Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the amendment filed August 21, 2026. Claims 2, 3 and 6 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4, 7–9, 11, 12 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1, 4, 5 and 7–14 are pending. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 1, 4, 5 and 7–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. This action is final.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 21, 2026 has been entered. The amendment of claim 12 overcomes the objection to that claim, and the amendments of claims 1, 4 and 14 overcome the rejections of claims 1–14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the Office action mailed July 23, 2026. The objection and those rejections are withdrawn. A new rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), necessitated by the amendment of the dependency of claim 9, is set forth below. The rejections of cancelled claims 2, 3 and 6 are moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the asserted vent of Nagase "only vents female connector housing 10 and is not fluidly connected through the mated connector to the interior of an actuator or other connected component," so that Nagase does not teach the limitations added to claim 1 (Remarks, p. 8). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Nagase teaches that, in the male connector mated with female connector 10, the male terminal end pin at the terminal position to which ventilation tube 26 is fixed is preferably omitted "to reduce the ventilation resistance of air passed through the tube 26" (Nagase col. 4, ll. 19–26). That teaching presupposes that the air passed through tube 26 flows through the vented terminal position across the mated interface into the mating connector. Nagase further describes venting a connected device, an automotive oil pressure switch whose housing interior must be held at atmospheric pressure, through a ventilation tube connected to the switch housing in parallel with the switch cable rather than through a vent hole formed in the switch housing (Nagase col. 1, ll. 30–51). Nagase is therefore not limited to venting the connector housing alone.
Moreover, applicant's argument is directed to Nagase individually. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 426 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Although the remarks refer to the combination of Reddmann, Nagase and Hidde (Remarks, pp. 6, 9), they present no argument regarding the teachings of Hidde. Hidde expressly provides "direct ventilation of closed, sealed housings via the breathable cable connector" (Hidde ¶[0017]), the ventilation path running from the interior of the housing through bores 32 of lower part 3, which is sealed in the housing wall, across the interface with middle part 2, whose threaded socket 26 receives plug part 5, and through internal ventilation duct 25 to outer bores 24 open to the outside (Hidde ¶¶[0019], [0040]–[0041], [0043], [0046]). As set forth in the rejection of claim 1 below, Reddmann as modified by Hidde equalizes the pressure in the actuator by the connection socket through an opening arranged in the housing within the socket, and Nagase places the vent and its outlet opening in the connection plug, the vented air passing across the mated plug-socket interface. The combination therefore teaches "wherein the vent fluidly connects an interior of the housing to the outlet opening via the opening in the connection socket."
Applicant's argument that the dependent claims are patentable for at least the same reasons as claim 1 (Remarks, p. 9) is not persuasive for the reasons set forth above.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below, including the reliance on Hidde for limitations of claim 1, were necessitated by applicant's amendment, which incorporated into claim 1 the limitations of cancelled claims 2, 3 and 6 and added the limitation "wherein the vent fluidly connects an interior of the housing to the outlet opening via the opening in the connection socket," and which changed the dependencies of claims 4, 7–9, 11 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, as amended, depends from claim 1 and recites opposite the ventilation opening. There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the ventilation opening" in the claim, because a ventilation opening is first introduced in claim 4, from which claim 9 does not depend. For purposes of applying the prior art, and consistent with paragraphs [0012] and [0021] of the specification, "the ventilation opening" is interpreted as a ventilation opening of the vent in the connection plug that corresponds to the opening in the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 7–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddmann (DE 102 59 465 A1) in view of Hidde (DE 10 2007 001 584 A1) and Nagase (US 4,828,507). Citations to Reddmann and Hidde are to the paragraph numbers of the English machine translations of record.
