DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final First Office Action on the Merits in application 1/718,529, filed 6/11/2024.
Claims 1-25 were canceled in the preliminary amendment and claims 26-50 added.
Claims 26-50 are pending and examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/2/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-29, 33-34, 38 and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 27-29, 33-34, 38 and 43-44, the term “preferably” renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear as to what features are part of the claims and should be avoided.
In claims 41-42, it is not clear how “a cavity” and “a first cavity” and “a second cavity” interrelate. By changing the dependency of claims 41 and 42 to claim 40 and changing “a first/second cavity” to “a first/second of the cavities” the rejection would be overcome.
In claim 41, line 3, “the same cavity” has no antecedent basis and should be changed to “the first cavity” to overcome the rejection.
In claim 43, it is not clear how “a sheet of glazing material” and “a first/second sheet of glazing material”, of claim 26, interrelate. By changing the phrase in claim 43 to “one of the sheets of glazing material” the rejection would be overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-31 and 33-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margalit(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2011/0133940; cited on IDS filed) in view of Ribberink(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2020/0332593; cited on IDS filed).
Regarding claims 26-28, 31, 33, 38-39, 41-42 and 44, Margalit discloses a glazing unit(2, see para. [0031] and Figs. 1A-C and 2A-D) comprising:
a first sheet of glazing material/glass(4, see para. [0070]) comprising a first face and a second face;
a second sheet of glazing material/glass(8, see para. [0070) comprising a first face and a second face;
a cavity(10) comprising a gas between the first and second sheets of glazing material(see para. [0036]);
a physically adjustable element(53) at least partially within the cavity(see Fig. 1C);
and
one or more sensors(14 or 48, see para. [0083]),
wherein the second faces of the first and second sheets of glazing material are orientated towards the cavity(see Figs. 1A-C and 2A-D).
Margalit discloses physically adjustable elements 31 and/or 33 with the adjustment of the physically adjustable element(31, 33, see para. [0057]) is reversibly restrictable based on information from the one or more sensors and a feedback device activatable based on information from the one or more sensor(see para. [0056] and [0059]) but lacks the adjustment of the physically adjustable element(53) reversibly restrictable based on information from the one or more sensors(see para. [0057]; and/or
the heatable coating is reversibly activatable based on information from the one or more sensors.
It would have been well within the purview of a skilled artisan to have provided the inner adjustable element(53) capable of adjustment in response to a sensor in the same manner as disclosed for the external adjustable elements(31, 33) in order to have allowed for adequate adjustment of the unit given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the specific restricting means of the adjustment(see page 3, lines 33-35).
Therefore, the specific restriction is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof.
Margalit lacks the unit having a heatable coating suitable for heating the gas.
Ribberink discloses a glazing unit(101, see Fig. 1) comprising:
a first sheet of glazing material((104, see para. [0099] and Fig. 1; see also Figs 4-7 for variations of the number of sheets and cavities) comprising a first face(105) and a second face(106);
a second sheet of glazing material(109) comprising a first face(109) and a second face(110); one of the first sheet of glazing material and/or the second sheet of glazing material comprise a laminated sheet of glazing material(see Figs. 4 and 7),
a cavity(112) comprising a gas between the first and second sheets of glazing material(see para. [0100] and [0102]);
a physically adjustable element(131, see para. [00103] and Fig. 1) at least partially within the cavity(see Fig. 1) and controllable(see para. [0103]);
wherein the second faces of the first and second sheets of glazing material are orientated towards the cavity(see Fig. 1), and
a transparent conductive oxide heatable coating(see paras. [0065] and [0103]) on the second face within the cavity(therefore considered suitable to heat the gas therein; Figs. 4-7 shows additional sheets and cavities and alternative placements of the heating coating, see paras. [0126] and [0139]), the heatable coating is associated with a first cavity and the physically adjustable element is associated with the same cavity, a functional coating on a surface of the sheets(see paras. [0060] and [0066]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the glazing unit of Margalit with a heatable coating, such as disclosed by Ribberink, with a reasonable degree of success, in order to have heated the gas within the cavity. It would also have been obvious for a skilled artisan to have controlled the heating via the sensors provided in order to have allowed for controlled heating of the cavity given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof. The specific glazing material and coatings used and the placement of the coatings is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the specific placement of the heatable coating and physically adjustable element material (see page 10, lines 17-28).
