Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 22 step 5 recites “…systema re placed…” It appears this is a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the group…" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freyman et al. (US 20050013870 A1) hereinafter, Freyman.
Regarding claim 1, Freyman teaches
a method for preparing a genetically modified bioprosthetic heart valve (¶0001 & ¶0044), comprising:
- providing an aortic heart valve from an animal most suitable for an implantation (heart, ¶0044),
- treating the aortic heart valve by a molecular modification process (more than one conditioning process may be performed, ¶0048, the conditioned body tissue can be further processed before or after decellularization, ¶0052),
- performing a decellularization of the aortic heart valve (the conditioned body tissue may be decellularized, ¶0106),
- wherein the molecular modification process is applied preceding the decellularization (the conditioned body tissue can be further processed before or after decellularization, ¶0052, the conditioned body tissue may be decellularized, ¶0106).
Regarding claim 2, Freyman teaches
wherein the molecular modification process comprises an electroporation system (cells in the body tissue of an animal can be transfected in vivo or in vitro with genetic material using any appropriate means such as electroporation, ¶0055).
Regarding claim 3, Freyman teaches
wherein the molecular modification process comprises at least one small interfering RNA (siRNA) molecule (nucleic acid, ¶0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freyman in view of Everaerts et al. (US 20070020248 A1) hereinafter, Everaerts.
Regarding claim 3, Freyman teaches
wherein the molecular modification process comprises at least one small interfering RNA (siRNA) molecule (nucleic acid, ¶0053, Freyman). Freyman is not specific in that the molecular modification process comprises at least one small interfering RNA (siRNA) molecule. However, Everaerts teaches an electrophoretic system, apparatus, and method of use thereof for the preparation of a tissue-derived bioprosthesis (abstract, Everaerts)
wherein the molecular modification process comprises at least one small interfering RNA (siRNA) molecule (siRNA, ¶0090, Everaerts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freyman by incorporating the teachings above as taught by Everaerts in order to modify cellular interactions, as well as agents that introduce, enhance, reduce, suppress or silence gene or messenger RNA (mRNA) expression, or protein expression (¶0090, Everaerts).
Regarding claim 4, Freyman teaches nucleic acid (¶0053, Freyman) but does not teach specifically wherein a target molecule of the at least one siRNA molecule is selected from molecules associated with a heart valve calcification problem. However, Everaerts teaches
wherein a target molecule of the at least one siRNA molecule is selected from molecules associated with a heart valve calcification problem (bioactive agents include agents that mitigate calcification, and agents include siRNA, ¶0090, Everaerts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Freyman by incorporating the teachings above as taught by Everaerts in order to modify cellular interactions, as well as agents that introduce, enhance, reduce, suppress or silence gene or messenger RNA (mRNA) expression, or protein expression (¶0090, Everaerts).
Regarding claim 5, Freyman teaches
wherein the target molecule is at least one selected from the group consisting of receptor activator of the nuclear factor ƘB ligand (RANKL), Beta-catenin (β-catenin),Transforming Growth Factor-β(TGF-[[ ]]β) (transforming growth factor (TGF), ¶0071, Freyman), bone morphogenetic protein 2 (BMP2), Smad1, MSX2, ELN, FBN-1, COL I, COL II, ASCC3, ITK, CD28, LINS, Nox2, MMP-9, VCAM1, MMP9, ITGB2, RAC2,vWF, and ALDH2.
Regarding claim 6, Freyman teaches
wherein the target molecule is at least one selected from the group consisting of the RANKL, the β-catenin, and the TGF-[[ ]]β (transforming growth factor (TGF) (¶0071, Freyman).
Conclusion
/K.X.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774