DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species Chemical Formula 1-31 in the reply filed on September 11, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species of claim 5 share a distinctive structural core and function. This is not found persuasive because the compounds, their structural core, and their function are known in the prior art (see anticipation and obviousness rejections below).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Elected species Chemical Formula 1-31 does not have a C15-C20 heterocycloalkene group linking R3 and R7.
The elected species was searched and prior art was found. Therefore, the search was not extended further in accordance with MPEP § 803.02.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). The amino acid sequences in claim 5 must include a sequence identifier every time they appear in the claims and specification, including when depicted as a chemical structure.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 8-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to pharmaceutical and cosmetic compositions for preventing, treating, or alleviating inflammatory skin diseases, wounds, hair loss, fibrosis, metabolic diseases, cancer, aging, sensitive skin, wrinkles and moisturization comprising peptide derivatives of Chemical Formula 1.
The number of peptide derivatives meeting the structural requirements of Chemical Formula 1 is enormous. However, only those sequences meeting the structural and functional requirements of the genus are encompassed by the claim. Therefore, the claims are limited to peptides that meet the structural requirements of Chemical Formula 1 that are also able to prevent, treat, or alleviate inflammatory skin diseases, wounds, hair loss, fibrosis, metabolic diseases, cancer, aging, sensitive skin, wrinkles and moisturization.
The instant specification includes a limited reduction to practice. Three species, Chemical Formula 1-8 (GDYYF-NH2), 1-18 (DYYF), and 1-31 (GLYYF-NH2), were tested for their effect on hair growth in a mouse model (FIG. 18, Example 9), skin aging in a mouse model (FIG. 19, Example 9), neutral fat removal in a mouse adipocyte cell line (FIG. 20), and skin sensitivity in a human myocyte cell line (FIG. 21).
These species are not representative of the full scope of the structural genus which includes:
alkylamide and imidazoylmethyl groups as well as alkylcarboxyl and acyclic alkyl groups of other carbon numbers at position R4;
unsubstituted benzyl groups, benzyl groups with other substitutions, and indolylmethyl groups at position R5 and R6,
alkylamino groups, unsubstituted benzyl groups, benzyl groups with other substitutions, and indolylmethyl groups at position R5 and R6,
N-terminal modifications, and
Cyclization via R3 and R7.
These assays and animal models are not representative of the full scope of the claimed intended use which also includes all inflammatory skin diseases, wounds, fibrosis, all metabolic diseases, all cancers, all aging effects, and all types of skin sensitivities.
Therefore, the instant specification has failed to meet the written description requirement by actual reduction to practice of a representative number of species alone.
The claimed peptides are derived from adiponectin. The specification presents an AMPL phosphorylation activity in vitro assay to assess the activity of a large number of synthesized peptide derivatives (Example 2, FIGs. 1-10). However, many of the tested species fail to exhibit statistically significant activity compared to vehicle. The specification does not provide an explanation of the range of observed activities nor does it describe a general correlation between structure and function for the claimed genus. As a result, it is impossible to predict, based on the specification, how changing any position will affect the claimed functions.
Given this high degree of unpredictability, the broad scope of the claims with respect to structure and intended use, and the limited reduction to practice, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know which of the countless peptides that meet the structural requirements of the claims would also be able to perform the complicated claimed functions. The specification does not make clear which peptides are in the genus and which are not because it does not describe the physical basis for the claimed activity. In other words, the specification does not describe which peptides to make.
For these reasons, the skilled artisan would not reasonably conclude that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the full scope of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for using Formula 1-8 (GDYYF-NH2), 1-18 (DYYF), and 1-31 (GLYYF-NH2) to promote hair growth, increase collagen expression, inhibit neutral fat accumulation in adipocytes, and reduce the expression of a CGRP pain neurotransmitter in myocytes does not reasonably provide enablement for other uses with these peptides or the use of any other claimed peptides for any purpose. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
To comply with the enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, a specification must adequately teach how to make and how to use a claimed invention throughout its scope, without undue experimentation. Plant Genetic Systems N.V. v. DeKalb Genetics Corp., 315 F.3d 1335, 1339, 65 USPQ2d 1452, 1455 (Fed. Cir. 2003). There are a variety of factors which may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation. These factors include (In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988)):
The nature of the invention and the breadth of the claims
The claims are drawn to compositions for preventing, treating, or alleviating inflammatory skin diseases, wounds, hair loss, fibrosis, metabolic diseases, cancer, aging, sensitive skin, wrinkles and moisturization comprising peptide derivatives of Chemical Formula 1, which according to the specification are derived from adiponectin.
