DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024, 02/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (i), which states:
(i) Arrangement of views. One view must not be placed upon another or within the outline of another. All views on the same sheet should stand in the same direction and, if possible, stand so that they can be read with the sheet held in an upright position. If views wider than the width of the sheet are necessary for the clearest illustration of the invention, the sheet may be turned on its side so that the top of the sheet, with the appropriate top margin to be used as the heading space, is on the right-hand side. Words must appear in a horizontal, left-to-right fashion when the page is either upright or turned so that the top becomes the right side, except for graphs utilizing standard scientific convention to denote the axis of abscissas (of X) and the axis of ordinates (of Y).
In the Drawings submitted on 06/10/2024: FIG. 1D; FIG. 6A; FIG. 6B; FIG. 9B; FIG. 10; FIG.14; FIG. 15; FIG. 16A; FIG. 19A; FIG. 19B; FIG. 22; FIG. 23; FIG. 24; FIG. 25; FIG. 30 are noncompliant because they are oriented with the top of the figures on the left-hand side rather than on the right-hand side, as required by 37 CFR 1.84.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant's Response to Election / Restriction filed on September 08, 2026.
Claims 1-29 are currently pending, with claim 8-11 and 14-29 withdrawn.
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are under examination. This is the first action on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on September 08, 2026 is acknowledged1.
The requirement for "Species of detection," set forth in the office action mailed on July 07, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following species in the reply filed on September 08, 2026 is acknowledged:
Species of sample: A) Urine (specification, page 4, lines 9-10);
Species of additional detection markers: C) messenger ribonucleic acid (mRNA) (claim 6; claim 15) 2.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8-11 and 14-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Examination on the merits commences on claims 1-7 and 12-13.
Priority
Regarding instant claims 1-7 and 12-13, the earliest priority is December 12, 2022 because the priority document (PCT/US22/81340) filed that date is the first to disclose "H4 clustered histone 5 (H4C5)," as required by base claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
In evaluating the patentability of the claims presented in this application, claim terms have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, as outlined in MPEP§ 2111.
Regarding claim 1, it recites "method for identifying a patient as having aggressive prostate cancer" in the preamble, this claim language is interpreted as descriptive language that does not distinguish the claimed method from prior art methods that disclose all the claimed steps.
MPEP§ 2111.04 states: "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure."
Here, the claim body does not include any step of identifying a patient as having aggressive prostate cancer. In fact, the body only requires detecting expression levels of gene markers. In other words, the preamble at most states the intended outcome of the claimed method and makes no manipulative difference. Therefore, the claimed method does not distinguish itself from prior art that discloses the claimed detecting step.
For the purpose of applying prior art, claim 1 recites "a control," the specification provides definition of a "control amount" as follows:
"A “control amount” of a marker can be any amount or a range of amount which is to be compared against a test amount of a marker."(page 17, lines 24-25)
Accordingly, "a control" is interpreted as encompassing any reference value capable of being compared with a test amount of a marker.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 1 is drawn to a method comprising detecting gene expression of EpCAM, H4C5, and TTC3 in a sample obtained from a patient.
Following the analysis below the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 1 - Whether the Claim is to a Statutory Category: YES. The claims are drawn to a method, therefore to one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1 - Whether the Claim Recite an Abstract idea, Law of Nature, or Natural Phenomenon: Yes.
The claim recites a judicial exception, namely a law of nature or natural phenomenon. Specifically, the claim is directed to observing naturally occurring gene expression levels in a subject using any assaying technique.
As stated in MPEP 2106.04(b)(I), laws of nature and natural phenomena, as identified by the courts, include naturally occurring principles/relations and nature-based products that are naturally occurring or that do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature. The overexpression, or any level of gene expression in a subject reflects a naturally occurring biological correlation and is thus a natural correlation.
In conclusion, the claims recite laws of nature and natural phenomena.
Step 2A Prong 2- Whether the Claim Recite Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application: No. The claim does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claim recites a single step of "detecting overexpression relative to a control" at high level of generality, which merely reflect extra-solution activities for data gathering and observation of the naturally occurring correlation, and See MPEP §2106.04(d).
Thus, the recited detecting step merely observes the judicial exception and do not integrate it into a practical application.
Although claims 12-13 further recite "administering a prostate cancer therapy to the patient identified as having aggressive prostate cancer." This treatment step does not integrate the judicial excepting into a practical application. The administering step does not depend on the outcome of the detecting step and is not recited as applying or using the judicial exception in any meaningful way. Thus, the treatment limitation has no more than a nominal or insignificant relationship to the judicial exception.
