DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed 07/20/2026. Claims 4, 11, 13, 14, and 16 have been amended; no claims have been added or cancelled. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are pending and are examined herein. The amendments insert the word “corresponding” in claims 4 and 16, replace “base unit” with “base station” in claims 11, 13, and 14, and replace “monitors a WUS” with “monitors for a WUS” in claim 13. These amendments do not alter how the prior art is applied, and no new ground of rejection is set forth in this action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that “Nowhere does Dottling tie this preamble-sequence partition to any particular occasion, slot, or resource position” (Remarks, page 9, paragraph 1) and that “Nothing in the cited portions of Dottling ties the reserved wake-up preamble sequence to any particular RO position, or to a leading position within a wake-up period that is itself defined as one or multiple PRACH configuration periods” (Remarks, page 9, paragraph 2), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 1 does not define the wake-up period; it is claim 2 that defines the wake-up period as one or multiple of the PRACH configuration period, and that limitation is addressed separately below. Claim 1 recites the position of the WUS in the alternative, at “the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period” or at “a resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period”, so that a wake-up signal transmitted on a resource that precedes the random-access occasions of the wake-up period meets the claim. Dottling sets out exactly that order of events. Dottling’s successful RACH attempt “includes sending of a wake up message including the RACH wake up preamble sequence (communication 1), wake up of apparatus 200a (process 4), detection of new cell by the mobile apparatus 100 (process 5)” and then “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5” (Dottling, para [0036]).
Therefore, the wake-up preamble is transmitted on a RACH resource that lies in front of the RACH slots on which the ensuing random-access procedure is performed, and the period spanning Dottling’s wake up procedure is a wake-up period within the meaning of claim 1. (Dottling, para [0051] “a cell ID (i.e. location/area where RACH wake up preamble sequence was transmitted) and/or the used RACH wake up preamble sequence and the own cell ID (i.e. location of the apparatus BS 200a).”) Thus, claim 1 does not exclude a WUS that is additionally distinguished from ordinary random-access preambles by its sequence; to the contrary, dependent claims 8 and 9 recite that the WUS is selected from a subset of the preamble set in PRACH procedure, which is the code-domain distinction Applicant attributes to Dottling. The rejection does not rely on Dottling for the RO, PRACH configuration period, and association period framework. That framework is supplied by TS 38.213, under which PRACH occasions are arranged in time within PRACH configuration periods, “Third, in increasing order of time resource indexes for time multiplexed PRACH occasions within a PRACH slot” (TS 38.213, page 34), and in the combination Dottling’s reserved wake up preamble is transmitted in a TS 38.213 PRACH occasion that precedes the PRACH occasions used for the subsequent random access procedure, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 below.
Accordingly, Applicant argues that Dottling, taken by itself, has no counterpart to that framework, the argument is directed to Dottling individually: in response to applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Moreover, Applicant further argues that “the Office Action has not explained why that skilled artisan would additionally organize those WUS resources into the claimed first or first several ROs wake-up-period structure” (Remarks, page 10, paragraph 2). The claimed structure, in the alternative that is met, is not an additional reorganization imposed on Dottling; it is Dottling’s own order of events, the wake up preamble first and the random access procedure afterward (Dottling, para [0036]), carried into the PRACH occasions of TS 38.213, and the reason for doing so is stated in the rejection of claim 1 below: wake up signaling reuses the PRACH occasions the UE has already been configured with, and no separate wake up channel is needed.
In regard to Applicant’s argument that “the mobile apparatus does not possess RACH slot/preamble (i.e., PRACH) configuration information for the target base station until after the mobile apparatus transmits the wake-up preamble” (Remarks, page 10, paragraph 1), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 1 requires receiving a PRACH configuration in which one or multiple ROs are in a PRACH configuration period, and transmitting the WUS at the recited position; it does not require that the PRACH configuration be received from the particular base station that is being woken, and it does not require that the WUS be transmitted on that base station’s configuration. The rejection relies on TS 38.213, not Dottling, for the received PRACH configuration: “Prior to initiation of the physical random-access procedure, Layer 1 receives the following information from the higher layers” including the “Configuration of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission parameters (PRACH preamble format, time resources, and frequency resources for PRACH transmission)” (TS 38.213, page 33).
Dottling is relied upon for the wake up signal itself and for its placement ahead of the random access procedure. Dottling’s mobile station transmits its wake up preamble on the RACH, “the base station can be waked up by a mobile station by means of a RACH (Random Access Channel) using a specific RACH preamble sequence” (Dottling, para [0005]), so the wake up preamble is itself a RACH transmission; the cell detection and BCCH reading of process 5 concern the newly awakened cell, which Dottling’s mobile station accesses only after the wake up (Dottling, para [0036]).
In the combination, the UE that has received the TS 38.213 PRACH configuration transmits Dottling’s reserved wake up preamble in a PRACH occasion of that configuration ahead of the PRACH occasions used for random access, which is the claimed order.
