DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 10th August 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending with claim 20 withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10th August 2026 with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that it is not within the capabilities of the human mind to collect breathing pattern data to determine a biofeedback scored based on the information gathered from a respiration sensor. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s analysis, the respiration sensor is a generically recited additional element that performs the abstract idea of extra-solution data gathering of collecting breathing pattern data, determining biofeedback, the biofeedback scored based on the information gathered.
Applicant refers to claim 2 of Example 48 of the 2024 SME Update as a comparison to their own claims in determination of subject matter eligibility. Applicant submits that the present claims reflect a technical solution to a technical problem via the inclusion of the specific breathing/hold patterns of claims 1 and 14, and the additional elements add meaningful limitations through a practical application to generate a biofeedback score design, done by determining a first limited set of respiration signals not based on subjective review, but objective parameters, and comparing this limited set against a target pattern to determine a score to provide as feedback. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s analysis. Claim 2 of Example 48 of the 2024 SME Update is eligible due to the inclusion of remedial steps which reflect the purported technical improvement of speech separation, integrated into a practical application. In contrast, claims 1 and 14 include data gathering steps of receiving data, mere instructions to apply the exception and field of use limitations that are insignificant extra-solution activity. It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. See MPEP 2106.05(a).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
‘controller’ in Claims 1 & 14 with the functions of ‘provide instructions’, ‘receive the respiration signal output’, ‘analyze the respiration signal to determine a biofeedback score based on the respiration signal detected after the instructions’, ‘provide feedback to the user through the feedback indicator’; interpreted as one or more processors and a memory module (Para. [0025]; [0035-0038], [0040]).
‘feedback indicator’ in Claims 1 & 14 with the function of ‘provide a sensory output to a user relating to the respiration signal’; interpreted as a light tube or LED (Para. [0093], [0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 14 recite ‘receive the respiration signal detected by the respiration sensor’, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation for this claim.
Claims 2-13 & 15-19 are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Each of Claims 1-19 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of Claims 1-19 recites at least one step or instruction for data gathering, data comparing against data, data outputting, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG or a certain method of organizing human activity under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, each of Claims 1-19 recites an abstract idea.
Specifically,
Claim 1, A breath monitoring apparatus comprising: one or more respiration sensors configured to acquire a respiration signal indicative of a breathing pattern of a user during a respiration activity,
wherein the breathing pattern comprises inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation, and expiratory hold, and output the respiration signal (Observation);
a feedback indicator configured to provide a sensory output relating to the respiration signal (Evaluation/Opinion); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more respiration sensors and the feedback indicator; the controller configured to:
provide instructions to the user during the respiration activity, wherein the instructions correlate to a target breathing pattern; wherein the target breathing pattern comprises target inspiration, target inspiratory hold, target exhalation, and target expiratory hold (Organizing Human Behavior);
receive the respiration signal output (Observation) by the respiration sensor;
analyze the respiration signal to determine a biofeedback score based on the respiration signal detected after the instructions, wherein the biofeedback score is indicative of the respiration signal compared to the target breathing pattern (Judgement & Evaluation/Opinion); and
provide feedback to the user through the feedback indicator based on the biofeedback score (Evaluation/Opinion),
wherein the breath monitoring apparatus is configured to be wearable by the user.
Claim 14, A system for monitoring respiration comprising:
a respiration sensor configured to acquire a respiration signal indicative of a breathing pattern of a user during a respiration activity;
wherein the breathing pattern comprises inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation, and expiratory hold, and output the respiration signal (Observation);
a feedback indicator configured to provide a sensory output relating to the respiration signal (Evaluation/Opinion); and
a controller coupled to the respiration sensor and the feedback indicator; the controller configured to:
provide instructions to the user during the respiration activity, wherein the instructions correlate to a target breathing pattern; wherein the target breathing pattern comprises target inspiration, target inspiratory hold, target exhalation, and target expiratory hold (Organizing Human Behavior);
receive the respiration signal (Observation) detected by the respiration sensor;
analyze the respiration signal to determine a biofeedback score based on the respiration signal detected after the instructions, wherein the biofeedback score is indicative of the respiration signal compared to the target breathing pattern (Judgement & Evaluation/Opinion); and
provide feedback to the user through the feedback indicator based on the biofeedback score (Evaluation/Opinion).
