DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 06/10/2024.
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13, 17-18, 20 and 22 are pending of which claims 1, 13, 17 and 22 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maattanen et al (US 2022/0182914).
Regarding claim 1, Maattanen’914 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from an access network node,(see fig.14, 1410 & see para.0034, which discusses receiving, at a UE in a non-terrestrial network, system information comprising information of at least one target tracking area via a broadcast from a network node, see para.0146, which discusses the network node may be a gNB), a tracking area identifier list associated with a current cell of the UE(see para.0074-0075, which discusses a list of TACs broadcasted by gNb…, see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073, see table 1 and para.0070), based on a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the current cell(see fig.9, 901 & see para.0141, which discusses a determination by a UE or wireless device of an expiration/elapse of current valid target area in the non-terrestrial network. The expiration can be based on a current time, see fig.12, which shows based on current tracking area …is expiring 1210 causing broadcasting to at least one UE…system information 1230, see table 1, which shows TAC(s) associated with time interval), wherein the tracking area identifier list(see para.0074-0075, which discusses a list of TACs broadcasted by gNb…, see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073) includes at least one tracking area identifier(see para.0070, which discusses tracking area code which is denoted by TAC & table 1, which shows includes tracking area identifier (TAI)).
Regarding claim 2, Maattanen’914 discloses further comprising: receiving an indication that a change of tracking area identifiers has occurred with respect to the current cell(see para.0072, which discusses A UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list. In particular embodiments, a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest); and determining whether to receive the tracking area identifier list based on the indication(see para.0073, which discusses the UE would consider the newest TAC X when deciding whether a TAU is needed, see para.0072, which discusses a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest) and the time parameter l(see fig.9, 901 & see para.0141, which discusses a determination by a UE or wireless device of an expiration of current valid target area in the non-terrestrial network. The expiration can be based on a current time, see fig.12, which shows based on current tracking area …is expiring 1210 causing broadcasting to at least one UE…system information 1230, see table 1, which shows TAC(s) associated with time interval).
Regarding claim 3, Maattanen’914 discloses wherein the indication includes at least one bit or a flag indicating that system information associated with the cell has been updated to change at least one tracking area identifier(see para.0072, which discusses a UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list. In particular embodiments, a flag as flag indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest, see para.0070 & see table 1).
Regarding claim 7, Maattanen’914 discloses wherein the time parameter identifies a time period between consecutive time points(see table 1, which shows identify time period between consecutive time points related to [t0,t1], [t1,t2],… [t1,ti+1]…) for receiving the tracking area identifier list(see para.0070, which discusses during this time interval, the moving cell with NCI m broadcasts the corresponding tracking area code which is denoted by TAC.sub.i[m]. Table 1 below gives one example illustration of the TAC-to-NCI mapping).
Regarding claim 17, Maattanen’914 discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one memory(see fig.4, which shows device readable medium 430) storing instructions(see para.0100, which discusses instructions stored in device readable medium 430 or in memory); and at least one processor(see fig.4, processing circuity 420) configured to process the instructions(see para.0100, which discusses processing circuitry 420 may execute instructions stored in device readable medium 430 or in memory within processing circuitry 420 to provide the functionality disclosed herein. In particular embodiments, the processing circuitry 420 of the WD 410 may execute instructions to perform measurements for certain cells in the network 406, which is further illustrated below) to:
receive, from an access network node,(see fig.14, 1410 & see para.0034, which discusses receiving, at a UE in a non-terrestrial network, system information comprising information of at least one target tracking area via a broadcast from a network node, see para.0146, which discusses the network node may be a gNB), a tracking area identifier list associated with a current cell of the UE(see para.0074-0075, which discusses a list of TACs broadcasted by gNb…, see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073, see table 1 and para.0070), based on a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the current cell(see fig.9, 901 & see para.0141, which discusses a determination by a UE or wireless device of an expiration of current valid target area in the non-terrestrial network. The expiration can be based on a current time, see fig.12, which shows based on current tracking area …is expiring 1210 causing broadcasting to at least one UE…system information 1230, see table 1, which shows TAC(s) associated with time interval), wherein the tracking area identifier list(see para.0074-0075, which discusses a list of TACs broadcasted by gNb…, see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073) includes at least one tracking area identifier(see para.0070, which discusses tracking area code which is denoted by TAC & table 1, which shows includes tracking area identifier (TAI)).
Regarding claim 18, Maattanen’914 discloses further comprising: receiving an indication that a change of tracking area identifiers has occurred with respect to the current cell(see para.0072, which discusses A UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list. In particular embodiments, a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest); and determining whether to receive the tracking area identifier list based on the indication(see para.0073, which discusses the UE would consider the newest TAC X when deciding whether a TAU is needed, see para.0072, which discusses a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest) and the time parameter l(see fig.9, 901 & see para.0141, which discusses a determination by a UE or wireless device of an expiration of current valid target area in the non-terrestrial network. The expiration can be based on a current time, see fig.12, which shows based on current tracking area …is expiring 1210 causing broadcasting to at least one UE…system information 1230, see table 1, which shows TAC(s) associated with time interval).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 11, 13, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al (US 2022/0182914) and further in view of Qualcomm(R2-2105432; 3GG TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting # 114e E-Meeting: May 19-21, 2021, Agenda item: 8.10.3.1; Source: Qualcomm incorporated; Title: Hard and soft TAC update timing; Document for: Discussion and Decision).
