Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the stationary body". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear whether the stationary body is supposed to be the annular body of parent claim 1. For the purpose of examination and compact prosecution, the stationary body will be interpreted as being any structure of the pitch change system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10393137 to Niergarth.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Niergarth discloses a turbomachine module (fan 38 of turbofan engine 10, Fig 1) with a longitudinal axis (12, Fig 1), comprising:
a fan (fan rotor assembly 200, Fig 2) intended to be driven in rotation about the longitudinal axis by a fan shaft (power engine rotor 206, Fig 2),
the fan comprising a plurality of variable pitch fan vanes (fan blades 218, Fig 2) each being adapted to pivot about a pitch axis (pitch axis of rotation 220, Fig 2),
a speed reducer (epicyclic gearbox 204, Fig 2) connected to the fan shaft (Fig 2), which is guided in rotation by at least one first rolling guide bearing (see annotated Fig 2 below) and a second rolling guide bearing (see annotated Fig 2 below), which are located upstream of the speed reducer (Fig 2),
a pitch change system for the vanes of the fan comprising a connection mechanism (trunnion yokes 214, Fig 2) connected to the vanes of the fan (Fig 2) and a control means (actuator assembly 202/300, unison ring 212, Fig 2) acting on the connection mechanism (Fig 2),
the control means being arranged upstream of the speed reducer (Fig 2) being arranged upstream of the first and second guide bearings (Fig 2) and comprising an annular body (radially outer wall of actuator shell 302/502 and vanes 512, Figs 3/5) integral in rotation with the fan shaft (Col 6 Lns 11-13) and a movable body (actuator 306/400 and shaft 312, Figs 3-4) which is movable with respect to said annular body (Col 7 Lns 60-65; Figs 6a-b) and which is connected to the connection mechanism (via unison ring 212, Fig 2),
a fluid transfer device (fluid transfer sleeve 208/304/504, port assembly 310/510, actuator cap 508; Figs 2-3/5) which is configured to feed the control means (Col 5 Lns 66-67),
wherein the speed reducer has a planetary gear train (not shown, Col 6 Lns 2-3), and in that the fluid transfer device (Fig 2) is arranged upstream of the speed reducer, and is mounted on the control means (Fig 2), and
comprises a stator portion (fluid transfer sleeve 208/304/504, Figs 2-3/5) integral with a stationary structure of the turbomachine (Col 5 Lns 63—64) and a rotor portion (port assembly 310/510, actuator cap 508; Figs 2-3/5) engaged in the stator portion (Figs 3/5),
the rotor portion being integral in rotation with the annular body of the control means (integrally formed with annular body, Fig 5a).
(b) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the first guide bearing and the second guide bearing are placed with respect to each other at a predetermined distance from the longitudinal axis (Fig 2).
(c) Regarding claim 4:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the second guide bearing is located upstream of the first guide bearing (Fig 2) and the second guide bearing has an external diameter smaller than the external diameter of the first bearing (Fig 2).
(d) Regarding claim 6:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the second guide bearing is placed close to the pitch axis of the vanes of the fan (Fig 2) with a predetermined maximum distance between the pitch axis and an axis of the second bearing passing through a median plane of the axial length of the bearing (must exist as defined, Fig 2).
(e) Regarding claim 7:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the annular body comprises a downstream face (portion abutting actuator cap 508, Fig 5a) in which is defined a hole (central cavity axially between end cap 506 and actuator cap 508, Fig 5a) that is centred on the longitudinal axis and the rotor portion of the transfer device comprises an upstream end (axially forward end of actuator cap 508, Figs 5a/7) that is housed in the hole (Figs 5a/7).
(f) Regarding claim 9:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the fluid transfer device extends at least partly within the fan shaft (Fig 2).
(g) Regarding claim 11:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 7.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the control means comprises a first chamber (one of decrease cavity 602 and increase cavity 604, Fig 6a) and a second chamber (the other one of decrease cavity 602 and increase cavity 604, Fig 6a) of variable volume (Figs 6a-b), and feeding means for feeding the first and second chambers which are formed in the annular body (passages 620, 642, and 662; Fig 6), the feeding means comprising at least one first conduit (passages 620 opening into cavity 604 or one or both of passages 642 and 662 opening into cavity 602, Fig 6) opening into the first chamber and at least one second conduit (the other of passages 620 opening into cavity 604 or one or both of passages 642 and 662 opening into cavity 602, Fig 6) opening into the second chamber, the first conduit and the second conduit also opening into the downstream face of the annular body (open into channels 640, 660, and 608 of actuator cap 508; Fig 7).
