DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, in relevant part, “wherein each bow is mechanically connected to a suspension arm, the suspension mechanically connected to an elastic link.” The phrase “the suspension” lacks antecedent basis because the claim previously introduces “a suspension arm,” not a separate “suspension.” The claim therefore does not make reasonably clear whether the elastic link is mechanically connected to the suspension arm, to a separate suspension assembly, or to another structure.
Suggested correction: Amend claim 1 to recite “the suspension arm mechanically connected to an elastic link” if the suspension arm is the intended structure.
Claim 2 - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) - Defective Dependent-Claim Preamble
Claim 2 begins “Pantograph The pantograph according to claim 1,” which contains duplicative and grammatically defective language. The wording obscures the dependent claim format and should be corrected so the claim clearly depends from claim 1.
Suggested correction: Amend the introductory phrase to “The pantograph according to claim 1,”.
Claim 5 - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) - Antecedent-Basis / Typographical Error
Claim 5 recites “wherein the least one transducer is a piezoelectric module.” The phrase “the least one transducer” lacks proper antecedent basis and appears to omit the word “at.” As written, the claim does not clearly refer back to the previously introduced “at least one transducer.”
Suggested correction: Amend the phrase to “wherein the at least one transducer is a piezoelectric module.”
References Relied Upon
Reference 1: WO1991013781A1, “A Pantograph with Two Contact Bows Having Independent Articulated Suspensions.”
Reference 2: CN208277866U, “A Kind of Solenoid Type Vibration Damping and Energy Recycle Device Being Placed in Pantograph Collector Head.”
Reference 3: US10807621B2, “Train Pantograph Structural Health Monitoring System.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Reference 1 is used as the primary reference because it teaches the closest double-bow pantograph head and suspension architecture, including two contact bows 11, support structure 10, crossbar 6, articulated arms/rods 12 and 21, angle arms 20, coupling members 18 and 24, pins 23, 25, and 26, and spring-loaded telescopic rods 27. Reference 2 supplies the low-voltage electromagnetic energy-recovery transducer and storage circuitry for a pantograph collector head. Reference 3 is used only for the piezoelectric transducer alternative.
Claim Grouping
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 3.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 1 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Rejection: Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text:
A pantograph comprising:
a pantograph head with two bows; and
a low-voltage supply system comprising:
at least one transducer converting mechanical energy generated by oscillatory movements of the pantograph head with at least two bows into electrical energy,
wherein each bow is mechanically connected to a suspension arm, the suspension mechanically connected to an elastic link, the elastic link is connected by a joint to an end of a top arm of the pantograph head,
wherein at least one first transducer is mechanically connected firstly to the suspension arm connected to a first bow and secondly to the joint.
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches a pantograph for an electrically operated tractive unit having a movable pantograph frame with rods 4 and 5 and an upper connection crossbar 6. Reference 1 further teaches a structure 10 for supporting and suspending two contact bows 11. The structure 10 with the two contact bows 11 corresponds to the claimed pantograph head with two bows.
Reference 1 teaches that each bow 11 is mechanically connected to suspension/linkage arms. In particular, each bow 11 is connected to rods 12 through coupling forks 13 and pins 15, and to rods 21 through angle arms 20 and pins 23/25. The rods 12 and 21, together with angle arms 20, form articulated suspension-arm structure connecting each bow 11 to the upper crossbar 6.
Reference 1 also teaches elastic links for the bow suspension. Each spring-loaded telescopic rod 27 includes a cylinder 27a, stem 27b, guiding bush 27c, retaining plate 27e, and spiral spring 27f. Each telescopic rod 27 is connected between a bow-side coupling member 24 and a frame-side coupling member 18 secured to crossbar 6. The telescopic rod 27 therefore corresponds to an elastic link mechanically connected between the bow suspension arm/angle arm 20 and the upper frame/crossbar 6.
Reference 1 further teaches joints at the elastic-link connections. The coupling member 24 is pivotally connected to angle arm 20 through pin 25 and to telescopic rod 27 through pin 26. The opposite end of telescopic rod 27 is connected to coupling member 18 on crossbar 6. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these pivot/coupling structures teach the claimed joint connection between the elastic link and the top pantograph structure.
Reference 1 does not expressly teach the claimed low-voltage supply system having a transducer converting oscillatory pantograph-head movement into electrical energy. Reference 2 teaches that feature. Reference 2 discloses a solenoid-type vibration damping and energy recovery device placed in a pantograph collector head. The device includes spring case 2, guide rod 1, permanent magnet 3, compression spring 5, electromagnetic coil 6, conductors 7, rectifier 9, supercapacitor 10, current transformer/converter 11, vehicle electrical appliance 12, and detection controller 13.
