DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0285904 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Nordstrom U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0282105 (hereinafter Nordstrom) and further in view of Obata et al. U.S. Patent 5,018,082 (hereinafter Obata).
Consider claim 1, Kim teaches an air floating video information display system forming an air floating video in air (Figure 2, S; [0097], video; [0099], aerial image), comprising: a video display apparatus configured to display at least a video of one object (Figure 2, S); a retroreflector configured to form the air floating video in air by retroreflecting video light emitted from the video display apparatus [0099]; a sensing system configured to include a sensor for detecting a user's operation on the air floating video ([0106] and figure 2, sensor 215 and sensor 213); a housing configured to include the video display apparatus and the retroreflector (Figure 2, 201); and a controller circuitry configured to execute a predetermined processing based on the detected operation [0106], wherein, in response to approach of the user to the housing being detected, the controller circuitry is configured to control the video display apparatus to display the video of the object as the air floating video ([0104], when it is determined that the user has approached the electronic device 200 based on information detected through the first sensor 213, the electronic device 200 (e.g., the processor 11) may output an image representing a function for playing back a music file through the display panel 235 or an image representing an operation mode switching function. [0097] The display panel 235 may output an image, a video, or the like).
Kim does not appear to specifically mention wherein the controller circuitry is further configured to: determine the user to be either a first user who gets used to the operation or a second user who does not get used to the operation, based on authentication of the user or acquisition of attributional information of the user, perform a second processing of performing a guidance about the operation to the user by using a concierge serving as a human image displayed on the air floating video if the user is the second user.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Nordstrom teaches expert user to provide instructions to the novice in [0003] and further teaches wherein the controller circuitry (Figure 1, 100) is further configured to: determine the user to be either a first user who gets used to the operation or a second user who does not get used to the operation, based on authentication of the user or acquisition of attributional information of the user ([0017], novice users can identify. [0032], expert), perform a second processing of performing a guidance about the operation to the user by using a concierge serving as a human image displayed on the air floating video if the user is the second user (Figure 3, 1b-4b; [0045], representation 310 of the right hand 300 of the expert user is superimposed in the novice's view at a location. [0046], Mimicking motions can be detected in any of a variety of appropriate ways, such as by monitoring motions performed within a window of time (e.g., previous 5 seconds, previous 10 seconds) to determine whether the motions match or resemble at least a portion of the motions performed by the expert user, based on an cue from the user that he/she is about to attempt a mimicking motion (e.g., verbal cue such as "here goes," physical cues such as changes in posture or breathing patterns), and/or based on a prompt from the computing device associated with the novice user 204 to attempt to perform the expert user's action. Example mimicking motion by the novice user 204 is depicted in view 2b of FIG. 3. For instance, in view 2b the novice user places his/her right hand 318 at the correct location (at the rotatable connector 312) but does not place his/her left hand 320 in the appropriate corresponding location (trap 316). Instead, the novice user has placed his/her left hand 320 at a location (crown 322) that does not correspond to the placement of the expert user's left hand 308 at the trap 304. [0047], the computing system that is associated with the novice user 204 can additionally provide feedback that indicates where, if at all, the novice user's mimicking motion has deviated from the motion performed by the expert user 202, as indicated by step C3 (216). [0047], While the user is performing the motion 402, deviations 404 from the representations 400 can be highlighted and provided to the user as visual feedback).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide expert feedback as taught by Nordstrom with the benefit that users can readily obtain personalized help from experts without meeting in-person. For instance, a user who is located several hours from the nearest expert in a particular field (e.g., plumbing, fly fishing, surgery) can obtain personalized instruction from an expert in the relevant field instantly from a remote location without having to meet the expert in person as suggested in [0005].
Nordstrom does not appear to specifically disclose or perform a first processing of causing the concierge to eliminate or simplify the guidance if the user is the first user, and change the first processing to the second processing if it is detected in the first processing that the user is performing the operation while the operation stops for a long time during predetermined time after separation of a finger tip of the user detected by the sensing system from a plane of the air floating video.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Obata teaches a guidance message display control system (abstract), and change the first processing to the second processing (Figure 6, steps 4, 6, 7 in comparison to steps 4-5). Thus, the combination of Nordstrom and Obata teach or perform a first processing of causing the concierge to eliminate or simplify the guidance if the user is the first user (Obata: Figure 6, steps 4-5 and user), and change the first processing to the second processing if it is detected in the first processing that the user is performing the operation while the operation stops for a long time during predetermined time (Obata: Figure 6, time out, steps 4, 6) after separation of a finger tip of the user detected by the sensing system from a plane of the air floating video (Obata: column 5, lines 53-55, when the operation time is more than the timer value, due to a time lag or incorrect operation. Nordstrom suggests air floating video in [0045-0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the first processing to second processing as taught by Obata with the benefit that a skill control device operatively connected to the status control device for controlling the user's skill level so as to increase or decrease the speed of each input execution step in accordance with the time elapsed, guidance display interval and correctness of the input operation as suggested in column 2, lines 11-41.