Further, as currently written, the detecting step does not clearly relate to identifying a patient as having aggressive prostate cancer. Accordingly, the claims encompass scenarios in which the patient is first identified as having aggressive prostate cancer, treated, and only afterward has gene expression detected. In such cases, the administering step is merely ancillary to the overall observation of the judicial exception and represents insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)
Step 2B- Whether a Claim Amounts to Significantly More: No.
According to MPEP§ 2106.05, The second part of the Alice/Mayo test is often referred to as a search for an inventive concept. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 217, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71-72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (2012)). An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
In this instant case, the claims, when considered as a whole, do not recite any inventive concept with additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The step of “detecting,” recited in claim 1 at a high level of generality, is merely data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature. Thus, this step reflect insignificant extra-solution activities and do not qualify as “significantly more.” (see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
The dependent claims have been considered but they do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as they represent mere general linkage of the judicial exception to the additional elements in the claims (MPEP § 2106.05(h)).
Claim 4 recites, at a high level of generality, detecting the marker level through PCR; but this merely represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts, as recognized by the courts. See University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
As discussed above, the treating step in claims 12-13 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claims 12-13 also do not amount to significantly more, because as discussed above, in the absence of a significant relationship to the judicial exception, they represent a general linkage to the judicial exception.
In conclusion, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US20160041153A1- Biomarker compositions and markers ; Published on 2016-02-11), as evidenced by Wikipedia (HIST1H4E - Wikipedia; Archived Nov 7, 2021 on WaybackMachine; HIST1H4B- Wikipedia; Archived Nov 7, 2021).
A) Brown teaches methods of measuring biosignatures (e.g., protein, DNA, RNA) in biosamples, which are useful for distinguishing different physiological conditions and aiding treatment decisions ([0443]; [0372]; [0374]; [0098]).
For example, Brown teaches that biosignature can be used to build a classifier that determines whether a subject has aggressive or non-aggressive cancer. In the case of prostate cancer, this can help the physician to determine whether to monitor the cancer or perform prostatectomy ([0443]; [0334]; [0374]).
Regarding claim 1, Brown teaches detecting overexpression relative to a control in a sample obtained from a patient ([0061] "vesicle bio-signature to discriminate between normal prostate and PCa samples. Cancer markers included EpCam"; [0043] "comparing the biosignature to a reference biosignature, wherein the comparison is used to characterize a cancer… characterizing the cancer may comprise identifying the presence or risk of the cancer in a subject, or identifying the cancer in a subject as metastatic or aggressive. The comparing step comprises determining whether the biosignature is altered relative to the reference biosignature, thereby providing a prognostic, diagnostic or theranostic characterization for the cancer"; [0264] "characterization includes determining whether the circulating biomarkers in the sample are altered as compared to a reference, which can also be referred to a standard or a control. An alteration can include any measurable difference between the sample and the reference, including…overexpression… A biosignature includes specific pattern of biomarkers, e.g., patterns of biomarkers indicative of a phenotype that is desirable to detect, such as a disease phenotype."; [0626] " The biosignature can be compared to a subject without the phenotype. Differences between the two biosignatures can be determined and used to form a novel biosignature. The novel biosignature can then be used for identifying another subject as having the phenotype or not having the phenotype.")
Brown also teaches detecting expression of the specifically recited markers including EpCAM ([1064]-[1085] Example 51, see Table 55 for example), H4C5 (Table 20, HIST1H4E is aliases for H4C5, see HIST1H4E - Wikipedia), and TTC3 (Table 20).
Although Brown does not explicitly disclose detecting all three recited markers in a single embodiment, their combination would have been obvious because Brown itself teaches and suggests combining different types of biomarkers, including Circulating Microvesicles (cMVs) surface antigens (e.g. EpCAM) and payload mRNAs (e.g., H4C5 and TTC3), to characterize a phenotype.
Brown teaches comparing a biosignature to a reference to determine whether the biosignature is altered relative to the reference. For example, Brown teaches that a biosignature from an individual having a specific phenotype may be compared to a biosignature from a subject without the phenotype, thereby providing a prognostic, diagnostic or theranostic characterization for the phenotype (e.g., cancer). ([0443]). Brown further teaches that the difference or alteration of the biosignature include any measurable difference between the sample and the reference, such as overexpression ([0264]).
Example 51 in Brown teaches profiling circulating microvesicles (cMVs) for biosignatures distinguishing prostate cancer and related conditions ([1064]-[1085]). Example 51 discloses detecting expression of protein antigen markers, including EpCAM (see Table 55), and comparing differences in expression between condition groups so that the groups can be distinguished based on expression (Table 60; Table 61; Table 62; Table 63; Table 65).
