DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16 and 19-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 26 June 2026 and a voicemail message delivered on 16 July 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 15 and 17-18 in the reply filed on 26 June 2026 and voicemail message delivered on 16 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examiner’s obviousness statement is improper because the statement lacks any basis in the prior art and the need for “access to shaft connector features is something not supported and explained as required by MPEP §2143 and §2144. This is not found persuasive because the rejection does not depend upon Miyanaga expressly recognizing such a need. Rather, the modification is based upon the well-established engineering principle that forming an integral structure as separate connected components to facilitate manufacture, assembly, servicing, replacement, or access is a predictable design alternative. See MPEP §2144.04(V)( C). The claimed endplate merely represents such a predictable segmentation of an integral terminal portion.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
col1viousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyanaga (WO 2018/052118 A1) as provided by (WO 2018/052118 A1) machine translation as an English language equivalent.
Claim 15:
Miyanaga discloses an apparatus configured to be connected in a rotatably fixed manner to a power tool, the apparatus comprising:
a tool bit (1, 2) including a hollow tool shaft having a longitudinal axis and a first end and a second end, a plate-like terminal portion (top surface of 1) connected to the first end, a cutting ring (22) having an inner diameter and being connected to the second end, and a connector (11) configured to be connected to the power tool and having a connector flow cross-section (figs. 1-2, ¶ ¶16 and ¶19);
a dust extracting device (3) including a suction head and a suction tube, the suction head having a body part (34) with a through-opening (34a) and having a contact face (bottom surface of body part (34)) configured to be placed against a workpiece and the suction tube (36) having a length direction (coincident with passage 15), a tube flow cross-section perpendicular to the length direction (coincident with passage 15), a tube first end and a tube second end opposite of the tube first end (figs. 1-2, ¶21); and
a further connector (14) configured to connect the dust extracting device (3) to the tool bit (1, 2), in a connected state of the tool bit (1, 2) and the dust extracting device, the suction tube (36) being arranged inside of the tool shaft (figs. 1-2, ¶17 and ¶22).
Miyanaga fails to disclose a separate endplate connected to the first end. Instead, Miyanaga discloses an integrated plate-like terminal portion located at the first axial end of the tool bit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the integral plate-like terminal portion as a separate endplate because separating an integral component into multiple components to facilitate manufacture, assembly, servicing, replacement, or access is a well-known design alternative yielding predictable results. See MPEP §2144.04(V)( C) Making Separable which describes the prima facie obviousness of making separable elements disclosed in the prior art has being made integral. The court has held if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of the an apparatus to which an element was applied, it would be obvious to make the element removable for that purpose. In addition, MPEP 2144 expressly recognizes numerous predictable design modifications without requiring the reference itself to suggest every engineering reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17:
The prior art of record renders obvious the apparatus as recited in claim 15; and the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the suction tube is at least one of compressible or telescopic shiftable along the length direction of the suction tube.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ohlendorf (EP 1 593 447 A1) discloses a dust extraction hood with a socket drill (figs. 1-2, ¶1, ¶2).
Ohlendorf et al. (US 2011/0266015 A1) discloses a drilling tool for percussive or rotary percussive processing of stone, concrete or other rock-like materials of the building and construction industry (figs. 1-4, ¶2); further comprising a telescopic shiftable suction tube (21) (figs. 1-4, ¶8, ¶21).
/Lee A Holly/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726