DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are presented for examination
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US Patent Application 20150112891).
As per claim 1, Watanabe teaches a power consumption management device [device shown in figure 8] comprising one or more processors [101, fig. 8] configured to perform operations comprising:
collecting performance information and power consumption of a server [0035, 0053, figure 3, as shown in figure 3 in step 1, the log information includes power consumption information as well as memory and CPU/GPU utilization information].
selecting items of the performance information serving as candidates for explanatory variables in a power consumption estimation model in which items of the performance information are used as the explanatory variables and the power consumption is used as an objective variable [0089, 0170-0172, as pointed out objective time information data is acquired where corresponding to plurality of explanatory variables for explaining the objective variable, where a selection unit configured to select, based on the parameter of the probability model having been obtained by the learning].
wherein the selecting excludes the items whose value changes are less than or equal to a predetermined value among the items of the performance information and further excludes the items using a multivariate analysis method to select the items [0068, 0136, 0173-0174, as pointed out the selection unit disregard unnecessary data. For example, the information processor 1 can select (automatically) only log information required for power estimation. Therefore, the person does not need to determine or select the kind of data to be acquired which is used for estimation of power consumption, and a burden on the person can be reduced. After one cycle of the learning process has been finished, the unnecessary log information does not need to be acquired in subsequent data collection process, model parameter learning process, and power consumption estimation process].
As per claim 3, Watanabe teaches the multivariate analysis method is a stepwise method, and the selecting includes selecting the items using the stepwise method with the selected and remaining items as the explanatory variables and the power consumption as the objective variable [0141-0142, where multiple pieces of the log data is selected like Bt and Dx where the deltas are calculated to provide a result].
As per claims 7-8, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claims 7-8 are also anticipated by Watanabe for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US Patent Application 20150112891) in the view of Matsuo (US Patent Application 20190073287).
As per claim 2, Watanabe does teach one or more processors are configured to perform the multivariate analysis method to calculate calculating a partial correlation coefficient of an item pair, and the selecting excludes one of the item pair when the partial correlation coefficient of the item pair is equal to or greater than a predetermined value.
However, Matsuo teaches one or more processors are configured to perform the multivariate analysis method to calculate calculating a partial correlation coefficient of an item pair, and the selecting excludes one of the item pair when the partial correlation coefficient of the item pair is equal to or greater than a predetermined value [0106-0107, fig. 21-22, as pointed out the correlation of the values are determined where values or result is based or specific condition. For example, correlation coefficient R.sup.2=0.9835, and thus a linear relationship is satisfied. However, the linear relationship is not satisfied for all cases. FIG. 23 is a diagram illustrating a relationship between a performance value and an operating frequency for a case where the application A1 is executed].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Watanabe to include the method of Matsuo to provide a function to perform correction of the data and make determination of the result.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (US Patent Application 20150112891) in the view of Saneyoshi (Japanese Patent JP2014137322A).
As per claim 4, Watanabe does not teach the operations further comprise generating the power consumption estimation model, wherein, in the model, which the items selected and the power consumption collected, or the items further reduced from the selected items in accordance with a device type of the server or a service on the server are used as the explanatory variables, and the power consumption is used as the objective variable.
However, Saneyoshi teaches power consumption management device according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise generating comprising a model generation unit configured to generate the power consumption estimation model, wherein, in the model, which the items selected by the selection unit from the performance information and the power consumption collected by the collection unit, or the items further reduced from the selected items in accordance with a device type of the server or a service on the server are used as the explanatory variables, and the power consumption is used as the objective variable [0024-0025, select performance power consumption based on the device type and device manufacturer].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the design of Watanabe to include the method of Saneyoshi to provide a way to perform pawer estimation based on the device type.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sato (US 20210041487) teaches power consumption estimation device.
Suzuki (US 20200379533) teaches storage medium job power estimation method and job power estimating device.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176