DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In that case claim(s) 21 which disclose of “means for generating a first analog signal transduced from vibrations propagating through an object having a first surface; means for generating a second analog signal transduced from acoustic signals incident on the first surface of the object; and means for processing data from the first analog signal and data from the second analog signal to classify combinations of the first analog signal and the second analog signal received during one or more time frames” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
The written description provide the following corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function: see( fig.3; par [9, 52]/the transducers and circuitry which performed the functions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 17-18, 31, 33, 35, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 11,736,872 B2) and Dauhajre et al. (US 11,420,013 B2) and Huang (US 12,217,595 B2).
Claim 1, Sun et al. disclose of a system comprising: a first transducer having a first output, wherein the first transducer is mechanically coupled to a surface of an object, and wherein the first transducer is configured to generate a first signal at the first output when the first signal is transduced by the first transducer from vibrations propagating through the object (fig.3 (112); col.9 line 44-50).
Nonethess, sun et al. never specify of the transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS); However, Dauhajre et al. disclose of a certain transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) (col.9 line 15-40). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such aspect related to having a transducer being a piezoelectric and microelectromechanical so as to detect motion and vibration based on miniaturized module.
Thus, the combined teaching further disclose of a second transducer having a second output, wherein the second transducer is configured to generate a second signal at the second output when the second signal is transduced by the second transducer from acoustic vibrations at a location of the object (fig.3 (113); col.9 line 50-55).
Nonethess, Sun et al. never specify of the second transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS); However, Dauhajre et al. disclose of a certain transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) (col.8 line 60-67; col.9 line 15-40). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such aspect related to having a transducer being a piezoelectric and microelectromechanical so as to detect motion and vibration based on miniaturized module.
Thus, the combined teaching of Sun et al. and Dauhajre et al.as a whole, would have further taught of classification circuitry coupled to the first output of the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer and the second output of the second piezoelectric MEMS transducer, wherein the classification circuitry is configured to process data from the first signal and data from the second signal, and to categorize combinations of the first signal and the second signal received during one or more time frames (fig.3 (306): col.11 line 1-20).
Nonetheless, the prior art never specify of the transducer to output analog signals and circuitry to process of analog signals to categorize. But Huang disclose of the similar concept with analog output and a circuitry to process analog signals to categorize (col.13 line 5-15). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted concept related to circuitry to process of analog signals to categorize so as to train and distinguish the various type of analog signals.
3. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer has a transduction bandwidth to detect the vibrations propagating through the object at certain frequencies, nonetheless, Sun et al. never limit such frequency band as between 1 kilohertz (kHz) and 8 kHz.
However, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the vibration signals to be received by specifying any particular frequency range and including such frequency band as between 1 kilohertz (kHz) and 8 kHz so as to allow passage of such designated vibration signal to be detected by the transducer.
Claim 5, the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more time frames (col.6 line 45-55), although, none of the art specify as the time frames comprise a plurality of 20 millisecond (ms) frames.
But it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skills in the art to have varied the received signal according to certain frames by adjusting the desired frame to any particular range and including having such time frames comprise a plurality of 20 millisecond (ms) frames so as to improve computation efficiency and smooth transition.
Claim 17, the system of claim 1, with the object as mentioned (col.13 line 5-17), although, the prior art never limit as wherein the object is an element of a robotic arm, a wall of a storage container, a wall of a building, a hull panel of a ship, or a hull panel of an airplane .
However, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the object as mentioned by specifying any desired object including the noted object is an element of a robotic arm, a wall of a storage container, a wall of a building, a hull panel of a ship, or a hull panel of an airplane as per engineering preference so as to detect the motion of such specific object.
18. (Original) The system of claim 1, although, the prior art never mentioned as wherein the classification circuitry comprises one or more of decision tree circuitry, a support vector machine, or a neural network.
However, Huang disclosed of similar classification circuitry comprises a neural network (col.11 line 50-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted circuitry comprises a neural network so as to train the sound data for classification purpose.
The method claim(s) 31, 33, 35 which in substance disclose of the same features as in claim(s) 1, 3, 5 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 11,736,872 B2) and Huang (US 12,217,595 B2).
