DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4, 14-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/05/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada (US 20060197250) listed in IDS and JP2007001298 translation attached hereinafter JP’298 listed in IDS dated 06/11/2024 in view of Iwanuma (US 20150217354) and Ienaga (US 20240278700) further in view of JP 2017131901 translation attached hereinafter JP’901.
Regarding claim 5 Shimada discloses manufacturing apparatus for a seat-pad reinforcing cloth which is to be used for a vehicular seat, the manufacturing apparatus comprising ([0054]): a molding die over which a seat-pad reinforcing cloth material is to be put in order to mold the seat-pad reinforcing cloth the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material being designed to have a shape fitting the molding die just right; (Figure 1 mold die-20, [0044], [0054]). Shimada didn’t disclose an upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device configured to perform heat-pressing molding from above on an upper end portion of the molding die.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’298 discloses an upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device configured to perform heat-pressing molding from above on an upper end portion of the molding die , out of a seat upper ridge line portion of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die (Figure 1, central mold die-1, heat pressing mold device upper portion-2a with heater 4a, [0038]), a rear portion, which has not been subjected to the pressing molding by the upper- end-portion heat-pressing molding device, out of the seat upper ridge line portion of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die (Figure 1 showing ridge lines making U surface with a plane surface, rear portion-2b’ with heater-4b’); and a front-portion heat-pressing molding device configured to perform heat-pressing molding on a front portion, which has not been subjected to the heat-pressing molding by the upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device, out of the seat upper ridge line portion of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die (Figure 1 showing ridge lines making U surface with a plane surface, [0036], front portion-2b with heater-4b).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Shimada’s teaching with that of the heat pressing molding device taught by JP’298 for the purpose of firmly fixing the laminate on the molding die.
The above combination of Shimada and JP’298 didn’t disclose that to generate creases in a periphery of a rear part of a portion of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material, which has been subjected to the heat-pressing molding from above. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Iwanuma discloses that during the hot press wrinkles/creases are generated ([0031]); therefore combining Iwanuma with JP’298 the limitation a rear-portion heat-pressing molding device configured to perform pressing molding on, together with the creases generated due to the pressing molding by the upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device will be met.
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art with Shimada’s teaching and that of the heat pressing molding device taught by JP’298 combined with Iwanuma’s wrinkles formed during hot press for the purpose of ensuring some design features on the product.
Further the above combination didn’t disclose that wherein the molding die is a molding die made of a resin, which is shaped by a 3D printer and . In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Ienaga discloses that the resin body can be made of 3D printer ([0076], [0117])
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Shimada and that of the heat pressing molding device taught by JP’298 with the teaching of 3D printer shaped molding die taught by Ienaga for the cost effective production of the product
The above combination didn’t particularly disclose that the mold is shaped by 3D printer and has a hybrid die structure formed of resins of different materials. wherein the resins of different materials include a heat-resistant resin and a non-heat-resistant resin. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’901 discloses mold die is made of a heat-resistant resin i.e. a curable reactive resin and a non-heat-resistant resin ([0026], translated) .
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Shimada and that of the heat pressing molding device taught by JP’298/Ienaga combined with JP’901 hybrid die resin properties for the purpose of different heating requirements in the molding die while being heat pressed.
Further, JP’298 discloses the surface of the central mold-1 which are in contact with the heat pressed upper , front and rear molding dies that are shown in Figure 3 , which is a portion of the molding die, to which heat is to be applied by each of the upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device, the rear-portion heat-pressing molding device and the front-portion heat-pressing molding device, is formed of the heat-resistant resin (Figure 3, JP’298; heat resistant resin can be used in these parts taught by JP’901), and wherein a portion of the molding die, to which no heat is to be applied by each of the upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device, the rear-portion heat-pressing molding device and the front-portion heat-pressing molding device, is formed of the non-heat-resistant resin (Figure 3, discloses the surface of the central mold-1 which are not in contact with the heat pressed upper , front and rear molding dies; non heat resistant resin can be used in these parts taught by JP’901).
Regarding Claim 6 JP’298 discloses apparatus for a seat-pad reinforcing cloth , wherein a heat-pressing portion of the upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device has a shape following a shape of an upper end portion of the molding die ([0037], Figure 10), a heat-pressing portion of the rear-portion heat- pressing molding device has a shape following a shape of a rear portion of the molding die ([0037], Figure-10), and a heat-pressing portion of the front-portion heat-pressing molding device has a shape following a shape of a front portion of the molding die ([0037], Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 7 JP’298 discloses apparatus for a seat-pad reinforcing cloth, wherein the seat upper ridge line portion of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die is present on an upper side from a middle of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die (away from the centre on two edges, Figures 1-4).
