ovoid shape. (See figs. 7-13)
As to claim 14, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) teach steps (a) and (b) are repeated several times with the same pieces of wood and particles, before moving on to step (c).
As to claim 15, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) disclose in step (a), pieces of wood derived from softwoods, or pieces of wood derived from hardwoods, or pieces of wood derived from a mixture of softwoods and hardwoods, are provided. (see ¶ [0008])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi et al. (WO 2011/136273) in view of Ryu (KR 101007651), all the citations in the body of the following rejections relies on English Translations of Kikuchi et al. (WO 2011/136273) and Ryu (KR 101007651).
Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) disclose all the process steps of a method for extruding wood pellets, as it was discussed above.
Further, Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273) disclose it is preferable to dry the composite pellets until the water content becomes 0.2 mass% or less (¶ [0095]), however, fail to disclose a step to obtain wood pellets with moisture content comprised between 7% and 10%, as claimed in claim 9, and further, to obtain wood pellets with a moisture content of less than 12% and a density of at least 0.8, as claimed in claims 10-11, and also further, fail to disclose the pieces of wood have a moisture content greater than 55%, and the wood particles obtained at the output of step (b) have a moisture content between 30% and 35%, as claimed in claims 12 and 27.
In the analogous art, Ryu (KR ‘651) disclose a producing method of a pellet for fuel using wooden materials and timber comprises the following steps: preparing raw materials with the similar chemical and physical properties; crushing the raw materials using a crusher; drying the crushed materials using a hot air supplying device; removing foreign materials inside the dried materials using a foreign material collector; drying the materials again; selectively separating the materials; and cooling the pellet formed by compressing the materials. (See the abstract)
As to claim 9, Ryu (KR ‘651) discloses a step is parameterized to obtain wood pellets with moisture content comprised between 8% and 10%. (¶ [0014]: drying step of drying to have a 12% and a water content by the step using a 8-12% dry material was dried)
As to claim 10-11, Ryu (KR ‘651) discloses a step of obtaining wood pellets with a moisture content of less than 12% and a density of at least 0.8. (¶ [0014]: drying step of drying to have a 12% and a water content by the step using a 8-12% dry material was dried and ¶ [0037] - ¶ [0038])
As to claims 12 and 27, Ryu (KR ‘651) teaches the pieces of wood provided in step (a) have a moisture content greater of 55%, and the wood particles obtained at the output of step (b) have a moisture content between 30% and 35%. (see ¶ [0037] - ¶ [0040], Tables 1-2)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of applicant’s invention, to modify the step of drying the wood pellets, as taught by Kikuchi et al. (WO ‘273), through adjusting the moisture content and the density of the pellets and the wood particles as claimed in order to improve the quality of the produced pellets so to have an easy storage and to prevent their deterioration over time, as suggested by Ryu (KR ‘651): under section of technical field.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Kikuchi fails to disclose each and every element of claims 1 because Kikuchi does not disclose at least, “providing pieces of wood,” and “grinding and partially drying, in a twin-screw extruder…the pieces of wood to obtain wood particles,” as recited in claim 1.” and further, Applicant argues “accordingly, the “wood flour” of Kikuchi cannot be considered to be the pieces of wood of claim 1 and Kikuchi fails to disclose at least, “providing pieces of wood,” and “grinding and partially drying, in a twin-screw extruder…the pieces of wood to obtain wood particles,” as recited in claim 1.”
This is not found persuasive. Kikuchi discloses (a) providing pieces of wood (¶ [0008]: wood flour is the other major component of wood molding materials); (b) grinding (¶ [0008]: crushing waste materials using a crusher, cutter) and partially drying (¶ [0011]: the wood flour is preferably dried before blending with other raw materials), in a twin-screw extruder (¶ [0027]: a screw-type extruder 42 that melts and kneads and extrudes the raw material) including at least shear generating elements (¶ [0031]: the two screws 42b has a function of promoting heat generation and melting the resin by applying shearing force to the material), pieces of wood to obtain wood particles having a reduced water content compared to the pieces of wood (¶ [0011]).
Further, applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2 and 7 are not found persuasive for the reasons provided in more detail above in the body of the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments regarding rejections of claims 1-15 and 27 were not found persuasive and as a result the previous prior art rejections of the claims are maintained at this point.
Finally, after a full review of the submitted remarks in view of prior art rejections of the claims, it has been concluded that there are differences in interpreting the claimed subject matter and the cited references by the Applicant and the Office. Therefore, Examiner would like to suggest that if Applicant’s Counsel believes an interview can benefit the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant’s Counsel is kindly invited to contact the undersigned examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 08/22/2026