The number of peptide derivatives meeting the structural requirements of Chemical Formula 1 is enormous. However, only those sequences meeting the structural and functional requirements of the genus are encompassed by the claim. Therefore, the claims are limited to peptides that meet the structural requirements of Chemical Formula 1 that are also able to prevent, treat, or alleviate inflammatory skin diseases, wounds, hair loss, fibrosis, metabolic diseases, cancer, aging, sensitive skin, wrinkles and moisturization.
The presence or absence of working examples
The instant specification includes a limited reduction to practice. Three species, Chemical Formula 1-8 (GDYYF-NH2), 1-18 (DYYF), and 1-31 (GLYYF-NH2), were tested for their effect on hair growth in a mouse model (FIG. 18, Example 9), skin aging in a mouse model (FIG. 19, Example 9), neutral fat removal in a mouse adipocyte cell line (FIG. 20), and skin sensitivity in a human myocyte cell line (FIG. 21).
These species are not representative of the full scope of the structural genus which includes:
alkylamide and imidazoylmethyl groups as well as alkylcarboxyl and acyclic alkyl groups of other carbon numbers at position R4;
unsubstituted benzyl groups, benzyl groups with other substitutions, and indolylmethyl groups at position R5 and R6,
alkylamino groups, unsubstituted benzyl groups, benzyl groups with other substitutions, and indolylmethyl groups at position R5 and R6,
N-terminal modifications, and
Cyclization via R3 and R7.
These assays and animal models are not representative of the full scope of the claimed intended use which also includes all inflammatory skin diseases, wounds, fibrosis, all metabolic diseases, all cancers, all aging effects, and all types of skin sensitivities.
The amount of direction or guidance presented
The claimed peptides are derived from adiponectin. The specification presents an AMPL phosphorylation activity in vitro assay to assess the activity of a large number of synthesized peptide derivatives (Example 2, FIGs. 1-10). However, many of the tested species fail to exhibit statistically significant activity compared to vehicle. The specification does not provide an explanation of the range of observed activities nor does it describe a general correlation between structure and function for the claimed genus. As a result, it is impossible to predict, based on the specification, how changing any position will affect the claimed functions.
The state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, and the predictability or unpredictability of the art
Chung et al. (WO 2020/050428 A1; published December 3, 2020, citations refer to English language equivalent US 11,771,636 B2) teach a peptide having the amino acid sequence Gly-Leu-Tyr-Tyr-Phe (SEQ ID NO: 16) (col 2, lns 60-65). The prior art peptide corresponds to a peptide derivative of Chemical Formula 1 wherein R1 is NH2, R2 is OH, R3 is H, n is 1, R4 is C4 alkyl, R5 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R6 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R7 is benzyl, and R8, R9, and R10 are H. Chung et al. teaches that the peptide is intended for use in methods of promoting hair growth (col 2, ln 60- col 3, ln 25) and inhibiting hair loss (col 4, lns 40-50). To that end, Chung et al. teaches both pharmaceutical (col 6) and cosmetic (col 5) compositions comprising the peptide as an active ingredient. Chung et al. (WO 2020.0540429 A1) and Chung et al. (WO 2020/050427 A1) teach that the same peptide can be used for treating sensitive skin and to prevent skin aging or wrinkles.
Monks et al. (Complex interaction of adiponectin-mediated pathways on cancer treatment: a novel therapeutic target. J Cancer Metastasis Treat 2019;5:24) confirm that adiponectin is a target for many obesity-related cancers. However, as of the time the instant application was filed, no compounds targeting adiponectin, including peptides derived from adiponectin, have been approved for use. Furthermore, Monks et al. underscore the complexity and unpredictability of the field.
The quantity of experimentation necessary
The scope of the claimed compositions and therapeutic indications are extremely broad relative to the narrow reduction to practice in the specification. That fact combined with the level of unpredictability and complexity in the art, the relative skill in the art, and the lack of specific guidance in the specification, poses an undue burden of experimentation on one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to practice the claimed methods. The specification is an invitation to undertake a research program to identify additional compositions that could be used to carry out different embodiments of the claims. As such, the specification fails to meet the enablement provision of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the parenthetical phrase "(wherein m is an integer of 1 to 5)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation in parentheses is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, in the definition of R5 and R6, the indefinite language is: “wherein the benzyl group is unsubstituted or at least one selected from the group consisting of a hydroxyl group….”. The language is indefinite because it is not clear how a benzyl group can be a hydroxyl group or the other options listed in the Markush group. As a result, the definition of variables R5 and R6 and the structure of Chemical Formula 1 are undefined.