Reference 2 teaches that relative vibration of the pantograph collector head drives guide rod 1 and permanent magnet 3 relative to electromagnetic coil 6, thereby changing magnetic flux through coil 6 and converting mechanical vibration energy into electrical energy. Reference 2 further teaches conducting the generated electrical energy through conductors 7 to rectifier 9, storing it in supercapacitor 10, and supplying vehicle electrical appliance 12 through current transformer/converter 11. Reference 2 therefore teaches the claimed low-voltage supply system and transducer.
It would have been obvious to incorporate Reference 2’s spring-case electromagnetic transducer into Reference 1’s double-bow pantograph suspension, for example by placing the guide rod 1/permanent magnet 3 and electromagnetic coil 6 along or in place of at least one spring-loaded telescopic rod 27, or between the bow-side suspension structure including angle arm 20/rods 12, 21 and the joint/coupling at coupling member 18 or 24. In that arrangement, oscillatory movement of bow 11 relative to crossbar 6 drives the transducer, and the transducer is mechanically connected firstly to the suspension arm connected to a first bow and secondly to the joint/coupling structure.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Reference 1 with Reference 2 because both references address vibration in a pantograph head. Reference 1 provides the known double-bow suspension in which the bows move vertically/oscillatorily relative to the upper frame, and Reference 2 teaches using that type of pantograph-head vibration to generate low-voltage electrical energy while also damping vibration. Substituting or integrating Reference 2’s spring-case magnet/coil transducer into Reference 1’s spring-loaded suspension member would have predictably harvested otherwise wasted bow-suspension energy for low-voltage devices without changing the basic double-bow current-collection function.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 2 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Rejection: Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text:
Pantograph The pantograph according to claim 1, wherein at least one second transducer is disposed between the suspension arm (26) connected to a second bow (10), and the joint (24).
Analysis:
Reference 1 teaches two independently suspended contact bows 11. Each bow 11 has corresponding articulated suspension structure, including rods 12 and 21, angle arms 20, coupling member 24, and spring-loaded telescopic rod 27. Thus, Reference 1 teaches a second bow with a corresponding second suspension arm and joint/coupling arrangement.
As discussed for claim 1, Reference 2 teaches a pantograph-head electromagnetic transducer formed by guide rod 1, permanent magnet 3, and electromagnetic coil 6 within spring case 2. Applying the Reference 2 transducer to the corresponding suspension of the second bow 11 in Reference 1 disposes a second transducer between the suspension arm associated with the second bow and the corresponding joint/coupling structure, including coupling member 24, pin 26, and the frame-side coupling at coupling member 18/crossbar 6.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the same transducer on the second bow suspension because Reference 1’s two bow suspensions are corresponding and independently movable. Duplicating the known Reference 2 energy-recovery transducer on the second suspension would have predictably increased recovered energy, used the vibration of both bows, and maintained balanced mechanical behavior across the double-bow head.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 3 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Rejection: Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text:
The pantograph according to claim 1, wherein the at least one transducer is an induction transducer.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches an induction transducer. The Reference 2 device uses permanent magnet 3 moving relative to electromagnetic coil 6, whereby the changing magnetic flux through coil 6 generates electrical energy. When this transducer is incorporated into Reference 1’s double-bow suspension as set forth for claim 1, the at least one transducer is an induction transducer.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the induction transducer taught by Reference 2 because the Reference 2 magnet/coil arrangement is the express energy-conversion mechanism added to the Reference 1 pantograph. The structure provides a predictable, robust way to convert bow-suspension vibration into low-voltage electrical energy.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 4 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Rejection: Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text:
The pantograph according to claim 3, wherein the transducer comprises a plunger mechanically connected to one of the suspension arms and generating a magnetic field in an induction coil of the transducer.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches guide rod 1 mechanically connected to permanent magnet 3. In the modified Reference 1 pantograph, guide rod 1 and permanent magnet 3 are mounted to the moving bow-side suspension structure, such as angle arm 20, rod 21, coupling member 24, or the bow-side end of telescopic rod 27. Guide rod 1 and permanent magnet 3 move linearly relative to electromagnetic coil 6 as the bow suspension oscillates.
The guide rod 1/permanent magnet 3 assembly corresponds to the claimed plunger because it reciprocates with the bow-side suspension and generates a magnetic field in electromagnetic coil 6. Electromagnetic coil 6 corresponds to the claimed induction coil of the transducer.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the Reference 2 induction device using its guide rod 1/permanent magnet 3 as the moving plunger because Reference 2 already teaches that this moving magnet structure converts pantograph-head vibration into electrical energy. Mounting that moving element to Reference 1’s suspension arm is a direct and predictable use of the known transducer in the known moving suspension location.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 5 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 3
Rejection: Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 3.
