DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the hard" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the soft" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-26 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2016/0122595) in view of Wu et al. “Characteristics of Polycarbonate Soft Segment-Based Thermoplastic Polyurethane”, Applied Sciences, vol. 11, no. 12, 1 January 2021 (2021-01-01), pages 1-17 (cited by applicant).
Feng discloses a multilayer film comprising: an adhesive layer comprising a thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer, and mixtures thereof; a barrier layer bonded to the adhesive layer, said barrier layer comprising a thermoplastic polyester elastomer (paragraphs [0035-0038], [0043]).
Feng does not disclose a thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer selected from the group consisting of polyether-based thermoplastic polyurethane elastomers, polycarbonate-based thermoplastic elastomers.
Wu discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer selected from the group consisting of polyether-based thermoplastic polyurethane elastomers, polycarbonate-based thermoplastic elastomers for the purpose of providing optimized mechanical properties such as stability and tensile strength (pages 1-17).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer selected from the group consisting of polyether-based thermoplastic polyurethane elastomers, polycarbonate-based thermoplastic elastomers in Feng in order to provide optimized mechanical properties such as stability and tensile strength as taught or suggested by Wu.
Wu discloses claims 20-23 and 37 (pages 1-17).
Feng discloses characterized in that the adhesive layer comprises more than 90% by weight of thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer, by weight relative to the total weight of said adhesive layer (paragraphs [0035-0038], [0043]).
With regard to claims 24-25 modified Feng doesn’t disclose applicant’s recited Shore hardness. However, finding the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to have provided applicant’s recited Shore hardness in order to optimize the mechanical properties of the film.
Claim(s) 27-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2016/0122595) in view of Wu et al. “Characteristics of Polycarbonate Soft Segment-Based Thermoplastic Polyurethane”, Applied Sciences, vol. 11, no. 12, 1 January 2021 (2021-01-01), pages 1-17 (cited by applicant), as applied to claims 19-26 and 37 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 2020/0223389).
Modified Feng does not disclose wherein the thermoplastic polyester elastomer is of the polyester-polyester or polyester-polyether or polyester-polyester/polyether type.
Yamada discloses wherein the thermoplastic polyester elastomer is of the polyester-polyester or polyester-polyether or polyester-polyester/polyether type in a multilayer film for the purpose of providing improved adhesion, strength and lower costs (paragraphs [009-0010], [0019], [0025-0047], [0061], [0087]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided wherein the thermoplastic polyester elastomer is of the polyester-polyester or polyester-polyether or polyester-polyester/polyether type in modified Feng for the purpose of providing improved adhesion, strength and lower costs as taught or suggested by Yamada.
Yamada discloses claims 28-30 (paragraphs [009-0010], [0019], [0025-0047], [0061], [0087]).
With regard to claim 31 modified Feng doesn’t disclose applicant’s recited Shore hardness. However, finding the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to have provided applicant’s recited Shore hardness in order to optimize the mechanical properties of the film.
Feng discloses claims 32-33 (paragraphs [0035-0038], [0043]).
Yamada disclose claims 34-36 (paragraphs [009-0010], [0019], [0025-0047], [0061], [0087]).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
July 12, 2026