Consider claim 6, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches an imager configured to capture an image of the user, wherein the approach of the user is detected based on the image of the user captured by the imager ([0104], [0107], camera).
Consider claim 9, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein an operation menu including at least two or more options is displayed as the air floating video (Figure 31a and [0279]).
Consider claim 15, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches a communication portion configured to perform wireless communication with a mobile terminal held by the user (Figure 24a and [0262]).
Consider claim 16, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, Kim teaches wherein information of the user transmitted from the mobile terminal is received based on the wireless communication (Figure 24a and [0262]).
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 8, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Nordstrom and Obata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dolignon et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0012916 (hereinafter Dolignon).
Consider claim 2, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the object has a shape serving as a human image.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Dolignon teaches an holographic virtual assistant (abstract), wherein the object has a shape serving as a human image ([0031], [0044] and figure 1a, 122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an human image since it can be animated to appear to be conversing with the user and for the purpose of virtual assistance as suggested in [0031] and [0044].
Consider claim 3, Kim, Nordstrom and Dolignon teach all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, Dolignon teaches wherein the human image is the concierge [0044], [0054] and [0065], see motivation in claim 2.
Consider claim 4, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches when the approach of the user to the housing is detected, an image serving as the object is displayed first ([0104], figure 31a), and then, an operation menu is displayed, as the air floating video ([0279], figure 31b-d).
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose a human image.
However, Dolignon teaches a human image ([0031], [0044] and figure 1a, 122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an human image since it can be animated to appear to be conversing with the user and for the purpose of virtual assistance as suggested in [0031] and [0044].
Consider claim 5, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches wherein, when the approach of the user to the housing is detected, image is displayed as the air floating video [0104].
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose both a human image serving as the object and an operation menu are displayed as the air floating video.
However, Dolignon teaches wherein, when the approach of the user to the housing is detected ([0059], a user who is interested in the provided first encounter may step forward to approach the virtual assistant kiosk), both a human image serving as the object and an operation menu are displayed as the air floating video ([0077], a wine assistant virtual kiosk can begin an interaction with a user by introducing itself as a wine expert and queries the user about menu options).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an human image since it can be animated to appear to be conversing with the user and for the purpose of virtual assistance as suggested in [0077].
Consider claim 7, Kim, Nordstrom, Obata and Dolignon teach all the limitations of claim 4.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to identify the user, and change display from display of the human image serving as the object to display of the operation menu, based on a result of the identification.
However, Dolignon teaches wherein the controller is configured to identify the user, and change display from display of the human image ([0043], a head/face avatar holographic representation can be customized, e.g., altered in appearance, based on the user demographics of the user 116. A face/head avatar can be presented at different ages, genders, or the like depending on the demographics of the user 116) serving as the object to display of the operation menu, based on a result of the identification [0077].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify users as taught by Dolignon to make appropriate suggestions as suggested in [0034] and [0061].
Consider claim 8, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose an imager configured to capture an image of the user, wherein the user is identified based on the image of the user captured by the imager.
However, Dolignon teaches an imager configured to capture an image of the user [0029], wherein the user is identified based on the image of the user captured by the imager [0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify users as taught by Dolignon to make appropriate suggestions as suggested in [0034] and [0061].
Consider claim 10, Kim, Nordstrom, Obata and Dolignon teach all the limitations of claim 3.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose the concierge and an operation menu including at least two or more options are displayed as the air floating video, and a guidance about an operation of the operation menu is performed by a video and audio of the concierge.
However, Dolignon teaches the concierge ([0077], wine expert) and an operation menu including at least two or more options are displayed as the air floating video ([0077], menu options, wines; holographic image of the wine and details), and a guidance about an operation of the operation menu is performed by a video and audio of the concierge ([0077], provide directions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an human image since it can be animated to appear to be conversing with the user and for the purpose of virtual assistance as suggested in [0077].