The underlined portions are identified abstract ideas grouped as a mental process. Bolded annotations are additional elements identified that perform the abstract idea through extra-solutionary activity and thus do not provide significantly more. (additional element); (Observation) (Judgement) (Evaluation/Opinion); (observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG);
Further: (Organizing Human Behavior); (involves managing interactions between people, namely, humans following rules, which is grouped as a certain method of organizing human activity under 2019 PEG and/or a judgement or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under 2019 PEG);
Further, dependent Claims 2-13 & 15-19 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claims 1 & 14 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-13 & 15-19 ) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claims 1 & 14 ), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: one or more respiration sensors (pressure transducers)/ respiration sensor (pressure transducer); feedback indicator (light tube or LED); & controller (processor(s) & memory) are generically recited computer elements in independent Claims 1 & 14 (and their respective dependent claims) which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 & 14 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., controller as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 & 14 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, independent Claims 1 & 14 (and their respective dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
None of Claims 1-19 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: one or more respiration sensors (pressure transducers)/ respiration sensor (pressure transducer); feedback indicator (light tube or LED); & controller (processor(s) & memory); tubing system (Para. [0049]); airflow receiver (inlet; Para. [0052-0053]); .
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks or additional elements which either indicate field of use or are used for data gathering/output. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per Applicant’s specification, one or more respiration sensors (Para. [0028])/ respiration sensor (Para. [0028]); feedback indicator (light tube or LED; Para. [0093], [0059]); & controller (processor(s) & memory) Para. [0025]; [0035-0038], [0040]); tubing system (Para. [0049]); airflow receiver (inlet) Para. [0052-0053]
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed term ‘controller’ is reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the ‘controller’. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1-19 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the apparatus and system of Claims 1-19 are directed to applying an abstract idea as identified above on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself, or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field. None of Claims 1-19 provides meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 1 & 14 (and their dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 1-19 merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1-19 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Accordingly, Claims 1-19 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190175064 A1 to Haveri et al. (hereinafter, Haveri) in view of US 11351418 B2 to Klee et al. (hereinafter, Klee) in view of US 9830832 B2 to Warren et al. (hereinafter, Warren).
Regarding Claim 1, Haveri discloses a breath monitoring apparatus (Haveri: Abstract) comprising:
one or more respiration sensors configured to acquire a respiration signal indicative of a breathing pattern of a user during a respiration activity and output the respiration signal (Haveri: Para. [0070], [0072], [0076], [0147-0148]),
a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more respiration sensors (Haveri: Para. [0076-0079], [0147-0148])
receive the respiration signal output by the respiration sensor (Haveri: Para. [0076], [0147-0148]);
wherein the breath monitoring apparatus is configured to be wearable by the user (Haveri: Para. [0072]).
Haveri is silent on wherein the breathing pattern comprises inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation and expiratory hold; a feedback indicator configured to provide a sensory output relating to the respiration signal; the controller communicatively coupled to… the feedback indicator; the controller configured to: provide instructions to the user during the respiration activity, wherein the instructions correlate to a target breathing pattern, wherein the target breathing pattern comprises target inspiration, target inspiratory hold, target exhalation, and target expiratory hold; analyze the respiration signal to determine a biofeedback score based on the respiration signal detected after the instructions, wherein the biofeedback score is indicative of the respiration signal compared to the target breathing pattern; provide feedback to the user through the feedback indicator based on the biofeedback score.
However, Klee teaches a feedback indicator configured to provide a sensory output relating to the respiration signal (Klee: Col. 5, lines 21-27; Col. 6, lines 23-25),
the controller communicatively coupled to… the feedback indicator (Klee: Col. 6, lines 13-17; Col. 6, lines 23-25),
the controller configured to: provide instructions to the user during the respiration activity, wherein the instructions correlate to a target breathing pattern (Klee: Col. 6, lines 18-33; Col. 7, lines 47-49),
analyze the respiration signal to determine a biofeedback score based on the respiration signal detected after the instructions, wherein the biofeedback score is indicative of the respiration signal compared to the target breathing pattern (Klee: Col. 18, lines 19-26, 29-34, 63-65; ),
provide feedback to the user through the feedback indicator based on the biofeedback score (Klee: Col. 18, lines 63-65).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri to include the guided exercise, performance evaluation, adherence monitoring and feedback functions taught by Klee to provide clear guidance and relevant feedback to the patient (Klee: Col. 3, lines 40-49).
Haveri in view of Klee are silent on the breathing pattern/target breathing pattern comprising inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation, and expiratory hold.
However, Warren teaches the breathing pattern comprising inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation, and expiratory hold (Warren: Col. 1, lines 47-50; Col. 4, line 55-Col. 5, line 11; Note: The regimen sequences the instructive actions and the physiological data and analyzes with respect to those instructions).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri in view of Klee to specify breath hold instructions and analysis as taught by Warren to determine compliance of a user to a breath training regimen (Warren: Col. 3, lines 39-42).