Applicant also describes the claimed invention as one in which “the base station is configured to monitor these subsequent ROs only when/after a WUS is detected in the pre-defined earlier set of (first or first several) ROs or the resource preceding these ROs” (Remarks, page 7, paragraph 4). In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the base station monitoring the following ROs only when a WUS is detected, and skipping the monitoring of the remaining ROs within the wake-up period when no WUS is detected) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As to Applicant’s argument that “the Office Action provides no rationale for implementing the monitoring of leading ROs structure provided by the claims” (Remarks, page 10, paragraph 5, continued on page 11), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claims 11 and 13 recite monitoring for a WUS at a first or first several ROs within the wake-up period or at a resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period, again in the alternative. Dottling’s standby base station keeps its receiver active for the wake up preamble, “In this standby mode, a receiver chain of the base station remains activated and the base station can be waked up by a mobile station by means of a RACH (Random Access Channel) using a specific RACH preamble sequence” (Dottling, para [0005]), receives it, “The receiver 22a, 22b of the apparatus 200a, 200b receives the wake up message” (Dottling, para [0021]), and only afterward serves the random access procedure on the RACH slots, “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5” (Dottling, para [0036]). The base station therefore monitors the wake up preamble at a resource in front of the RACH occasions of the ensuing random access, and the rationale for monitoring that leading resource in the TS 38.213 framework is stated in the rejection of claim 11 below: the base station conserves energy in standby while remaining reachable through the PRACH structure it has configured. To the extent Applicant’s argument based on paragraph [0036] of Dottling is carried over to claims 11 and 13, those claims recite transmitting the PRACH configuration and monitoring for the WUS, and impose no timing between the two. In the combination the base station transmits its PRACH configuration while active, enters Dottling’s standby “during times of absence” (Dottling, para [0004]), and then monitors the occasions it has configured for the wake up preamble; Dottling’s base station moreover receives the wake up message in the active mode as well, “if the apparatus BS 200a is in the active mode when receiving the wake up message it will not shift to the wake up mode but directly proceed to process 5” (Dottling, para [0033]).
Turning to Applicant’s argument that “The dependent claims are also allowable at least based on their dependence from allowable base claims” (Remarks, page 11, paragraph 2), the dependent claims stand rejected for the reasons given for their base claims above and for the additional reasons set forth in the rejections below. Applicant has elected not to present specific arguments directed to the dependent claims.
The rejections below cite additional passages of the references of record, identified above, in response to Applicant’s arguments; the references applied to each claim and the teachings relied upon are unchanged from the Non-Final Rejection. For at least these reasons, the rejections are maintained and are restated below to address the amended claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 15, 19, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS 38.213 (3GPP TS 38.213 V15.14.0) in view of Dottling (US 2012/0178383 A1).
Regarding claim 1, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 discloses: A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) configuration, wherein one or multiple RACH Occasions (ROs) are in a PRACH configuration period;, because TS 38.213 teaches a UE whose Layer 1 receives from the higher layers the PRACH configuration, including the time and frequency resources for PRACH transmission, and whose PRACH occasions, several of which are time multiplexed within a PRACH slot, are arranged within PRACH configuration periods that make up the association period: (TS 38.213, page 33 “Prior to initiation of the physical random access procedure, Layer 1 receives the following information from the higher layers”; TS 38.213, page 33 “Configuration of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission parameters (PRACH preamble format, time resources, and frequency resources for PRACH transmission)”; TS 38.213, page 34 “An association period, starting from frame 0, for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to PRACH occasions is the smallest value in the set determined by the PRACH configuration period according Table 8.1-1”; TS 38.213, page 34 “Third, in increasing order of time resource indexes for time multiplexed PRACH occasions within a PRACH slot”)
Although TS 38.213 teaches a UE that receives a PRACH configuration whose PRACH occasions are arranged within a PRACH configuration period: (TS 38.213, page 33, page 34), TS 38.213 does not explicitly disclose transmitting a wake up signal within a wake-up period at the first RO(s) of the wake-up period or at a resource in front of the RO(s) of the wake-up period.
However, TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses transmitting at least a WUS (wake up signal) within a wake-up period, the WUS transmitted at the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period or at a resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period. because Dottling teaches a mobile station that transmits a wake up message, a RACH wake up preamble sequence reserved for the wake up procedure, on the RACH, and transmits it as the first step of a wake up procedure whose random access procedure is performed afterward on the RACH slots, so that the wake up preamble occupies a RACH resource in front of the random access occasions of that wake-up period, the wake-up period being the period over which Dottling’s wake up procedure runs, from the wake up message through the ensuing random access procedure (Dottling, para [0005], “the base station can be waked up by a mobile station by means of a RACH (Random Access Channel) using a specific RACH preamble sequence”; Dottling, para [0019], “in communication 1 the mobile apparatus MS 100 sends the wake up message which may comprise a RACH wake up preamble sequence which is reserved for a wake up procedure of apparatuses 200a, 200b of the communications network 300”; Dottling, para [0036], “The successful RACH attempt with apparatus 200a includes sending of a wake up message including the RACH wake up preamble sequence (communication 1), wake up of apparatus 200a (process 4), detection of new cell by the mobile apparatus 100 (process 5)”; Dottling, para [0036], “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, in the system of TS 38.213, Dottling’s reserved wake up RACH preamble in a PRACH occasion that precedes the PRACH occasions used for the ensuing random access procedure, because Dottling teaches waking a standby base station by a RACH preamble sent before the normal RACH procedure, so that wake up signaling reuses the PRACH resources and occasions already configured under TS 38.213 without any separate wake up channel, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses The method of claim 1, wherein, the WUS is transmitted when random access is expected to be performed in ROs following the resource at which the WUS is transmitted., as Dottling further discloses that the mobile station sends the wake up message when it requests access to the network, and that the random access procedure is then performed on the RACH slots following the wake up message (Dottling, para [0018], “the mobile apparatus 100 requests access to the communications network 300 by using a wake up message”; Dottling, para [0036], “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5”).