(h) Regarding claim 12:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 11.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the stator portion comprises an internal cylindrical surface (inner surface of fluid transfer sleeve 304/504, Figs 3/5a/7) and first pipelines (recessed portions in fluid transfer sleeve 304/504 partially defining channels 634, 644, and 654; Fig 7) opening into the internal cylindrical surface (Fig 7), the rotor portion comprising an external cylindrical surface (radially outer surface of port assembly 310/510, Figs 3/5) into which second pipelines (recessed portions in port assembly 310/510 partially defining channels 634, 644, and 654; Fig 7) open, the second pipelines being coupled respectively with the first and second conduits of the annular body (via channels 640, 660, and 618 of actuator cap 508, Figs 7-8).
(i) Regarding claim 14:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the pitch change system comprises an annular part (unison “ring” 212, Fig 2) being generally bell-shaped and connecting the connection mechanism to the control means (Fig 2), the annular part extending at least partly radially outwardly from the stationary body (Fig 2).
(j) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses an aircraft turbomachine (high-bypass turbofan engine 10, Fig 1; see background) comprising at least one turbomachine module according to claim 1 (Figs 1-2, see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10393137 to Niergarth (henceforth referred to as Niergarth ‘137) in view of US 20170167507 to Niergarth (henceforth referred to as Niergarth ‘507).
(a) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Niergarth ‘137 discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth ‘137 further discloses a ring gear that is coupled to the fan shaft (power engine rotor 206 coupled to radially outer part of epicyclic gearbox 204, i.e. the ring gear, Fig 2).
(iii) Niergarth ‘137 does not wherein the speed reducer comprises a planet carrier that is immovable in rotation.
(iv) Niergarth ‘507 is also in the field of turbomachines (Par 0001) and teaches a speed reducer (power gearbox 216, Fig 2) which comprises a planet carrier that is immovable in rotation (Par 0027).
(v) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the speed reducer as disclosed by Niergarth ‘137 to comprise a planet carrier immovable in rotation as taught by Niergarth ‘507 for the purpose of permitting channeling the flow of fluid through the planet carrier (Par 0027).
(b) Regarding claim 10:
(i) Niergarth ‘137 as modified by Niergarth ‘507 teaches the turbomachine module according to claim 2.
(ii) Niergarth ‘137 as modified by Niergarth ‘507 further teaches wherein the stator portion of the fluid transfer device is attached to the planet carrier (fixedly coupled to epicyclic gearbox 204 through supports, Col 5 Lns 63-64, i.e. stationary fluid transfer sleeve 208 must be at least indirectly connected to the stationary planet carrier) through which at least one first feed channel and a second feed channel pass (multiple gearbox flow path 222 comprising conduits 312 coupled in flow communication with inlet opening 310, Par 0029, Figs 2/4).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10393137 to Niergarth.
(a) Regarding claim 5:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth further discloses wherein the first guide bearing is placed downstream of the pitch axis of the vanes of the fan (Fig 2).
(iii) Niergarth does not discloses wherein the second guide bearing is placed upstream of the pitch axis.
(iv) The Applicant has disclosed no criticality, nor disclosed any new or unexpected results, from having the second guide bearing being placed upstream of the pitch axis and the prior art would perform the same having the second guide bearing being placed upstream of the pitch axis. Mere rearrangement of parts supports a prima facie obviousness determination, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
(v) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second guide bearing as disclosed by Niergarth to be located upstream of the pitch axis as claimed through mere rearrangement of parts, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10393137 to Niergarth in view of US 9951651 to Frantz.
(a) Regarding claim 13:
(i) Niergarth discloses the turbomachine module according to claim 1.
(ii) Niergarth does not disclose wherein the movable body displaces in translation along the longitudinal axis.
(iii) Frantz is also in the field of turbomachines (see title) and teaches a pitch change control mechanism comprising a movable body (movable part 31, Fig 2) which displaces (directions G and D, Fig 2) in translation along a longitudinal axis (A, Fig 2).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the movable body as disclosed by Niergarth to translate along the longitudinal axis as taught by Frantz for the purpose of reliable operation with reduced mass and space requirements (Col 2 Lns 13-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or if the limitations of the claim were incorporated into the parent independent claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art is US 10393137 to Niergarth however the prior art does not disclose nor teach wherein the annular body comprises a radial flange extending around the downstream face and which is attached to a radial flange of the rotor portion of the fluid transfer device, a sealing wall extending at least partly between the radial flanges and comprising an external edge in sealing contact with a cylindrical internal wall of the fan shaft.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10533573 to Charier teaches a pitch control mechanism comprising a linear actuator and first and second load bearings wherein the second bearing has a smaller outer diameter than the first bearing and is located upstream of a pitch axis of the blades (Fig 1). US 8439640 to Arel teaches a pitch change mechanism with a fluid transfer device comprising a stationary outer part and a rotating inner part (30a, Fig 1).
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745