DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 06/10/2024.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
6. The claims 1-5 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: communication unit and transmission unit in claims 1 and 4; transmission unit in claims 2-3 and 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the communication unit is a transceiver and the transmission unit is a transmitter. Therefore, the communication unit and the transmission unit are definite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navid ABEDINI et al. (US 2021/0306065 A1), hereinafter ABEDINI.
For claim 1, ABEDINI teaches a terminal (ABEDINI, Fig. 2 item 120) comprising:
a communication unit (ABEDINI, Fig. 2 item 280) configured to transmit and receive radio waves to and from a base station by using relaying by a plurality of wireless relay devices (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 6 and 90 teach a base station
communicating with terminal devices through a plurality of repeaters.); and
a transmission unit (ABEDINI, Fig. 2 item 252) configured to transmit control information indicating activation or deactivation of a relaying function of the plurality of wireless relay devices to the wireless relay devices (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 84-87 teach transmitting configurations to a group of repeaters, comprising an on-off configuration indicating whether the repeater is to forward signals or refrain from forwarding signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ABEDINI to have transmitting control information indicating activation or deactivation of a relaying function of the plurality of wireless relay devices to the wireless relay devices.),
wherein the transmission unit transmits the control information via an upper layer configuration (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 87-88 teach transmitting the configurations using a system information block, SIB, which can be considered an upper layer configuration) or a physical layer control signal (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach transmitting the configurations using downlink control information, DCI.).
For claim 2, ABEDINI further teaches the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control information is information for configuring a period of activation or deactivation and the period is common to the plurality of wireless relay devices in a case where the transmission unit transmits the control information via the upper layer configuration (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraph 84 teach time resources in which to adopt the beamforming and switching configurations. Paragraph 87 further teaches SIB to a group of repeaters.).
For claim 3, ABEDINI further teaches the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control information is same information that is common to the plurality of wireless relay devices in a case where the transmission unit transmits the control information via the physical layer control signal (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraph 84 teach time resources in which to adopt the beamforming and switching configurations. Paragraph 87 further teaches SIB to a group of repeaters.).
For claim 4, ABEDINI teaches a base station (ABEDINI, Fig. 2 item 110) comprising:
a communication unit (ABEDINI, Fig. 2 item 240) configured to transmit and receive radio waves to and from a terminal by using relaying by a plurality of wireless relay devices (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 6 and 90 teach a base station
communicating with terminal devices through a plurality of repeaters.); and
a transmission unit (ABEDINI, Fig. 2 item 234) configured to transmit control information indicating activation or deactivation of a relaying function of the plurality of wireless relay devices to the wireless relay devices (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 84-87 teach transmitting configurations to a group of repeaters, comprising an on-off configuration indicating whether the repeater is to forward signals or refrain from forwarding signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ABEDINI to have transmitting control information indicating activation or deactivation of a relaying function of the plurality of wireless relay devices to the wireless relay devices.),
wherein the transmission unit transmits the control information via an upper layer configuration (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 87-88 teach transmitting the configurations using a system information block, SIB, which can be considered an upper layer configuration) or a physical layer control signal (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach transmitting the configurations using downlink control information, DCI.).
For claim 5, ABEDINI further teaches the base station as claimed in claim 4, wherein the control information is information for configuring a period of activation or deactivation and the period is common to the plurality of wireless relay devices in a case where the transmission unit transmits the control information via the upper layer configuration (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraph 84 teach time resources in which to adopt the beamforming and switching configurations. Paragraph 87 further teaches SIB to a group of repeaters.).
For claim 6, ABEDINI teaches a communication method performed by a terminal (ABEDINI, Fig. 2 item 120) the communication method comprising:
transmitting and receiving radio waves to and from a base station by using relaying by a plurality of wireless relay devices (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 6 and 90 teach a base station communicating with terminal devices through a plurality of repeaters.); and
transmitting control information indicating activation or deactivation of a relaying function of the plurality of wireless relay devices to the wireless relay devices (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 84-87 teach transmitting configurations to a group of repeaters, comprising an on-off configuration indicating whether the repeater is to forward signals or refrain from forwarding signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in ABEDINI to have transmitting control information indicating activation or deactivation of a relaying function of the plurality of wireless relay devices to the wireless relay devices.),
wherein the transmission unit transmits the control information via an upper layer configuration (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraphs 87-88 teach transmitting the configurations using a system information block, SIB, which can be considered an upper layer configuration) or a physical layer control signal (ABEDINI, Fig. 4 and paragraph 85 teach transmitting the configurations using downlink control information, DCI.).
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412