DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to art rejection of claims 1-4 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The rejections are necessitated due to claim amendments by inserting a condition for performing certain steps.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2-4, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0005086) in view of Shivpure et al. (WO 2021/084375) further in view of Zheng (Pub. No. US 2017/0132458).
Regarding claim 1, Wolff teaches a thermal face and landmark detection method comprising the steps of: providing a ground truth (known face/feature) reference database [Para. 7 “match/compare the face representation template of an unknown individual with a stored database or gallery of face templates”; Para. 28 “Once both probes (unknown faces) and gallery (know faces) data have been mapped to the feature vector space, classification proceeds by considering the similarity between the probe and each gallery exemplar”. According to Dictionary of Computer Vision and Image Processing by R.B. Fisher © 2005, ground-truth: In performance analysis, the true value, or the most accurate value achievable, of the output of a specific instrument under analysis, for instance a vision system measuring the diameter of circular holes. Ground truth values may be known theoretically, e.g., from formulae, or obtained through an instrument more accurate than the one being evaluated; Therefore, known-face template gallery reads on ground-truth]; capturing a thermal image (face representation template) comprising at least one face [Para. 7 “In the present invention both video imagery sensed in a sub-spectrum of the reflective domain and video imagery sensed in a sub-spectrum of the thermal infrared domain are used to detect a face, create a face representation template, and match/compare the face representation template of an unknown individual with a stored database or gallery of face templates”; Para. 40 “the task of detecting a face at each respective remote location, acquiring the reflective spectrum/thermal infrared imagery of the detected face and reducing to a face representation template is done by the dedicated computer at that remote location.”, and 27]; applying a thermal face restoration filter method (non-uniformity correction (nuc) image pre-processing) to the thermal image (thermal infrared imagery), thereby creating a corresponding improved thermal image (clarify the image) [Para. 21 “Non-uniformity correction (NUC) image pre-processing, illustrated at 221 in FIG. 2, is used to clarify the image as illustrated at 204, and is required for thermal infrared imagery prior to use for face detection and further creation of a face representation template”]; applying a face detector (detector 230) to the improved thermal image creating a corresponding number of cropped improved face thermal images (cropped with corresponding masks) [Para. 27 “When a face is detected by detector 230 (FIG. 2), eyes for the face are then detected at detector 212 and this detector output is used for geometric normalization of the reflective video image as indicated at 214.”; and “These images are then sub-sampled and subsequently cropped with corresponding masks 215 and 225 that remove all but the inner face, thus eliminating the effect of background, hair, etc”].
However, Wolff doesn’t explicitly teach creating landmarked images by applying a landmark detector to improved cropped face image and apply recognition is on the landmarked image.
Shivpure teaches creating landmarked images (determine the position of eyes or eyebrows in the facial of the frames) by applying a landmark detector (facial landmark detection algorithm) to improved (image filtering and enhancement techniques) cropped face image (face region segmented in the frames) and [Para. 63, and 65].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wolff’s thermal-infrared face recognition method by incorporating Shivpure’s teaching of applying a landmark detector (facial landmark detection algorithm) to the improved (filtered and enhanced) cropped face (face region segmented in the frames) thermal image in order to create a landmarked (position of eyes or eyebrows) cropped face thermal image and placing the landmark processing state after image enhancement and face region isolation. This modification improves Wolff by localizing facial landmarks within enhanced facial regions, thereby reducing background noise interference and providing explicit spatial landmarks for recognition.
Wolff teaches applying face recognition (by comparing) on the cropped face thermal image against the reference database (gallery of images in a database) [Para. 28 “match the probe image with a gallery of images in a database.”; Para. 36 “Creation of the face representation template and subsequent use of this template to compare and match with existing templates for face recognition applications is performed by software operating on computer system 820” and “This software operating on computer 820 also performs the face detection process monitoring when a face is present in the scene of interest, and determines when to acquire imagery of unknown subjects, store imagery, create face representation templates, and perform matching comparisons for specified face recognition applications”].
However, Wolff in view of Shivpure doesn’t explicitly teach applying face recognition on the landmarked cropped face thermal image against the ground truth reference database.
Zheng teaches applying face recognition (hamming distance (HD) between a probe face and each gallery faces is calculated) on the landmarked (aligned (by proper scaling rotation, and translation) according to the face landmarks) cropped face (extracted (cropped)) thermal image against the ground truth (pre-existing database (gallery faces of herself/himself)) reference database [Para. 32, 34, 41 and 62].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wolff’s thermal infrared face recognition method, modified by Shivpure, by incorporating Zhang’s teaching to recognize the landmarked cropped face thermal image against the ground truth reference database, so that the cropped, landmark aligned thermal probe face is compared with stored gallery faces. This modification improves Wolff by normalizing probe face geometry around common landmark before database matching, thereby reducing scale, rotation, and translation variation and increasing matching reliability.
Regarding claim 3, Wolff in view of Shivpure teaches all claim limitations as stated above. Furthermore, Shivpure teaches wherein the step detecting the face in the thermal image comprises application (uses) of an object detector [Para. 63].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0005086) in view of Short et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0132458) further in view of Shivpure et al. (WO 2021/084375) and further in view of Zheng (Pub. No. US 2017/0132458).