Therefore, the specific placement of the heatable coating and physically adjustable element material is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof.
Regarding claim 29, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, wherein at least one of the one or more sensors(14) is at least partially between the first sheet of glazing material(4 and the second sheet of glazing material, at least partially within the cavity(see Fig. 1C of Margalit).
Regarding claim 30, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, wherein the one or more sensors(14, see paras. [0031] and [0035] and Fig. 1C of Margalit) comprise: a pressure sensor; and/or a glazing material sheet deflection sensor; and/or a temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 34, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, wherein the heatable coating comprises a transparent conductive layer(see para. [0065 of Ribberink) but lacks the layer being a noble metal.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the specific material used for the coating(see page 6, lines 10-21).
Therefore, the specific material is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof.
Regarding claim 35, Margalit and Ribberink discloses the glazing unit according to claim 26, wherein the cavity is defined in part by at least one spacer(12, se para. [0028] and Fig. 1C of Margalit).
Regarding claims 36-37, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, wherein the physically adjustable element comprises one or more of: a roller blind; one or more slats/venetian blind(see Fig. 1C or Margalit); one or more pleats, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 40, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, wherein the glazing unit comprises three of more sheets of glazing material separated by two or more cavities(see Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 43, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, wherein a sheet of glazing material comprises a solar control and/or low-emissivity coating, preferably a solar control and/or low emissivity coating comprising silver or a transparent conductive oxide(see solar panel in para. [0031] and solar collector in para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 45, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, further comprising a photovoltaic element(see paras. [0032] and [0055).
Regarding claim 46, Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 26, further comprising an electrical controller(20 of Margalit) suitable for: receiving information from the one or more sensors(see para. [0041]); controlling the restriction of the physically adjustable element(see para. [0056]); and controlling the activation of the heatable coating(the controller controls the elements of the unit and therefore obvious for a skilled artisan to also control any coatings as discussed above).
Regarding claim 47, Margalit and Ribberink disclose a process for manufacturing a glazing unit according to claim 26 wherein, prior to forming the glazing unit, a physically adjustable element is positioned between the first sheet of glazing material and the second sheet of glazing material(the physically adjustable element of both Margalit and Ribberink is within the cavity between the sheets and is therefore inherently performed as claimed, see at least Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 48, Margalit and Ribberink disclose a system comprising a glazing unit according to claim 26, further comprising an electrical controller suitable for: receiving information from the one or more sensors; controlling the restriction of the physically adjustable element; and controlling the activation of the heatable coating.
Regarding claim 49, Margalit and Ribberink disclose a method comprising installing the glazing unit according to claim 26 in a building(glazing units are considered inherently used in buildings) and utilizing the glazing unit to control the pressure of the gas in the cavity(the unit controls the temperature and therefore considered to control the pressure meeting the claim limitation).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margalit and Ribberink as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Bennington(9,328,906; cited on PTO 892).
Margalit and Ribberink disclose the glazing unit according to claim 31, but lack the feedback device comprises a light emitting device.
Bennington discloses an assembly having a sensor activating a feedback device/LED to perform a function.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the glazing unit of Margalit with an LED, such as disclosed by Bennington, with a reasonable degree of success, in order to have provided an indicator to the used when a specific function or situation is present given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof.
Claim 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Margalit and Ribberink as applied to claim 349 above, and further in view of Lange(U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2021/0230929; cited on PTO 892).
Margalit and Ribberink disclose the method of claim 49, wherein the glazing unit is installed in the building with a building interior and a building environment(considered inherent to a building using a window with a blind), but lacks the specific placement of the heatable coating is between the building interior and the physically adjustable element.
Lange discloses a building(see para. [0055]) with a glazing unit with a heatable member placed in a specific location to perform a specific function(see para. 0068).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to have best determined the location of the elements of the unit given the intended use of the unit and design requirements thereof.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BETH A. STEPHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Stephan/