DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed with an RCE on 01/26/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-15, 18, 20, 22, 23, and 34 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-15, 18, 20, 22, 23, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FANG et al. (US 2024/0015610 A1; hereafter FANG) in view of XIE et al. (WO 2022/052006 A1, English translation of WIPO document by Google translate; hereafter XIE).
With respect to claim 1, FANG discloses a first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 8; paragraph [0142]); and
at least one memory (FIG. 8; paragraph [0142]) including computer program codes (FIG. 8; paragraph [0142]);
the at least one memory (FIG. 8; paragraph [0142]) and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) at least to:
generate a report ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) including information related to a measurement relaxation ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) performed by the first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) based on a measurement relaxation ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) configuration,
and
transmit the report to a second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7).
FANG does not disclose the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device.
XIE discloses the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure (paragraphs [0200] and [0210]) ; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device (paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0200], see that the RRM contains the measurement relaxation configuration in [0195] and [0196], and the network device sends measurement configuration information to the terminal device in [0200]).
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 2, FANG does not disclose wherein the measurement relaxation is associated with a relaxation on a measurement comprising at least one of:
a Radio Link Monitoring, RLM, measurement, or
a Beam Failure Detection, BFD, measurement.
XIE discloses wherein the measurement relaxation is associated with a relaxation on a measurement comprising at least one of:
a Radio Link Monitoring, RLM, measurement (paragraphs [0081] and [0082]), or
a Beam Failure Detection, BFD, measurement (paragraph [0248]).
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 3, FANG further discloses the first device of claim 1 , wherein the information indicates at least one of:
whether the measurement relaxation has been performed during a time window associated with a declaration of the RLF;
whether the measurement relaxation ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) was allowed based on a dedicated command from the second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7) or based on a determination by the first device that at least one relaxation criterion indicated in the measurement relaxation configuration is fulfilled ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9);
a time associated with the measurement relaxation before the RLF is detected;
at least one relaxation criterion indicated in the measurement relaxation configuration is fulfilled; a margin for a determination of a satisfied serving cell quality condition;
an evaluation measure for satisfied low mobility condition; one or more RLF related parameters applied during the measurement relaxation and one or more further RLF related parameters applied when the measurement is unrelaxed; or
whether a condition for quitting the measurement relaxation is evaluated before the RLF occurs or the successful handover.
With respect to claim 4, FANG does not disclose wherein the information comprises the measurement relaxation configuration.
XIE discloses wherein the information comprises the measurement relaxation configuration (paragraphs [0200] and [0210]).
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 5, FANG does not disclose, wherein the information is associated with a field related to a RLF reason in the RLF.
XIE discloses wherein the information is associated with a field related to a RLF reason in the RLF (paragraphs [0200] and [0210])
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 7, FANG further discloses wherein the first device is caused to transmit the information by:
transmitting the information via a radio resource complete message in at least one of:
a radio resource control re-establishment procedure, a radio resource control setup procedure, or a radio resource control reconfiguration procedure (paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0037], [0057]).
With respect to claim 8, FANG further discloses wherein the first device is further caused to:
transmit an indication of an availability of the information via a radio resource complete message in at least one of:
a radio resource control re-establishment procedure, a radio resource control setup procedure, or a radio resource control reconfiguration procedure (paragraphs [0029], [0030], [0037], [0057]).
With respect to claim 10, FANG further discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is caused to:
receive the measurement relaxation configuration from:
the second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7); or
a third device, the first device being serving by the third device before performing a handover procedure ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) to the second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7).
With respect to claim 11, FANG further discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) comprises a terminal device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) and the second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7) comprises a network device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7).
With respect to claim 12, FANG discloses a second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7) comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7) at least to:
receive, from a first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7), a report including information related to a measurement relaxation ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9),
determine, based on the report, an adjustment to a measurement relaxation configuration ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9).
FANG does not disclose the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device.
XIE discloses the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure (paragraphs [0200] and [0210]) ; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device (paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0200], see that the RRM contains the measurement relaxation configuration in [0195] and [0196], and the network device sends measurement configuration information to the terminal device in [0200]).
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 13, FANG does not disclose wherein the measurement relaxation is associated with a relaxation on a measurement comprising at least one of:
a Radio Link Monitoring, RLM, measurement, or
a Beam Failure Detection, BFD, measurement.
XIE discloses wherein the measurement relaxation is associated with a relaxation on a measurement comprising at least one of:
a Radio Link Monitoring, RLM, measurement (paragraphs [0081] and [0082]), or
a Beam Failure Detection, BFD, measurement (paragraph [0248]).