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the WUS is selected from a WUS set, where the WUS set is a subset of a preamble set in PRACH procedure., as Dottling further discloses that the available RACH preamble sequences are divided into subsets, one of which is reserved for the RACH wake up preambles, and that the mobile station selects its wake up preamble out of that reserved subset (Dottling, para [0005], “one or multiple RACH preamble sequence(s) is/are reserved and used to wake up base stations from standby mode”; Dottling, para [0039], “a set of available LTE RACH preamble sequences is divided according to the table below”; Dottling, para [0042], “additional sequences may be defined for RACH wake up preamble sequences and second RACH preamble sequences”; Dottling, para [0043], “The mobile apparatus 100 may select randomly for a RACH wake up preamble sequence the sequence to use out of the set of available sequences”; Dottling, para [0043], “According to the above table the available sequences are n1+1 . . . n2”).
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the WUS is selected from a WUS set associated with a UE group including the UE, where the WUS set associated with the UE group is a subset of preamble set in PRACH procedure., as Dottling further discloses that the mobile stations requesting access to the network by a wake up preamble, which under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term UE group form a group of UEs including the UE, select their wake up preamble out of the reserved wake up subset of the available RACH preamble sequences (Dottling, para [0009], “a single or multiple mobile station(s) is/are requesting access to the communications network by using a specific wake up RACH preamble sequence”; Dottling, para [0039], “a set of available LTE RACH preamble sequences is divided according to the table below”; Dottling, para [0043], “The mobile apparatus 100 may select randomly for a RACH wake up preamble sequence the sequence to use out of the set of available sequences”; Dottling, para [0043], “According to the above table the available sequences are n1+1 . . . n2”).
Regarding claim 15, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 discloses: A UE comprising: a receiver that receives PRACH configuration, wherein one or multiple ROs are in a PRACH configuration period;, because TS 38.213 teaches a UE whose Layer 1 receives from the higher layers the PRACH configuration, including the time and frequency resources for PRACH transmission, and which obtains from SIB1 or ServingCellConfigCommon of the cell the SS/PBCH block indexes that are mapped to its PRACH occasions, the PRACH occasions, several of which are time multiplexed within a PRACH slot, being arranged within PRACH configuration periods that make up the association period; TS 38.213 does not use the word receiver, but a UE that obtains configuration information for its PRACH occasions from the cell’s SIB1 or ServingCellConfigCommon reasonably includes a receiver that receives that configuration, and in any event providing the UE with a receiver for that purpose would have been obvious: (TS 38.213, page 33 “Prior to initiation of the physical random access procedure, Layer 1 receives the following information from the higher layers”; TS 38.213, page 33 “Configuration of physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission parameters (PRACH preamble format, time resources, and frequency resources for PRACH transmission)”; TS 38.213, page 34 “SS/PBCH block indexes provided by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or in ServingCellConfigCommon are mapped to valid PRACH occasions in the following order”; TS 38.213, page 34 “An association period, starting from frame 0, for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to PRACH occasions is the smallest value in the set determined by the PRACH configuration period according Table 8.1-1”; TS 38.213, page 34 “Third, in increasing order of time resource indexes for time multiplexed PRACH occasions within a PRACH slot”)
Although TS 38.213 teaches a UE that receives a PRACH configuration whose PRACH occasions are arranged within a PRACH configuration period: (TS 38.213, page 33, page 34), TS 38.213 does not explicitly disclose a transmitter that transmits a wake up signal within a wake-up period at the first RO(s) of the wake-up period or at a resource in front of the RO(s) of the wake-up period.
Conversely, TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses a transmitter that transmits at least a WUS (wake up signal) within a wake-up period, the WUS transmitted at a first or first several ROs within the wake-up period or at a resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period. because Dottling teaches a mobile station with a transceiver that transmits a wake up message, a RACH wake up preamble sequence reserved for the wake up procedure, on the RACH as the first step of a wake up procedure whose random access procedure is performed afterward on the RACH slots, so that the wake up preamble occupies a RACH resource in front of the random access occasions of that wake-up period, the wake-up period being the period over which Dottling’s wake up procedure runs, from the wake up message through the ensuing random access procedure (Dottling, para [0015], “a mobile apparatus 100 such as a mobile station or user equipment comprises a transceiver 11 and a processor 12”; Dottling, para [0018], “The processor 12 of the mobile apparatus 100 may cause the transceiver 11 to transmit the wake up message for waking up an apparatus 200a, 200b of the communications network 300 in order to achieve access to the communications network 300”; Dottling, para [0019], “in communication 1 the mobile apparatus MS 100 sends the wake up message which may comprise a RACH wake up preamble sequence which is reserved for a wake up procedure of apparatuses 200a, 200b of the communications network 300”; Dottling, para [0036], “The successful RACH attempt with apparatus 200a includes sending of a wake up message including the RACH wake up preamble sequence (communication 1), wake up of apparatus 200a (process 4), detection of new cell by the mobile apparatus 100 (process 5)”; Dottling, para [0036], “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5”).
