DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 7, 15, 16 are construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the vane” does not make clear whether that recitation refers to the earlier recited first van or second vane. Since claims 2-20 are dependent upon an indefinite claim, those claims are construed to be indefinite by dependency. Claim 7 is further construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the leading and trailing edges” lacks a positive antecedent basis. Claim 8 is further construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the curvature” lack a positive antecedent basis. Claims 10-11 are further construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the leading edges” (plural form) lacks a positive antecedent basis. Claim 14 is further construed to be indefinite because the recitations “said first vanes” and “said second vanes” lacks a positive antecedent basis. Claim 19 is further construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the cross-sectional area” lacks a positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bagnuolo (US 5,671,321). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Bagnuolo, as teaching:
an attachment (24) for mounting to a hair care appliance (see col. 2, I. 40-51) configured to supply a heated airflow, the attachment comprising:
an airflow passage extending from an upstream airflow inlet (32,37) for receiving an airflow from the appliance to a downstream airflow outlet (36) for discharging the airflow onto a user's hair; and
a first vane (see the first and second upper vanes (38,82) in fig. 2 and 8) arranged in the airflow passage to deflect a portion of the airflow in a first direction, and a second vane (see the first and second lower vanes (38,82) in fig. 2 and 8) arranged in the airflow passage to deflect another portion of the airflow in a second direction that is different to the first direction, each vane comprising opposing surfaces extending between an upstream leading edge and a downstream trailing edge of the vane. Bagnuolo also discloses the claims 2-6, 9, 18, 19 features, see fig. 2 and 8. 1.3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 10-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagnuolo in view of Law et al. (US 2018/020661). Bagnuolo discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the claim 7 curve feature, claim 8 convex feature, claim 10 shared axis, claim 11 end to end feature, claim 12 central axis feature, claim 13 opposing sides, claim 14 alternating pattern feature, claim 15 inward taper feature, claim 16 vane taper feature, claim 17 rounded feature, and claim 20 teeth row feature. Law discloses those features in figures 1, 2 and paragraphs [0010], [0011]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the teachings of Bagnuolo with the teachings of Law for the purpose of providing an optimal shape for airflow.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 8 of copending Application No. 19/156,515 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current application claim 1 is anticipated by copending claim 1, except for the copending claimed plates. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the current application with the copending plate feature for the purpose of optimizing airflow in hair care appliance. Current claim 2 is anticipated by copending claim 3. Current claim 3 is anticipated by copending claim 4. Current claim 4 is anticipated by copending claim 2. Current claim 5 is anticipated by copending claim 8. Current claim 6 is anticipated by copending claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited with this application, may teach one or more claim features, but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting such that a rejection would be proper or reasonable under current Office practice and procedure. References A, B, C, N, O, P, cited with this application, are patent publications from the same inventive entity. References D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, cited with this application teach hair devices.
Monday, August 17, 2026
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753