Brown further teaches that circulating microvesicles can be analyzed for payload markers, including mRNA (Example 37: [0952]; Table 20). Although Example 51 focuses on detecting antigen expression and does not further disclose measuring expression of H4C5 and TTC3, Brown teaches that prostate circulating microvesicles carry mRNAs include H4C5 and TTC3 (Table 20).
Finally, Brown provides reason to combine the antigen and mRNA measurement. Brown teaches that “[a]ny of the types of biomarkers or specific biomarkers described herein can be assessed to discover a novel biosignature” (0632]).
Brown also teaches that multiple biomarkers can be assessed sequentially or concurrently to characterize a phenotype. For example, a subpopulation of vesicles can be assessed by sequentially detecting a vesicle surface antigen, e.g., to capture vesicles, and then the captured vesicles can be assessed for payload such as mRNA, microRNA or soluble protein ([0099]). By assessing combinations of circulating biomarkers, improvement in test performance can be obtained ([0416] lines 1-7).
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it prima facie obvious, in view of Brown’s teaching to further modify its method of profiling circulating microvesicle (cMV) antigens (including EpCAM) for biosignatures that distinguish prostate cancer and related conditions, to further measure for altered cMV mRNA expression (including TTC3, H4C5) relative to a reference. Such measurement for altered expression encompasses detecting for overexpression compared to a reference value ([0264] lines 9-17).
A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because assessing combinations of circulating biomarkers can improve test performance, as suggested by Brown.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Brown expressly teaches assessing combinations of circulating microvesicle biomarkers ([0099]). Thus, a skilled artisan would have reasonably expected that Brown's circulating microvesicle profiling method in Example 51 could be expanded from antigen markers to further include profiling payload mRNAs.
B) Regarding claim 2, Brown teaches wherein the detecting step comprises detecting protein level of EpCAM in a urine sample ([0032]; [0039]” the biological sample comprises a bodily fluid. Appropriate bodily fluids include without limitation peripheral blood, sera, plasma, ascites, urine”; Table 1; [0029]; [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, Brown teaches detecting ribonucleic acid (RNA) level of H4C5 and TTC3 ([0952]; Table 20).
Regarding claim 4, Brown teaches PCR ([0369]; [0511] “ once the total RNA has been isolated, cDNA can be synthesized and either qRT-PCR assays (e.g. Applied Biosystem's Taqman® assays) for specific mRNA targets can be performed according to manufacturer's protocol” ).
Regarding claim 5, Brown teaches that its method is capable of distinguishing among aggressive prostate cancer, indolent prostate cancer, benign prostate hyperplasia and prostatitis (Table 60 High-risk of PCa vs. Low-risk of Pca ; Table 61 Prostate cancer vs. prostate inflammatory condition (prostatitis); Table 64 comparing bins of total Gleason score for subjects with cancer biopsy. Samples were grouped by low Gleason (≦5), intermediate Gleason (6-9) and high Gleason (≧10). As the Gleason score is a measure of cancer aggressiveness, a skilled artisan would readily understand that comparison of low Gleason vs. high Gleason is a comparison between aggressive prostate cancer vs. indolent prostate cancer;
[1048] distinguish PCa from the samples with BPH ; [0416] “ multiple markers from antibody arrays and miR analysis can be used to distinguish prostate cancer from normal, BPH and PCa, or metastatic versus non-metastatic disease.”; [0833] "miR-145 is useful for identifying those with early/indolent PCa vs those with benign prostate changes (e.g., BPH)"; [0636]; [0962] ).
Regarding claim 6, Brown teaches detecting overexpression relative to a control of one or more of messenger ribonucleic acid (mRNA) ([0952]-[0953]; Table 20; [0264]).
Regarding claim 7, Brown teaches mRNA comprises H4C2 (HIST1H4B in Table 20, HIST1H4B is aliases for H4C2, see HIST1H4B- Wikipedia).
Regarding claims 12-13, Brown teaches administering a prostate cancer therapy to the patient identified as having aggressive prostate cancer, wherein the prostate cancer therapy comprises prostatectomy ([0374] “determine whether a subject has an aggressive or non-aggressive cancer. In the illustrative case of prostate cancer, this can help a physician to determine whether to watch the cancer, i.e., prescribe “watchful waiting,” or perform a prostatectomy”).
Prior Art
Below are relevant prior art not used in rejection but pertinent to the claims or disclosure.
The following references also teach detecting differentially expressed genes that distinguish between aggressive and indolent forms of prostate cancer in blood or urine samples:
WO2009126122A1- Prostate cancer-specific alterations in erg gene expression and detection and treatment methods based on those alterations;
WO2019008412A1- Utilizing blood based gene expression analysis for cancer management.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TIAN NMN YU/Examiner , Art Unit 1681
1 Claims 14-29 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected groups II-III.
2 Claims 8-11 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species D-G.