DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buck et al (Pub Num 2014/0209347, herein referred to as Buck) in view of Hayashishita et al (Pub Num 2016/0314873, herein referred to as Hayashishita) and Hayashishita et al (Pat Num 9,390,842, herein referred to as Hayashishita2). Buck discloses a cable (Figs 1-4), that decreases the mutual capacitance and inductance between adjacent wires and lessens the effects of electromagnetic interference on signals propagated over the wires (Paragraph 16). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Buck discloses a cable (16, Fig 1) with a connector (22) comprising the connector (22) and the cable (16), wherein the cable (16) includes a plurality of electrical wires (210’s) including a coaxial electrical wire (210), wherein the coaxial electrical wire (210) includes a central conductor (220) being copper wire that is not plated (Paragraph 24) and having a conductor cross-sectional area of 0.031mm2 to 0.06 mm2 (i.e. 0.020-0.13mm2 encompasses the entire range, Paragraph 24), wherein the connector (22) includes a substrate (20), and the cable (16) is connected to a contact part of the substrate (20, Fig 1), wherein the cable (16) includes a core (located at 210’s) comprising a plurality of electrical wires (210’s), a common shielding layer (205) disposed outside the core (located at 210’s), and an outer covering (200) disposed outside the common shielding layer (205, Paragraph 18). With respect to claim 2, Buck discloses a cable (16, Fig 1) with a connector (22) comprising the connector (22) and the cable (16), wherein the cable (16) includes a plurality of electrical wires (210’s) including a coaxial electrical wire (210), wherein the coaxial electrical wire (210) includes a central conductor (220) being copper wire that is not plated (Paragraph 24) and having a conductor cross-sectional area of 0.07 mm2 to 0.13 mm2 (i.e. 0.020-0.13mm2 encompasses the entire range, Paragraph 24), wherein the connector (22) includes a substrate (20), and the cable (16) is connected to a contact part of the substrate (20, Fig 1), wherein the cable (16) includes a core (located at 210’s) comprising a plurality of electrical wires (210’s), a common shielding layer (205) disposed outside the core (located at 210’s), and an outer covering (200) disposed outside the common shielding layer (205, Paragraph 18). With respect to claim 3, Buck discloses a cable (16, Fig 1) with a connector (22) comprising the connector (22) and the cable (16), wherein the cable (16) includes a plurality of electrical wires (210’s) including a coaxial electrical wire (210), wherein the coaxial electrical wire (210) includes a central conductor (220) being copper wire that is not plated (Paragraph 24) and having a conductor cross-sectional area of 0.01 mm2 to 0.025 mm2 (i.e. 0.020-0.025 mm2, Paragraph 24), wherein the connector (22) includes a substrate (20), and the cable (16) is connected to a contact part of the substrate (20, Fig 1), wherein the cable (16) includes a core (located at 210’s) comprising a plurality of electrical wires (210’s), a common shielding layer (205) disposed outside the core (located at 210’s), and an outer covering (200) disposed outside the common shielding layer (205, Paragraph 18). With respect to claim 4, Buck discloses that the cable (16) includes at least one pair of coaxial electrical wires (210, 210). With respect to claim 6, Buck discloses that the coaxial electrical wire (210) includes an external conductor (232) disposed outside the central conductor (220), wherein the external conductor (232) includes a copper wire that is not plated (Paragraph 27). With respect to claim 7, Buck discloses that the cable (16) includes at least one pair of coaxial electrical wires (210, 210). With respect to claim 9, Buck discloses that the coaxial electrical wire (210) includes an external conductor (232) disposed outside the central conductor (220), wherein the external conductor (232) includes a copper wire that is not plated (Paragraph 27). With respect to claim 10, Buck discloses that the cable (16) includes at least one pair of coaxial electrical wires (210, 210). With respect to claim 12, Buck discloses that the coaxial electrical wire (210) includes an external conductor (232) disposed outside the central conductor (220), wherein the external conductor (232) includes a copper wire that is not plated (Paragraph 27).
While Buck discloses the central conductor and the external conductor being made of copper (Paragraphs 24 & 27, respectively), Buck doesn’t necessarily disclose the coaxial electrical wire including a central conductor being an annealed copper wire that is not plated and an attenuation of the coaxial electrical wire being 5.1 dB/m to 8.1 dB/m, wherein the core is constituted by twisting together the plurality of electrical wires (claim 1), nor the coaxial electrical wire including a central conductor being an annealed copper wire that is not plated and an attenuation of the coaxial electrical wire being 4.0 dB/m to 5.0 dB/m, wherein the core is constituted by twisting together the plurality of electrical wires (claim 2), nor the coaxial electrical wire including a central conductor being an annealed copper wire that is not plated and an attenuation of the coaxial electrical wire being 10 dB/m to 12 dB/m, wherein the core is constituted by twisting together the plurality of electrical wires (claim 3), nor a skew of the pair of coaxial electrical wires is 10 ps/m or less (claims 4, 7, 10), nor wherein the external conductor includes an annealed copper wire that is not plated (claims 6, 9, 12).