Regarding Claim 2, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 1, Haveri further discloses comprising a tubing system, said tubing system comprising: an airflow receiver, configured to obtain a respiratory sample from the user; and one or more cannulas configured to transport the respiratory sample to the one or more respiration sensors (Haveri: Para. [0075-0076]; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses breath monitoring apparatus of claim 2, Haveri further discloses wherein the airflow receiver is configured to obtain the respiratory sample from both oral breathing and nasal breathing of the user (Haveri: Para. [0070], [0075]).
Regarding Claim 4, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 3, Haveri further discloses wherein the one or more respiration sensors comprise: a first respiration sensor configured to output a respiration signal indicative of oral breathing; and a second respiration sensor configured to output a respiration signal indicative of nasal breathing (Haveri: Para. [0076-0077] ‘nasal flow passages 301’, ‘oral cavity 302’, ‘thermistors 400-1, 400-2, 400-3’).
Regarding Claim 5, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 2, Haveri further discloses on wherein pressure builds in the one or more cannulas as the respiratory sample is obtained (Haveri: Para. [0070], [0072], [0076]; Note: transient pressure building in a cannula during reception of respiratory samples is inherent, dependent on flow caused by the user’s breathing and cannula structure.).
Regarding Claim 6, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 2, Haveri further discloses wherein the tubing system is configured to be positioned between the nose and mouth of the user (Haveri: Para. [0072]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 2, Haveri further discloses wherein the one or more cannulas are occluded by the respiration sensor (Haveri: Para. [0079]).
Regarding Claim 9, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 2, While Haveri discloses the entire sensor structure, including electronics is disposed in the tubing system (Haveri: Para. [0072], [0075-0076]), Haveri is silent on the inclusion of a feedback indicator.
Klee teaches the feedback indicator (Klee: Col. 5, lines 21-27; Col. 6, lines 13-17; Col. 6, lines 23-25).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to dispose the feedback indicator taught by Klee in the tubing system of Haveri. Klee teaches the need for an output indicator that provides guidance and feedback during breathing exercises (Klee: Col. 3, lines 40-49). Locating that indicator within Haveri’s existing face-worn tubing/flow passage assembly would predictably place the feedback indication in immediate proximity to the user during the respiration activity, improving usability with no unexpected results.
Regarding Claim 10, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 9, Haveri is silent on wherein the feedback indicator is a light tube or LED.
However, Klee teaches providing feedback to the user via LEDs (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri include color changing LEDs based on feedback as taught by Klee to help the user vary the breathing rate to match the desired target to improve the results (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
Regarding Claim 11, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 10, Haveri is silent on comprising a color change based on the biofeedback score and providing feedback to the user via LEDs.
However, Klee teaches providing feedback to the user via color changing LEDs (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri include color changing LEDs based on feedback as taught by Klee to help the user vary the breathing rate to match the desired target to improve the results (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
Regarding Claim 12, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 1, Haveri further discloses wherein the apparatus is wearable as a headset (Haveri: Para. [0072] “Fig. 1 illustrates a respiration sensor… placed on a patient’s head… positioned on patient’s face between the mouth and nose… A securement string or strap … helps maintain the position of respiration sensor… relative to patient’s physiognomy”).
Regarding Claim 13, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 1, Haveri further discloses wherein the controller and respiration sensor are disposed within an electronics housing (Haveri: Para. [0076] “The respiration sensor… includes thermistors… coupled to an electronics board”, [0079] “the thermistor is coupled toa tip portion of a thin support structure… The support structure can have a proximal portion coupled to an electronics board and a distal portion… wherein the distal portion of the support structure extends into a nasal flow passage”).
Regarding Claim 14, Haveri discloses a system for monitoring respiration (Haveri: Abstract) comprising:
one or more respiration sensors configured to acquire a respiration signal indicative of a breathing pattern of a user during a respiration activity and output the respiration signal (Haveri: Para. [0070], [0072], [0076], [0147-0148]),
a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more respiration sensors (Haveri: Para. [0076-0079], [0147-0148])
receive the respiration signal output by the respiration sensor (Haveri: Para. [0076], [0147-0148]);
wherein the breath monitoring apparatus is configured to be wearable by the user (Haveri: Para. [0072]).
