DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-11, 13, 15-16, 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hattori et al. (WO 2021/132283 A1) (hereinafter Hattori et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Hattori et al. teaches a system (see Fig. 4) for delivering ink to a printhead (20, Fig. 3) for use with an ink reservoir (151, Figs. 2 and 4) [Abstract, Description of Embodiments], the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) comprising: an ink delivery device (70A-70H includes reference numeral 40, Figs. 2 and 4) connectable to and in fluid communication with the ink reservoir (151) [Description of Embodiments]; a vacuum pump (44, Fig. 4) operably connected to and in fluid communication with the ink reservoir (151) [Description of Embodiments]; a bladder (154, Fig. 8) defining a volume [Description of Embodiments]; a sensor (164, Fig. 8) operably connected to the bladder (154), the sensor (164) generating a signal responsive to volume of ink in the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments]; a separator (45, Fig. 4) operably connected to and in fluid communication with the ink delivery device (70A-70H includes reference numeral 40), the vacuum pump (44) and the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments, see Figs. 2 and 4]; a controller (80, Figs. 1 and 3) being operably connected to the sensor (164) for determining the change in the size of the bladder (154) and thereby determining ink usage and the controller (80) being operably connected to the ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 2, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) wherein the ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40) is an ink pump (41, Fig. 4) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 4, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) further including a valve (46, Fig. 4) operably connected and in fluid communication between the ink pump (41) and the ink reservoir (151) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 7, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) further including a spring (163, Fig. 8) operably attached to the inside of the bladder (154) and configured to apply pressure to the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 8, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) wherein changes in the spring correspond to the ink usage [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 9, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) wherein the controller (80) activates the ink delivery device (70A-70H includes 40) to deliver ink from the ink reservoir (151) based on the determined ink usage [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 10, Hattori et al. teaches (see Fig. 4) for delivering ink to a printhead (20, Fig. 3) for use with an ink reservoir (151, Figs. 2 and 4) [Abstract, Description of Embodiments], the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) comprising: an ink delivery device (70A-70H includes reference numeral 40, Figs. 2 and 4) connectable to and in fluid communication with the ink reservoir (151) [Description of Embodiments]; a bladder (154, Fig. 8) defining a volume, the bladder (154) being operably connected to and in fluid communication with the ink delivery device (70A-70H includes reference numeral 40), the bladder (154) having a diaphragm (152A, Fig. 8) as a portion thereof [Description of Embodiments]; a sensor (164, Fig. 8) operably connected to the diaphragm (152A), the sensor (164) generating a signal responsive to movement of the diaphragm (152A) [Description of Embodiments]; a controller (80, Figs. 1 and 3) being operably connected to the sensor (164) for determining the change in the size of the bladder (154) and thereby determining ink usage and the controller (80) being operably connected to the ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 11, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) wherein the ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40) is a feed pump (41) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 13, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) further including a valve 46, Fig. 4) operably connected and in fluid communication between the feed pump (41) and the ink reservoir (151) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 15, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) further including a spring (163, Fig. 8) operably attached to the inside of the bladder (154) and configured to apply pressure to the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 16, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) wherein changes in the spring correspond to the ink usage [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 18, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) wherein the controller (80) activates the ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40) to deliver ink from the ink reservoir (151) based on the determined ink usage [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 19, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) further including a separator (45, Fig. 4) and a vacuum pump (44, Fig. 4) wherein the ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40) is operably connected to and in flow communication with the separator (45) [Description of Embodiments], and the vacuum pump (44) is operably connected to and in fluid communication with the separator (45) and the ink reservoir (151), and the separator (45) is operably connected to and fluid communication with the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 20, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) wherein the ink reservoir (151) is positioned to provide ink under pressure to the bladder (154) and the ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40) is a valve (46) [Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 21, Hattori et al. teaches a method of priming a bladder (154, Fig. 8) for use with an inkjet printing system (see Fig. 1), and an ink reservoir (151, Fig, 4) [Description of Embodiments]; an ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) having a bladder (154), an ink delivery device (70A-70H, includes reference numeral 40, Fig. 4) for delivering ink to the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments], a separator (45, Fig. 4) in fluid connection with the bladder (154) and a vacuum pump (44, Fig. 4) in fluid connection with the separator (45) [Description of Embodiments], and a sensor (164, Fig. 8) operably connected to the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments], the method comprising the steps of: checking a seal between the bladder (154) and the separator (45) and determining if the seal is within acceptable limits [[Description of Embodiments, in particular the degassing operation]; if within acceptable limits then pouring ink into the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments, in particular the degassing operation]; vacuuming air out of the bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments, in particular the degassing operation]; determining if the bladder (154) has a level within a predetermined range [Description of Embodiments, in particular the degassing operation].
Regarding Claim 22, Hattori et al. teaches the method wherein the checking step includes the steps of taking a first sensor reading [Description of Embodiments]; vacuuming the air out of the bladder [Description of Embodiments, in particular the degassing operation]; taking a second sensor reading [Description of Embodiments]; determining if the second reading is less than the first reading and determining if the first reading less the second reading is greater than a minimum predetermined change; if yes then proceeding [Description of Embodiments].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (WO 2021/132283 A1) (hereinafter Hattori et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) [Description of Embodiments].
Hattori et al. further teaches a bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments and see Fig. 8].
Hattori et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the bladder is an aluminum bag.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an aluminum bag as a bladder, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. The motivation to combine the teaches of Hattori et al. with the holdings of In re Leshin is for the purposes of reducing the amount of times ink refilling is needed [Hattori et al., Description of Embodiments].
Regarding Claim 14, Hattori et al. teaches the ink delivery system (see Fig. 4) [Description of Embodiments].
Hattori et al. further teaches a bladder (154) [Description of Embodiments and see Fig. 8].
Hattori et al. fails to explicitly teach wherein the bladder is an aluminum bag.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an aluminum bag as a bladder, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. The motivation to combine the teaches of Hattori et al. with the holdings of In re Leshin is for the purposes of reducing the amount of times ink refilling is needed [Hattori et al., Description of Embodiments].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 12, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 3 is the inclusion of the limitation of a ink delivery system that includes a high precision micro ink pump. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 5 is the inclusion of the limitation of an ink delivery system that includes a sensor is an induction sensor. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 12 is the inclusion of the limitation of an ink delivery system that includes a high precision micro ink pump. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 17 is the inclusion of the limitation of an ink delivery system that includes a sensor is an induction sensor. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853