Regarding claim 8, 20, Maattanen’914 discloses wherein the time parameter is related to a cell specific period(see para.0070, which discusses moving cell with a NR cell identity (NCI) m as cell specific period during the time interval [t.sub.i, t.sub.i+i]. During this time interval, the moving cell with NCI m broadcasts the corresponding tracking area code which is denoted by TAC.sub.i[m]. Table 1 below gives one example illustration of the TAC-to-NCI mapping, thus, time interval [t.sub.i, t.sub.i+i] as time parameter is related to NR cell identity (NCI) m as cell specific period).
As discussed above, although Maattanen’914 discloses UE would have to keep performing location registration (see para.0018), Maattanen’914 does not explicitly show the use of “triggering registration area update procedure, in the current cell, based on the cell specific period” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “triggering registration area update procedure, in the current cell, based on the cell specific period” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Qualcomm.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm teaches the use of triggering registration area update procedure, in the current cell, based on the cell specific period(see 2.2, which discusses UE, if still able to access the cell, would need to perform a Registration update just before time T1 + T as cell specific period in order to receive some new TAC allowance from the 5GC).
In view of the above, having the system of Maattanen’914 and then given the well-established teaching of Qualcomm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen’914 to include “triggering registration area update procedure, in the current cell, based on the cell specific period” as taught by Qualcomm, since Qualcomm stated in para.0018+ that such a modification would provide the details on how UE can be made aware when the network stops broadcasting a TAC for both hard and soft TAC update procedure.
Regarding claim 9, Maattanen’914 discloses wherein the cell specific period is determined based on at least one(due to at least one language, only one of them is being considered) (see table 1 and para.0070)of: a size associated with the current cell; a speed associated with the current cell; a travel direction associated with the current cell; or(due to or language, only one of them is being considered) a number of tracking areas associated with the current cell(see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking are…. A UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list, see table 1, thus based on number of tracking areas).
Regarding claim 11, Maattanen’914 discloses wherein the receiving the tracking area identifier list broadcast in the current cell is performed(see para.0074-0075, which discusses a list of TACs broadcasted by gNb…, see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073, see table 1 and para.0070).
As discussed above, although Maattanen’914 discloses UE would have to keep performing location registration (see para.0018), Maattanen’914 does not explicitly show the use of “before the triggering the registration area update procedure” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “before the triggering the registration area update procedure” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Qualcomm.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm teaches the use of the receiving the tracking area identifier list broadcast in the current cell is performed (see 2.2, which discusses a cell broadcasts multiple TACs per PLMN)before the triggering the registration area update procedure(see 2.2, which discusses If the UE is allowed to access TAC X but not any other TAC, then the UE, if still able to access the cell, would need to perform a Registration update just before time T1 + T, thus then is indicative that the tracking area identifier list broadcast in the current cell is performed before performing a Registration update).
In view of the above, having the system of Maattanen’914 and then given the well-established teaching of Qualcomm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen’914 to include “before the triggering the registration area update procedure” as taught by Qualcomm, since Qualcomm stated in para.0018+ that such a modification would provide the details on how UE can be made aware when the network stops broadcasting a TAC for both hard and soft TAC update procedure.
Regarding claim 13, Maattanen’914 discloses a method performed by an access network node, the method comprising:
transmitting a tracking area identifier list associated with a cell of the access network node(see para.0074-0075, which discusses a list of TACs broadcasted by gNb…, see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073, see table 1 and para.0070), wherein the tracking area identifier list includes at least one tracking area identifier(see para.0070, which discusses tracking area code which is denoted by TAC & table 1, which shows includes tracking area identifier (TAI));
updating the tracking area list concerning the at least one tracking area identifier (see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073, see table 1 and para.0070, thus updating due to adding new TAC ); and
transmitting an indication that the tracking area identifier list has been updated(see para.0072, which discusses a UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list. In particular embodiments, a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest, see para.0041).
As discussed above, although Maattanen’914 discloses transmitting an indication that the tracking area identifier list has been updated(see para.0072, which discusses a UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list. In particular embodiments, a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest, see para.0041), Maattanen’914 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Qualcomm.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm teaches the use of wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell(see page, which discusses in SIB, time for the next TAC update can be broadcast. Based on time information, UE will read SIB and get updated on TAC… In soft TAC update, next update time nextUpdateTime-r17 can be broadcast per cell or per TAC so that UE becomes aware when cell is going to stop broadcasting old TAC(s)… Additional 8 bits signalling in a SIB to indicate next TAC update time should be more efficient than paging all UEs during a SI modification period…).
In view of the above, having the system of Maattanen’914 and then given the well-established teaching of Qualcomm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen’914 to include “wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell” as taught by Qualcomm, since Qualcomm stated in para.0018+ that such a modification would provide the details on how UE can be made aware when the network stops broadcasting a TAC for both hard and soft TAC update procedure.