Regarding claim 2, Wolff teaches a thermal face and landmark detection method comprising the steps of: providing a ground truth (known face/feature) reference database [Para. 7 “match/compare the face representation template of an unknown individual with a stored database or gallery of face templates”; Para. 28 “Once both probes (unknown faces) and gallery (know faces) data have been mapped to the feature vector space, classification proceeds by considering the similarity between the probe and each gallery exemplar”. According to Dictionary of Computer Vision and Image Processing by R.B. Fisher © 2005, ground-truth: is the true value, or the most accurate value achievable, of the output of a specific instrument under analysis, for instance a vision system measuring the diameter of circular holes. Ground truth values may be known theoretically, e.g., from formulae, or obtained through an instrument more accurate than the one being evaluated; Therefore, known-face template gallery reads on ground-truth];
capturing a thermal image (face representation template) comprising at least one face [Para. 7 “In the present invention both video imagery sensed in a sub-spectrum of the reflective domain and video imagery sensed in a sub-spectrum of the thermal infrared domain are used to detect a face, create a face representation template, and match/compare the face representation template of an unknown individual with a stored database or gallery of face templates”; Para. 40 “the task of detecting a face at each respective remote location, acquiring the reflective spectrum/thermal infrared imagery of the detected face and reducing to a face representation template is done by the dedicated computer at that remote location.” and para. 27]; applying a face detector (detector 230) to the thermal image, thereby detecting a face and creating a cropped face thermal image [Para. 21, and 27]; applying a method to the cropped face thermal image, thereby creating an improved cropped face (preprocessed face image) thermal image [Para. 27 and 29].
However, Wolff doesn’t explicitly teach applying a Gaussian filters method to the cropped face thermal image, thereby creating an improved cropped face thermal image.
Short teaches applying a Gaussian filters (difference of Gaussians (GoG) filter) method to the cropped face thermal image (stroke images), thereby creating (generate) an improved cropped face thermal image [Para. 28, 37, 40 and 41].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wolff’s post masking thermal face normalization stage by incorporating Short’s teaching of applying a Gaussian filters to the cropped face thermal image in order to create an improved cropped face thermal image. This modification improves Wolff by accentuating facial details and reducing high and low frequency noise, thereby producing a cleaner thermal face crop for subsequent landmark processing.
Wolff in view of Short doesn’t explicitly teach creating landmarked images by applying a landmark detector to improved cropped face image and apply recognition is on the landmarked image.
However, Shivpure teaches creating landmarked images (determine the position of eyes or eyebrows in the facial of the frames) by applying a landmark detector (facial landmark detection algorithm) to improved (image filtering and enhancement techniques) cropped face image (face region segmented in the frames) and [Para. 63, and 65].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wolff’s thermal-infrared face recognition method, modified by Short, by incorporating Shivpure’s teaching of applying a landmark detector (facial landmark detection algorithm) to the improved (filtered and enhanced) cropped face (face region segmented in the frames) thermal image in order to create a landmarked (position of eyes or eyebrows) cropped face thermal image and placing the landmark processing state after image enhancement and face region isolation. This modification improves Wolff by localizing facial landmarks within enhanced facial regions, thereby reducing background noise interference and providing explicit spatial landmarks for recognition.
Wolff teaches applying face recognition (by comparing) on the cropped face thermal image against the reference database (gallery of images in a database) [Para. 28 “match the probe image with a gallery of images in a database.”; Para. 36 “Creation of the face representation template and subsequent use of this template to compare and match with existing templates for face recognition applications is performed by software operating on computer system 820” and “This software operating on computer 820 also performs the face detection process monitoring when a face is present in the scene of interest, and determines when to acquire imagery of unknown subjects, store imagery, create face representation templates, and perform matching comparisons for specified face recognition applications”].
Wolff in view of Short further in view of Shivpure doesn’t explicitly teach applying face recognition on the landmarked cropped face thermal image against the ground truth reference database.
Zheng teaches applying face recognition (hamming distance (HD) between a probe face and each gallery faces is calculated) on the landmarked (aligned (by proper scaling rotation, and translation) according to the face landmarks) cropped face (extracted (cropped)) thermal image against the ground truth (pre-existing database (gallery faces of herself/himself)) reference database [Para. 32, 34, 41 and 62].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wolff’s thermal infrared face recognition method, modified by Short and Shivpure, by incorporating Zhang’s teaching to recognize the landmarked cropped face thermal image against the ground truth reference database, so that the cropped, landmark aligned thermal probe face is compared with stored gallery faces. This modification improves Wolff by normalizing probe face geometry around common landmark before database matching, thereby reducing scale, rotation, and translation variation and increasing matching reliability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff et al. (Pub. No. US 2004/0005086) in view of Shivpure et al. (WO 2021/084375) further in view of Zheng (Pub. No. US 2017/0132458) further in view of Askat Kuzedeuov (TFW: “Annotated Thermal Faces in the Wild Dataset”).
Regarding claim 4, Wolff in view of Shivpure further in views of Zheng doesn’t explicitly teach the step of detecting a face in the thermal image comprises application of an object detector.
However, Askat teaches wherein the object detector and the landmark detector are based on Yolo, especially YoloV5. [Section I paragraph 6 “As a baseline, we trained the YOLOv5 [1] object detection and YOLO5Face [2] face detection models on our dataset without changing their architectures and loss functions. The YOLO5Face model is the adapted version of the YOLOv5 model. we employed the YOLOv5 object detection model and its adapted version for face detection YOLO5Face”; section IV “RetinaFace and YOLO5Face face detection architectures use five facial landmarks as an extra supervision signal, while TinaFace is a general object detection model. In this work, we employed the YOLOv5 [1] object detection model and its adapted version for face detection YOLO5Face [2]”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wolff in view of Shivpure further in views of Zheng to incorporate object detector application YOLOv5 in the system of Askat; because the modification enables the system to improve thermal face and landmark detection by enabling accurate keypoint extraction and recognition in low quality thermal images using enhanced dataset and YOLO-based models.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOLOMON G BEZUAYEHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666