Regarding claim 1, Reddmann teaches An actuator for motor vehicle applications comprising:(¶[0001]; electromechanical actuator for a fuel filler flap lock of a motor vehicle)
an actuating element,(¶¶[0001], [0022]; spindle 3 acting on fuel filler flap 1)
a housing,(¶[0023]; pot-shaped housing 7)
an electric motor,(¶[0023]; electric motor 2)
and a transmission connected downstream of the electric motor,(¶[0023]; motor 2 with pinion driving spindle 3)
wherein the actuating element is movable into and out of the housing by operation of the transmission, and(¶¶[0024], [0030]; Figs. 2a–2f, 3a–3b; spindle 3 retracted and extended relative to housing 7, which is closed by bellows 8)
a connection socket for electric contacting of the actuator(¶[0023]; connection socket 4 through which motor 2 is supplied with electrical energy and receives control commands),
and further teaches that the pressure in the actuator is equalized through a vent hole 11 in housing 7(¶¶[0024]–[0027]; vent hole 11 with membrane 13 ensuring pressure equalization between the inner volume and the ambient air when spindle 3 moves).
Reddmann does not explicitly teach a connection plug together with a connection socket configured to receive the connection plug for electric contacting of the actuator with the connection plug, wherein a pressure in the actuator is equalized by the connection socket, wherein an opening is arranged in the housing within the connection socket, wherein the connection plug includes a vent with an outlet opening, and wherein the vent fluidly connects an interior of the housing to the outlet opening via the opening in the connection socket. Reddmann is silent on these features because it equalizes the pressure through vent hole 11 formed in the wall of housing 7 and closed by membrane 13 (¶¶[0024]–[0027]), and it does not describe the plug that mates with connection socket 4 (¶[0023]).
However, in the analogous art of sealed electrical plug connections for venting closed housings of electrical equipment, Hidde teaches a multi-part breathable plug connection mounted in the wall of a closed, sealed housing(Hidde ¶¶[0017], [0019], [0043]; Figs. 1–5; lower part 3 sealed in the housing wall, middle part 2, plug part 5 and socket part 6), comprising a connection plug and a connection socket configured to receive the connection plug for electric contacting of the equipment in the housing with the connection plug(Hidde ¶¶[0019], [0033], [0035]; Figs. 2, 4; plug part 5 with plug contacts 54 screwed into threaded socket 26 of middle part 2, electrical contact on the housing side being established via solder contacts 51 of plug part 5),
wherein the pressure in the housing is equalized by the connection socket,(Hidde ¶¶[0017], [0045]–[0046]; housing-side lower part 3 and middle part 2, which receive plug part 5, form the vent of the housing and act as a pressure equalization element whose volume flow rate depends on pressure and temperature)
wherein an opening is arranged in the housing within the connection socket,(Hidde ¶¶[0041], [0043]; Fig. 5; slanted bores 32 in flange 36 of lower part 3, which is sealed in the housing wall, the bores continuing the ventilation path into the interior of the housing)
and wherein the vent fluidly connects an interior of the housing to the outlet opening via the opening in the connection socket.(Hidde ¶¶[0019], [0040]–[0041], [0046]; ventilation path from the interior of the housing through bores 32, semipermeable membrane valve 21 and internal ventilation duct 25 to outer bores 24 of the external hexagon, which open to the outside).
Reddmann and Hidde are both directed to sealed housings of electrical equipment whose interior must be ventilated to equalize pressure and to prevent condensation while excluding moisture (Reddmann ¶¶[0008], [0027]; Hidde ¶¶[0016]–[0017], [0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to equalize the pressure in the encapsulated actuator of Reddmann by the connection socket, by arranging the opening of the ventilation path in the housing within the connection socket that receives the connection plug so that the housing interior is vented through the plug connection, as taught by Hidde, in order to provide direct ventilation of a closed, sealed housing via its plug connection(Hidde ¶[0017]), preventing condensation within the enclosed space using parts suited to applications designed for minimal spatial dimensions(Hidde ¶[0020]), with protection against the ingress of dirt and water in any installation position(Hidde ¶[0053]).
