DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 29, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 have been amended. No claims are canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-6 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 and 6 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yerramalli et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0078537), hereinafter referred to as Yerramalli.
Regarding claim 1, Yerramalli discloses a terminal (UE; See Fig. 3, #115-d) comprising:
a receiver (receiver; See Fig. 6, #610) configured to receive a first signal to which a beam from a first wireless relay device (RIS #1; See Fig. 3, #310-a) is applied and a second signal to which a beam from a second wireless relay device (RIS #2; See Fig. 3, #310-b) is applied, the beam from the second wireless relay device being different from that for the first signal (base station 105-b may explicitly indicate grouping of CSI-RS resources within the CSI-RS resource set that may be concurrently used. For example, base station 105-b may configure eight CSI-RS resources divided between RIS 310-a and RIS 310-b. Base station 105-b may dedicate (e.g., configure) CSI-RS resources one through four (or any quantity or configuration of the CSI-RS resources) for RIS 310-a and CSI-RS resources five through eight for RIS 310-b. In some examples, base station 105-b may indicate (e.g., in control signaling configuring the CSI-RS resource set) that CSI-RS resources one through four (e.g., resources configured for reflecting CSI-RSs via RIS 310-a) are included in a first group and CSI-RS resources five through eight (e.g., resources configured for reflecting CSI-RSs via RIS 310-b) are included in a second group; See [0094]); and
a processor (The device 605 may also include a processor; See [0110]) configured to determine whether or not to simultaneously receive the first signal and the second signal based on a condition (Accordingly, UE 115-d may determine that CSI-RSs received in resources from different groups correspond to different beams that may be used concurrently, while CSI-RSs received in resources from the same group (e.g., the first group corresponding to RIS 310-a) correspond to beams that may not be used concurrently (e.g., reflected beams 315 that correspond to a same source beam 315 from base station 105-b); See [0094]),
wherein the condition is whether an identifier of control information that schedules the first signal and an identifier of control information that schedules the second signal are the same or different (The control signaling may include one or more of an indication of a threshold (e.g., maximum) rank of the CSI-RS resources, an indication of CSI-RS resources that can be concurrently scheduled (e.g., corresponding to concurrently reflected beams), or an indication of CSI-RS resources that cannot be concurrently scheduled, any of which may be referred to as a communication beam threshold. In some other examples, the base station may transmit control signaling indicating that a CSI-RS resource set corresponds to a group of RISs. For example, the base station may transmit, to a UE, an explicit indication of the resources corresponding to different RISs. Alternatively, the UE may implicitly determine the resources corresponding to different RISs based on MS signatures. The resource set may additionally include an indication that a UE may use CSI-RS resources concurrently (e.g., if multiple reflective elements or multiple RISs are used for CSI reporting); See [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Yerramalli further discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor determines to simultaneously receive the first signal and the second signal in a case where an identifier of control information that schedules the first signal and an identifier of control information that schedules the second signal are same (The control signaling may include one or more of an indication of a threshold (e.g., maximum) rank of the CSI-RS resources, an indication of CSI-RS resources that can be concurrently scheduled (e.g., corresponding to concurrently reflected beams), or an indication of CSI-RS resources that cannot be concurrently scheduled, any of which may be referred to as a communication beam threshold. In some other examples, the base station may transmit control signaling indicating that a CSI-RS resource set corresponds to a group of RISs. For example, the base station may transmit, to a UE, an explicit indication of the resources corresponding to different RISs. Alternatively, the UE may implicitly determine the resources corresponding to different RISs based on MS signatures. The resource set may additionally include an indication that a UE may use CSI-RS resources concurrently (e.g., if multiple reflective elements or multiple RISs are used for CSI reporting), wherein using one of the identifiers is interpreted as being the same; See [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Yerramalli further discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor determines to simultaneously receive the first signal and the second signal in a case where an identifier of control information that schedules the first signal and an identifier of control information that schedules the second signal are different (The control signaling may include one or more of an indication of a threshold (e.g., maximum) rank of the CSI-RS resources, an indication of CSI-RS resources that can be concurrently scheduled (e.g., corresponding to concurrently reflected beams), or an indication of CSI-RS resources that cannot be concurrently scheduled, any of which may be referred to as a communication beam threshold. In some other examples, the base station may transmit control signaling indicating that a CSI-RS resource set corresponds to a group of RISs. For example, the base station may transmit, to a UE, an explicit indication of the resources corresponding to different RISs. Alternatively, the UE may implicitly determine the resources corresponding to different RISs based on MS signatures. The resource set may additionally include an indication that a UE may use CSI-RS resources concurrently (e.g., if multiple reflective elements or multiple RISs are used for CSI reporting), wherein using two different identifiers is interpreted as such; See [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Yerramalli further discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor determines to simultaneously receive the first signal and the second signal in a case where a time resource of the first signal partially or entirely overlaps with a time resource of the second signal (Accordingly, UE 115-d may determine that CSI-RSs received in resources from different groups correspond to different beams that may be used concurrently, while CSI-RSs received in resources from the same group (e.g., the first group corresponding to RIS 310-a) correspond to beams that may not be used concurrently (e.g., reflected beams 315 that correspond to a same source beam 315 from base station 105-b), implying there is overlap; See [0094]).
