187180912Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by McCormick (US 1843139 A).
Regarding claim 1, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an attachment mechanism configured to receive a connector member (32) including a connector opening (opening of 32 into which 36 is inserted), the attachment mechanism comprising: a housing (30) defining a cavity (hole in which 36 is movable inside) configured to selectively receive the connector member; an actuator mechanism (actuator mechanism comprises at least 36 and 48) including a lock member (36) movable between an extended position (Fig. 8), in which a portion of the lock member extends into the cavity, and a retracted position (Fig. 10), in which the lock member is positioned outside the cavity; and a plate (43) movably mounted in the cavity and movable between a first position, in which the plate prevents the lock member from moving to the extended position (Fig. 10 shows position of the plate 43 inside the cavity which prevents insertion of the lock member 36 inside the connector opening of the connector member 32 which is the retracted position), and a second position, in which the plate allows the lock member to move to the extended position (Fig. 8 shows position of the plate 43 inside the cavity which allows insertion of the lock member 36 inside the connector opening of the connector member 32 which is the extended position); wherein when the connector member is received in the cavity, the plate is moved from the first position to the second position and the lock member is at least partially received by the connector opening.
Regarding claim 2, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a bracket extending from the housing, and wherein the lock member is movably mounted in the bracket.
Regarding claim 3, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the bracket includes at least one side plate (right side piece of the bracket shown in Fig. 7) including an elongated slot (slot inside the side plate for guided movement of the pin 42), wherein the lock member includes at least one guide pin (pin 42), the guide pin configured to traverse the elongated slot.
Regarding claim 4, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a locking latch (94) positioned adjacent the elongated slot, the locking latch configured to selectively prevent the guide pin from traversing the elongated slot (by blocking rotation of 48 due to pulling force of spring 49).
Regarding claim 5, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a locking latch (94) configured to selectively prevent the lock member from moving to the extended position (by blocking rotation of 48 due to pulling force of spring 49).
Regarding claim 6, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the attachment mechanism is movable to a first configuration, a second configuration, and a third configuration, wherein in the first configuration the plate is in the first position and the lock member is prevented from moving to the extended position (Fig. 9), wherein in the second configuration, the plate is in the second position and the lock member is in the extended position (Fig. 11), and wherein in the third configuration, the lock member is in the retracted position and the locking latch prevents the lock member from moving to the extended position (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the lock member is biased toward the extended position (by force of spring 45) and the plate is biased toward the first position (by force of spring 44).
Regarding claim 10, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a remote connection system configured to remotely couple a beam assembly (assembly inside 30) to a load (load comprises at least 27 and 32), the load including a connector member (32) with a connection opening (opening of 32 into which 36 is inserted), the remote connection system comprising: an attachment mechanism coupled to the beam assembly for selectively receiving the connector member (32), the attachment mechanism including a lock member (36) movable between a first position (Fig. 8), in which the lock member is received in the connection opening, and a second position (Figs. 9 and 10), in which the lock member is removed from the connection opening; an extended line (extended line comprises 94, 48, 42) including a first end and a second end, the first end (42) coupled to the lock member (via spring 35); and a remote actuator coupled to the second end of the extended line for selectively applying tension to the extended line to move the lock member to the second position (see page 3, lines 100-130).
Regarding claim 11, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above), the attachment mechanism comprising: a housing (30) defining a cavity (hole in which 36 is movable inside) the cavity selectively receiving the connector member, wherein the lock member is positioned at least partially in the cavity in the first position (see Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the attachment mechanism includes a plate (43) movable to selectively prevent the lock member from moving to the first position (Fig. 10 shows position of the plate 43 inside the cavity which prevents insertion of the lock member 36 inside the connector opening of the connector member 32 which is the retracted position).
Regarding claim 13, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the remote actuator includes a handle (pivotally mounted lever 94) movable between an active position, in which tension is applied to the extended line, and an inactive position (see page 3, lines 100-130).
Regarding claim 14, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) lock member is biased toward the first position (by spring force behind 36).
Regarding claim 15, McCormick teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the attachment mechanism further includes a locking latch (94) configured to selectively prevent the lock member from moving from the second position (by blocking rotation of 48 due to pulling force of spring 49).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Brooks (US 6991274 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Brooks teaches an attachment mechanism (39, 53) configured to receive a connector member (59) including a connector opening (opening includes 119, 120), the attachment mechanism (39, 53) comprising: a housing (57) defining a cavity configured to selectively receive the connector member (see Figs. 23-31); an actuator mechanism (spring 183) including a lock member (hooks 63 and 65 and their pivot pins 173) movable between an extended position (see Figs. 21, 28), in which a portion (175, 175) of the lock member (hooks 63 and 65 and their pivot pins 173) extends into the cavity, and a retracted position (Fig. 26), in which the lock member is positioned outside the cavity; and a plate (keeper arm 131) movably mounted in the cavity and movable between a first position (Fig. 28), in which the plate (131) prevents the lock member (hooks 63 and 65 and their pivot pins 173) from moving to the extended position, and a second position (Fig. 26), in which the plate allows the lock member (hooks 63 and 65 and their pivot pins 173) to move to the extended position; wherein when the connector member (59) is received in the cavity (Figs. 23, 25), the plate is moved from the first position to the second position and the lock member (hooks 63 and 65 and their pivot pins 173) is at least partially received by the connector opening (Figs. 28, 31).
Regarding claim 2, Brooks teaches a bracket (Fig. 20: plate comprises two pieces 171, 171) extending from the housing, and wherein the lock member is movably (rotational movement) mounted in the bracket.
Regarding claim 3, Brooks teaches the bracket (171, 171) includes at least one side plate including an elongated slot (slot between two parallel parts 171, 171), wherein the lock member (hooks 63 and 65 and their pivot pins 173) includes at least one guide pin (173), the guide pin configured to traverse the elongated slot.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Grunwell (US 2335272 A).
Regarding claim 16, Grunwell teaches a transportation system for transporting a load (16) comprising: a lifting machine (crane); a beam assembly (beam 14) including an upper beam (upper side), a rigging, and a lower beam (lower side), the upper beam coupled to the lifting machine (via cables 15, 15’); and a remote connection system (Fig. 2) including: an attachment mechanism (attachment mechanism comprises at least hooks 10, 10’; teeth 18 and ratchet 17) coupled to the lower beam, the attachment mechanism including a lock member (col. 2, lines 17-30: “a setting lever 34 which may be locked in either of two positions by engagement with a ratchet 35”) movable to selectively engage the load to couple the beam assembly (14) to the load for transportation; and a remote actuator (locking lever 36) spaced from the beam assembly (14) for operating the attachment mechanism.
Regarding claim 17, Grunwell teaches the lifting machine is configured to move the beam assembly toward the load until the lock member automatically engages the load (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Grunwell teaches the actuator mechanism is movable between a first configuration in which the lock member engages the load and a second configuration in which the lock member is prevented from engaging the load (see Figs. 2-6; col. 2, lines 17-30: “a setting lever 34 which may be locked in either of two positions by engagement with a ratchet 35”).
Regarding claim 19, Grunwell teaches the lock member is moved from the first configuration to the second configuration by the remote actuator (see Figs. 2-6; col. 2, lines 17-30: “a setting lever 34 which may be locked in either of two positions by engagement with a ratchet 35”).
Regarding claim 20, Grunwell teaches the remote actuator is connected to the attachment mechanism by an extended line (link 37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723