Further, in the analogous art of waterproof electrical connectors for automotive devices, Nagase teaches wherein the connection plug includes a vent with an outlet opening(Nagase col. 3, ll. 10–14, 38–43; col. 4, ll. 11–14, 24–26; Figs. 2A–2B; ventilation tube 26 led watertightly through female connector 10 and crimped to vented terminal 12, which engages the terminal of the mating male connector, the external free end of tube 26 forming the outlet), the air passed through the vent flowing across the mated interface(Nagase col. 4, ll. 19–26; mating male terminal pin at the vented terminal position omitted to reduce the ventilation resistance of air passed through tube 26), so as to hold the interior of a connected device such as a pressure switch housing at atmospheric pressure(Nagase col. 1, ll. 30–51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vent and its outlet opening in the connection plug of the actuator of Reddmann as modified by Hidde, with the vent communicating with the opening in the connection socket across the mated interface, as taught by Nagase, in order to lead the free end of the ventilation path to a safe place from which water will not be introduced, rather than forming a vent hole directly in the housing(Nagase col. 1, ll. 21–29, 37–45), an advantage directly applicable to the actuator of Reddmann, which is located inside or below the fenders of the vehicle where it is exposed to moisture(Reddmann ¶[0007]). The combination of Reddmann, Hidde and Nagase thereby teaches wherein the vent fluidly connects an interior of the housing to the outlet opening via the opening in the connection socket. The combination is the use of known venting techniques to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claim 4/1, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 1.
Reddmann is silent wherein the vent further includes a ventilation opening, and wherein the opening and the ventilation opening are directly adjacent to each other, because Reddmann vents the housing through a single vent hole 11 (¶¶[0024]–[0025]).
However, Nagase teaches wherein the vent further includes a ventilation opening(Nagase col. 3, ll. 22–24, 38–40; col. 4, ll. 11–14, 19–26; Fig. 2B; mating-end mouth of female terminal end 12b of vented terminal 12 of connector 10, through which the air passed through tube 26 crosses the mated interface), and Hidde teaches wherein the opening and the ventilation opening are directly adjacent to each other(Hidde ¶¶[0019], [0041], [0046]; Fig. 5; bores 32 of lower part 3 opening directly onto membrane valve 21 and internal ventilation duct 25 of middle part 2 at the mechanical interface of the joined parts).
One would be motivated to provide the vent with a ventilation opening at the mated interface, as taught by Nagase, to reduce the ventilation resistance of the air passed through the vent(Nagase col. 4, ll. 19–26), and to arrange the opening and the ventilation opening directly adjacent to each other, as taught by Hidde, so that they form a single continuous ventilation path whose cross-section maintains the volume flow rate(Hidde ¶¶[0046]–[0047]).
Regarding claim 5/4, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 4.
Reddmann is silent wherein the ventilation opening is part of a ventilation duct in the connection plug, because Reddmann does not describe the plug that mates with connection socket 4 (¶[0023]).
However, Nagase teaches wherein the ventilation opening is part of a ventilation duct in the connection plug(Nagase col. 3, ll. 10–14, 38–43; Fig. 2B; ventilation tube 26 extending through connector 10 from vented terminal 12 at the mating end).
One would be motivated to make the ventilation opening part of a ventilation duct in the connection plug in order to lead the free end of the ventilation path to a safe place from which water will not be introduced(Nagase col. 1, ll. 21–29).
Regarding claim 7/1, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 1.
Reddmann further teaches that the opening through which the encapsulated actuator is vented to the ambient air is designed impermeable to moisture(¶¶[0015], [0025]; vent hole 11 designed to be moisture-proof by an air-permeable but moisture-proof membrane 13).
Reddmann is silent wherein the outlet opening of a vent in the connection plug is so designed, because the vent of Reddmann opens through the wall of housing 7 (¶[0024]).
However, as applied to claim 1, Nagase teaches the vent with an outlet opening in the connection plug(Nagase col. 1, ll. 21–29; col. 3, ll. 38–43; Fig. 2B), and Hidde teaches closing the ventilation path of a plug connection with a semipermeable membrane valve 21 that passes air while blocking water(Hidde ¶¶[0019], [0036]).
One would be motivated to design the outlet opening of the plug-side vent impermeable to moisture, as taught by Reddmann, so that air exchange and pressure equalization between the interior and the ambient air are guaranteed while moisture is prevented from penetrating(Reddmann ¶[0027]; Hidde ¶[0053]).
Regarding claim 8/1, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 1.
