DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pathak et al. (US 2019/0369699) in view of Melodia et al. (US 2018/0027077) in view of Chatterjee et al. (US 2011/0037321), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0413342).
Regarding claim 1, Pathak teaches a method for controlling communication transmission, comprising: acquiring a battery characteristic in a present state of a device (Paragraph [0218 and 0288], especially paragraph [0218]…… portions of battery level line 615c are displayed with different visual characteristics depending on the operating state and/or the battery level of electronic device 500 during the times corresponding to those portions), and determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic (Paragraphs [0218- 0219, and 0288]), but does not specifically teach adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response to the mode of the device is a power saving working mode; the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage, wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Melodia teaches adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response to the mode of the device is a power saving working mode (Claim 12; Paragraph [0133], especially paragraph (0133]…….. an energy management module can be provided to do one or more of the following: (i) adjust at runtime the core clock frequency according to the processing power required, (ii) select at runtime the low-power mode according to the application requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Melodia’s teaching about adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response to the mode of the device is a power saving working mode with Pathak’s invention in order to reduce the power consumption of the UE.
The combination of Pathak and Melodia fail to teach the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage, wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Chatterjee teaches the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage (Paragraphs [0035 and 0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Chatterjee’s teaching about the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage with Pathak’s and Melodia’s invention in order to enhance system efficiency and reduce power consumption.
The combination of Pathak, Melodia, and Chatterjee fail to teach wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Lee teaches wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment (Paragraphs [0005, 0048, and 0056], especially Paragraph [0048] teaches the memory 220 may store a program for controlling an entry of the near field communication module 215 into a power saving mode and a plurality of operation states, based on at least one of a state of the electronic device 201 and whether at least one external electronic device is connected to the electronic device. In the power saving mode of the near field communication module 215, the memory 220 may store a program in which, in a power saving mode, the near field communication module 215 adjusts a time for which a sleep state of the near field communication module 215 lasts, based on a packet transmitting/receiving state with the at least one external electronic device. That means once the near field communication module 215 adjust a time for which a sleep state of the near communication module 215 last, adjustment is greater than running time of the sleep stage or state before adjustment and obviously the running time of the TX stage or state after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lee’s teaching about wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment with Pathak’s, Melodia’s, and Chatterjee’s invention in order to reduce system power consumption.
Regarding claim 9, Pathak teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; wherein, the memory stores an instruction executable by the at least one processor, wherein the instruction is executed by the at least one processor, so that the at least one processor can execute method for controlling communication transmission (Claims 25 and 26; Paragraphs [0033, 0166]), the method comprising: acquiring a battery characteristic in a present state of a device (Paragraph [0218 and 0288], especially paragraph [0218]…… portions of battery level line 615c are displayed with different visual characteristics depending on the operating state and/or the battery level of electronic device 500 during the times corresponding to those portions), and determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic (Paragraphs [0218- 0219, and 0288]), but does not specifically teach adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response the mode of the device is a power saving working mode; the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage, wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Melodia teaches adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response the mode of the device is a power saving working mode (Claim 12; Paragraph [0133], especially paragraph (0133]…….. an energy management module can be provided to do one or more of the following: (i) adjust at runtime the core clock frequency according to the processing power required, (ii) select at runtime the low-power mode according to the application requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Melodia’s teaching about adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response to the mode of the device is a power saving working mode with Pathak’s invention in order to reduce the power consumption of the UE.
The combination of Pathak and Melodia fail to teach the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage, wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Chatterjee teaches the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage (Paragraphs [0035 and 0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Chatterjee’s teaching about the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage with Pathak’s and Melodia’s invention in order to enhance system efficiency and reduce power consumption.
The combination of Pathak, Melodia, and Chatterjee fail to teach wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Lee teaches wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment (Paragraphs [0005, 0048, and 0056], especially Paragraph [0048] teaches the memory 220 may store a program for controlling an entry of the near field communication module 215 into a power saving mode and a plurality of operation states, based on at least one of a state of the electronic device 201 and whether at least one external electronic device is connected to the electronic device. In the power saving mode of the near field communication module 215, the memory 220 may store a program in which, in a power saving mode, the near field communication module 215 adjusts a time for which a sleep state of the near field communication module 215 lasts, based on a packet transmitting/receiving state with the at least one external electronic device. That means once the near field communication module 215 adjust a time for which a sleep state of the near communication module 215 last, adjustment is greater than running time of the sleep stage or state before adjustment and obviously the running time of the TX stage or state after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lee’s teaching about wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment with Pathak’s, Melodia’s, and Chatterjee’s invention in order to reduce system power consumption.