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 14, FANG further discloses the second device of claim 12, wherein the second device is caused to determine the adjustment by:
determining the adjustment for a mobility configuration based on the report ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9).
With respect to claim 15, FANG further discloses the second device of claim 12, wherein the second device is caused to determine the adjustment by:
in accordance with a determination, based on the report, that the RLF occurs, determining the adjustment for one or more parameters related to the measurement relaxation ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9).
With respect to claim 18, FANG further discloses the second device of claim 12, wherein the second device is caused to determine the adjustment by:
in accordance with a determination, based on the report, that the RLF occurs, determining the adjustment for one or more parameters related to the RLM ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9).
With respect to claim 20, FANG further discloses the second device of claim 12 , wherein the second device is further caused to:
determine the measurement relaxation configuration ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) for the first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7); and
transmit the measurement relaxation configuration to the first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7).
With respect to claim 22, FANG further discloses the second device of claim 12, wherein the first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) comprises a terminal device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) and the second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7) comprises a network device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7).
With respect to claim 23, FANG discloses a method comprising:
generating, at a first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7), a report including information related to a measurement relaxation ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) performed by the first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7) based on a measurement relaxation configuration,
and
transmitting the report ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9) to a second device (NW of FIG 2; NW of FIG 4; BS in FIG. 7).
FANG does not disclose the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure ; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device.
XIE discloses the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure (paragraphs [0200] and [0210]) ; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device (paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0200], see that the RRM contains the measurement relaxation configuration in [0195] and [0196], and the network device sends measurement configuration information to the terminal device in [0200]).
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 34, FANG discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a first device (UE of FIG. 2; UE of FIG. 4; 710a, 710b of FIG. 7), a report including information related to a measurement relaxation ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9),
determining, based on the report, an adjustment to a measurement relaxation configuration ((1) in FIG. 3; (1) in FIG. 6; 902, 904, 904 in FIG. 9).
FANG does not disclose the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device.
XIE discloses the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration the report associated with at least a Radio Link Failure (paragraphs [0200] and [0210]) ; and
a measurement relax configuration that is received from a network device (paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0200], see that the RRM contains the measurement relaxation configuration in [0195] and [0196], and the network device sends measurement configuration information to the terminal device in [0200]).
XIE teaches the benefit of improved network performance by using relaxation feedback with radio link failures (paragraphs [0004], [0005], and [0006]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the feedback as taught by XIE with the devices and methods of FANG to produce an expected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see page 7, that “In paragraphs [0200]-[0211], Xie discloses that the terminal device receives measurement configuration information that the terminal device uses to perform RRM measurements. Xie further discloses that the terminal device sends RLF information to the network device if an RLF occurs, and that RLF information includes measurement relaxation information. Notably, the measurement configuration information of Xie does not provide the terminal device any measurement relaxation configuration for performing measurement relaxation. In Xie, it seems the only information which could be related to measurement relaxation is passed from the terminal device to the network device and only if an RLF occurs. However, the foregoing claims require a report that includes information about a terminal device that receives a measurement relaxation configuration from a network device and performs measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation configuration. Xie neither discloses nor suggests a measurement relaxation configuration that is received from a network device, a terminal device that performs measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation configuration, or a report related thereto. Accordingly, because the combination of Fang and Xie fails to disclose or suggest all of the elements of independent claims 1, 12, 23, and 34, Applicant respectfully submits that all obviousness rejections of the claims 1, 12, 23, and 34, as well as claims 2-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13-15, 18, 20, and 22 respectively dependent thereon are overcome and should be withdrawn.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees because XIE states that the measurement configuration is send from a network device and received by the terminal device (paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0200], see that the RRM contains the measurement relaxation configuration in [0195] and [0196], and the network device sends measurement configuration information to the terminal device in [0200]).
Applicant argues, on page 6, that “As currently amended, each of independent claims 1, 12, 23, and 34 requires at least "a report, the report including information related to a measurement relaxation that is performed by the first device based on a measurement relaxation configuration that is received from a network device," among other things. Put another way, the forcgoing claims require at least a report that includes information about a terminal device that receives a measurement relaxation configuration from a network device and performs measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation configuration. Fang has been previously discussed as lacking at least such a report as claimed. The Patent Office agreeably indicates that Fang does not disclose the report as claimed. The Patent Office thus relies on Xie to supply the deficiencies of Fang. However, upon review of Xie, Applicant respectfully submits that Xie still fails to supply all of the deficiencies of Fang in this regard.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees because XIE states that the measurement configuration is send from a network device and received by the terminal device (paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0200], see that the RRM contains the measurement relaxation configuration in [0195] and [0196], and the network device sends measurement configuration information to the terminal device in [0200]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 March 13, 2026