DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on July 17, 2026 is acknowledged and entered. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 8 is canceled and the entirety is incorporated into claim 1. Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are pending and under examination in this Office action.
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended to incorporate the entirety of claim 8.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) to claim 8 now incorporated into claim 1 is now withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments being considered persuasive.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) to claim 8 now incorporated into claim 1 is maintained and elaborated to address the previously identified indefiniteness issue. Applicant did not argue nor amend to address the rejection. Note that to overcome the rejections under 112(a), written description does not automatically overcome the rejection under 112(b) since the consideration is different.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 103 are maintained.
New ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is now made to claim 9. Previously claims 8 and 9 do not have a dependency. However, in view of the claim amendment, claim 9 now depends on claim 1 that has claim 8 incorporated, and indefiniteness issue has risen.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 3: “tissue perfusion” should be corrected to –the tissue perfusion-; “tissue oxygenation” should be corrected to –the tissue oxygenation”. In line 7, “an estimate of tissue oxygenation, an estimate of total hemoglobin and an estimate of methemoglobin” should be corrected to –an estimate of the tissue oxygenation, an estimate of the total hemoglobin and an estimate of the methemoglobin--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the reflected light independent of interference due to characteristics of the tissue” that renders the scope of the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether it is the independence that is due to the characteristics of the tissue, or it is the interference that is due to the characteristics of the tissue. In other words, it is unclear whether (1) the reflected light may be independent or dependent of interference, and whether it is independent or dependent is based on the tissue that the light is reflected from, or (2) the reflected light is independent of interference, and the interference refers to an interference between the tissue and the reflected light.
In other words, it is unclear whether the above limitation should be read as (1) “the tissue perfusion and the tissue oxygenation are measured based on the reflected light, wherein the reflected light is independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue”; or (2) “the tissue perfusion and the tissue oxygenation are measured based on the reflected light that is independent of interference, wherein the interference is due to characteristics of the tissue.
In view of Applicant’s assertion (p.6, the end of ¶-1), it appears that Applicant interprets the above limitation in another different way, i.e., (3) “the tissue perfusion and the tissue oxygenation are measured based on the reflected light, wherein the measurement is independent of interferences that is due to characteristics of the tissue”.
These three interpretations result in distinct scopes of the claim. Applicant is requested to clarify the claim language with proper claim amendment. In the previous rejection, Examiner has considered the interpretation (2) for examination purpose. Since Applicant does not argue nor amend toward to this limitation, Examiner’s consideration is maintained and interpretation (2) remains valid.
Claim 9 recites in lines 2-4 “the six or more predetermined central wavelengths are optimized for simultaneous detection of tissue perfusion, tissue oxygenation, total hemoglobin, and methemoglobin, independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue” that renders the scope of the claim indefinite. Claim 9 depends on claim 1.
(1) Claim 1 recites that the reflected light results from light emission at six or more predetermined central wavelengths, and the tissue perfusion and the tissue oxygenation are measured based on the reflected light. Hence, it is unclear whether the tissue perfusion and the tissue oxygenation are measured with the reflected light in claim 1, and are detected (i.e., measured) again with the emission light of the 6 or more wavelengths. Further, the total hemoglobin and the methemoglobin are not measured in claim 1, but in claim 9 they are simultaneously detected with the tissue perfusion and the tissue oxygenation. It is unclear if these two parameters are only detected by the emission light but not the reflected light.
(2) in regard to the phrase of “independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue”. Since this phrase is separated from the other limitations with a punctuation comma, it is unclear what object this phrase intends to modify, i.e., it is unclear what object is independent of interferences.
(3) in regard to the phrase of “independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue”, it is unclear if the “interferences” and the “characteristics” refer to the same as the identical terms recited in claim 1, last line.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan et al., US 2020/0138360 A1, hereinafter Fan.