For these reasons, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the UE of TS 38.213 transmit Dottling’s reserved wake up RACH preamble in a PRACH occasion that precedes the PRACH occasions used for the ensuing random access procedure, because Dottling teaches waking a standby base station by a RACH preamble sent before the normal RACH procedure, so that wake up signaling reuses the PRACH resources and occasions already configured under TS 38.213 without any separate wake up channel, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 15, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses The UE of claim 15, further comprising a processor that transmits the WUS, via the transmitter, when random access is expected to be performed in ROs following the resource at which the WUS is transmitted., as Dottling further discloses a processor of the mobile station that causes the transceiver to transmit the wake up message when the mobile station requests access to the network, the random access procedure then being performed on the RACH slots following the wake up message (Dottling, para [0018], “The processor 12 of the mobile apparatus 100 may cause the transceiver 11 to transmit the wake up message for waking up an apparatus 200a, 200b of the communications network 300 in order to achieve access to the communications network 300”; Dottling, para [0036], “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5”).
Regarding claim 20, which depends on claim 19, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses The UE of claim 19, wherein the processor selects the WUS from a WUS set, where the WUS set is a subset of a preamble set in PRACH procedure., as Dottling further discloses that the available RACH preamble sequences are divided into subsets, one of which is reserved for the RACH wake up preambles, and that the mobile station, whose processor controls its transceiver, selects its wake up preamble out of that reserved subset (Dottling, para [0005], “one or multiple RACH preamble sequence(s) is/are reserved and used to wake up base stations from standby mode”; Dottling, para [0039], “a set of available LTE RACH preamble sequences is divided according to the table below”; Dottling, para [0042], “additional sequences may be defined for RACH wake up preamble sequences and second RACH preamble sequences”; Dottling, para [0043], “The mobile apparatus 100 may select randomly for a RACH wake up preamble sequence the sequence to use out of the set of available sequences”; Dottling, para [0043], “According to the above table the available sequences are n1+1 . . . n2”).
Regarding claim 21, which depends on claim 19, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of Dottling discloses The UE of claim 19, wherein the processor selects the WUS from a WUS set associated with a UE group including the UE, where the WUS set associated with the UE group is a subset of preamble set in PRACH procedure., as Dottling further discloses that the mobile stations requesting access to the network by a wake up preamble, which under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term UE group form a group of UEs including the UE, select their wake up preamble out of the reserved wake up subset of the available RACH preamble sequences (Dottling, para [0009], “a single or multiple mobile station(s) is/are requesting access to the communications network by using a specific wake up RACH preamble sequence”; Dottling, para [0039], “a set of available LTE RACH preamble sequences is divided according to the table below”; Dottling, para [0043], “The mobile apparatus 100 may select randomly for a RACH wake up preamble sequence the sequence to use out of the set of available sequences”; Dottling, para [0043], “According to the above table the available sequences are n1+1 . . . n2”).
Claims 4, 5, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS 38.213 (3GPP TS 38.213 V15.14.0) in view of Dottling (US 2012/0178383 A1) and further in view of MolavianJazi (US 2021/0058971 A1).
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, (Currently Amended) TS 38.213 discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the ROs within the wake-up period are associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) within an associated period in which the SSB and the ROs are associated, wherein the associated period is one or multiple of the PRACH configuration period;, as TS 38.213 further discloses that SS/PBCH blocks are mapped to PRACH occasions within an association period, and that the association period is a number of PRACH configuration periods given by Table 8.1-1 (TS 38.213, page 34 “An association period, starting from frame 0, for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to PRACH occasions is the smallest value in the set determined by the PRACH configuration period according Table 8.1-1”; TS 38.213, page 35 “Table 8.1-1: Mapping between PRACH configuration period and SS/PBCH block to PRACH occasion association period”; TS 38.213, page 35 “Association period (number of PRACH configuration periods)”; TS 38.213, page 34 “The PRACH occasions are mapped consecutively per corresponding SS/PBCH block index”).
Even though TS 38.213 in view of Dottling teaches PRACH occasions associated with an SS/PBCH block within an association period made of PRACH configuration periods, and a wake up preamble transmitted in the leading PRACH occasion of the wake-up period ahead of the random access occasions, that leading occasion being the first RO within the wake-up period: (TS 38.213, page 34; Dottling, para [0036]), TS 38.213 in view of Dottling does not explicitly disclose that the wake up occasions are the first RO or ROs associated with the SSB in the time domain.