Haveri is silent on wherein the breathing pattern comprises inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation and expiratory hold; a feedback indicator configured to provide a sensory output relating to the respiration signal; the controller communicatively coupled to… the feedback indicator; the controller configured to: provide instructions to the user during the respiration activity, wherein the instructions correlate to a target breathing pattern, wherein the target breathing pattern comprises target inspiration, target inspiratory hold, target exhalation, and target expiratory hold; analyze the respiration signal to determine a biofeedback score based on the respiration signal detected after the instructions, wherein the biofeedback score is indicative of the respiration signal compared to the target breathing pattern; provide feedback to the user through the feedback indicator based on the biofeedback score.
However, Klee teaches a feedback indicator configured to provide a sensory output relating to the respiration signal (Klee: Col. 5, lines 21-27; Col. 6, lines 23-25),
the controller communicatively coupled to… the feedback indicator (Klee: Col. 6, lines 13-17; Col. 6, lines 23-25),
the controller configured to: provide instructions to the user during the respiration activity, wherein the instructions correlate to a target breathing pattern (Klee: Col. 6, lines 18-33; Col. 7, lines 47-49),
analyze the respiration signal to determine a biofeedback score based on the respiration signal detected after the instructions, wherein the biofeedback score is indicative of the respiration signal compared to the target breathing pattern (Klee: Col. 18, lines 19-26, 29-34, 63-65; ),
provide feedback to the user through the feedback indicator based on the biofeedback score (Klee: Col. 18, lines 63-65).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri to include the guided exercise, performance evaluation, adherence monitoring and feedback functions taught by Klee to provide clear guidance and relevant feedback to the patient (Klee: Col. 3, lines 40-49).
Haveri in view of Klee are silent on the breathing pattern/target breathing pattern comprising inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation, and expiratory hold.
However, Warren teaches the breathing pattern comprising inspiration, inspiratory hold, exhalation, and expiratory hold (Warren: Col. 1, lines 47-50; Col. 4, line 55-Col. 5, line 11; Note: The regimen sequences the instructive actions and the physiological data and analyzes with respect to those instructions).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri in view of Klee to specify breath hold instructions and analysis as taught by Warren to determine compliance of a user to a breath training regimen (Warren: Col. 3, lines 39-42).
Regarding Claim 15, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the system of claim 14, Haveri is silent on wherein the feedback indicator is a light tube or LED.
However, Klee teaches providing feedback to the user via LEDs (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri include color changing LEDs based on feedback as taught by Klee to help the user vary the breathing rate to match the desired target to improve the results (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
Regarding Claim 16, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the system of claim 15, Haveri is silent on comprising a color change based on the biofeedback score and providing feedback to the user via LEDs.
However, Klee teaches providing feedback to the user via color changing LEDs (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri include color changing LEDs based on feedback as taught by Klee to help the user vary the breathing rate to match the desired target to improve the results (Klee: Col. 12, lines 39-54).
Regarding Claim 17, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the system of claim 14, Haveri is silent on wherein the instructions are provided to the user on an external device.
However, Klee teaches wherein the instructions are provided to the user on an external device (Klee: Col. 7, line 66-Col. 8, line 5; Col. 9, lines 61-63).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the system of Haveri to provide instructions on an external device as taught by Klee to provide extended functionality and services (Klee: Col. 7, line 64-Col. 8, line 5)
Regarding Claim 18, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the system of claim 17, Haveri is silent on wherein the external device is a mobile device.
However, Klee teaches wherein the external device is a mobile device (Klee: Col. 7, line 66-Col. 8, line 5; Col. 9, lines 61-63).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the system of Haveri to provide instructions on an external device as taught by Klee to provide extended functionality and services (Klee: Col. 7, line 64-Col. 8, line 5)
Claim(s) 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren in view of US 10413695 B2 to Tero.
Regarding Claim 7, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the breath monitoring apparatus of claim 1, Haveri is silent on wherein the one or more respiration sensors are pressure transducers.
However, Tero teaches on wherein the one or more respiration sensors are pressure transducers (Tero: Col. 4, lines 38-53).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri to include a pressure tap located at the nasal prong assembly connected to a pressure gauge as taught by Tero to monitor gas pressure within the cannula (Tero: Col. 4, lines 38-53).
Regarding Claim 19, Haveri in view of Klee in view of Warren discloses the system of claim 14, Haveri is silent on wherein the respiration sensor is a pressure transducer.
However, Tero teaches on wherein the one or more respiration sensors are pressure transducers (Tero: Col. 4, lines 38-53).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the wearable device of Haveri to include a pressure tap located at the nasal prong assembly connected to a pressure gauge as taught by Tero to monitor gas pressure within the cannula (Tero: Col. 4, lines 38-53).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN CURTIS BROUGHTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791