Claim 1. Fan teaches a system, comprising:
a controller comprising a memory that stores instructions and a processor that executes the instructions ([0079]: Module 112 is a controller, classifier, and processor that may be coupled with probe 100 in some alternatives; [0086]: following image acquisition in different orientations, the controller/classifier/processor 112 may process the image data for each subject orientation; and [0388]: If implemented in software, the functions may be stored on or transmitted over as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium. The steps of a method or algorithm disclosed herein may be implemented in a processor-executable software module which may reside on a computer-readable medium. Computer-readable media includes both computer storage medium and communication media…such computer-readable media may include RAM, ROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM or other optical disk storage, or any other medium that may be used to store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that may be accessed by a computer);
a light source that emits emission light towards tissue at six or more predetermined central wavelengths ([0070]: probe 100 comprises one or more light sources, in this case four light sources 101, 104, 118 and 120, and image acquisition device 102. Light sources 101, 104, 118 and 120 illuminate the tissue region, in this case, tissue 103; and [0071]: Multiple narrowband light sources or broadband light sources with selectable filters (e.g., filter wheels) may be used to serially or simultaneously illuminate the tissue 103 with light in multiple spectral bands. The center wavelength of the chosen spectral bands typically reside in the visible and near-infrared wavelengths, such as between 400 nm to 1100 nm e.g., less than (but not zero), at least, or equal to 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 1000, or 1100 nm or a range defined by any wavelength between any two of the aforementioned wavelengths; and [0095]: In some embodiments, absorbance spectra of approximately or at 515, 750 and/or 972 nm wavelengths can be used, while in other embodiments the absorbance spectra of approximately or at 542, 669 and/or 960 nm wavelengths can be used; [0227] discloses further specific central wavelengths); and
a camera that detects reflected light reflected from the tissue based on the emission light ([0078]: As further illustrated in FIG.1A, image acquisition device 102 is configured to receive reflected light from the tissue 103. The image acquisition device 102 can detect light from the illuminated region, a sub-region of the illuminated region, or a non-illuminated region. As illustrated further below, the field of view of the image acquisition device 102 may include the entire body surface of the subject facing the probe 100. When the entire subject facing the probe is illuminated and the entire subject facing the probe is in the field of view of the image acquisition device, the speed and ease of classification is enhanced. The image acquisition device 102 may be a two-dimensional charge-coupled device (CCD) or complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image acquisition device with appropriate optics for imaging all or part of the illuminated tissue 103; and [0090]: probe 408 can comprise multiple cameras and imagers, prisms, beam-splitters, photodetectors, and filters, as well as light sources of multiple spectral bands. The camera(s) can measure scattering, absorption, reflection, transmission, and/or florescence of different wavelengths of light over time from the tissue region), wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions cause the system to:
measure tissue perfusion based on the reflected light; and measure tissue oxygenation based on the reflected light ([0151]: FIG.12 illustrates a high-level graphical overview of two optical imaging techniques, photoplethysmography imaging (PPG imaging) and multispectral imaging (MSI) that can be combined with patent health metrics to generate prognostic information…The two optical imaging methods are designed to infer important tissue characteristics, including arterial perfusion and tissue oxygenation; and [0154]: the disclosed imaging technology is designed to fuse the optical imaging techniques of photoplethysmography imaging (PPG imaging) and multispectral imaging (MSI); [0224]: PPG and MSI data can be collected simultaneously or sequentially), wherein
the tissue perfusion and the tissue oxygenation are measured based on the reflected light ([0151], [0154], [0224]) independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue ([0093]: the filters are monolithically integrated optical interference filters) – having the reflected light filtered with an optical interference filters is considered the reflected light, upon being filtered, becomes “independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue” as claimed.