Conversely, TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of MolavianJazi discloses the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period are a corresponding first or first several ROs associated with the SSB in time domain. because MolavianJazi teaches selecting, for a PRACH transmission, a first RO and then the next time-multiplexed ROs mapped to the same SSB as that first RO, that is, a time-ordered run of one or several ROs associated with one SSB that begins at a first RO, which, applied to the leading wake up occasion of the combination, makes the wake up occasions the first RO or ROs associated with the SSB in the time domain (MolavianJazi, para [0202], “the PRACH mask field in the PDCCH order indicates only the RO for the first repetition of PRACH transmission while ROs for remaining repetitions are determined based on a rule, such as using consecutive “NR-light valid slots”, or next TDMed ROs that are mapped to a same SSB as the first RO”).
For these reasons, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as the wake up occasions of the TS 38.213 and Dottling combination, the first RO or ROs associated with the SSB in the time domain, because MolavianJazi teaches an RO selection rule that begins at a first RO and proceeds to the next time-multiplexed ROs mapped to the same SSB, which gives the UE and the base station a predictable, SSB-consistent occasion for the wake up preamble within the existing SSB to RO mapping.
Therefore TS 38.213 and Dottling are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 4, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 discloses The method of claim 4, wherein the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period are one or more ROs associated with the SSB having highest or lowest frequency band(s) in frequency domain., as TS 38.213 further discloses that the PRACH occasions to which an SS/PBCH block is mapped are ordered in increasing order of frequency resource index, so that the first RO associated with the SSB is the frequency multiplexed RO having the lowest frequency (TS 38.213, page 34 “Second, in increasing order of frequency resource indexes for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions”).
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claim 15, (Currently Amended) TS 38.213 discloses The UE of claim 15, wherein: the ROs within the wake-up period are associated with a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) within an associated period in which the SSB and the ROs are associated, wherein the associated period is one or multiple of the PRACH configuration period;, as TS 38.213 further discloses that SS/PBCH blocks are mapped to PRACH occasions within an association period, and that the association period is a number of PRACH configuration periods given by Table 8.1-1 (TS 38.213, page 34 “An association period, starting from frame 0, for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to PRACH occasions is the smallest value in the set determined by the PRACH configuration period according Table 8.1-1”; TS 38.213, page 35 “Table 8.1-1: Mapping between PRACH configuration period and SS/PBCH block to PRACH occasion association period”; TS 38.213, page 35 “Association period (number of PRACH configuration periods)”; TS 38.213, page 34 “The PRACH occasions are mapped consecutively per corresponding SS/PBCH block index”).
Even though TS 38.213 in view of Dottling teaches PRACH occasions associated with an SS/PBCH block within an association period made of PRACH configuration periods, and a wake up preamble transmitted in the leading PRACH occasion of the wake-up period ahead of the random access occasions, that leading occasion being the first RO within the wake-up period: (TS 38.213, page 34; Dottling, para [0036]), TS 38.213 in view of Dottling does not explicitly disclose that the wake up occasions are the first RO or ROs associated with the SSB in the time domain.
Nevertheless, TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of MolavianJazi discloses the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period are a corresponding first or first several ROs associated with the SSB in time domain. because MolavianJazi teaches selecting, for a PRACH transmission, a first RO and then the next time-multiplexed ROs mapped to the same SSB as that first RO, that is, a time-ordered run of one or several ROs associated with one SSB that begins at a first RO, which, applied to the leading wake up occasion of the combination, makes the wake up occasions the first RO or ROs associated with the SSB in the time domain (MolavianJazi, para [0202], “the PRACH mask field in the PDCCH order indicates only the RO for the first repetition of PRACH transmission while ROs for remaining repetitions are determined based on a rule, such as using consecutive “NR-light valid slots”, or next TDMed ROs that are mapped to a same SSB as the first RO”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as the wake up occasions of the TS 38.213 and Dottling combination, the first RO or ROs associated with the SSB in the time domain, because MolavianJazi teaches an RO selection rule that begins at a first RO and proceeds to the next time-multiplexed ROs mapped to the same SSB, which gives the UE and the base station a predictable, SSB-consistent occasion for the wake up preamble within the existing SSB to RO mapping.
Thus TS 38.213 and Dottling are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 16, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 discloses The UE of claim 16, wherein the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period are one or more ROs associated with the SSB having highest or lowest frequency band(s) in frequency domain., as TS 38.213 further discloses that the PRACH occasions to which an SS/PBCH block is mapped are ordered in increasing order of frequency resource index, so that the first RO associated with the SSB is the frequency multiplexed RO having the lowest frequency (TS 38.213, page 34 “Second, in increasing order of frequency resource indexes for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions”).
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS 38.213 (3GPP TS 38.213 V15.14.0) in view of Dottling (US 2012/0178383 A1) and further in view of TS 38.331 (3GPP TS 38.331 V15.3.0).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, (Previously Presented) even though TS 38.213 in view of Dottling teaches an association period that is one or multiple PRACH configuration periods, and a wake up preamble transmitted on a RACH resource ahead of the random access occasions: (TS 38.213, page 34; Dottling, para [0036]), TS 38.213 in view of Dottling does not explicitly disclose that the wake-up period is one or multiple of the PRACH configuration period.
