DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I in the reply filed on 29 Jun. 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Species II (the dielectric layer being a polymeric layer) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made in the reply filed on 29 Jun. 2026, and for the reasons mentioned above, is being treated as an election without traverse.
Newly submitted claims 42 and 43, directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 43 and 44 are method claims, which would have been restricted against the device claims had claims 43 and 44 been in the prior set of claims.
Accordingly, claims 42 and 43 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Since applicant marked claims 42 and 43 as being withdrawn, examiner is treating these claims as being withdrawn without traverse. These claims or amended versions of these claims will be subject to rejoining if the final versions of these claims contain all the limitations of a device claim that is found to be allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation that the lower bound of the subscript x (related to the relative amount of tungsten) is 0. This limitation is confusing, since claim 1 implies that the blocks in the array contain tungsten. It is not clear if the current invention is claiming devices lacking tungsten.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, 13, 37-39, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Patent Application 2017/0297750 A1, published 19 Oct. 2017, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, 13, 37-39, and 42, Liu teaches a radiative cooling panel comprising material islands disposed with a lattice constant of 2 to 10 µm (Abstract). Liu teaches a transition temperature in a tungsten-doped vanadium dioxide of 20-30°C (paragraph 0017). Liu teaches phase change islands in a periodic array with a period between adjacent islands of 2 to 10 µm, and a fill factor of 20 to 80% (paragraph 0013 and Figure 1). These parameters correspond to the lateral dimensions of the islands ranging from 0.89 to 8.9 µm. Liu teaches the thickness of the dielectric layer is the ratio of the wavelength (approximately 8 µm) divided by the refractive index of the dielectric material (1.75) (paragraph 0015); thus, Liu teaches a dielectric thickness of 4.6 µm. Liu teaches a metal layer, made of silver, aluminum, or gold, with a thickness of 200 nm (paragraph 0032). Liu teaches the tungsten-doped vanadium dioxide films have a thickness of 20 to 100 nm (claim 8). Liu teaches that the outer surface of his panel has a planar outer surface (that is, substantially flat surface) (paragraph 0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 11, 15, and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Patent Application 2017/0297750 A1, published 19 Oct. 2017, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claims 8, 11, 15, and 39-41, Liu teaches the elements of claim 1, and Liu teaches his dielectric layer comprises potassium bromide (paragraph 0044). Liu teaches the vanadium dioxide is doped with tungsten in order to adjust the transition temperature (paragraphs 0010 and 0017). Liu teaches the targeted mid-IR peak wavelength for which his panel is designed is approximately 8 µm (paragraph 0033). As shown on Figures 1 and 3(B), the radiative cooling panel taught by Liu is attached to a spacecraft; therefore, the metal layer is attached to a substrate.
It is the examiner’s position that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret a doping level as falling within the relative concentration range limitation of claim 11.
It is the examiner’s position that the characteristic described by claim 15 is the method by which the radiative cooling panel taught by Liu operates.
Liu teaches that a conventional thermal regulation method is by covering a spacecraft with a multi-layer insulation comprising Kapton (polyimide) or Mylar (metallized polyester) layers. It is the examiner’s position that one of ordinary skill in the art would combine the conventional multi-layer insulation with the radiative cooling panel taught by Liu, such that the substrate of Liu’s radiative cooling panel would be both a polymeric and a dielectric material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 17, and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Liu teaches the inclusion of a conductive layer, rather than a polymeric layer, as a top protective layer on his radiative cooling panel, and Liu teaches feature dimensions that do not overlap with the claimed distance between the bottom of the embedded blocks and the top of the metal layer as recited in claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ito et al. (“Inverting the thermal radiative contrast of vanadium dioxide by metasurfaces based on localized gap-plasmons,” APL Photonics, Vol. 4, article 086101, pp. 1-10, published 2018, hereinafter Ito) teaches an array of vanadium oxide blocks as a metasurface to alter thermal radiation (Abstract and Figure 3). Li and Fan (“Nanophotonic control of thermal radiation for energy applications,” Optics Express, Vol. 26, pp. 15995-16021, published 2018, hereinafter Li) teaches the use of vanadium dioxide to control thermal radiation (page 16012, 2nd paragraph). Liu and Padilla (“Thermochromic infrared metamaterials,” Adv.Mat., pp. 871-875, published 2016, hereinafter Liu II) teaches an array of metamaterial in an array pattern to control the energy emitted from a surface (Abstract and Figure 1). Tang et al. (“A thermal radiation modulation platform by emissivity engineering with graded metal-insulator transition,” Adv.Mat., Paper 1907071, pp. 1-6, published 2020, hereinafter Tang) teaches the emissivity of a surface using vanadium dioxide (Abstract). Tazawa et al. (JP H11/152585 A, published 08 Jun. 1999, hereinafter Tazawa) teaches a temperature stabilizing method using tungsten-doped vanadium dioxide (Abstract). Yoshimoto et al. (US Patent Application 2018/0334269 A1, published 22 Nov. 2018, hereinafter Yoshimoto) teaches a thermal emission structure composed of a regular array of phase-change material that undergoes a transition form a high-temperature phase to a low-temperature phase (Abstract). Zhu (CN 104962869 A, published 07 Oct. 2015, hereinafter Zhu) teaches a power saving film with a nanostructure comprising tungsten-doped vanadium dioxide (Abstract).
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787