DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “the upper locking pawl (14)”, which appears to refer to “a first locking pawl (14) of claim 1. Thus it is suggested that Applicant amend the limitation to --the first locking pawl (14)-- to maintain consistency between the claims.
Claim 5 recites “the lower locking pawl (16)”, which appears to refer to “a second locking pawl (16) of claim 1. Thus it is suggested that Applicant amend the limitation to --the second locking pawl (14)-- to maintain consistency between the claims.
Claim 8 recites “the load cell(s)”, which appears to suggest a singular/plurality of load cells. However, the parent claim only recite “a load cell”. Thus, it is suggested that Applicant amend the recited limitation to --the load cell --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lervik (US Publication 2020/0339225).
With regards to claim 1, Lervik discloses a chain load monitoring unit (FIG. 1) comprising
a main body (10) with a first locking pawl (30a, b) and a second locking pawl (20a, b) connected by respective shafts (50), said first locking pawl (30a, b) and second locking pawl (20a, b) are each arranged to receive and hold respective chain links of a chain (12; [0042]) and to transfer the load on the chain (12) to the shafts (50; [0054]),
wherein respective shafts (50) comprise attachable locking clamps (22a, b; FIG. 4; [0044]), which when attached to the shafts (50) locks the first locking pawl (30a, b) and the second locking pawl (20a, b) at a load transferring distance between each other ([0078]), characterized in that
at least one of said shafts (50) comprises a load cell (one of “load cells”; [0056]) connected to a logger unit (“monitor the tension” in [0056-0057] suggests a unit connected to the load cell to read the data), said load cell ([0056]) is arranged to read tension in the tensioned shaft (50) taking up the load ([0056-0057]),
wherein the locking clamps (32a, b; FIG. 4) are attachable between the second locking pawl (20a, b) and a first clamp support (including 40) at a lower part of the shaft (50), and
wherein the first locking pawl (30a, b) is fixedly connected to the shafts (50; [0042]) and the second locking pawl (20a, b) is slidably mounted on the shafts (see 20 sliding as seen in FIG. 4-5).
With regards to claim 2, Lervik discloses the chain load monitoring unit (FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the load cell (load cell under upper 20; [0056]) is mounted on the shaft (50; [0056-0057]) and is placed on a load cell support (54) above the upper (see claim objection above) locking pawl (30a, b).
With regards to claim 4, Lervik discloses the chain load monitoring unit (FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the load cell ([0056]) is integrated (“fitted”) in the shaft (50; [0056-0057]).
With regards to claim 5, Lervik discloses the chain load monitoring unit (FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the locking clamps (32a, b; FIG. 4) are attachable below the lower (see claim objection above) locking pawl (20a, b).
With regards to claim 6, Lervik discloses the chain load monitoring unit (FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein a lower part of each shaft (50) comprises a first clamp support (40) and a second tool support (43), said first clamp support (40) and second tool support (43) being spaced apart to provide a circumferential slot (see slot within 43; FIG. 4-5) for accommodating a part of an installation tool (it is noted that the installation tool is a part usable with the chain load monitoring unit and does not further distinguish the claimed invention from those of Lervik. Thus, Lervik is capable of accommodating an appropriate part of an installation tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lervik (US Publication 2020/0339225) in view of Tokhtuev et al. (US Publication 2011/0079491; hereinafter Ring).
With regards to claim 3, Lervik teaches the chain load monitoring unit according to claim 2. However, Lervik is silent regarding wherein an upper fastener for load cell load transfer is placed on the shaft and above the load cell.
Tokhtuev teaches a chain tension monitor apparatus (abstract) comprising a load cell (50; FIG. 2). Tokhtuev further teaches an upper fastener (215) for load cell load transfer is placed on above the load cell ([0026]; FIG. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the fastener as taught by Tokhtuev to the fasten the load cell as taught by Lervik with reasonable expectation to fastening the load cell ([0026]; Tokjtuev) at the intended location
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lervik (US Publication 2020/0339225) in view of Ring et al. (US Publication 2014/0008083; hereinafter Ring).
With regards to claim 7, Lervik teaches the chain load monitoring unit (FIG. 1) according to claim 1. However, Lervik is silent regarding wherein the logger unit comprises an acoustic modem for transfer of data.
Ring teaches a setting tool for liner hangers (abstract) comprising a load cell ([0050]) and a logger unit (receiving unit, [0050]). Ring further teaches the logger unit comprises an acoustic modem for transfer of data ([0050]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the acoustic modem as taught by Ring to the logger unit as taught by Lervik to transmit the data to the operator with reasonable expectation of monitoring the tension as originally intended.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lervik (US Publication 2020/0339225) in view of Rainone et al. (US Patent 10,814,773; hereinafter Rainone).
With regards to claim 8, Lervik teaches the chain load monitoring unit (FIG. 1) according to claim 1. However, Lervik is silent regarding wherein the chain load monitoring unit comprises a battery pack for the load cell(s) (see claim objection above) and the logger unit.
Rainone teaches a cargo restrain tension control and monitoring system (abstract). Rainone further teaches the chain monitoring unit comprises a battery pack (108) for the load cell (110) and the logger unit (109; col. 7, lines 5-30; FIG. 9).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the battery pack as taught by Rainone to the chain monitoring unit as taught by Lervik to provide power to the logger unit and load cell (col. 8, lines 23-26; Rainone).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior arts on record fail to anticipate and/or suggest the combination of the claimed invention. Specifically, the prior arts fail to teach, inter alia, the limitations of an installation tool usable with the chain load monitoring unit of claims 9-15, a method of installing the chain load monitoring unit using the installation tool as required by claims 16-19, and a hybrid riser system using the chain load monitoring unit as required by claims 20-21.
The limitations of claims 9-21 include features that are specific to using the chain load monitoring unit, which is structurally different from those of the closest prior art, Lervik (see above). Thus, it would not have been obvious to combine the installation tool and/or perform method to use an installation tool with the chain load monitoring unit of Lervik.
Conclusion
/QXN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853