Claim 21, the prior art as in Sun et al. disclose of a system comprising: means for generating a first analog signal transduced from vibrations propagating through an object having a first surface (fig.3 (112); col.9 line 44-50); means for generating a second analog signal transduced from acoustic signals incident on the first surface of the object (fig.3 (113); col.9 line 50-55); and means for processing data from the first signal and data from the second signal to classify combinations of the first signal and the second signal received during one or more time frames (fig.3 (306): col.11 line 1-20).
Nonetheless, the prior art never specify of the means to process of analog signals to classify according to the analog signals. But Huang disclose of the similar concept with means to process of analog signals to classify according to the analog signals (col.13 line 5-15). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted concept related to means to process of analog signals to classify so as to train and distinguish the various type of analog signals.
Claim(s) 2, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 11,736,872 B2) and Dauhajre et al. (US 11,420,013 B2) and Huang (US 12,217,595 B2) and Sorenson et al. (US 11,275,099 B1).
2. (Original) The system of claim 1, but the prior art never mentioned as wherein the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer has a noise floor defining a noise at a given frequency related to a signal output in gravitational units (g), and wherein the noise floor is between 100 millionths of the gravitation unit (ug) per square root of frequency in Hertz (ug/sqrt(Hz)) and 0.5 ug/sqrt(Hz).
However, Sorenson et al. disclose of a certain piezoelectric MEMS transducer has a noise floor defining a noise at a given frequency (col.12 line 50-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the mentioned piezoelectric MEMS transducer by adding such specific MEMS transducer has a noise floor defining a noise at a given frequency so as to assuring the accurate precision of desired signal over noise.
Although, the art never specify of the properties associated with the transducer as a noise floor defining a noise at a given frequency related to a signal output in gravitational units (g), and wherein the noise floor is between 100 millionths of the gravitation unit (ug) per square root of frequency in Hertz (ug/sqrt(Hz)) and 0.5 ug/sqrt(Hz, thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the properties of the transducer in relation to noise floor to any desired one and including having such transducer as a noise floor defining a noise at a given frequency related to a signal output in gravitational units (g), and wherein the noise floor is between 100 millionths of the gravitation unit (ug) per square root of frequency in Hertz (ug/sqrt(Hz)) and 0.5 ug/sqrt(Hz) so as to assuring the accurate precision of desired signal over noise.
The method claim(s) 32 which in substance disclose of the same features as in claim(s) 2 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 11,736,872 B2) and Huang (US 12,217,595 B2) and Sorenson et al. (US 11,275,099 B1).
The system claim(s) 22 which in substance disclose of the same features as in claim(s) 2 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 4, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 11,736,872 B2) and Dauhajre et al. (US 11,420,013 B2) and Huang (US 12,217,595 B2) and Seo (US 11,654,898 B2).
4. (Original) The system of claim 1 with the audio data, but the prior art never mentioned as wherein the data comprises: frequency data for the vibrations propagating through the object; and magnitude data for the vibrations propagating through the object, where the magnitude data is associated with a severity of a contact with the object.
However, Seo disclose of a similar system including data comprises: frequency data for the vibrations propagating through the object; and magnitude data for the vibrations propagating through the object, where the magnitude data is associated with a severity of a contact with the object (col.13 line 1-40). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted aspect related to data comprises: frequency data for the vibrations propagating through the object; and magnitude data for the vibrations propagating through the object, where the magnitude data is associated with a severity of a contact with the object so as to identify received sound.
The method claim(s) 34 which in substance disclose of the same features as in claim(s) 4 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 6-8, 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 11,736,872 B2) and Dauhajre et al. (US 11,420,013 B2) and Huang (US 12,217,595 B2) and Chandrasekaran et al. (US 10,405,078 B2).
6. (Original) The system of claim 1,However, none of the prior art disclose of further comprising a first sensor package, wherein the first sensor package comprises a substrate base and a lid, wherein the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer, the second piezoelectric MEMS transducer, and an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) are mounted to the substrate base.
But, it shall be noted Chandrasekaran et al. disclose of the similar concept related to a system comprising a first sensor package, wherein the first sensor package comprises a substrate base and a lid, wherein a certain piezoelectric MEMS transducer, and an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) are mounted to the substrate base (fig.1 (120, 140, 130); col.5 line 1-12). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to system comprising a first sensor package, wherein the first sensor package comprises a substrate base and a lid, wherein a certain piezoelectric MEMS transducer, and an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) are mounted to the substrate base so as to enhance the accuracy of the sensor due to its insulation via the housing.