Reddmann further teaches that the opening through which the actuator is vented to the ambient air is sealed with a semi-permeable plastic that is permeable to air and impermeable to moisture(¶¶[0016], [0025]–[0026]; vent hole 11 closed by air-permeable, moisture-proof membrane 13 having a layer 13a of semipermeable stretched PTFE on a polyamide carrier layer 13b).
Reddmann is silent wherein the outlet opening of a vent in the connection plug is so sealed, because the vent of Reddmann opens through the wall of housing 7 (¶[0024]).
However, as applied to claim 1, Nagase teaches the vent with an outlet opening in the connection plug(Nagase col. 1, ll. 21–29; col. 3, ll. 38–43; Fig. 2B), and Hidde teaches sealing the ventilation path of a plug connection with a semipermeable filter of polypropylene or expanded PTFE that is air-permeable and hydrophobic(Hidde ¶[0036]).
One would be motivated to seal the outlet opening of the plug-side vent with a semi-permeable plastic, as taught by Reddmann and Hidde, in order to guarantee air exchange for pressure equalization while preventing the penetration of moisture and the formation of condensate in the interior(Reddmann ¶[0027]; Hidde ¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 9/1, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 1, "the ventilation opening" being interpreted as set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
Reddmann is silent wherein the outlet opening is arranged at an end of the connection plug opposite the ventilation opening, because Reddmann does not describe the plug that mates with connection socket 4 (¶[0023]).
However, Nagase teaches wherein the outlet opening is arranged at an end of the connection plug opposite the ventilation opening(Nagase col. 3, ll. 38–40; col. 4, ll. 11–14, 24–26; Fig. 2B; tube 26 fixed to vented terminal 12 at the mating end of connector 10 and exiting through rear holder 14 at the opposite, cable-side end, where its external free end is located).
One would be motivated to arrange the outlet opening at the end of the connection plug opposite the ventilation opening so that the free end of the ventilation path is directed away from the mating region to a safe place from which water will not be introduced(Nagase col. 1, ll. 21–29).
Regarding claim 10/1, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 1.
Reddmann further teaches that the actuator is electrically connected for a motor vehicle connection(¶¶[0001], [0004], [0023]; motor 2 of the motor vehicle actuator supplied with electrical energy and control commands from a control system, the actuator being operated, e.g., by a button from the passenger compartment).
Reddmann is silent wherein the connection plug is designed as a separate component and has a second connection socket, because Reddmann does not describe the plug that mates with connection socket 4 (¶[0023]).
However, Hidde teaches wherein the connection plug is designed as a separate component and has a second connection socket(Hidde ¶¶[0030], [0032], [0034]–[0035]; Figs. 2–4; plug part 5 formed separately from middle part 2 and screwed into threaded socket 26, and socket part 6 with contact sockets 61 receiving plug contacts 54 of plug part 5 and connected to cable 4).
One would be motivated to design the connection plug as a separate component having a second connection socket, as taught by Hidde, so that the cable is connected to the plug tightly and with strain relief and the plug and socket are always connected in the correct position by means of coding(Hidde ¶[0034]).
Regarding claim 11/1, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 1.
Reddmann is silent wherein the opening is at least partially overlaid by the vent, because Reddmann vents the housing through vent hole 11 in its wall (¶[0024]).
However, Nagase teaches wherein the opening is at least partially overlaid by the vent(Nagase col. 4, ll. 11–14, 19–26; Fig. 2B; in the mated state, vented terminal 12 of connector 10 engages the corresponding terminal position of the mating male connector, at which the mating pin is omitted, so that the vent lies over the mating-side passage through which the air flows).
One would be motivated to at least partially overlay the opening with the vent in order to reduce the ventilation resistance of the air passed through the vent(Nagase col. 4, ll. 19–26).
Regarding claim 12/4, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 4.
Reddmann is silent on the actuator further comprising a plug seal that is arranged between the connection plug and the connection socket in a region of the opening and the ventilation opening, because Reddmann does not describe the plug that mates with connection socket 4 (¶[0023]).