Regarding claim 1, in the definition of R7, the indefinite language is: “wherein the benzyl group is unsubstituted or at least one selected from the group consisting of a hydroxyl group….”. The language is indefinite because it is not clear how a benzyl group can be a hydroxyl group or the other options listed in the Markush group. As a result, the definition of variables R5 and R6 and the structure of Chemical Formula 1 are undefined.
In claim 1, the indefinite language is “R3 and R7 are linked to each other to form…”. The language is indefinite at least because R3, which is defined as H, cannot link to R7.
In claim 1, the limitation “when n is 0, R4 is a C2-C6 alkylcarboxyl group, and R5, R6, and R7 are benzyl groups,” is inconsistent with the limitation “however, R1 is NH2, R2 is OH, R3 is hydrogen, R4 is an isobutyl group, R5 and R6 are both hydroxybenzyl groups, R7 is an unsubstituted benzyl group, and R8, R9, and R10 are all hydrogen, except for the case where n is 1” because both limitations describe the structural requirements for when n is 01. The first clause “when n is 0…” requires that R4 is a C2-C6 alkylcarboxyl group whereas the second clause “however” requires that R4 is an isobutyl group. Both cannot be true. In addition, the first clause “when n is 0…” describes a broader limitation than the second clause “however…”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “when n is 0,… R5, R6, and R7 are benzyl groups”, and the claim also recites “however… R5 and R6 are both hydroxybenzyl groups, R7 is an unsubstituted benzyl group” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Furthermore, “however, R1 is NH2, R2 is OH, R3 is hydrogen, R4 is an isobutyl group, R5 and R6 are both hydroxybenzyl groups, R7 is an unsubstituted benzyl group, and R8, R9, and R10 are all hydrogen, except for the case where n is 1” is indefinite because this clause describes the structural requirements for when n is 01, which means that R3 should be absent not hydrogen.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-9, and 12 fail to remedy these issues and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5, depends from claim 1, which requires “R3 and R7 are linked to each other to form…”. Therefore, the peptide derivatives recited in claim 1 that are linear fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (WO 2020/050428 A1; published December 3, 2020, citations refer to English language equivalent US 11,771,636 B2).
Chung et al. teach a peptide having the amino acid sequence Gly-Leu-Tyr-Tyr-Phe (SEQ ID NO: 16) (col 2, lns 60-65). The prior art peptide corresponds to a peptide derivative of Chemical Formula 1 wherein R1 is NH2, R2 is OH, R3 is H, n is 1, R4 is C4 alkyl, R5 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R6 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R7 is benzyl, and R8, R9, and R10 are H. Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by Chung et al.
With respect to claim 2, R4 is CH2CH(CH3)2.
With respect to claim 3, R5 and R6 are
.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art peptide is SEQ ID NO: 15.
With respect to claims 8-9 and 12, Chung et al. teaches that the peptide is intended for use in methods of promoting hair growth (col 2, ln 60- col 3, ln 25) and inhibiting hair loss (col 4, lns 40-50). To that end, Chung et al. teaches both pharmaceutical (col 6) and cosmetic (col 5) compositions comprising the peptide as an active ingredient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (WO 2020/050428 A1; published December 3, 2020, citations refer to English language equivalent US 11,771,636 B2) in view of Henninot et al. (The Current State of Peptide Drug Discovery: Back to the Future?. J. Med. Chem. 22 February 2018; 61 (4): 1382–1414).
Chung et al. teach a peptide having the amino acid sequence Gly-Leu-Tyr-Tyr-Phe (SEQ ID NO: 16) (col 2, lns 60-65). The prior art peptide corresponds to a peptide derivative of Chemical Formula 1 wherein R1 is NH2, R2 is OH, R3 is H, n is 1, R4 is C4 alkyl, R5 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R6 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R7 is benzyl, and R8, R9, and R10 are H. Chung et al. teaches that the peptide is intended for use in methods of promoting hair growth (col 2, ln 60- col 3, ln 25) and inhibiting hair loss (col 4, lns 40-50). To that end, Chung et al. teaches both pharmaceutical (col 6) and cosmetic (col 5) compositions comprising the peptide as an active ingredient.