Claim 2. Fan further teaches
a filter that simultaneously filters the reflected light to the six or more predetermined central wavelengths ([0091]: Data subset 404 may include multiple images of the tissue region, each measuring light reflected from the tissue region in a different selected frequency band. The multiple images of data subset 404 may be acquired simultaneously or essentially simultaneously; in [0092] it discloses that the camera is equipped with filters; and [0093]: the filters are monolithically integrated optical interference filters, wherein the plurality of filters is organized in step-wise lines. In some cases, the filters form a wedge and/or a staircase shape. In some instances there may be dozens to hundreds of spectral bands corresponding to wavelengths between 400 to 1100 nm…The imager scans the tissue using each filter line and senses the light reflected from the tissue through each of those filters) – measuring the reflected light using filters for selecting different frequency band to simultaneously acquiring images is considered “simultaneously filters the reflected light” as claimed, i.e., the filtering of the reflection light needs to be simultaneous in order for the image acquisition at the different wavelength band (filtered) to be simultaneous.
Claim 4. Fan further teaches that
the light source emits broadband emission light that includes light at the six or more predetermined central wavelengths ([0071]: Multiple narrowband light sources or broadband light sources with selectable filters (e.g., filter wheels) may be used to serially or simultaneously illuminate the tissue 103 with light in multiple spectral bands. The center wavelength of the chosen spectral bands typically reside in the visible and near-infrared wavelengths, such as between 400 nm to 1100 nm e.g., less than (but not zero), at least, or equal to 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 1000, or 1100 nm or a range defined by any wavelength between any two of the aforementioned wavelengths).
Claim 5. Fan further teaches that
The filters the reflected light to the six or more predetermined central wavelengths one at a time ([0092]: the one or more cameras are coupled to a filter wheel with a plurality of filters with different passbands; [0118]: the camera can sequentially capture single wavelength images through each of the eight filters as the filter wheel is rotated).
Claim 7. Fan further teaches that
the filter comprises a motorized filter wheel ([0117]: FIG.8: multi-spectral images can be collected by the Staring method using a filter-wheel camera (for example, SpectroCam, Pixelteg; Largo, Fla.) equipped with eight unique optical band-pass filters between 400 and 1100 nm wavelengths; [0079]: Module 112 controls the probe, which may include setting such as…filter color) – a filter wheel is known in the field of art to be rotatable. The rotation may be done manually or automatically as a motor-controlled, i.e., motorized. Since Fan teaches that the operation of the probe is controlled by the module 112, the operation is considered automatic, hence the rotation of the filter wheel is motorized.
Claim 10. Fan further teaches that
the light source comprises a multi-wavelength light source ([0070]: the one or more light sources may emit white light or light that falls in one or more spectral bands; and [0071]: visible and near-infrared wavelengths such as between 400 to 1100 nm) .
Claim 11. Fan further teaches that
the light source comprises a light-emitting diode (LED) light source ([0070]: the one or more light sources may be light-emitting diodes (LEDs)).
Claim 12. Fan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, including the light source having the predetermined central wavelengths ([0070], [0071], [0095] and [0227])
Fan further teaches that
the light source comprises lasers ([0010]: several instruments that are known to accurately determine the perfusion and oxygenation of the skin tissue have been tested in this testing, including TCOM, SPP, and laser Doppler).
Laser Doppler is known in the field of art that uses a laser light source to assess vascular condition based on the Doppler effect.
Claim 13. Fan further teaches that
the camera is configured to perform imaging photoplethysmography (PPG) ([0151]: FIG.12 illustrates a high-level graphical overview of two optical imaging techniques, photoplethysmography imaging (PPG imaging) and multispectral imaging (MSI)).
Claim 14. Fan further teaches that
the camera comprises a multispectral camera configured to detect the six or more central wavelengths as a fixed configuration ([0092] the one or more cameras are coupled to a filter wheel with a plurality of filters with different passbands; and [0093]: …(instead of) the discrete bands of each filter in a filter wheel; and [0117]: FIG.8: in some alternatives multi-spectral images can be collected by the Staring method using a filter-wheel camera equipped with eight unique optical band-pass filters between 400 and 1100 nm wavelength) – having discrete bands for each filter with eight unique optical band-pass filters is considered the six or more central wavelength “as a fixed configuration” as claimed.