Nonetheless, TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The method of claim 1, wherein, the wake-up period is one or multiple of the PRACH configuration period. because TS 38.331 teaches a period for a PRACH-borne request configuration that is expressed as a number of association periods, each association period being one or multiple PRACH configuration periods under TS 38.213 as set forth above (TS 38.331, page 318, “Periodicity of the SI-Request configuration in number of association periods.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the wake-up period of the TS 38.213 and Dottling combination to one or multiple PRACH configuration periods, because TS 38.331 teaches expressing the period of a PRACH-borne request configuration in association periods, each of which TS 38.213 defines as one or multiple PRACH configuration periods, so that the wake up occasions recur on the PRACH timing framework the UE and the base station already share.
Consequently TS 38.213 and Dottling are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 15, (Previously Presented) even though TS 38.213 in view of Dottling teaches an association period that is one or multiple PRACH configuration periods, and a wake up preamble transmitted on a RACH resource ahead of the random access occasions: (TS 38.213, page 34; Dottling, para [0036]), TS 38.213 in view of Dottling does not explicitly disclose that the wake-up period is a number of association periods configured by higher layer signaling.
Yet, TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The UE of claim 15, wherein the wake-up period is a first number of the associated period because TS 38.331 teaches a period for a PRACH-borne request configuration that is expressed as a number of association periods (TS 38.331, page 318, “Periodicity of the SI-Request configuration in number of association periods.”).
Furthermore, TS 38.331 discloses the first number is configured by higher layer signaling. because TS 38.331 teaches that the configuration the UE needs to perform its PRACH-borne SI request, that is, the SI-Request configuration whose periodicity in association periods is quoted above, is carried in SIB1, a radio resource control system information block and thus higher layer signaling (TS 38.331, page 24, “SIB1 includes information regarding the availability and scheduling (e.g. mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request”).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define the wake-up period of the TS 38.213 and Dottling combination as a configurable number of association periods signaled to the UE in SIB1, because TS 38.331 teaches expressing the period of a PRACH-borne request configuration in association periods and delivering that configuration to the UE by higher layer signaling, so that the wake up occasions recur on the PRACH timing framework the UE and the base station already share and can be adjusted by the network.
For these reasons TS 38.213 and Dottling are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS 38.213 (3GPP TS 38.213 V15.14.0) in view of Dottling (US 2012/0178383 A1) and further in view of MolavianJazi (US 2021/0058971 A1) and further in view of TS 38.331 (3GPP TS 38.331 V15.3.0).
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 4, (Previously Presented) in spite of the fact that TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of MolavianJazi teaches an association period that is one or multiple PRACH configuration periods, a wake up preamble transmitted on a RACH resource ahead of the random access occasions, and wake up occasions that are the first ROs associated with the SSB: (TS 38.213, page 34; Dottling, para [0036]; MolavianJazi, para [0202]), TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of MolavianJazi does not explicitly disclose that the wake-up period is a first number of the associated period.
Nonetheless, TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of MolavianJazi and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The method of claim 4, wherein the wake-up period is a first number of the associated period. because TS 38.331 teaches a period for a PRACH-borne request configuration that is expressed as a number of association periods (TS 38.331, page 318, “Periodicity of the SI-Request configuration in number of association periods.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define the wake-up period of the TS 38.213, Dottling, and MolavianJazi combination as a selected number of association periods, because TS 38.331 teaches expressing the period of a PRACH-borne request configuration in association periods, so that the wake up occasions recur on the same association period framework already used for the SSB to RO mapping and PRACH resource selection.
Consequently TS 38.213, Dottling, and MolavianJazi are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 6, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of Dottling and further in view of MolavianJazi and further in view of TS 38.331 discloses The method of claim 6, wherein the first number is configured by higher layer signaling., as TS 38.331 further discloses that the SI-Request configuration, whose periodicity is expressed in association periods, is the configuration the UE needs to perform its PRACH-borne SI request and is carried in SIB1, a radio resource control system information block transmitted by the cell, that is, higher layer signaling (TS 38.331, page 24, “the SIB1 is transmitted on the DL-SCH with a periodicity of 160ms and variable transmission repetition periodicity as specified in TS 38.213”; TS 38.331, page 24, “SIB1 includes information regarding the availability and scheduling (e.g. mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request”; TS 38.331, page 318, “Periodicity of the SI-Request configuration in number of association periods.”).
Claims 11, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS 38.213 (3GPP TS 38.213 V15.14.0) in view of TS 38.331 (3GPP TS 38.331 V15.3.0) and further in view of Dottling (US 2012/0178383 A1).
Regarding claim 11, (Currently Amended) TS 38.213 discloses: wherein one or multiple ROs are in a PRACH configuration period;, because TS 38.213 teaches a PRACH configuration in which the PRACH occasions, several of which are time multiplexed within a PRACH slot, are arranged within PRACH configuration periods that make up the association period, the random access preamble, Msg1, being transmitted in a PRACH: (TS 38.213, page 33 “the L1 random access procedure includes the transmission of random access preamble (Msg1) in a PRACH”; TS 38.213, page 34 “An association period, starting from frame 0, for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to PRACH occasions is the smallest value in the set determined by the PRACH configuration period according Table 8.1-1”; TS 38.213, page 34 “Third, in increasing order of time resource indexes for time multiplexed PRACH occasions within a PRACH slot”)
Although TS 38.213 teaches a PRACH configuration, received by the UE from the higher layers, whose PRACH occasions are arranged within a PRACH configuration period: (TS 38.213, page 33, page 34), TS 38.213 does not explicitly disclose a method performed by a base station that transmits that PRACH configuration.
However, TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 discloses A method performed by a base station, the method comprising: transmitting PRACH configuration, because TS 38.331 teaches a cell that transmits SIB1 on the downlink shared channel, SIB1 carrying si-RequestConfig, the configuration of the PRACH preambles and PRACH resources the UE uses for a PRACH-borne request, that is, a configuration of Msg1 or PRACH resources, Msg1 being the PRACH preamble as set forth above (TS 38.331, page 24, “the SIB1 is transmitted on the DL-SCH with a periodicity of 160ms and variable transmission repetition periodicity as specified in TS 38.213”; TS 38.331, page 24, “SIB1 includes information regarding the availability and scheduling (e.g. mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request”; TS 38.331, page 27, “if SIB1 includes si-SchedulingInfo containing si-RequestConfig or si-RequestConfigSUL”; TS 38.331, page 27, “trigger the lower layer to initiate the Random Access procedure in accordance with [3] using the PRACH preamble(s) and PRACH resource(s) in si-RequestConfig corresponding to the SI message(s) that the UE requires to operate within the cell”; TS 38.331, page 318, “Configuration of Msg1 resources that the UE uses for requesting SI-messages for which si-BroadcastStatus is set to notBroadcasting.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base station transmit the PRACH configuration of TS 38.213 to the UE, because TS 38.331 teaches that the PRACH resource configuration a UE uses for a PRACH-borne request is carried in SIB1 broadcast by the cell, so that the UE and the base station operate on the same PRACH occasions, with predictable results.
Even though TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 teaches a base station that transmits a PRACH configuration whose PRACH occasions are arranged within a PRACH configuration period, and on which the UE sends a PRACH-borne request: (TS 38.213, page 34; TS 38.331, page 24, page 27, page 318), TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 does not explicitly disclose monitoring for a wake up signal at the first RO(s) of a wake-up period or at a resource in front of the RO(s) of the wake-up period.
Nevertheless, TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 and further in view of Dottling discloses monitoring for a WUS (wake up signal) because Dottling teaches a standby base station whose receiver chain remains active so that a mobile station can wake it up by a reserved RACH preamble sequence sent on the RACH (Dottling, para [0005], “In this standby mode, a receiver chain of the base station remains activated and the base station can be waked up by a mobile station by means of a RACH (Random Access Channel) using a specific RACH preamble sequence”).
Furthermore, Dottling discloses at a first or first several ROs within the wake-up period or at a resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period. because Dottling teaches that the wake up preamble is sent as the first step of the wake up procedure and that the random access procedure follows on the RACH slots, so that the base station receives the wake up preamble on a RACH resource in front of the random access occasions of that wake-up period, the wake-up period being the period over which Dottling’s wake up procedure runs, from the wake up message through the ensuing random access procedure (Dottling, para [0036], “The successful RACH attempt with apparatus 200a includes sending of a wake up message including the RACH wake up preamble sequence (communication 1), wake up of apparatus 200a (process 4), detection of new cell by the mobile apparatus 100 (process 5)”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base station of TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 keep its receiver active and monitor, for Dottling’s reserved wake up preamble, a PRACH occasion that precedes the PRACH occasions used for random access, because Dottling teaches a standby base station whose receiver remains active to receive a wake up RACH preamble before the ensuing RACH procedure, so that the base station conserves energy in standby while remaining reachable through the PRACH structure it has configured.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 11, (Previously Presented) TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 and further in view of Dottling discloses The method of claim 11, further comprising: when the WUS is detected at any of the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period or at the resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period, monitoring following ROs for normal random access., as Dottling further discloses that the base station, upon receiving the wake up message, leaves standby and shifts to the active mode in which it provides network access to the mobile station, the mobile station’s random access procedure then being performed on the RACH slots that follow the wake up message (Dottling, para [0021], “The receiver 22a, 22b of the apparatus 200a, 200b receives the wake up message”; Dottling, para [0029], “shifts the apparatus 200a, 200b to the active mode in which the transmitter 21a, 21b is activated and provides access to the communications network 300 for the mobile apparatus 100 based on the wake up message”; Dottling, para [0036], “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5”).
Regarding claim 13, (Currently Amended) TS 38.213 discloses: wherein one or multiple ROs are in a PRACH configuration period;, because TS 38.213 teaches a PRACH configuration in which the PRACH occasions, several of which are time multiplexed within a PRACH slot, are arranged within PRACH configuration periods that make up the association period, the random access preamble, Msg1, being transmitted in a PRACH: (TS 38.213, page 33 “the L1 random access procedure includes the transmission of random access preamble (Msg1) in a PRACH”; TS 38.213, page 34 “An association period, starting from frame 0, for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to PRACH occasions is the smallest value in the set determined by the PRACH configuration period according Table 8.1-1”; TS 38.213, page 34 “Third, in increasing order of time resource indexes for time multiplexed PRACH occasions within a PRACH slot”)
Although TS 38.213 teaches a PRACH configuration, received by the UE from the higher layers, whose PRACH occasions are arranged within a PRACH configuration period: (TS 38.213, page 33, page 34), TS 38.213 does not explicitly disclose a base station with a transmitter that transmits that PRACH configuration.
