DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits of Application No. 18/718,195. The preliminary amendment filed June 10, 2024 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 10, 2024 and February 9, 2026 have filed been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on June 10, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2002/0153220 A1 (Dick), cited by Applicant in the IDS filed June 10, 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Dick discloses a form-fit clutch (see Figs. 1 and 2) for influencing a torque transmission between a first rotary component (shaft 18), which is rotatable about an axis of rotation and a second rotary component (shift collar 10), and having a toothing, which comprises a first toothing (22) on the first rotary component and a second toothing (20) on the second rotary component, which can be connected thereto in a form-fitting manner for torque transmission and which establishes the torque transmission in a first clutch actuation state (the engaging position shown in Fig. 1) and interrupts the torque transmission in a second clutch actuation state (the disengaged position shown in Fig. 2), a displaceable actuation element (shift mechanism 24) for changing the clutch actuation state by means of an actuation force, wherein a locking device securing the first or the second clutch actuation state is arranged, comprising at least one locking element (detent ball 26), which is displaceable between a release position (shown in Fig. 2) and a locking position (shown in Fig. 1) securing the respective clutch actuation state and which is connected in a form-fitting manner to a receiving element (shaft 12) in the locking position, wherein the actuation element is axially displaceable relative to the first and second rotary components in order to assume the first clutch actuation state and is coupled in a force-transmitting manner to the locking element for transmitting the actuation force via the locking element to the first rotary component.
Regarding claim 2, the locking element (26) is radially displaceable depending on displacement of the actuation element (24).
Regarding claim 3, the locking element (26) is radially further inward in the first clutch actuation state (Fig. 1) than in the second clutch actuation state (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, the receiving element (12) has a recess (slot 30), which is open in a radial direction and in which the locking element (26) engages in a form-fitting manner in the locking position (59).
Regarding claim 5, the locking element (26) comprises at least one rotationally symmetrical locking component (the spherical detent ball 26 is rotationally symmetrical), which is connected in a form-fitting manner to the receiving element (12) in the locking position (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the first toothing (22) or the second toothing (20) is axially displaceable depending on the clutch actuation state.
Regarding claim 7, the second toothing (20) is axially displaceable and is axially secured in the first or second clutch actuation state (Fig. 1) by the locking device (26).
Regarding claim 8, the actuation element (24) effects a radial movement of the locking element (26) via a ramp region (tapered edge 34).
Regarding claim 9, the actuation element (24) secures the locking element (26) in a radial direction in the locking position (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Dick discloses a form-fit clutch (see Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a first rotary component (shaft 18) comprising a first toothing (22); a second rotary component (shift collar 10) comprising a second toothing (20), connectable to the first toothing in a form-fitting manner for torque transmission between the first rotary component and the second rotary component in a first clutch actuation state (the engaging position shown in Fig. 1); an actuation element (shift mechanism 24), axially displaceable relative to the first rotary component and the second rotary component to adjust the form-fit clutch into the first clutch actuation state or a second clutch actuation state (the disengaged position shown in Fig. 2) in which the torque transmission is interrupted; a locking device arranged to secure the form-fit clutch in the first clutch actuation state or in the second clutch actuation state, the locking device comprising: a locking element (detent ball 26): displaceable between a release position (shown in Fig. 2) and a locking position (shown in Fig. 1); and coupled to the actuation element such that an actuation force from the actuation element may be transmitted to the first rotary component via the locking element; and a receiving element (shaft 12), the locking element being form-fittingly connected to the receiving element when the locking element is in the locking position.
Regarding claim 12, displacement of the actuation element (24) affects radial displacement of the locking element (26).
Regarding claim 13, the locking element (26) is arranged further radially inward when the form-fit clutch is in the first clutch actuation state (Fig. 1) than when the form- fit clutch is in the second clutch actuation state (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, the receiving element (12) comprises a recess (slot 30) open in a radial direction; and the locking element (26) is arranged to engage the recess in a form-fitting manner when the locking element is in the locking position (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, the locking element (26) comprises a rotationally symmetrical locking component (the spherical detent ball 26 is rotationally symmetrical).
Regarding claim 16, the first toothing (22) is axially displaced relative to the second toothing (20) when the form-fit clutch is adjusted between the first clutch actuation state (Fig. 1) and the second clutch actuation state (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, the second toothing (20) is axially secured relative to the first toothing (22) in the first clutch actuation state (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, the actuation element (24) comprises a ramp region (tapered edge 34) for radially displacing the locking element (26).
Regarding claim 19, the locking element (26) is radially secured by the actuation element (24) when the locking element is in the locking position (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2002/0153220 A1 (Dick) in view of US 2021/0190150 A1 (Trinkenschuh).
The locking element 26 in the form-fit clutch of Dick is not acted upon via at least one spring element as required by claims 10 and 20. Trinkenschuh discloses a form-fit clutch 4 wherein a lock 16 comprising a ball 18 is provided to position an axially slidable clutch element 5. Trinkenschuh suggests providing a spring 19 for preloading the ball in the radial direction. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the clutch of Dick with a spring for preloading the locking element 26 in the radial direction in view of the suggestion of Trinkenschuh.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2,735,528 A discloses a tooth clutch in Fig. 1 having an axially displaceable actuation element (shift collar 28) and a locking device (plungers 32).
US 2,883,020 A discloses a claw clutch in Fig. 1 having an axially displaceable actuation element (clutch sleeve 23) and a locking device (ball 24 and/or 25).
/RICHARD M LORENCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617