Consider claim 12, Kim, Nordstrom, Obata and Dolignon teach all the limitations of claim 3.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to acquire attributional information of the user, determine a condition including determination of whether the user is at least either a user who uses the air floating video information display system at the first time or a user whose age is equal to or higher than a predetermined age, based on the attributional information, and causes the concierge serving as the air floating video to perform a guidance to the user meeting the condition.
However, Dolignon teaches wherein the controller circuitry is configured to acquire attributional information of the user, determine a condition including determination of whether the user is at least either a user who uses the air floating video information display system at the first time or a user whose age is equal to or higher than a predetermined age, based on the attributional information ([0043], a head/face avatar holographic representation can be customized, e.g., altered in appearance, based on the user demographics of the user 116. A face/head avatar can be presented at different ages, genders, or the like depending on the demographics of the user 116), and causes the concierge serving as the air floating video to perform a guidance to the user meeting the condition ([0034], age of the user 116, to provide information of airport bars).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use age in order to provide proper information such as airport bars as suggested in [0034].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Nordstrom and Obata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwanami U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0228129 (hereinafter Iwanami).
Consider claim 11, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose a super-directive loudspeaker configured to output an audio signal that is audible only for the user.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Iwanami teaches a agent in figure 1 and further teaches a super-directive loudspeaker configured to output an audio signal that is audible only for the user [0074].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a directional speaker as taught by Iwanami so that only user can hear agent sound as suggested in [0074] or for the purpose of privacy.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Nordstrom, Obata and Dolignon as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Naor et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0159027 (hereinafter Naor).
Consider claim 13, Kim, Nordstrom, Obata and Dolignon teach all the limitations of claim 10.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose the controller is configured to execute a processing of issuing a document, based on the detected operation, and a part of the housing includes an ejection port for the document.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Naor teaches a travel kiosk 350 in figure 3 and further teaches the controller circuitry is configured to execute a processing of issuing a document, based on the detected operation, and a part of the housing includes an ejection port for the document ([0029], dispense an airline ticket).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to issuing a document as taught by Naor with the benefit that the traveler 310 may book and manage his or her travel information and print a ticket as suggested in [0029].
Consider claim 14, Kim, Nordstrom, Obata, Dolignon and Naor teach all the limitations of claim 13. In addition, Kim teaches wherein the air floating video information display system is a kiosk terminal (Figure 2 and abstract, stand). In addition, Naor teaches a kiosk terminal having a function of issuing a ticket or an administrative document as the document [0029], see motivation in claim 13.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Nordstrom and Obata as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Naor.
Consider claim 17, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 15.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to execute a processing of issuing a document, based on the detected operation, and transmit information of the document to the mobile terminal, based on the wireless communication.
However, Naor teaches wherein the controller circuitry is configured to execute a processing of issuing a document, based on the detected operation [0029], and transmit information of the document to the mobile terminal, based on the wireless communication [0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit information as taught by Naor so that user should receive a boarding pass, a ticket, coupons to stores in the terminal, his or her trip destinations, current frequent flyer points as suggested in [0036].
Consider claim 18, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kim teaches air floating video [0097].
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein code information to be read by a mobile terminal of the user is displayed
However, Naor teaches wherein code information (Figure 7, codes related to boarding pass) to be read by a mobile terminal of the user is displayed [0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display information a number of selections ("purchase ticket," "view schedule," "change flight," etc.) may be selected via motion inputs as suggested by Naor.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Nordstrom and Obata as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Subramanian et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0185525 (hereinafter Subramanian).
Consider claim 19, Kim, Nordstrom and Obata teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim does not appear to specifically disclose an imager configured to capture an image of the user, wherein code information displayed on a mobile terminal of the user is read by the imager.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Subramanian teaches a ticket printing kiosk in [0056] and further teaches an imager configured to capture an image of the user (Figure 2a, 208), wherein code information displayed on a mobile terminal of the user is read by the imager ([0058], scans boarding pass QR codes from a mobile phone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an imager or reader as taught by Subramanian with the benefit that the reader 208 may be configured as a QR code reader that scans boarding pass QR codes from a mobile phone as suggested in [0058].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (see new reference Obata).
Conclusion
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621