DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending and currently under review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawawatari et al. (US 2014/0083576) in view of Otome et al. (US 2012/0031534); and alternatively over the aforementioned prior art and further in view of Ueyama et al. (EP3636789).
Regarding claim 1, Sawawatari et al. discloses an austenitic alloy having a composition as seen in table 1 below [0055-0073]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Sawawatari et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Sawawatari et al. is further silent regarding the necessary presence of any non-recited elements, which meets the recitation of “consisting of…” as claimed. Sawawatari et al. further teaches a steel yield strength of 689.1 MPa or higher, which overlaps with the claimed range [0080].
Sawawatari et al. does not expressly teach an inclusion of Al as claimed. However, Otome et al. discloses that it is known to include Al in steels for seamless pipes in an amount of 0.03 to 0.3 weight percent to improve hot workability [abstract, 0070-0071]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the steel of Sawawatari et al. by including Al for the aforementioned benefit of Otome et al. The examiner notes that the overlap between the Al amount of Otome et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Sawawatari et al. does not expressly teach the claimed formula (1). However, the examiner notes that formula (1) merely further limits the claimed Ni, Cr, and N amounts, which still overlaps with the disclosed ranges of Sawawatari et al. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Sawawatari et al. does not expressly teach a standard deviation of austenite grain size numbers as claimed. However, the examiner submits that a substantially similar, overlapping feature of austenite grain size standard deviations would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Sawawatari et al. One of ordinary skill would readily recognize that steel properties are directly influenced by steel composition and microstructure. The instant specification further expressly discloses that the claimed austenite grain size standard deviation feature is controlled to minimize strength anisotropy [0022-0025 instant specification]. Sawawawtari et al. discloses a substantially similar composition (as explained above), as well as an identical property feature of very low strength anisotropy [abstract], such that one of ordinary skill would expect the steel of Sawawatari et al. to have a substantially similar, overlapping microstructural feature of austenite grain size standard deviations absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Alternatively, Sawawatari et al. does not expressly teach the claimed austenite grain size standard deviation feature. Ueyama et al. discloses a similar austenitic steel pipe having low strength anisotropy [abstract, 0037-0038]; wherein a mixed grain ratio is controlled to be less than 5% and preferably 0% to achieve desired SCC resistance [0088-0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the steel of Sawawatari et al. by controlling a mixed grain ratio to be less than 5% and preferably 0% for the aforementioned benefit of Ueyama et al. The examiner notes that a mixed grain ratio of 0% would mean that no mixed grains are detected, wherein mixed grains refer to a heterogeneous grain having a grain size different by 3 points or more as defined by Ueyama et al. This feature overlaps with the claimed standard deviation value, which is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Sawawatari et al. (wt.%)
C
0 – 0.03
0 – 0.03
Si
0.01 – 1
0 – 1
Mn
0.01 – 2
0.3 – 5
P
0 – 0.03
0 – 0.03
S
0 – 0.005
0 – 0.03
Ni
29 – 36.5
23 – 52
Cr
23 – 27.5
20 – 30
Mo
2 – 6
0 – 9
Al
0.01 – 0.3
0.03 – 0.3 (Otome et al.)
Rare earth
0.016 – 0.1
0 – 0.2
N
0.22 – 0.5
0.005 – 0.5
O
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
W
0 – 6
0
Cu
0 – 2
0 – 3
Ca
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
Mg
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.01
V
0 – 0.5
0
Ti
0 – 0.5
0
Nb
0 – 0.5
0
Co
0 – 2
0
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Sawawatari et al. further overlaps with the claimed Cu amount. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 3-4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the alloy of claims 1-2 (see previous). Sawawatari et al. further teaches using the steel for pipes for oil country tubular goods made by Mannesmann pipe making, which one of ordinary skill would understand to be seamless [0002, 0009, 0077].
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734