Regarding claim 22, Maattanen’914 discloses An access network node(see fig.4, 460) comprising: at least one memory(see fig.4, which shows device readable medium 480) storing instructions(see para.0086, which discusses instructions stored in device readable medium 480) ; and at least one processor configured (see fig.4, which shows processing circuitry 470) to process the instructions(see para.0086, which discusses processing circuitry 470 may execute instructions stored in device readable medium 480 or in memory within processing circuitry 470, see para.0088-0089) to:
transmit a tracking area identifier list associated with a cell of the access network node(see para.0074-0075, which discusses a list of TACs broadcasted by gNb…, see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073, see table 1 and para.0070), wherein the tracking area identifier list includes at least one tracking area identifier(see para.0070, which discusses tracking area code which is denoted by TAC & table 1, which shows includes tracking area identifier (TAI));
update the tracking area list concerning the at least one tracking area identifier (see para.0072, which discusses provides a list of target tracking areas for UEs in the non-terrestrial network for switching tracking area. While transiting, e.g., the movement of the satellite, the cell adds a new TAC in its system information in addition to an old TAC, see para.0073, see table 1 and para.0070, thus updating due to adding new TAC); and
transmit an indication that the tracking area identifier list has been updated(see para.0072, which discusses a UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list. In particular embodiments, a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest, see para.0041).
As discussed above, although Maattanen’914 discloses transmitting an indication that the tracking area identifier list has been updated(see para.0072, which discusses a UE may know which target tracking area is the newest addition based on the order of the target tracking areas in the list. In particular embodiments, a flag as indication may be added to a specific target tracking area, such that the UE may recognize which target tracking area is the newest, see para.0041), Maattanen’914 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Qualcomm.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm teaches the use of wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell(see page, which discusses in SIB, time for the next TAC update can be broadcast. Based on time information, UE will read SIB and get updated on TAC… In soft TAC update, next update time nextUpdateTime-r17 can be broadcast per cell or per TAC so that UE becomes aware when cell is going to stop broadcasting old TAC(s)… Additional 8 bits signalling in a SIB to indicate next TAC update time should be more efficient than paging all UEs during a SI modification period…).
In view of the above, having the system of Maattanen’914 and then given the well-established teaching of Qualcomm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen’914 to include “wherein the indication includes a time parameter related to a time elapsed since the UE selected to the cell” as taught by Qualcomm, since Qualcomm stated in para.0018+ that such a modification would provide the details on how UE can be made aware when the network stops broadcasting a TAC for both hard and soft TAC update procedure.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al (US 2022/0182914). in view of Qualcomm(R2-2105432; 3GG TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting # 114e E-Meeting: May 19-21, 2021, Agenda item: 8.10.3.1; Source: Qualcomm incorporated; Title: Hard and soft TAC update timing; Document for: Discussion and Decision) and further in view of Huang et al (US 2023/0037533) claiming benefit to and fully-supported by provisionally filed application number 63/228,893, filed on 08/03/2021, provisionally filed application number 63/272,019, filed on 10/26/2021.
Regarding claim 10, Maattanen’914 discloses the cell specific period upon selecting the current cell(see para.0070, which discusses moving cell with a NR cell identity (NCI) m as cell specific period during the time interval [t.sub.i, t.sub.i+i]. During this time interval, the moving cell with NCI m broadcasts the corresponding tracking area code which is denoted by TAC.sub.i[m]. Table 1 below gives one example illustration of the TAC-to-NCI mapping, thus, time interval [t.sub.i, t.sub.i+i] as time parameter is related to NR cell identity (NCI) m as cell specific period).
As discussed above, although the combined system of Maattanen’914 and Qualcomm discloses cell specific period upon selecting the current cell(see para.0070, which discusses moving cell with a NR cell identity (NCI) m as cell specific period during the time interval [t.sub.i, t.sub.i+i]. During this time interval, the moving cell with NCI m broadcasts the corresponding tracking area code which is denoted by TAC.sub.i[m]. Table 1 below gives one example illustration of the TAC-to-NCI mapping, thus, time interval [t.sub.i, t.sub.i+i] as time parameter is related to NR cell identity (NCI) m as cell specific period), the combined system of Maattanen’914 and Qualcomm does not explicitly show the use of “starting a timer corresponding to” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “starting a timer corresponding to” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Qualcomm.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Qualcomm teaches the use of starting a timer corresponding to(see para.0114, which discusses the UE starts or restarts a timer with the length of the validity time. The UE acquires, derives, and/or updates a new reference location of the cell before or upon the timer expiry) the cell specific period upon selecting the current cell(see para.0114, which discusses the UE receives information of a reference location of a cell. The UE receives information of time stamp and/or validity time associated with the information of the reference location of the cell, see para.0178-0180).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Maattanen’914 and Qualcomm and then given the well-established teaching of Qualcomm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Maattanen’914 and Qualcomm to include “starting a timer corresponding to” as taught by Qualcomm, since Qualcomm stated in para.0005+ that such a modification would provide the validity of satellite ephemeris and cell reference location can be well controlled by the UE with minimum/optimized signaling overhead.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474