Detailed Action1
Election/Restriction
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 8-16, in the reply filed on August 7, 2025 is acknowledged.
America Invents Act Status
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: a torque generation member in claim 1.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Therefore, the torque generation member is interpreted as an elongated member having a solid cross section over a portion of its length, made from elastic/resilient material, and having a through hole extending orthogonally to the length direction, wherein the through hole has a diameter less than the outer diameter of the screw thread so that the screw thread deforms the torque generation member and the torque generation member applies pressure to the threads.
Rejections under 35 USC 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2013103303-A (“Nakatomi”).
Regarding claim 1, Nakatomi discloses a feed mechanism (fig. 1, para. [0001], wherein all references to the Nakatomi specification refer to the machine translation submitted herewith) comprising: a base (11); a movable body (12/13/16) (figs. 1 & 10, paras. [0029] & [0052]-[0053]); a feed screw (15) configured to move the movable body relative to the base (para. [0023]); and a torque generation member (16b) formed with a female thread that is threadedly engaged with the feed screw (figs. 5a-5d, paras. [0042]-[0046]), wherein one of the movable body and the base is formed with a housing hole (16a) extending in a direction orthogonal to the feed screw, and the torque generation member is housed in the housing hole (figs. 3 & 5, paras. [0022] & [0035]-[0036]). The examiner also notes that hole 18a of the base 11 can be interpreted as the housing hole since it extends vertically, i.e. orthogonal to the feed screw, and houses the nut 16 and the torque generation member 16b (figs. 1b & 6).
Regarding claim 2, Nakatomi further teaches one of the movable body and the base is formed with a female thread (i.e. thread of nut member 16) that is threadedly engaged with the feed screw (figs. 3-5, paras. [0030]-[0031]).
Claims 3 and 8 each recite the female thread is generated in the torque generation member by use of the feed screw. Nakatomi teaches the feed screw forming the female thread of the torque generation member 16b due to the resilient and elastic nature of the torque generation member (compare figs. 5c & 5d, paras. [0005] & [0042]-[0046]).
Regarding claims 4 and 9-10, Nakatomi further teaches the torque generation member has an approximately cylindrical shape (figs. 1b, 3b, 5, 9 & 10b, paras. [0039] & [0044], wherein the torque generation member 16b is an elongated member with a circular cross-section, i.e. cylindrical).
Claims 5 and 11-13 each recite the movable body is formed with the housing hole in which the torque generation member is housed, and the torque generation member is exposed on a surface of the movable body. Nakatomi teaches the housing hole 16a to be in element 16 of the movable body (figs. 3 & 5). Further, the torque generation member 16b is exposed on the inner circumferential surface of element 16 of the movable body in order to allow the torque generation member to engage with the feed screw (see figs. 5c & 5d).
Claims 6 and 14-16 each recite the base is formed with the housing hole in which the torque generation member is housed. As illustrated in figs. 1b & 6 of Nakatomi, the base 11 comprises a hole 18a extending vertically, i.e. orthogonal to the feed screw, that houses the nut 16 and the torque generation member 16b. Claims 6 and 14-16 also recite the movable body is formed with an access hole accessible to the torque generation member. When interpreting the housing hole as hole 18a of the base, the central threaded hole of the nut 16 is interpreted as the access hole as it allows the feed screw to engage with the torque generation member 16b (fig. 1b & 5d).
Conclusion
/KYLE A COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726
1 The following conventions are used in this office action. All direct quotations from claims are presented in italics. All information within non-italicized parentheses and presented with claim language are from or refer to the cited prior art reference unless explicitly stated otherwise.