However, Hidde teaches a plug seal that is arranged between the connection plug and the connection socket(Hidde ¶[0035]; Figs. 2, 4 (showing ring groove 59 and threaded socket 26; O-ring 591 is described but not shown); O-ring 591 in ring groove 59 sealing plug part 5 screwed into threaded socket 26), and further teaches sealing the junction of the ventilation duct openings of joined connector parts in a region of the opening and the ventilation opening(Hidde ¶¶[0037]–[0039]; Fig. 5; support and sealing ring 22 received between middle part 2 and lower part 3 at the junction of ventilation ducts 25, 32, shaped in accordance with the duct to be sealed).
One would be motivated to arrange the plug seal between the connection plug and the connection socket in the region of the opening and the ventilation opening, where the vent crosses the plug-socket interface in the combination, in order to seal the ventilation transfer point so that the equalizing air flow cannot escape and water cannot enter at the junction(Hidde ¶¶[0035], [0037]–[0039], [0053]).
Regarding claim 13/1, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 1.
Reddmann further teaches the actuator further comprising a bellows that seals the actuating element at the housing(¶¶[0024], [0037]–[0038]; Figs. 3a–3b; bellows 8 held at housing 7 by circumferential housing ribs 9 and sealingly enclosing spindle 3 by way of seal 10, following the movements of the spindle).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddmann (DE 102 59 465 A1) in view of Hidde (DE 10 2007 001 584 A1) and Nagase (US 4,828,507), and further in view of Imai (US 2023/0003292 A1).
Imai qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Imai is a U.S. patent application publication that names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Although Imai was filed in the United States on September 14, 2022 and published on January 5, 2023, Imai is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/JP2021/010353, filed March 15, 2021, which designated the United States, and Imai is entitled to claim the benefit of that international application under 35 U.S.C. 120 and 365(c). Because Imai is a continuation of the international application, the international application describes the subject matter relied upon in this rejection. Under 35 U.S.C. 102(d)(2), Imai was therefore effectively filed no later than March 15, 2021, which is before the earliest effective filing date of the instant application (December 21, 2021). See MPEP § 2154.01(b).
Regarding claim 14/5, Reddmann in view of Hidde and Nagase teaches the actuator of claim 5.
Nagase further teaches wherein the ventilation duct extends in a straight line along a center line through the connection plug(Nagase col. 3, ll. 38–43; Fig. 2B; tube 26 extending straight along its own longitudinal center line through connector 10 from vented terminal 12 to rear holder 14). Consistent with paragraph [0022] and Figure 2 of the specification, in which line M is the longitudinal axis of ventilation duct 12 passing through connection plug 8, "a center line" is read as a straight longitudinal axis of the duct extending through the connection plug.
The combination of Reddmann, Hidde and Nagase is silent wherein the ventilation duct is widened at an end of the ventilation duct, because Nagase describes tube 26 only as a hard nylon tube crimped into wire barrel 12c and does not describe any widening of it (Nagase col. 3, ll. 43–48; Fig. 2B).
However, in the analogous art of breather structures for vehicle actuators, Imai teaches a straight breathing hole extending through an actuator housing between its inside and outside(Imai ¶¶[0034]–[0035]; Fig. 4; breathing hole 61) wherein the passage is widened at an end of the ventilation duct(Imai ¶¶[0035]–[0036]; Fig. 4; breathing hole 61 of stepped form having small diameter portion 64 and large diameter portion 65 at outer opening 63, filter 71 fixed to stepped surface 66 within the widened end).
Reddmann, Hidde, Nagase and Imai are in the same field of venting the sealed housings of vehicle electrical equipment through a moisture-protected ventilation path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to widen the ventilation duct at an end thereof, as taught by Imai, in order to receive the moisture-blocking filter within the duct so that the filter does not project to the outside, improving installability, while the widened portion also houses a blocker that protects the filter from high-pressure liquid(Imai ¶¶[0023], [0025], [0037]–[0038], [0043]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ito (US 2022/0399678 A1), previously applied to claim 10, teaches a waterproof connector-equipped electric wire having a connector at each end of the wire (¶[0022]; Figs. 1, 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834