DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a light intensity measurement unit”, in claim 1; “an arithmetic processing unit”, in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (JP 2020159867 A, included in IDS on 06/08/2024), hereafter Takeda, in view of Ezoe Ryota et al. (JP 2018/109674 A, included in IDS on 06/08/2024),), hereafter Ezoe.
Regarding claim 1, Takeda teaches a spectrophotometer (Fig. 2) comprising:
a light source (Fig. 2 element “light source 220”, [page 2, para. 9]) configured to emit light in a wavelength band including an excitation wavelength which causes a photoreaction on a target substance in a sample (Fig. 2 element 240), (light generated by element 220 include excitation wavelength which causes the sample to be exited with excitation light, [page 2, para. 9-10]), the light source emitting a known number of photons of the light having the excitation wavelength, [page 2, paras. 2-4], [page 20, para. 9];
an integrating sphere (Fig. 2 element 210) having a light entrance port through which light emitted from the light source enters (220), (as shown in annotated Fig. 2) and a light emission port (as shown in annotated Fig. 2) provided at a position deviated from an optical axis of the light entering the light entrance port, (as shown in Fig. 2, [page 2, para. 9-10]); and
a light intensity measurement unit (Fig. 2 element 230) configured to measure intensity of light having the excitation wavelength emitted from the light emission port, (as shown in Fig. 1, [page 2, para. 9, 11]).
Takeda fail to teach a sample placement unit provided in the light entrance port.
However, Ezoe related to optical measuring devices and thus form the same field of endeavor teaches a sample placement unit provided in the light entrance port, (as shown in Fig. 3 the spectrophotometer comprise an integrating sphere having an entrance where the specimen is fixed, [page 8, lines 11-15]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Takeda by including a sample placement unit provided in the light entrance port (as taught by Ezoe) for several advantages such as: letting to determine the Transmission energy efficiency that allows to determine the properties of the sample as the extinction coefficient increase the accuracy of the device, ([page 8, lines 17-23], Ezoe).
Regarding claim 2, Takeda in the combination outlined above teaches the spectrophotometer according to claim 1, further comprising
Takeda further teaches an arithmetic processing unit ( Fig. 2 element 230 + computer, [page 5, para 8]) configured to calculate an absorptivity of the light having the excitation wavelength by the target substance (Fig. 1 element 240), ([page 2, para. 2-4]) on a basis of the intensity of the light having the excitation wavelength detected by the light intensity measurement unit, ([page 4, para. 3-4, page 5, para.]) in a state where the sample is not placed in the sample placement unit, (the measurement is form by irradiating a standard white plate, [page 2, para. 2]) and the intensity of the light having the excitation wavelength detected by the light intensity measurement unit in a state where the sample is placed in the sample placement unit, (the measurement is form by irradiating the sample, [page 2, para. 2]).
Regarding claim 3, Takeda in the combination outlined above teaches the spectrophotometer according to claim 1, further comprising
Takeda further teaches wherein the arithmetic processing unit ( Fig. 2 element 230 + computer, [page 5, para 8]) is further configured to calculate a number of photons of the light absorbed by the target substance (Fig. 1 element 240) on a basis of a number of photons and the absorptivity of the light having the excitation wavelength, ([page 2, para. 2-4]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Ezoe and further view of Kawasaki et al. (US 2020/0182693 A1), hereafter Kawasaki.
Regarding claim 4, Takeda in the combination outlined above teaches the spectrophotometer according to claim 1, further comprising wherein the light source is a white LED light source, (“light emitting devices such as a white light emitting diode (white LED)”, page 1, lines 13-21, Ezoe) , and the light intensity measurement unit (Fig. 2 element 230, Takeda) includes a detector (Fig. 2 element 230, Takeda).
The modified device of Takeda do not clearly teach the light intensity measurement unit includes a spectroscope configured to wavelength-separate light emitted from the light emission port, and a detector configured to detect the light wavelength-separated by the spectroscope.
However, Kawasaki relates to optical measuring devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches the light intensity measurement unit (Fig. 5 element 2000) includes a spectroscope (Fig. 5 element 2022, [0068]) configured to wavelength-separate light emitted from the light emission port, [0069, 0076], and a detector (Fig. 5 elements 2083 + 2084, [0069]) configured to detect the light wavelength-separated by the spectroscope, [0078, 0087].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Takeda by including the light intensity measurement unit includes a spectroscope configured to wavelength-separate light emitted from the light emission port, and a detector configured to detect the light wavelength-separated by the spectroscope. (as taught by Kawasaki) for several advantages such as: the device allows to apply an observation light to a position for measurement without providing large space in a spectrophotometer, and the position for measurement can be easily known, thus increase the versability of the device, ([0019], Kawasaki). Also spectroscope allows to analyze the composition of light sources and determine the properties of objects increasing the increasing accuracy.
Conclusion
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/CARLOS PEREZ-GUZMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877