Claim Text:
The pantograph according to claim 1, wherein the least one transducer is a piezoelectric module subjected to a mechanical stress generated by movement of one of the suspension arms.
Analysis:
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 teaches the pantograph of claim 1, including the double-bow pantograph head, suspension arms, elastic-link/joint structure, and a low-voltage energy-harvesting transducer. Reference 3 teaches the piezoelectric alternative. Reference 3 discloses sensors 101 mounted to or integrated with a train pantograph, including piezoelectric sensors. Reference 3 further teaches that an energy-harvesting circuit may be added to harvest energy when the train is in operation and that piezoelectric sensors convert mechanical energy from train vibration/movement into electrical energy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to substitute or supplement the Reference 2 electromagnetic transducer with a Reference 3 piezoelectric sensor/module mounted on the moving bow suspension of Reference 1, such as angle arm 20, rod 21, coupling member 24, or spring-loaded telescopic rod 27. Movement of those suspension components during bow oscillation produces mechanical stress/compression/strain in the mounted piezoelectric module, and the module converts that stress into electrical energy. The combined structure therefore teaches the claimed piezoelectric module subjected to mechanical stress generated by movement of one of the suspension arms.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 3’s piezoelectric module in the Reference 1/Reference 2 pantograph because Reference 3 is directed to pantograph-mounted sensors and expressly teaches harvesting train/pantograph vibration energy using piezoelectric sensors. The substitution is a predictable use of a known vibration-energy transducer in the same pantograph vibration environment and offers compact installation on stressed suspension members without requiring a moving magnet/coil assembly.
────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 6 - References Applied: Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Rejection: Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text:
The pantograph according to claim 1, wherein the low-voltage supply system further comprises an electrical processing device, and wherein the electrical processing device comprises a unit for storing the electrical energy supplied by the at least one transducer.
Analysis:
Reference 2 teaches electrical processing components for the pantograph-head energy-recovery device. In particular, Reference 2 teaches conductors 7 carrying the generated electrical energy to rectifier 9, supercapacitor 10, current transformer/converter 11, vehicle electrical appliance 12, and detection controller 13. Rectifier 9, current transformer/converter 11, and controller 13 collectively teach an electrical processing device for conditioning/managing the generated low-voltage electrical energy.
Reference 2 also teaches supercapacitor 10 for storing the electrical energy supplied by electromagnetic coil 6 after rectification. Supercapacitor 10 therefore corresponds to the claimed unit for storing electrical energy supplied by the at least one transducer. When Reference 2’s processing and storage circuitry is incorporated into Reference 1’s double-bow pantograph as discussed for claim 1, the combined pantograph satisfies claim 6.
Motivation: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Reference 2’s rectifier 9, supercapacitor 10, current transformer/converter 11, and controller 13 with the added transducer because the harvested transducer output must be rectified, conditioned, stored, and supplied at a usable low-voltage level. Reference 2 provides the predictable electrical implementation for using the energy recovered from pantograph-head vibration.
Conclusion
Additional patent references were considered but are not relied upon in the above rejections because they are less pertinent, cumulative, or directed to different pantograph problems than the claimed low-voltage supply system mounted in relation to the double-bow pantograph suspension.
FR3026064B1 is generally relevant because it concerns a pantograph assembly for a railway vehicle and electrical/thermal treatment of pantograph or overhead-line conditions. However, FR3026064B1 is directed principally to microwave generation and de-icing, not to harvesting mechanical energy generated by oscillatory movement of a double-bow pantograph head through a transducer mechanically connected between a bow suspension arm and a joint of the pantograph head. Accordingly, FR3026064B1 was not used because it does not provide a better teaching than Reference 1 for the double-bow suspension arrangement or a better teaching than Reference 2 for pantograph-head vibration energy recovery.
CN111114333A is generally relevant because it discloses a pantograph underframe, lower arm, upper arm, upper cross tube, permanent magnetic materials, and an auxiliary pantograph-lifting air bag for assisting pantograph lifting and preventing abnormal floating of a standby folded pantograph. However, CN111114333A is directed to pantograph lifting/retention structure rather than a low-voltage supply system that converts oscillatory bow-suspension movement into electrical energy. It was not used because it does not teach the claimed transducer placement between a bow suspension arm and a joint, nor does it provide a stronger basis for the claimed induction, piezoelectric, or storage
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615