DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 3, it is unclear which node performs the claimed steps/functions, the base station, first wireless network node, or second wireless network node. The metes and bounds is unclear.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected for their dependency of claims 1 and 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0221309) in view of Chu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0051574).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 5, Ozturk discloses a wireless communication system that includes a multi-device-compatible base station (figure 1 base station 102; paragraphs 30-32) that accommodates one or more first wireless terminals capable of performing communication in conformity with both a first communication scheme in which a first frequency band is used and a second communication scheme in which a second frequency band higher than the first frequency band is used (paragraphs 30-32: 5 Ghz and 6 Ghz) and one or more second wireless terminals (see figure 1), the wireless communication system comprising:
number-of-times measurement circuitry (figure 3 Controller/processor 359) configured to measure the number of retries in which the first wireless terminal tries to perform communication in conformity with the first communication scheme (paragraphs 37, 56, 57: UE determines the first unlicensed frequency channel is unavailable after a number of failed attempts exceeding a first threshold number of failed attempts); and
control circuitry (figure 3 Controller/processor 359) configured to perform control such that the first wireless terminal performs wireless communication with the base station using the second communication scheme without using the first communication scheme (paragraphs 37, 55, 103: communicates with secondary cell of base station through unlicensed frequency spectrum) until a predetermined time passes (figure 6 step 612 and 614; paragraphs 103-104: predetermined time passes is second threshold duration) when the number of retries measured by the number-of-times measurement circuitry exceeds a preset number of retries (paragraphs 37, 56, 57, 61: UE determines the first unlicensed frequency channel is unavailable after a number of failed attempts exceeding a first threshold number of failed attempts).
Ozturk does not explicitly teach less than a predetermined number of retries in which the second wireless terminal tries to perform communication in conformity with the first communication scheme.
However, Ozturk’s figure 6 steps 612 and 612 and paragraph 61, 103, and 104 teaches the first failure threshold to trigger report is less than a second threshold to trigger radio link failure (RLF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Ozturk less than a predetermined number of retries in which the second wireless terminal tries to perform communication in conformity with the first communication scheme.
The motivation would have been to for base station’s configuration (paragraph 56).
Ozturk does not teach a second wireless device incapable of performing communication in conformity with the second communication scheme but capable of performing communication in conformity with the first communication scheme.
However, in the same field of multi-link/band/channel, Chu discloses a second wireless device incapable of performing communication in conformity with the second communication scheme but capable of performing communication in conformity with the first communication scheme (paragraphs 25-27: multi-link AP in communication with legacy STA (second wireless device) and multi-link STA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Ozturk a second wireless device incapable of performing communication in conformity with the second communication scheme but capable of performing communication in conformity with the first communication scheme.
The motivation would have been a backward compatible 802.11 standard network (paragraph 25).
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 6, all limitations of claims 1, 3, and 5 are disclosed above. Ozturk further teaches the first and second communication schemes are wireless communication schemes conforming to a wireless LAN standard (paragraphs 30-32).
Claim 7 is rejected similarly as claim 1 above. Ozturk further teaches non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program causing a computer to function (paragraphs 24 and 25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0081266) discloses multi-link device with retry counter.
/TITO Q PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466