DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 10/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koide (US 2024/0260639).
Regarding claim 1, Koide teaches an aerosol-generating composition comprising a plurality of elongate strips of a first aerosol-generating material, wherein each elongate strip of the first aerosol-generating material comprises corrugations and a longitudinal dimension and wherein the corrugations extend transverse to the longitudinal dimension [0109-0113; Fig. 5].
Regarding claim 2, Koide teaches each elongate strip of the first aerosol-generating material comprises a dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal dimension, wherein the perpendicular dimension is from about 0.5 mm to about 2 mm [0091, 0139].
Regarding claim 3, Koide teaches each elongate strip of the first aerosol-generating material comprises a first surface and a second surface and the first surface and/or the second surface comprises the corrugations [Fig. 5].
Regarding claim 6, Koide teaches the first aerosol-generating material comprises an aerosol former in an amount of at least about 10% [0095].
Regarding claim 7, Koide teaches the first aerosol-generating material comprises tobacco (botanical material) [0092].
Regarding claim 8, Koide teaches the first aerosol-generating material comprises a binder [0096].
Regarding claim 9, Koide teaches the first aerosol-generating material comprises bandcast tobacco [0043].
Regarding claims 10-12, it is noted that this limitation does not require that the second aerosol-generating material is different to the first aerosol-generating material. Thus, one plurality of the strips disclosed by Koide reads on the first aerosol-generating material and a second plurality of the strips reads on the second aerosol-generating material. The second aerosol-generating material comprises a binder [0096] and aerosol former [0094] and comprises a plurality of elongate strips comprising corrugations, wherein each elongate strip of the second aerosol-generating material comprises a longitudinal dimension and wherein the corrugations extend transverse to the longitudinal dimension [0109-0113; Fig. 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Black (US 2022/0015413).
Koide does not teach each elongate strip has a tensile strength of greater than about 4 N/15 mm. Koide teaches aerosol generating strips of 400 to 700 N/m (6 to 10.5 N/15mm) to help to ensure that the aerosol generating strips do not break during manufacture of the aerosol generating article [0033]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this tensile strength to the elongate strips of Koide for the above reasons suggested by Black.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Honeycutt (US 3,713,358).
Koide does not teach the first aerosol-generating material comprises a moisture content of from about 6 wt % to about 12 wt %. Honeycutt teaches a smokable sheet material has a moisture content of 8 to 12 wt % to facilitate cutting into strips [col. 2, l. 54-60]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this moisture content to the sheet of Koide that cut into strips, and consequently to the first aerosol-generating material strips, to facilitate cutting into strips as suggested by Honeycutt.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Philip Louie can be reached at (571)270-1241. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ERIC YAARY/Examiner, Art Unit 1755