Claim 15. Fan further teaches
a filter, wherein the camera comprises a multispectral camera and the filter is configured to filter the reflected light to the six or more central wavelengths as a fixed configuration ([0092] the one or more cameras are coupled to a filter wheel with a plurality of filters with different passbands; and [0093]: …(instead of) the discrete bands of each filter in a filter wheel; and [0117]: FIG.8: in some alternatives multi-spectral images can be collected by the Staring method using a filter-wheel camera equipped with eight unique optical band-pass filters between 400 and 1100 nm wavelength) – having discrete bands for each filter with eight unique optical band-pass filters is considered the six or more central wavelength “as a fixed configuration” as claimed.
Claim 16. Fan further teaches that
the camera comprises a hyperspectral camera configured to detect the six or more central wavelengths as a tunable configuration ([0093]: the one or more cameras comprise a hyperspectral line-scan imager. A hyper-spectral line-scanner has continuous spectral bands…the filters are monolithically integrated optical interference filters…there may be dozens to hundreds of spectral bands corresponding to wavelengths between 400 to 1100 nm…or a range defined by any wavelength that is between any two of the aforementioned wavelengths) – setting the wavelength to be a range defined by any wavelength between 400 and 1100 nm is considered the six or more central wavelengths as “a tunable configuration” as claimed.
Claim 17. Fan further teaches
a filter, wherein the camera comprises a hyperspectral camera and the filter is configured to filter the reflected light to the six or more central wavelengths as a tunable configuration ([0093]: the one or more cameras comprise a hyperspectral line-scan imager. A hyper-spectral line-scanner has continuous spectral bands…the filters are monolithically integrated optical interference filters…there may be dozens to hundreds of spectral bands corresponding to wavelengths between 400 to 1100 nm…or a range defined by any wavelength that is between any two of the aforementioned wavelengths) – setting the wavelength to be a range defined by any wavelength between 400 and 1100 nm is considered the six or more central wavelengths as “a tunable configuration” as claimed.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al., US 2020/0138360 A1, hereinafter Fan.
Claim 3. Fan teaches all the limitations of claim 2, including “the filter simultaneously filters the reflected light” ([0091], [0092] and [0094]).
Fan further teaches that the reflected light is filtered to six predetermined central wavelengths ([0095] and [0098]-[0100] illustrates at least six predetermined central wavelengths).
In regard to the number of the predetermined central wavelength to be six, It is considered among various common practices that normally requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients. Such an alternate configuration is considered merely duplication of parts, which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered routine expedients.
Fan teaches that the wavelengths of the light emission may be selected based on various purposes, for example, [0099] teaches “other wavelengths for effectively classifying necrotic tissue and/or any other tissue condition described in this disclosure may be found”, and [0100] teaches “this [wavelength] set was effective at imaging amputation sites and separating imaged amputation site tissue into categories”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive such a configuration through routine experimentation with reasonable expectation of success. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).. MPEP 2144.04.VI.B.
Claim 6. The system of claim 5, wherein the filter filters the reflected light to six predetermined central wavelengths ([0095] and [0098]-[0100] illustrates at least six predetermined central wavelengths).
In regard to the number of the predetermined central wavelength to be six, It is considered among various common practices that normally requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients. Such an alternate configuration is considered merely duplication of parts, which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered routine expedients.
Fan teaches that the wavelengths of the light emission may be selected based on various purposes, for example, [0099] teaches “other wavelengths for effectively classifying necrotic tissue and/or any other tissue condition described in this disclosure may be found”, and [0100] teaches “this [wavelength] set was effective at imaging amputation sites and separating imaged amputation site tissue into categories”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive such a configuration through routine experimentation with reasonable expectation of success. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).. MPEP 2144.04.VI.B.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al., US 2020/0138360 A1, hereinafter Fan, in view of Cross et la., US 2019/0216326 A1, hereinafter Cross.
