DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a package comprising a releasable adhesive, wherein at least one of the facing first faces are adhered to each other via releasable adhesive comprising a strip-shaped region and at least one-spot shaped region, as required in claim 1; or at least one of the facing faces that are attached to another first faces of the packages are attached via releasable adhesive, the releasable adhesive comprises at least three regions of releasable adhesive; wherein at least one of the three regions of releasable adhesive is spot-shaped; in combination with at least one of the three regions of releasable adhesive is strip-shaped, as required in claim 17, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gamberini (GB 2,261,648).
Claim 1
Gamberini discloses a collation of packages (2), each package of the collation being cuboid-shaped and comprising a pair of opposing first faces (defined by front and rear faces), a pair of opposing second faces (defined by top and bottom faces) and a pair of opposing end faces (defined by right and left side faces); wherein the packages are arranged in rows such that a second face of a package faces a second face of an adjacent package within the same row, and a first face of a package in a row faces a first face of a package in an adjacent row, a second face of a package at the ends of each row being exposed (see figure 3); wherein at least one of the facing first faces, and at least one of the facing second faces, respectively, are adhered to each other using releasable adhesive (5) such that the packages are held together in the collation; and wherein the releasable adhesive comprises at least one strip-shaped region of adhesive and at least one spot-shaped region of releasable adhesive; and wherein at least one of the facing first faces are adhered to each other via releasable adhesive comprising a strip-shaped region and a spot-shaped region (see figure 3 and page 3 lines 20-25 and page 4 lines 1-10).
Claim 2
Gamberini further discloses each of the facing first faces are adhered to each other using releasable adhesive comprising at least one strip-shaped region of releasable adhesive (see figure 3).
Claim 3
Gamberini further discloses a plurality of strip-shaped regions (defined by areas where adhesive strip 5 is disposed) of releasable adhesive adhering each of the facing first faces to each other (see figure 3 and page 5 lines 6-10).
Claim 4
Gamberini further discloses at least one strip-shaped region extends at an angle/parallel (defined by either 0 or 180 degrees from each other) at least one other strip-shaped region (see figure 3).
Claim 5
Gamberini further discloses each of the facing second faces are adhered to each other using releasable adhesive comprising at least one strip-shaped region of releasable adhesive (see figure 3).
Claim 6
Gamberini further discloses a plurality of strip-shaped regions (defined by areas where adhesive strip 5 is disposed) of releasable adhesive adhering each of the facing second faces to each other (see figure 2).
Claim 7
Gamberini further discloses at least one strip-shaped region extends at an angle/parallel (defined by either 0 or 180 degrees from each other) to at least one other strip-shaped region (see figures 2 and 3).
Claim 10
Gamberini further discloses at least one strip-shaped region (defined by areas where adhesive strip 5 is disposed) extends in a direction parallel to a top plane defined by one end face/top or bottom faces of each package in the collation (see figure 3).
Claim 11
Gamberini further discloses at least one strip-shaped region (defined by areas where adhesive strip 5 is disposed) extends in a direction at an angle/parallel (defined by either 0 or 180 degrees from each other) to a top plane defined by one end face of each package in the collation (see figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamberini (GB 2,261,648).
Claim 17
Gamberini discloses a collation of packages (2), each package of the collation being cuboid-shaped and comprising a pair of opposing first faces (defined by front and rear faces), a pair of opposing second faces (defined by top and bottom faces) and a pair of opposing end faces (defined by right and left side faces); wherein the packages are arranged in rows such that a second face of a package faces a second face of an adjacent package within the same row, and a first face of a package in a row faces a first face of a package in an adjacent row, a second face of a package at the ends of each row being exposed; wherein at least one of the facing first faces, and at least one of the facing second faces, respectively, are adhered to each other using releasable adhesive (5) such that the packages are held together in the collation (see figure 1, figure above, page 3 lines 20-25 and page 4 lines 1-10); and wherein for at least one of the facing first faces attached via the releasable adhesive comprises strip-shaped, and the opposing second faces comprises strip-shaped releasable adhesive (see figure 3). Gamberini discloses the releasable adhesive could be disposed in any of the opposing pair of first, second, and third end faces of the packages (see figures 2 and 3). Gamberini does not explicitly discloses at least one of the first facing faces comprising three regions of releasable adhesive comprising spot-shaped and strip-shaped. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gamberini having strip-shaped and spot-shaped releasable adhesive disposed in at least the opposing first faces of the packages since it is a matter of obvious design the releasable adhesive disposed in the faces of the packages because it would perform the function of attaching multiple packages together equally well. Please note Applicant specification does not disclose any criticality for the disclosure of at least one facing first faces comprising spot-shaped and strip shaped releasable adhesive.
Claims 26 and 27
Gamberini further discloses the at least one strip-shaped region extends in a direction at an angle/parallel (defined by either 0 or 180 degrees from each other) to a top plane defined by one end face of each package in the collation (see figures 1-3).
Claims 9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamberini (GB 2,261,648) as applied to claim 1 or 17 above, and further in view of Beasley (5,115,916).
