DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. This application, filed June 11, 2024, is the national stage entry of PCT/JP2022/043663, filed November 28, 2022. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“display control unit,” in claims 1 and 20;
“display unit,” in claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20;
“determination unit,” in claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 12, 16-18, and 20;
“output control unit,” in claims 1-3, 5-11, 17, and 20; and
“measurement unit,” in claims 12-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 2, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wan et al. (US 2008/0309757 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wan discloses:
a display device ([0023]; Fig. 3: 22) comprising:
a display control unit that displays a video on a display unit ([0037]; FIG. 8: 335);
a determination unit that determines whether or not a person visually recognizing the display unit is closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance based on information acquired by a sensor ([0029], [0030]; FIG. 5: 222); and
an output control unit that outputs a first warning to the person when the determination unit determines that the person is closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance ([0031]; FIG. 6: 224).
Regarding claim 2, Wan discloses that after the first warning is output, the output control unit outputs a first warning screen on which an instruction to move away from the display unit is displayed as a second warning based on information acquired from the sensor. ([0030]; FIG. 5: 223)
Regarding claim 19, Wan discloses a method ([0003]); otherwise, claim 19 is rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Wan discloses a display program causing a computer to function ([0028]); the remainder of claim 20 is rejected as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan in view of Leung (US 2016/0026241 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wan does not disclose that the determination unit determines whether or not the person continues to be closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance for a predetermined time after the first warning is output, and the output control unit outputs a second warning to the person when the determination unit determines that the person continues to be closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance for a predetermined time.
Leung, in the same field of display devices, teaches a system and method for monitoring habits (including posture) of a registered user of an electronic device, and an electronic device including or otherwise making use of such system ([0002]), wherein a determination unit determines whether or not the person continues to be closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance for a predetermined time after the first warning is output, and the output control unit outputs a second warning to the person when the determination unit determines that the person continues to be closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance for a predetermined time ([0072]; FIG 5: 104, 105, 106) for the benefit of increasing the alerting effect to warn the user to pay attention to the viewing distance ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Leung with the device of Wan because that would have enabled the device to increase the alerting effect to warn the user to pay attention to the viewing distance.
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan.
Regarding claim 7, Wan does not explicitly disclose that the output control unit outputs a voice instruction to move away from the display unit together with the first warning screen, but Wan does disclose the first warning screen (see the rejection of claim 1), Wan does disclose a loudspeaker unit that sends out a warning information ([0031]; FIG. 6: 224), and Wan does disclose that the prior art discloses a voice instruction to move away from the display screen ([0008]) for the benefit of disturbing the person watching the screen when the person is too close to the screen ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the device of Wan in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the device to disturb the person watching the screen when the person is too close to the screen.
10. Claims 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan in view of Aizawa (US 2012/0147156 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wan discloses that the determination unit determines whether or not a person visually recognizing the display unit is closer to the display unit than at the predetermined distance by using the distance set by the measurement unit as the predetermined distance. (See the citations for the rejection of claim 1.)
Wan does not disclose:
a measurement unit that, when receiving a measurement request, measures a distance from a person located in a detection range of the sensor to the display unit based on information acquired by the sensor and sets the distance that has been measured as the predetermined distance
Aizawa, in the same field of display devices, teaches a display control apparatus suitably used for, for example, stereoscopic training a display control method, and a program ([0002]), comprising:
a measurement unit that, when receiving a measurement request, measures a distance from a person located in a detection range of the sensor to the display unit based on information acquired by the sensor and sets the distance that has been measured as the predetermined distance,
([0074]) for the benefit that a value of the threshold at which blurring is generated, may be changed based on a measured distance ([0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Aizawa with the device of Wan because that would have enabled the device to change a value of the threshold at which blurring is generated based on a measured distance.
Regarding claim 13, the above combination does not disclose that when receiving the measurement request, the measurement unit measures a distance from a person located in a detection range of an image sensor to the display unit based on analysis of an image captured by the image sensor.
Aizawa, in the same field of display devices, teaches a display control apparatus suitably used for, for example, stereoscopic training a display control method, and a program ([0002]), wherein when receiving the measurement request, the measurement unit measures a distance from a person located in a detection range of an image sensor to the display unit based on analysis of an image captured by the image sensor ([0074]) for the benefit that a value of the threshold at which blurring is generated, may be changed based on a measured distance ([0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Aizawa with the device of Wan because that would have enabled the device to change a value of the threshold at which blurring is generated based on a measured distance.
Regarding claim 14, the above combination does not disclose that that when receiving a predetermined distance setting request after measurement, the measurement unit sets the distance that has been measured as the predetermined distance.
Aizawa, in the same field of display devices, teaches a display control apparatus suitably used for, for example, stereoscopic training a display control method, and a program ([0002]), wherein when receiving a predetermined distance setting request after measurement, the measurement unit sets the distance that has been measured as the predetermined distance ([0074]) for the benefit that a value of the threshold at which blurring is generated, may be changed based on a measured distance ([0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Aizawa with the device of Wan because that would have enabled the device to change a value of the threshold at which blurring is generated based on a measured distance.
11. Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan in view of Lai (US 2012/0127325 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wan does not disclose that the determination unit determines whether or not the person is closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance based on analysis of an image captured by an image sensor.
Lai, in the same field of display devices, teaches a web camera device whereby the web camera device can keep a proper distance between eyes of the users and a display ([0008]), wherein a determination unit determines whether or not the person is closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance based on analysis of an image captured by an image sensor ([0058], [0061], [0064]; FIG. 4: 420) for the benefit that the distance between the user and web camera is calculated based on a head image, which is approximately equal to the distance between the eyes of the user and the display ([0030], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Lai with the device of Wan because that would have enabled the device to calculate the distance between the user and web camera based on a head image, which is approximately equal to the distance between the eyes of the user and the display.
Regarding claim 18, Lai further teaches:
an image sensor that is disposed so as to be close to the display unit and that images a direction facing the display unit ([0032]),
wherein the determination unit determines whether or not the person is closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance based on analysis of an image captured by the image sensor that is provided ([0058], [0061], [0064]; FIG. 4: 420),
for the benefit that the distance between the user and web camera is calculated based on a head image, which is approximately equal to the distance between the eyes of the user and the display ([0030], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Lai with the device of Wan because that would have enabled the device to calculate the distance between the user and web camera based on a head image, which is approximately equal to the distance between the eyes of the user and the display.
12. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan and Lai further in view of Huang (US 2015/0190048 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the above combination does not disclose:
the determination unit determines whether or not a person recognized in the image is visually recognizing the display unit based on estimation of a skeleton of the person and
the output control unit outputs a first warning to the person when the determination unit determines that the person is closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance and that the person is visually recognizing the display unit.
Huang, in the same field of display devices, teaches a computer with a video monitor, a video camera, and a human-user input device ([0049]), wherein:
the determination unit determines whether or not a person recognized in the image is visually recognizing the display unit based on estimation of a skeleton of the person ([0118], [0127]), and
the output control unit outputs a first warning to the person when the determination unit determines that the person is closer to the display unit than at a predetermined distance and that the person is visually recognizing the display unit ([0127]),
for the benefit that the system measures the viewing distance when the image of the face may be captured by a camera and displayed in an eye monitor area ([0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Huang with the display of the above combination because that would have enabled the display to measure the viewing distance when the image of the face may be captured by a camera and displayed in an eye monitor area.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are objected to for the same reasons as claim 3 because claims 4, 6, and 9 depend from claim 3.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10 because claim 11 depends from claim 10.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689