Claim 9. Fan further teaches that
the six or more predetermined central wavelengths are optimized for simultaneous detection of tissue perfusion, tissue oxygenation ([0151]: FIG.12 illustrates a high-level graphical overview of two optical imaging techniques, photoplethysmography imaging (PPG imaging) and multispectral imaging (MSI) that can be combined with patent health metrics to generate prognostic information…The two optical imaging methods are designed to infer important tissue characteristics, including arterial perfusion and tissue oxygenation; [0224]: PPG and MSI data can be collected simultaneously or sequentially), total hemoglobin ([0160]: MSI data can be used to quantify the volume fraction of hemoglobin) and methemoglobin, independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue ([0093]: the filters are monolithically integrated optical interference filters) – having the reflected light filtered with an optical interference filters is considered the reflected light, upon being filtered, becomes “independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue” as claimed, and wherein, when executed by the processor, the instructions further cause the system to:
apply a trained convolutional neural network to the reflected light to obtain an output comprising an estimate of the tissue perfusion, an estimate of tissue oxygenation, an estimate of total hemoglobin and an estimate of methemoglobin ([0162]: the machine learning model can be trained to generate a quantitative output after assessing all data collected by the amputation site analysis system. The quantitative output can be translated into an image identifying areas of the scanned tissue surface…, to generate a mapping of various regions of tissue classifications, and/or to recommend a LOA; and [0171]: a range of classifier models can be implemented for sorting the data, including but not limited to linear and quadratic discriminant analyses, decision trees, clustering, and neural networks, and convolutional neural networks).
Fan does not teach that the methemoglobin is detected and estimated. However, in an analogous optical imaging-based tissue assessment field of endeavor, Cross teaches that the methemoglobin is detected and estimated ([0066]: discriminating tissue from a diabetic limb ulcer from healthy viable tissue may be done by evaluating the tissue region for certain physiological markers such as, would oxygenation, perfusion (i.e., total hemoglobin), methemoglobin and water content. To the best of their knowledge, the inventors are the first to use metHb as a physiological marker and also to be able to create digital images of metHb using portable optical imaging).
When Fan and Cross are combined, met Hemoglobin is an additional marker together with hemoglobin when assessing tissue perfusion and oxygenation, and is estimated with the trained convolutional neurol network taught in Fan.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of Fan employ such a feature of having methemoglobin is detected and estimated as taught in Cross for the advantage of “being used as a physiological marker to discriminate diseased tissue from healthy viable tissue”, as suggested in Cross, [0066].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in regard to Fan’s teaching in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserted that Fan uses monolithically integrated optical interference filters, and the imager scans the tissue using each filter line and senses the light reflected from the tissue. Yet Fan does not teach or suggest measuring tissue perfusion and oxygenation…independent of interferences due to characteristics of the tissue as set forth in amended claim 1.
This limitation was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the previous Office action. In the rejection, due to the indefiniteness of the claim language, Examiner has attempted two interpretations and selected interpretation (2) for examination purpose. However, it appears that Applicant’s interpretation as asserted in the response is different from how Examiner has interpreted it. Since Applicant does not argue nor amend the limitation, Examiner maintains her interpretation in this Office action and the rejection is maintained. The rejection has been modified to elaborate Examiner’s previous consideration, and to include the interpretation made by the Applicant.
The indefiniteness issue in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) needs to be resolved first, then if the Examiner’s interpretation is incorrect, the art rejection will be reconsidered based on the proper interpretation.
New ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) to claim 9 is now made. Claims 8 and 9 have no dependency before, yet the incorporate of claim 8 into claim 1 results in a dependency between them. Please refer to the rejection and address all the issues considered therein.
Further, Examiner respectfully notes that, in the specification, it discloses at least in [0052] that the number of wavelengths is reduced to minimize the processing and storage requirements. However, as recited in the claim, the number of wavelengths is 6 or more. Six or more covers any number above 6, including any number that Applicant considers being “high” to deviate away from the purpose of minimizing the processing and storage requirements. Applicant is suggested to revisit this claim limitation to more properly capture the scope of the invention that Applicant intends to claim.
Based on the above considerations, claims 1-7 and 9-17 remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YI-SHAN YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798