Nonetheless, TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 discloses A base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits PRACH configuration, because TS 38.331 teaches a cell that transmits SIB1 on the downlink shared channel, SIB1 carrying si-RequestConfig, the configuration of the PRACH preambles and PRACH resources the UE uses for a PRACH-borne request, that is, a configuration of Msg1 or PRACH resources, Msg1 being the PRACH preamble as set forth above; TS 38.331 does not use the word transmitter, but a cell that transmits SIB1 reasonably includes a transmitter that transmits it, and in any event providing the base station with a transmitter for that purpose would have been obvious (TS 38.331, page 24, “the SIB1 is transmitted on the DL-SCH with a periodicity of 160ms and variable transmission repetition periodicity as specified in TS 38.213”; TS 38.331, page 24, “SIB1 includes information regarding the availability and scheduling (e.g. mapping of SIBs to SI message, periodicity, SI-window size) of other SIBs with an indication whether one or more SIBs are only provided on-demand and, in that case, the configuration needed by the UE to perform the SI request”; TS 38.331, page 27, “if SIB1 includes si-SchedulingInfo containing si-RequestConfig or si-RequestConfigSUL”; TS 38.331, page 27, “trigger the lower layer to initiate the Random Access procedure in accordance with [3] using the PRACH preamble(s) and PRACH resource(s) in si-RequestConfig corresponding to the SI message(s) that the UE requires to operate within the cell”; TS 38.331, page 318, “Configuration of Msg1 resources that the UE uses for requesting SI-messages for which si-BroadcastStatus is set to notBroadcasting.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base station transmit the PRACH configuration of TS 38.213 to the UE, because TS 38.331 teaches that the PRACH resource configuration a UE uses for a PRACH-borne request is carried in SIB1 broadcast by the cell, so that the UE and the base station operate on the same PRACH occasions, with predictable results.
Even though TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 teaches a base station that transmits a PRACH configuration whose PRACH occasions are arranged within a PRACH configuration period, and on which the UE sends a PRACH-borne request: (TS 38.213, page 34; TS 38.331, page 24, page 27, page 318), TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 does not explicitly disclose a processor that monitors for a wake up signal at the first RO(s) of a wake-up period or at a resource in front of the RO(s) of the wake-up period.
Yet, TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 and further in view of Dottling discloses a processor that monitors for a WUS (wake up signal) because Dottling teaches a base station whose receiver, kept active in standby, receives the wake up message and whose processor acts on the received wake up message (Dottling, para [0021], “The receiver 22a, 22b of the apparatus 200a, 200b receives the wake up message and the processor 23a, 23b determines whether the apparatus 200a, 200b is in the standby mode”).
Furthermore, Dottling discloses at the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period or at a resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period. because Dottling teaches that the wake up preamble is sent as the first step of the wake up procedure and that the random access procedure follows on the RACH slots, so that the base station receives the wake up preamble on a RACH resource in front of the random access occasions of that wake-up period, the wake-up period being the period over which Dottling’s wake up procedure runs, from the wake up message through the ensuing random access procedure (Dottling, para [0036], “The successful RACH attempt with apparatus 200a includes sending of a wake up message including the RACH wake up preamble sequence (communication 1), wake up of apparatus 200a (process 4), detection of new cell by the mobile apparatus 100 (process 5)”).
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the base station of TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 keep its receiver active and have its processor monitor, for Dottling’s reserved wake up preamble, a PRACH occasion that precedes the PRACH occasions used for random access, because Dottling teaches a standby base station whose receiver remains active to receive a wake up RACH preamble before the ensuing RACH procedure, so that the base station conserves energy in standby while remaining reachable through the PRACH structure it has configured.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 13, (Currently Amended) TS 38.213 in view of TS 38.331 and further in view of Dottling discloses The base station of claim 13, wherein the processor further monitors following ROs for normal random access when the WUS is detected at any of the first or first several ROs within the wake-up period or at the resource in front of RO(s) within the wake-up period., as Dottling further discloses that the processor of the base station, upon receipt of the wake up message, shifts the base station out of standby to the active mode in which it provides network access to the mobile station, the mobile station’s random access procedure then being performed on the RACH slots that follow the wake up message (Dottling, para [0021], “The receiver 22a, 22b of the apparatus 200a, 200b receives the wake up message and the processor 23a, 23b determines whether the apparatus 200a, 200b is in the standby mode”; Dottling, para [0029], “shifts the apparatus 200a, 200b to the active mode in which the transmitter 21a, 21b is activated and provides access to the communications network 300 for the mobile apparatus 100 based on the wake up message”; Dottling, para [0036], “detecting BCCH (Broadcast Control Channel) and information on RACH slots and allowed preambles (process 5) and having performed a successful RACH procedure in process 5”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478