Hayashishita teaches a cable (Figs 1-4), that suppresses cross talk between coaxial wire pairs (Paragraph 8), while also preventing the increase of skew in the coaxial wire pairs (Paragraph 24), wherein a positional relationship among the coaxial wires arranged in the multi-core cable can be stably arranged without being deviated (Paragraph 25). Specifically, with respect to claims 1-3, Hayashishita teaches a cable (1, Fig 1) that includes a plurality of electrical wires (Fig 1) including a coaxial electrical wire (10), wherein the coaxial electrical wire (10) includes a central conductor (21) being made of stranded annealed copper wire that is not plated (Paragraph 34) and having a conductor cross-sectional area of 0.07 mm2 to 0.13 mm2 (i.e. 0.048-0.12mm2 encompasses most of the claimed range, Paragraph 34), wherein the coaxial electrical wire (10) has an attenuation (Fig 3), wherein the cable (1) includes a core (located at 10’s & 30’s) constituted by twisting together (i.e. stranding) the plurality of electrical wires (10’s, Paragraph 28). With respect to claims 4, 7, and 10, Hayashishita teaches that a skew of a pair of coaxial electrical wires (11) is 10 ps/m or less (i.e. less than 8 ps/m, Paragraph 32). With respect to claim 6, 9, and 12, Hayashishita teaches that the coaxial electrical cable (10) includes a central conductor (21) and an external conductor (23a) surrounding the central conductor (21) and being made of annealed copper wire (Paragraph 36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable of Buck to comprise the coaxial electrical cable being made of annealed copper configuration as taught by Hayashishita because Hayashishita teaches that such a configuration provides a cable (Figs 1-4), that suppresses cross talk between coaxial wire pairs (Paragraph 8), while also preventing the increase of skew in the coaxial wire pairs (Paragraph 24), wherein a positional relationship among the coaxial wires arranged in the multi-core cable can be stably arranged without being deviated (Paragraph 25).
With respect to claims 1-3, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the coaxial electrical wire of Buck to comprise attenuation to be 5.1 dB/m to 8.1 dB/m or 4.0 dB/m to 5.0 dB/m or 10dB/m-12dB/m, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
While Buck also discloses the core (located at 210’s) is surrounded by common shielding layer (205) and an outer covering (200), Buck doesn’t necessarily disclose the securing windings disposed between the core and the common shielding layer and made of a metal tape or resin tape having electrical conductivity around the core (claims 1-3).
Hayahshishita2 teaches a cable (Figs 1-2) that can be disposed efficiently in a narrow space, thereby enabling miniaturization of the multi-core cable (Col 2, lines 17-21), wherein the cable can be terminated easily and the manufacturing cost is reduced (Col 2, lines 17-25). Specifically, with respect to claims 1-3, Hayahshishita2 teaches a cable (10, Fig 1), which includes a plurality of electrical wires (11) including a coaxial electrical wire (Col 2, lines 42-51), wherein the coaxial electrical wire (11) includes a central conductor (12), wherein the cable (10) includes a core (located at 10’s, 25’s, 21’s) constituted by twisting together the plurality of electrical wires (10’s, Col 4, lines 20-22), a common shielding layer (42) disposed outside the core (located at 10’s, 25’s, 21’s), and an outer covering (30) disposed outside the common shielding layer (42) and securing windings (41) disposed between the core (located at 10’s, 25’s, 21’s) and the common shielding layer (42, Fig 1, Col 4, lines 27-30), wherein the windings (41) is a resin tape having electrical conductivity around the core (Col 4, lines 31-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable of Buck to comprise the coaxial electrical cable having windings disposed between the core and the common shielding layer, wherein the windings are made of a resin tape having electrical conductivity configuration as taught by Hayashishita2 because Hayashishita2 teaches that such a configuration provides a cable (Figs 1-2) that can be disposed efficiently in a narrow space, thereby enabling miniaturization of the multi-core cable (Col 2, lines 17-21), wherein the cable can be terminated easily and the manufacturing cost is reduced (Col 2, lines 17-25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
October 5, 2026