DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-17, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2014/0187949) in view of Neumann et al. (US 2017/0071671).
With respect to claims 1, 7, 15 and 19, Zhao et al. discloses a vascular therapy apparatus comprising: an electronic processing device ([0028]) comprising at least one electronic processor programmed to: retrieve an intravascular instrument model of an associated intravascular instrument to be used in an intravascular procedure ([0060]); retrieve a patient model of anatomy including at least vasculature of a patient who is to undergo the intravascular procedure ([0050]); and before and/during the intravascular procedure, model a passage of the associated intravascular instrument through vasculature of the associated patient using the instrument model and the patient model ([0052]); and output treatment information for the intravascular therapy procedure based on the modeled passage of the associated intravascular instrument through the vasculature of the associated patient, wherein the modeling of the passage of the associated intravascular instrument through the vasculature of the associated patient includes: modeling friction force on the associated intravascular instrument as a function of position along the associated intravascular instrument during the passage of the associated intravascular instrument through the vasculature ([0054-0055]). Zhao et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for the use of a physics based model. However, Neumann et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor using physics based simulation models provides a personalized model of the patient ([0041]; [0044]; [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Zhao et al. with physics based simulation models as taught by Neumann et al. in order to provide a personalized model for the patient. Zhao et al. discloses modeling tissue damage risk ([0053]; [0055-0056]; [0058-0059]).
With respect to claims 2 and 16, Zhao et al. discloses a plurality of difference candidate routes including a recommended route ([0057]).
With respect to claims 3 and 17, Zhao et al. discloses a plurality of different candidate associated instruments ([0048]; [0060]; [0062]).
With respect to claims 5 and 8, Zhao et al. discloses a visual rendering ([0031-0032]; [0050]; [0057]).
With respect to claims 9 and 20, Zhao et al. discloses receiving medical images ([0028]; [0031]).
With respect to claim 10, Zhao et al. discloses treatment information ([0055-0056]; [0062]).
With respect to claim 11, Zhao et al. discloses using the models to perform scenarios ([00062-0063]).
With respect to claim 12, Zhao et al. discloses diameter and stiffness ([0054]).
With respect to claim 13, Zhao et al. discloses geometrical layout ([0055]; [0066]; [0076]) and tissue information ([0058]; [0061]).
With respect to claim 14, Zhao et al. discloses a generic patient model or a patient specific model ([0050]).
With respect to claims 21-22, the Examiner notes the features of the patient model are outside the scope of the invention and considered as non-functional descriptive material which holds little patentable weight. The patient model is merely data that is retrieved and processed by the system/method. Therefore, Zhao et al. is interpreted to be capable of retrieving and processing the patient model.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-17, and 19-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PETER LUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797