Regarding claim 6, Yerramalli discloses a communication method performed by a terminal (UE; See Fig. 3, #115-d), the communication method comprising:
receiving a first signal to which a beam from a first wireless relay device (RIS #1; See Fig. 3, #310-a) is applied and a second signal to which a beam from a second wireless relay device (RIS #2; See Fig. 3, #310-b) is applied, the beam from the second wireless relay device being different from that for the first signal (base station 105-b may explicitly indicate grouping of CSI-RS resources within the CSI-RS resource set that may be concurrently used. For example, base station 105-b may configure eight CSI-RS resources divided between RIS 310-a and RIS 310-b. Base station 105-b may dedicate (e.g., configure) CSI-RS resources one through four (or any quantity or configuration of the CSI-RS resources) for RIS 310-a and CSI-RS resources five through eight for RIS 310-b. In some examples, base station 105-b may indicate (e.g., in control signaling configuring the CSI-RS resource set) that CSI-RS resources one through four (e.g., resources configured for reflecting CSI-RSs via RIS 310-a) are included in a first group and CSI-RS resources five through eight (e.g., resources configured for reflecting CSI-RSs via RIS 310-b) are included in a second group; See Fig. 3, #315-b, #315-d and [0094]); and
determining whether or not to simultaneously receive the first signal and the second signal based on a condition (Accordingly, UE 115-d may determine that CSI-RSs received in resources from different groups correspond to different beams that may be used concurrently, while CSI-RSs received in resources from the same group (e.g., the first group corresponding to RIS 310-a) correspond to beams that may not be used concurrently (e.g., reflected beams 315 that correspond to a same source beam 315 from base station 105-b); See [0094]),
wherein the condition is whether an identifier of control information that schedules the first signal and an identifier of control information that schedules the second signal are the same or different (The control signaling may include one or more of an indication of a threshold (e.g., maximum) rank of the CSI-RS resources, an indication of CSI-RS resources that can be concurrently scheduled (e.g., corresponding to concurrently reflected beams), or an indication of CSI-RS resources that cannot be concurrently scheduled, any of which may be referred to as a communication beam threshold. In some other examples, the base station may transmit control signaling indicating that a CSI-RS resource set corresponds to a group of RISs. For example, the base station may transmit, to a UE, an explicit indication of the resources corresponding to different RISs. Alternatively, the UE may implicitly determine the resources corresponding to different RISs based on MS signatures. The resource set may additionally include an indication that a UE may use CSI-RS resources concurrently (e.g., if multiple reflective elements or multiple RISs are used for CSI reporting); See [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0232597), hereinafter referred to as Takeda.
Regarding claim 5, Yerramalli fails to teach the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit assumes out-of-order scheduling in a case where the first signal and the second signal are determined to be simultaneously received and where the first signal and the second signal are shared data channels.
Takeda teaches wherein the control unit assumes out-of-order scheduling in a case where the first signal and the second signal are determined to be simultaneously received and where the first signal and the second signal are shared data channels (Out-of-order scheduling, for purposes of this disclosure, may refer to the case where for any two HARQ process IDs in a given scheduled cell, a UE 110 is scheduled to receive a first PDSCH starting in symbol j by a PDCCH ending in symbol i, and the UE 110 is also scheduled to receive a second PDSCH starting earlier than the end of the first PDSCH with a PDCCH that ends later than symbol i. One or more additional components/subcomponents of the UE 110 may be configured to or may comprise means for determining data scheduling for the one of the Pcell or the PScell for simultaneous reception of PDSCHs and out-of-order PDSCHs or PUSCHs associated with the first PDCCH and the second PDCCH, based on the configuration information; See [0067 and [0104]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Yerramalli to include wherein the control unit assumes out-of-order scheduling in a case where the first signal and the second signal are determined to be simultaneously received and where the first signal and the second signal are shared data channels taught by Takeda in order to enhance cross-carrier scheduling with multi-transmission and reception points and dynamic spectrum sharing while minimizing latency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-7 of the Applicants’ Response, Applicants state that Yerramalli et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0078537), hereinafter referred to as Yerramalli fails to teach wherein the condition is whether an identifier of control information that schedules the first signal and an identifier of control information that schedules the second signal are the same or different (The control signaling may include one or more of an indication of a threshold (e.g., maximum) rank of the CSI-RS resources, an indication of CSI-RS resources that can be concurrently scheduled (e.g., corresponding to concurrently reflected beams), or an indication of CSI-RS resources that cannot be concurrently scheduled, any of which may be referred to as a communication beam threshold. In some other examples, the base station may transmit control signaling indicating that a CSI-RS resource set corresponds to a group of RISs. For example, the base station may transmit, to a UE, an explicit indication of the resources corresponding to different RISs. Alternatively, the UE may implicitly determine the resources corresponding to different RISs based on MS signatures. The resource set may additionally include an indication that a UE may use CSI-RS resources concurrently (e.g., if multiple reflective elements or multiple RISs are used for CSI reporting); See [0047]).
Upon further examination of the Yerramilli reference, Examiner has introduced the control signaling may include one or more of an indication of a threshold (e.g., maximum) rank of the CSI-RS resources, an indication of CSI-RS resources that can be concurrently scheduled (e.g., corresponding to concurrently reflected beams), or an indication of CSI-RS resources that cannot be concurrently scheduled, any of which may be referred to as a communication beam threshold. In some other examples, the base station may transmit control signaling indicating that a CSI-RS resource set corresponds to a group of RISs. For example, the base station may transmit, to a UE, an explicit indication of the resources corresponding to different RISs. Alternatively, the UE may implicitly determine the resources corresponding to different RISs based on MS signatures. The resource set may additionally include an indication that a UE may use CSI-RS resources concurrently (e.g., if multiple reflective elements or multiple RISs are used for CSI reporting) (See [0047]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 10/2/2026