Regarding claim 10, Pathak teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, which stores a computer program, wherein the computer program is configured to cause, when executed by a processor, the processor to perform a method for controlling communication transmission (Claims 25 and 26; Paragraphs [0033, 0166]), the method comprising:
acquiring a battery characteristic in a present state of a device (Paragraph [0218 and 0288], especially paragraph [0218]…… portions of battery level line 615c are displayed with different visual characteristics depending on the operating state and/or the battery level of electronic device 500 during the times corresponding to those portions), and determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic (Paragraphs [0218- 0219, and 0288]), but does not specifically teach adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response to the mode of the device is a power saving working mode; the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage, wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Melodia teaches adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response to the mode of the device is a power saving working mode (Claim 12; Paragraph [0133], especially paragraph (0133]…….. an energy management module can be provided to do one or more of the following: (i) adjust at runtime the core clock frequency according to the processing power required, (ii) select at runtime the low-power mode according to the application requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Melodia’s teaching about adjusting a running time of each stage of communication transmission of the device in response to the mode of the device is a power saving working mode with Pathak’s invention in order to reduce the power consumption of the UE.
The combination of Pathak and Melodia fail to teach the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage, wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Chatterjee teaches the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage (Paragraphs [0035 and 0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Chatterjee’s teaching about the communication transmission comprises: an receive (RX) stage, a sleep stage and a transmit (TX) stage with Pathak’s and Melodia’s invention in order to enhance system efficiency and reduce power consumption.
The combination of Pathak, Melodia, and Chatterjee fail to teach wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment.
However, in related art, Lee teaches wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment (Paragraphs [0005, 0048, and 0056], especially Paragraph [0048] teaches the memory 220 may store a program for controlling an entry of the near field communication module 215 into a power saving mode and a plurality of operation states, based on at least one of a state of the electronic device 201 and whether at least one external electronic device is connected to the electronic device. In the power saving mode of the near field communication module 215, the memory 220 may store a program in which, in a power saving mode, the near field communication module 215 adjusts a time for which a sleep state of the near field communication module 215 lasts, based on a packet transmitting/receiving state with the at least one external electronic device. That means once the near field communication module 215 adjust a time for which a sleep state of the near communication module 215 last, adjustment is greater than running time of the sleep stage or state before adjustment and obviously the running time of the TX stage or state after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lee’s teaching about wherein a running time of the sleep stage after adjustment is greater than a running time of the sleep stage before adjustment, and the running time of the TX stage after adjustment is less than the running time of the sleep stage before adjustment with Pathak’s, Melodia’s, and Chatterjee’s invention in order to reduce system power consumption.
Claims 2, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pathak et al. (US 2019/0369699) in view of Melodia et al. (US 2018/0027077) in view of Chatterjee et al. (US 2011/0037321) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0413342), and further Gilmore et al. (US 2008/0146292).
Regarding claims 2, 12, and 17, the combination of Pathak, Melodia, Chatterjee, and Lee fail to teach the method for controlling communication transmission according to claim 1, wherein the battery characteristic comprise one or any combination of the following: a present voltage of a battery, a present current of the battery, a remaining electric quantity of the battery, and a battery temperature.
However, in related art, Gilmore teaches the method for controlling communication transmission according to claim 1, wherein the battery characteristic comprise one or any combination of the following: a present voltage of a battery, a present current of the battery, a remaining electric quantity of the battery, and a battery temperature (Paragraph [0057]………. the power supply monitoring circuitry 320 monitors a characteristic (e.g., battery voltage level) of the second communication device's depletable power supply 318, at step 506, and transmits data representing the monitored characteristic (e.g., an actual battery voltage level or a battery voltage level indicator) to the first communication device 104, at step 508). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Gilmore’s teaching about wherein the battery characteristic comprise one or any combination of the following: a present voltage of a battery with Pathak’s, Melodia’s, and Chatterjee’s Lee’s invention in order to conserve power in the event that the operating characteristics (e.g., battery voltage) of either supply has degraded beyond a respective predetermined level (Paragraph [0046]).