Claims 9 and 25
Gamberini does not disclose at least one strip-shaped region extends in a direction perpendicular to a top plane defined by one end face of each package in the collation. However, Beasley discloses a package (10) comprising multiple containers (12, 14, 16, and 18) attached together by fasteners (42 and 44) disposed perpendicular to top or bottom ends of the containers (see figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gamberini having the adhesive strip placed perpendicular to top or bottom end faces of the packages as taught by Beasley since it is a matter of design choice the direction the releasable adhesive extends in relation to the packages.
Claims 15 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamberini (GB 2,261,648) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dragic (CA 2,131,765).
Claim 15 and 28
Gamberini does not disclose explicitly discloses the releasable adhesive is transparent. However, Dragic discloses multiple containers attached together using releasable adhesive/hot melt or cold adhesive (62 and 64), wherein the adhesive allows the containers to be separated after sale allowing consumption of a product from each container independently of each other (see page 4 lines 32-37, page 5 lines 1-2, page 7 lines 23-25 and page 8 lines 4-7). It is noticed that hot melt adhesive is usually transparent. It is known cold-melt adhesive is transparent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adhesive of Gamberini being either cold or hot melt adhesive as taught by Dragic since the uses of hot and/or cold melt adhesives are known releasable adhesives in the art.
Note: The examiner presents the teachings of DeWolf (US 6,666,332) as an evidence that releasable/non-binding hot and cold adhesives/glue are transparent (see column 3 lines 18-44).
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamberini (GB 2,261,648) as applied to claim 17 above.
Claim 18
Gamberini further discloses each of the facing first faces are adhered to each other with at least three regions (defined by areas where adhesive 5 is disposed) of releasable adhesive. From the argument Gamberini does not disclose the first faces adhered to each other in at least three regions, Gamberini, embodiment of figure 1, discloses the first face of the packages adhered to each other with at least three regions of releasable adhesive. In addition, Gamberini, embodiment of figure 3, discloses the end faces of the packages adhered to each other with at least three regions of releasable adhesive. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the adhesive strips for adhesive spots in the second faces of the packages of Gamberini as an alternative attachment of the packages from the side faces.
Claim 21
Gamberini further discloses at least one of the facing second faces are adhered to each other with at least two regions of releasable adhesive (see figure 2). Gamberini, embodiment of figure 2, does not disclose the second faces are adhered to each other with at least three regions of releasable adhesive. However, Gamberini, embodiment of figure 1, discloses the first face of the packages adhered to each other with at least three regions of releasable adhesive. In addition, Gamberini, embodiment of figure 3, discloses the end faces of the packages adhered to each other with at least three regions of releasable adhesive. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the adhesive strips for adhesive spots in the second faces of the packages of Gamberini as an alternative attachment of the packages from the side faces.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamberini (GB 2,261,648) in view of Dragic (CA 2,131,765).
Gamberini discloses a collation of packages (2), each package of the collation being cuboid-shaped and comprising a pair of opposing first faces (defined by front and rear faces), a pair of opposing second faces (defined by right and left side faces) and a pair of opposing end faces (defined by top and bottom faces); wherein the packages are arranged in rows such that a second face of a package faces a second face of an adjacent package within the same row, and a first face of a package in a row faces a first face of a package in an adjacent row, a second face of a package at the ends of each row being exposed; wherein at least one of the facing first faces, and at least one of the facing second faces, respectively, are adhered to each other using releasable adhesive (5) such that the packages are held together in the collation (see figure 1, figure above, page 3 lines 20-25 and page 4 lines 1-10). Gamberini does not disclose explicitly discloses the releasable adhesive is transparent. However, Dragic discloses multiple containers attached together using releasable adhesive/hot melt or cold adhesive (62 and 64), wherein the adhesive allows the containers to be separated after sale allowing consumption of a product from each container independently of each other (see page 4 lines 32-37, page 5 lines 1-2, page 7 lines 23-25 and page 8 lines 4-7). It is noticed that hot melt adhesive is usually transparent. It is known cold-melt adhesive is transparent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adhesive of Gamberini being either cold or hot melt adhesive as taught by Dragic since the uses of hot and/or cold melt adhesives are known releasable adhesives in the art.
Note: The examiner presents the teachings of DeWolf (US 6,666,332) as an evidence that releasable/non-binding hot and cold adhesives/glue are transparent (see column 3 lines 18-44).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that Gamberini does not disclose a releasable adhesive comprising at least one strip-shaped region and at least one spot-shaped region, the examiner disagrees. Figure 3 of Gamberini discloses the packages comprising spot-shaped releasable adhesive in one face of the package and strip-shaped releasable adhesive in another face of the package. Regarding applicant’s argument of the rejection of claim 30 for the transparent releasable adhesive, the examiner points out that transparent releasable adhesives are well-known in the art. DeWolf is shown as evidence that binding and nonbinding adhesives comprising transparent cold or hot glues are known. The examiner points out that transparent adhesives are commonly used in packages. Furthermore, the examiner noticed that no criticality is in any of the claims for the adhesive being transparent because none of the claims are directed to the type of adhesive and its importance. Accordingly, it appears that the rejection based on Gamberini in view of Dragic is still a proper and valid rejection for claims 15, 28 and 30.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736