Chung et al. do not teach that the peptide GLYYF is amidated at the C-terminus.
Henninot et al. teach that C-terminal amidation of pharmaceutical peptides improves stability and prevents degradation by inhibiting the activity of carboxypeptidases (Section 6.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GLYFF peptide of Chung et al. by C-terminal amidation as taught by Henninot et al. The resulting peptide would be identical to elected species Chemical Formula 1-31. The rationale for obviousness is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention (MPEP § 2143.01(G)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification in order to improve the stability of the peptide to degradation by carboxypeptidases because Chung et al. teach that the peptide has therapeutic and cosmetic utility. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given that Henninot et al. teach that C-terminal amidation of peptides is routine and widely used in the art (Section 6.3).
Therefore, claim 1 is prima facie obvious over the cited art.
With respect to claim 2, R4 is CH2CH(CH3)2.
With respect to claim 3, R5 and R6 are
.
With respect to claim 5, the peptide is Chemical Formula 1-31.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art peptide is SEQ ID NO: 15.
With respect to claims 8-9 and 12, Chung et al. teaches that the peptide is intended for use in methods of promoting hair growth (col 2, ln 60- col 3, ln 25) and inhibiting hair loss (col 4, lns 40-50). To that end, Chung et al. teaches both pharmaceutical (col 6) and cosmetic (col 5) compositions comprising the peptide as an active ingredient.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 9-20 of copending Application No. 18/024,819 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Reference claim 1 recites a peptide having the amino acid sequence Gly-Leu-Tyr-Tyr-Phe (SEQ ID NO: 2), with an amino group at the C-terminus (i.e. Gly-Leu-Tyr-Tyr-Phe-NH2). The reference peptide is identical to the elected species and corresponds to a peptide derivative of Chemical Formula 1 wherein R1 is NH2, R2 is NH2, R3 is H, n is 1, R4 is C4 alkyl, R5 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R6 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R7 is benzyl, and R8, R9, and R10 are H. Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
With respect to claim 2, R4 is CH2CH(CH3)2.
With respect to claim 3, R5 and R6 are
.
With respect to claim 5, the reference peptide is the same as Chemical Formula 1-31.
With respect to claim 6, the reference peptide is a modified peptide of SEQ ID NO: 15.
With respect to claim 8, reference claim 15 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide for treating a metabolic disease.
With respect to claim 9, reference claim 7 recites a cosmetic composition comprising the peptide for improving at least one of a skin wrinkle, sensitive skin, dermatitis, and a hair growth, the method comprising administering the pharmaceutical composition.
With respect to claim 12, reference claim 7 recites a method for improving at least one of a skin wrinkle, sensitive skin, dermatitis, and a hair growth, the method comprising administering the cosmetic composition. Reference claim 15 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide for treating a metabolic disease.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of US 11,771,636. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because reference claims anticipate the instant claims.
Patented claim 1 recites a peptide having the amino acid sequence Gly-Leu-Tyr-Tyr-Phe (SEQ ID NO: 16). The patented corresponds to a peptide derivative of Chemical Formula 1 wherein R1 is NH2, R2 is OH, R3 is H, n is 1, R4 is C4 alkyl, R5 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R6 is benzyl substituted with a hydroxyl, R7 is benzyl, and R8, R9, and R10 are H. Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
With respect to claim 2, R4 is CH2CH(CH3)2.
With respect to claim 3, R5 and R6 are
.
With respect to claim 6, the patented peptide is SEQ ID NO: 15.
With respect to claim 8, patented claim 1 recites a cosmetic composition comprising the peptide. The composition is intended for use in promoting hair growth (col 2, lns 60-65). Therefore, the claimed composition is also suitable for use as a pharmaceutical composition for promoting hair growth.
With respect to claim 9, patented claim 1 recites a cosmetic composition comprising the peptide. The composition is intended for use in promoting hair growth (col 2, lns 60-65).
With respect to claim 12, a claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use (Sun Pharmaceutical. Industries, Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2010)). In the instant case, the reference patent discloses a method of using the composition to promote hair growth (col 2, lns 60-65).
Conclusion
CHRISTINA M MARCHETTI BRADLEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1654
/CHRISTINA M MARCHETTI BRADLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
1 The variable n is only 0 or 1 meaning that “except for the case when n is 1” refers to the case when n is 0.