DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaguchi et al. (hereinafter Hamaguchi, US 2011/0135415 A1) in view of Luo et al. (hereinafter Luo, US 2019/0120726 A1).
For claim 1, Hamaguchi discloses a display control device for controlling display of a state of a machine tool (Fig. 1 of Hamaguchi discloses a display control device 9 for controlling display of a state of a machine tool 1 – see Hamaguchi, Fig. 1, paragraph [0002] and [0040], lines 1-4) which includes (i) an attachment portion to which a tool is attachable (Fig. 1 of Hamaguchi discloses an attachment portion 3 to which a tool is attachable – see Hamaguchi, Fig. 1, paragraph [0040], lines 1-4), (ii) a numerical control unit for controlling a rotating speed of the tool in accordance with a machining program (Fig. 1 of Hamaguchi discloses a numerical control unit 7 for controlling a rotating speed of the tool 1 in accordance with a machining program – See Hamaguchi, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0042], lines 8-14), and (iii) a detection unit for detecting at least one of a vibration of the tool and a load applied to the tool (Fig. 1 of Hamaguchi discloses a detection unit 2a-2c for detecting at least one of a vibration of the tool 1 and a load applied to the tool – see Hamaguchi, Figs. 1-3, paragraph [0041]), the display control device (see Hamaguchi, Fig. 1, display control device 9) comprising:
a display control unit (Fig. 1 of Hamaguchi discloses a display control unit 5) for controlling display of time-series data indicating a change in a detected value detected by the detection unit in a process of execution of the machining program (Fig. 1 of Hamaguchi discloses a display control unit 5 for controlling display of time-series data indicating a change in a detected value detected by the detection unit 2a-2c in a process of execution of the machining program – see Hamaguchi, Figs. 1 and 5-6, paragraphs [0042], [0044]-[0046], [0049], and [0061-[0062]); and a receiving unit for receiving a predetermined input for taking a measure against a chatter vibration based on the timeseries data (Figs. 1,4 and 9 of Hamaguchi disclose a receiving unit 8 for receiving a predetermined input for taking a measure against a chatter vibration based on the timeseries data – see Hamaguchi, Figs. 1,4 and 9, paragraphs [0053]-[0054] and [0056]-[0057]).
Hamaguchi discloses the display control unit which is silent for disclosing (a) a program name, and (b) at least one of a block number and a program line of the machining program associated with the predetermined input received by the receiving unit.
However, Luo discloses a display control device comprising a display control unit which discloses (a) a program name, and (b) at least one of a block number and a program line of the machining program associated with the predetermined input received by the receiving unit (Figs. 1 and 3-5 of Luo discloses a display control device 1 comprising a display control unit 10, wherein the display control unit 10 discloses controls display of (a) a program name, and (b) at least one of a block number and a program line of the machining program associated with the predetermined input received by the receiving unit 14, 16 – see Luo, Figs. 1 and 5, paragraphs [0032], [0036]-[0037] and [0040]-[0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Hamaguchi to incorporate teaching of Luo for purpose of controlling tool accurately.
For claim 2, Hamaguchi in view of Luo disclose the display control device according to claim 1, wherein the display control unit displays a region associated with the block number as being superimposed on display of the time-series data (Figs. 1 and 6-7 of Luo disclose the display control unit 10 which displays a region associated with the block number as being superimposed on display of the time-series data – see Luo, Figs. 6-7, paragraphs [0011], [0043] and [0047]).
For claim 3, Hamaguchi in view of Luo disclose the display control device according to claim 1, wherein the display control unit displays a region associated with the program line as being superimposed on display of the time-series data (Figs. 1 and 7 of Luo disclose the display control unit 10 which displays a region associated with the program line as being superimposed on display of the time-series data – see Luo, Figs. 1 and 7, paragraphs [001] and [0047]-[0049]).
For claim 4, Hamaguchi in view of Luo disclose a display control device for controlling display of a state of a machine tool which includes (i) an attachment portion to which a tool is attachable, (ii) a numerical control unit for controlling a rotating speed of the tool in accordance with a machining program, and (iii) a detection unit for detecting at least one of a vibration of the tool and a load applied to the tool, the display control device (similar as claim 1 above, explanation is omitted) comprising:
a display control unit for controlling display of time-series data indicating a change in a detected value detected by the detection unit in a process of execution of the machining program; and a receiving unit for receiving a predetermined input based on the timeseries data (similar as claim 1 above, explanation is omitted),
wherein the display control unit controls display of the time-series data indicating the change in the detected value detected by the detection unit (Ando disclose the display control unit 13, 16 which controls display of the time-series data indicating the change in the detected value detected by the detection unit 7a-7c – see Ando, Figs. 1, paragraphs [0029], [0031]-[0032] and [0034]), and (a) a program name (similar as claim 1 above, explanation is omitted) and (b) at least one of a block number and a program line of the machining program associated with the predetermined input received by the receiving unit (similar as claim 1 above, explanation is omitted).
Claim 5 is "an apparatus/machine tool" claim which is similar to that of the "an apparatus/a display control device" claim 1. Explanation is omitted.
For claims 6-8, Hamaguchi in view of Luo disclose the display control device according to claim 1, 4, and 5, respectively, wherein the display control unit displays a marker indicating a timing of the predetermined input as being superimposed on the time-series data (Figs. 1, 7 and 9-10 of Hamaguchi disclose the display control unit 5 which displays a marker indicating a timing of the predetermined input as being superimposed on the time-series data – see Hamaguchi, Figs. 1, 7 and 9-10, paragraphs [0046] and [0056]-[0058]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s Argument:
In Remarks, page 8, lines 5-7, applicant argues that “Ando completely fails to disclose an operator making a dynamic input for taking a measure against an occurring chatter vibration (e.g., instructing a change in spindle rotation speed to suppress the vibration) based on the observed time-series data”.
Examiner’s response:
As explanation in claim 1 above, Figs. 1, 4 and 9 of Hamaguchi disclose an operator making a dynamic input for taking a measure against an occurring chatter vibration based on the observed time-series data – see Hamaguchi, Figs. 1,4 and 9, paragraphs [0053]-[0054] and [0056]-[0057].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
Sep 5, 2026