Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "in inlet" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that the “in” is a type for “an” in the claim, and should be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berthoud (U.S. 3,863,841).
With respect to claim 1, Berthoud discloses a valve assembly (see figures 1-3) comprising:
a valve body (valve body of 2,3,5) having in inlet (inlet at 2), an outlet (outlet at 5), a first opening (opening at 20/4), and a second opening (opening at 21/4a);
a connection bracket (bracket 7) connected to the valve body adjacent to the inlet (as shown in figure 1) and configured for connection to a fluid line (fluid line 1);
a cap (cap of 20, which caps off the threads); and
a valve (valve of 21 having 4a); wherein the cap and the valve are interchangeably connectable to the first opening and the second opening (as they are both threaded onto threads, see figure 1, the threads being the same).
With respect to claim 2, Berthoud discloses the connection bracket comprises an upper bracket hingably connected to the valve body (as the upper bracket being 7 is hingedly connected via 11 to that of 6).
With respect to claim 3, Berthoud discloses the first opening and second opening are transverse to the inlet and outlet (as seen in figure 1, being side openings where the inlet and outlet exist on a vertical direction).
With respect to claim 4, Berthoud discloses the first opening and second opening are opposite each other on the valve body (as shown in figure 1).
With respect to claim 5, Berthoud discloses the inlet and outlet are opposite each other on the valve body (as shown in figure 1).
With respect to claim 6, Berthoud discloses the valve body has mirror symmetry along a line through a center of the valve body (as shown in figure 1, where the cut line for figure 1, shows each side being identical through the middle, understood that figure 2 is cut in the middle such that each side is symmetrical with one another upon the cut portion) with the first opening and second opening being perpendicular to the line (as the first and second openings within 20 and 21 are perpendicular to the line shown in figure 1, going down the middle of 2 and 15).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752