Claims 6, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pathak et al. (US 2019/0369699) in view of Melodia et al. (US 2018/0027077) in view of Chatterjee et al. (US 2011/0037321) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0413342) Gilmore et al. (US 2008/0146292), and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 2004/0247993).
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 21, the combination of Pathak, Melodia, Chatterjee, Lee, and Gilmore teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Gilmore teaches the method for controlling communication transmission according to claim 2, wherein when the battery characteristic include: the present voltage of the battery (Paragraph [0057]), but does not specifically teach the determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic comprises: determining that the mode of the device is the second power saving working mode when the present voltage of the battery is lower than a low electrical threshold voltage preset for the battery.
However, in related art, Johnson teaches the determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic comprises: determining that the mode of the device is the second power saving working mode when the present voltage of the battery is lower than a low electrical threshold voltage preset for the battery (Claims 15 and 16…….. providing a user-selectable option for initiating a power saving mode wherein said power saving mode comprises: comparing the current battery voltage in the mobile station to a threshold battery voltage and if the current battery voltage is below the threshold battery voltage, then determining if the codec mode of the multi-rate speech service currently being used by the mobile station can be adjusted downward and if the current codec mode can be adjusted downward, then adjusting the codec mode downward thereby resulting in lower power transmission requirements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Johnson’s teaching about the determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic comprises: determining that the mode of the device is the second power saving working mode when the present voltage of the battery is lower than a low electrical threshold voltage preset for the battery with Pathak’s, Melodia’s, Chatterjee’s, Lee’s, and Gilmore’s invention in order to conserve battery power of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 11, 13-15, and 18- 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach the method for controlling communication transmission according to claim 2, wherein when the battery characteristic comprise: the present current of the battery; the determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic comprises: pre-estimating a peak current and voltage drop condition of the battery via pre-stored battery model data; wherein the battery model data is obtained by testing a battery under different temperatures and/or different load currents; determining that the mode of the device is the power saving working mode in response to the present current of the battery is greater than X% of an pre-estimated peak current; where X is any number from 1 to 100.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach the method for controlling communication transmission according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: after the battery characteristic in the present state of the device are acquired, determining a sleep degree of the device according to the battery characteristic; wherein the sleep degree comprises deep sleep, light sleep and microsleep; the functional module of the device operating in the deep sleep is less than the functional module operating in the light sleep; the functional modules of the device operating in the light sleep are less functional modules operating in the light sleep than functional modules operating in the micro sleep.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record fails to teach the electronic device according to claim 12, wherein when the battery characteristic comprise: the present current of the battery; the determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic comprises: pre-estimating a peak current and voltage drop condition of the battery via pre-stored battery model data; wherein the battery model data is obtained by testing a battery under different temperatures and/or different load currents; determining that the mode of the device is the power saving working mode in response to the present current of the battery is greater than X% of an pre-estimated peak current; where X is any number from 1 to 100.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record fails to teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium according to claim 17, wherein when the battery characteristic comprise: the present current of the battery; the determining a mode of the device according to the battery characteristic comprises: pre-estimating a peak current and voltage drop condition of the battery via pre-stored battery model data; wherein the battery model data is obtained by testing a battery under different temperatures and/or different load currents; determining that the mode of the device is the power saving working mode in response to the present current of the battery is greater than X% of an pre-estimated peak current; where X is any number from 1 to 100.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Riemer et al. (US Patent #12,697,396), Song et al. (US Patent #11,604,506), Xu et al. (US 2022/0256484), An et al. (US 2022/0099746), Senn et al. (US 2022/0065939), Tarighat Mehrabani (US 2021/0329581), Rosato (US 2021/0267486), Chen (US 2021/0265842), Xie et al. (US 2021/0208202), Jiravanichkul et al. (US 2021/0153807), Ruelke et al. (US Patent #10,936,006), Wang et al. (US 2020/0396172), Chang et al. (US 2020/0267649), Philips et al. (US Patent #10,563,502), Ye (US 2019/0196567), Matsumoto (US 2019/0113602), Zheng et al. (US 2018/0375352), Russick et al. (US 2018/0262131), Loonen et al. (US 2017/0338667), Liu et al. (US Patent #9,684,503), Phelps et al. (US 2014/0354214), Conrad et al. (US 2014/0189285), Lee et al. (US 2014/0159875), Takaki (US 2013/0235777), Zhu et al. (US 2013/0044658), Vangal et al. (US 2011/0235531), and Yoon et al. (US Patent #7,912,467).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132