Claim 7. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 6, wherein the ASIC comprises an analog-to- digital converter (ADC), a digital signal processor (DSP), and a controller (ch-col.8 line 15-30); wherein the first output of the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer is coupled to an input of the ADC via a wire bond (ch-col.7 line 1-30; col.16 line 15-30).
However, none of the prior art disclose of the specific coupling associated with ADC and controller and classification circuitry, but, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the mentioned ADC and controller and classification circuitry as already mentioned by specifying if desired such wherein an output of the ADC is coupled to an input of the controller via the digital signal processor; and wherein an output of the controller is coupled to the classification circuitry for achieving the same result as to exchange control signal therewith for identifying obtained signals.
Claim 8, the system of claim 6, although, none of the prior art mentioned of plurality of sensor packages, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the amount of sensor packed to any designated amount including further comprising: a second sensor package comprising a third MEMS transducer and a fourth MEMS transducer; wherein the first sensor package is positioned at a first position on the surface of the object; and wherein the second sensor package is positioned at a second position on the surface of the object at a predetermined distance from the first position so as to identifying various sounds at multiple locations according to measured sensors.
The method claim(s) 36-38 which in substance disclose of the same features as in claim(s) 6-8 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 11,736,872 B2) and Dauhajre et al. (US 11,420,013 B2) and Huang (US 12,217,595 B2).
Claim 19, Sun et al. disclose of a method comprising: storing, in a memory of a device, data from a first signal generated by a first transducer having a first output, wherein the first transducer is mechanically coupled to a first surface of an object (fig.3 (112); col.9 line 44-50; col.13 line 50-60 & line 30-40/machine learning based on train data and thus inherently such data may be stored to implement such machine learning aspect).
Nonethess, Sun et al. never specify of the transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS); However, Dauhajre et al. disclose of a certain transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) (col.9 line 15-40). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such aspect related to having a transducer being a piezoelectric and microelectromechanical so as to detect motion and vibration based on miniaturized module.
The prior art further would have further disclose as wherein the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer is configured to generate the first signal at the first output when the first signal is transduced by the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer from vibrations propagating through the object (Sun-fig.3 (112); col.9 line 44-50/the object is related to vibration of an object).
;
The prior art further disclose of storing, in the memory of the device, data from a second transducer having a second output, wherein the second transducer is configured to generate [[the]]a second signal at the second output when the second signal is transduced by the second transducer from acoustic vibrations incident on the first surface of the object(fig.3 (113); col.9 line 50-55; col.13 line 50-60 & line 30-40/machine learning based on train data and thus inherently such data may be stored to implement such machine learning aspect).
Nonethess, Sun et al. never specify of the second transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS); However, Dauhajre et al. disclose of a certain transducer being a piezoelectric microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) (col.8 line 60-67; col.9 line 15-40). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such aspect related to having a transducer being a piezoelectric and microelectromechanical so as to detect motion and vibration based on miniaturized module.
The arts would have further disclose as a method of processing, using classification circuitry coupled to the first output of the first piezoelectric MEMS transducer and the second output of the second piezoelectric MEMS transducer, the data from the first signal and the data from the second signal to categorize combinations of the first signal and the second signal received during one or more time frames (fig.3 (306): col.11 line 1-20).
Nonetheless, the prior art never specify of the transducer to output analog signal and circuitry to process of analog signals to categorize. But Huang disclose of the similar concept with analog output and a circuitry to process analog signals to categorize (col.13 line 5-15). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted concept related to circuitry to process of analog signals to categorize so as to train and distinguish the various type of analog signals.
Claim 20, the method of claim 19, but none of the prior art further mentioned as comprising: processing the first analog signal and the second analog signal using a digital signal processor (DSP) and an analog to digital converter (ADC) to generate the data from the first analog signal and the data from the second analog signal as digital data.
However, the examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art to have such concept related to processing the first analog signal and the second analog signal using a digital signal processor (DSP) and an analog to digital converter (ADC) to generate the data from the first analog signal and the data from the second analog signal as digital data. Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such digital component including processing the first analog signal and the second analog signal using a digital signal processor (DSP) and an analog to digital converter (ADC) to generate the data from the first analog signal and the data from the second analog signal as digital data.
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695