Regarding Claim 8 JP’298 discloses apparatus for a seat-pad reinforcing cloth, further comprising: a one-side-surface heat-pressing molding device configured to perform heat-pressing molding on one side surface of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die ( Figure 9, one side heat press molding device-15, [0061]); an another-side-surface heat-pressing molding device configured to perform heat-pressing molding on another side surface of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die (Figure 9, one side heat press molding device-15, [0061]); and a demolding mechanism configured to automatically/routinely demold the seat- pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die (Figure 9, sheet member 9 is omitted, [0078]).
Regarding Claim 9 JP’298 discloses apparatus for a seat-pad reinforcing cloth, wherein the one-side-surface heat-pressing molding device and/or the another-side-surface heat-pressing molding device is a sandwiching heat-pressing molding device configured to perform heat-pressing molding by sandwiching the one side surface (Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 11 JP’298 discloses that cutter is used to trim the edges of the cloth a cutting line forming device configured to form a cutting line in a part of the one side surface or the another side surface of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die, along a ridge line of the one side surface or the another side surface (Figure 9A-9D,([0061]).
Regarding Claim 13 Shimada disclose that molding die, which is to be used for the manufacturing apparatus for a seat-pad reinforcing cloth,and over which a seat-pad reinforcing cloth material designed to have a shape fitting the molding die just right is to be fit,the molding die comprising (Figure 2 , mold-20, [0044], [0054])
Shimada didn’t disclose that a hollow die/porous body which is made of a resin, and which is shaped by a 3D printer. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Ienaga discloses that the resin body/porous can be made of 3D printer ([0076], [0117])
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Shimada with the teaching of 3D printer shaped molding die taught by Ienaga for the cost-effective production of the product.
Further, Shimada/Inaega combined disclose a suction port formed in the hollow die body (Figure 13, [0099], Shimada; hollow/porous body-1, Ienaga); and a hook for pick provided on the hollow die body (pick-23, Shimada),
The above combination didn’t particularly disclose that the mold is shaped by 3D printer and has a hybrid die structure formed of resins of different materials wherein the resins of different materials include a heat-resistant resin and a non-heat-resistant resin.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’901 discloses mold die is made of a heat-resistant resin i.e. a curable reactive resin and a non-heat-resistant resin ([0026], translated).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Shimada and that of the heat pressing molding device taught by JP’298/Ienaga combined with JP’901 hybrid die resin properties for the purpose of different heating requirements in the molding die while being heat pressed.
Further, JP’298 discloses the surface of the central mold-1 which are in contact with the heat pressed upper , front and rear molding dies that are shown in Figure 3 , which is a portion of the molding die, to which heat is to be applied by each of the upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device, the rear-portion heat-pressing molding device and the front-portion heat-pressing molding device, is formed of the heat-resistant resin (Figure 3, JP’298; heat resistant resin can be used in these parts taught by JP’901), and wherein a portion of the molding die, to which no heat is to be applied by each of the upper-end-portion heat-pressing molding device, the rear-portion heat-pressing molding device and the front-portion heat-pressing molding device, is formed of the non-heat-resistant resin (Figure 3, discloses the surface of the central mold-1 which are not in contact with the heat pressed upper , front and rear molding dies; non heat resistant resin can be used in these parts taught by JP’901).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada (US 20060197250) and JP2007001298 translation attached hereinafter JP’298 listed in IDS dated 06/11/2024 in view of Iwanuma (US 20150217354) and Ienaga (US 20240278700) further in view of JP 2017131901 translation attached hereinafter JP’901 as applied in Claim 8 further in view of Harding (US 6165531)
Regarding Claim 10 Shimada/JP’298 discloses manufacturing apparatus for a seat-pad reinforcing cloth with demolding meachanism, but did not include that wherein the demolding mechanism includes a mechanism configured to perform pick-and-place on the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Harding discloses demolding mechanism includes a mechanism configured to perform pick-and-place (Col 8 line 62-65).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Shimada/JP’298 and that of the teaching demolding mechanism with pick-and-place taught by Harding for the purpose of improved demolding mechanism (col 8 line 62)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada (US 20060197250) and JP2007001298 translation attached hereinafter JP’298 listed in IDS dated 06/11/2024 in view of Iwanuma (US 20150217354) and Ienaga (US 20240278700) further in view of JP 2017131901 translation attached hereinafter JP’901 as applied in Claim 11 further in view of CN 101733556 translation attached hereinafter CN’556 .
Regarding Claim 12 JP’298 discloses that cutter is used to trim the edges of the cloth a cutting line forming device configured to form a cutting line in a part of the one side surface or the another side surface of the seat-pad reinforcing cloth material put over the molding die, along a ridge line of the one side surface or the another side surface (Figure 9A-9D,([0061]) but didn’t disclose that cutting line forming device is a Co2 laser marker.
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Shimada/JP’298 and that of the teaching of CN’556 laser maker for the purpose of more focused with high precision and high quality cutting effect.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741