DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17, and 19-21 as filed 6/11/2024 are pending herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/11/2024 and 6/09/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim limitations: “platform” (Claim 1/9/21), and “at least one wheel” (Claim 1/9/21 – figures and disclosure only provide for two wheels, and unclear how one wheel would look/function), and “a slot” (Claim 16), “a first member of the first stroller board mount and a pin receiving space defined on a second member of the first stroller board mount” (Claim 19 – not shown), must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: REMOVABLY MOUNTED STROLLER BOARD
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities for which appropriate correction is required: The claims recite: “defines 1)….2)” (Claim 1, line 7-9, and similarly in Claim 9), which should all be rewritten to remove the numbers not enclosed in parentheses. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities for which appropriate correction is required: The claims recite: “wherein, when” (Claim 2, line 1, and similarly in Claims 3, 5, and 15), which should all be rewritten as “wherein.” Appropriate correction is required
Claim 7/16 is objected to because of the following informalities for which appropriate correction is required: Claim 7/16 recites: “insertion/removal axis”, which is unclear and should be rewritten. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitations: “having a structure that defines 1) an interior that is configured to slidably receive a terminal end of a first stroller mount of the stroller to couple the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount or 2) a protrusion having a terminal end that is configured to be slidably received in an interior of the first stroller mount of the stroller to couple the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount” (Claim 1, line 7-9, and similarly in Claim 9) is unclear as optional claiming style and therefore renders the claims indefinite. See Claim 21 for guidance of non-optional style claiming structure. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
Claims 1-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitations “having a structure” (Claim 1/9/11) and “including a structure” (Claim 2/3/13) is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
Claims 1-17, 19-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitations in Claim 1/9/21: “at least one wheel” is unclear (see above drawing objection) and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitations “defines 1) an interior configured to slidably receive a terminal end of the first stroller mount or 2) a protrusion having a terminal end configured to be slidably received in an interior of the first stroller mount” is unclear optional claiming style and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cousin (US 7,581,737 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Cousin discloses: A stroller board (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 1) removably mountable to a stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 5), the stroller board comprising:
a child support platform (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 2) including at least one wheel (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 3) which, when the stroller board is in a use position, rests on the ground (See, e.g., Fig.1-7);
a first arm (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 4) extending between a first end coupled to the child support platform and a second end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 10); and
a first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 11+12) coupled to the second end of the first arm (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 10), the first stroller board mount having a structure that defines 1) an interior that is configured to slidably receive a terminal end of a first stroller mount of the stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 13) to couple the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount or 2) a protrusion having a terminal end that is configured to be slidably received in an interior of the first stroller mount of the stroller to couple the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Cousin discloses: wherein, when the first stroller board mount includes a protrusion (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 53) having a terminal end configured to be slidably received in an interior of the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 69), the protrusion is a bayonet-style mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7) and, when the first stroller board mount includes a structure configured to slidably receive a terminal end of the first stroller mount, the structure configured to slidably receive a terminal end of the first stroller mount includes a recess configured to receive a bayonet-style mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 69).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Cousin discloses: wherein, when the first stroller board mount includes a structure configured to slidably engage the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 53), the first stroller mount defines a locking cavity extending transverse to a direction of travel of the first stroller mount as it is inserted into the first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 69), the locking cavity being configured to receive therein a projection of the first stroller board mount to releasably lock the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 51+53+66).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Cousin discloses: wherein the projection is a latch movable relative to the structure to releasably lock the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, Cousin discloses: wherein, when the first stroller mount is coupled to the first stroller board mount, the latch is movable relative to the first stroller mount between a lock position in which the latch extends into a locking cavity in the first stroller mount and a release position in which the latch is withdrawn from the locking cavity (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, Cousin discloses: wherein the structure defines a stop configured to define a maximum insertion distance of the first stroller mount into the first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 54).
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, Cousin discloses: wherein the structure includes lateral sides which constrain motion of the first stroller mount relative to the first stroller board mount permitting only insertion into the first stroller board mount and removal of the first stroller mount from the first stroller board mount along an insertion/removal axis (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 53).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, Cousin discloses: wherein the first stroller board mount is rotatable relative to the first arm so that the stroller board is rotatable relative to a stroller to which the stroller board is mounted between the use position and a stowed position (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, Col.5,Ln.26-35: “Although it is stated that the rim 30 of the ferrule 71 [sic – 17] is oriented in such a manner that the sleeve is indexed in position relative to the ferrule, it is possible to provide notches over a fraction only of the rim so as to leave the platform with a certain degree of freedom in pivoting relative to the pushchair when in use, thus serving to accommodate irregularities of the ground without stressing the connection between the pushchair and the platform, and while still allowing the platform to be indexed in a storage position against the pushchair”).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Cousin discloses: A system for coupling a stroller board (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 2) to a stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 5), comprising: a stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 5) including a first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 13); and a stroller board (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 2) releasably coupleable to the stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), the stroller board including: a child support platform (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 2) including at least one wheel (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 3) which, when the stroller board is in a use position, rests on the ground (See, e.g., Fig.1-7);
a first arm (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 4) extending between a first end coupled to the child support platform (See, e.g., Fig.1-7) and a second end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 10); and
a first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, ) coupled to the second end of the first arm (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 11+12), the first stroller board mount having a structure that defines 1) an interior configured to slidably receive a terminal end of the first stroller mount or 2) a protrusion having a terminal end configured to be slidably received in an interior of the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Cousin discloses: wherein the stroller includes a first child seat mounted on a frame of the stroller above the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 5).
[Claim 17] Regarding Claim 17, Cousin discloses: wherein the first stroller board mount is rotatable relative to the first arm (See, e.g., Fig.1-7) and wherein the first stroller board mount includes a locking mechanism configured to lock the first arm in a desired rotational position relative to the first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 30+17; Col.5,Ln.26-35: “Although it is stated that the rim 30 of the ferrule 71 [sic – 17] is oriented in such a manner that the sleeve is indexed in position relative to the ferrule, it is possible to provide notches over a fraction only of the rim so as to leave the platform with a certain degree of freedom in pivoting relative to the pushchair when in use, thus serving to accommodate irregularities of the ground without stressing the connection between the pushchair and the platform, and while still allowing the platform to be indexed in a storage position against the pushchair”).
[Claim 19] Regarding Claim 19, Cousin discloses: wherein the locking mechanism includes a pin on a first member of the first stroller board mount and a pin receiving space defined on a second member of the first stroller board mount, the first and second members of the first stroller board mount being rotatable relative to one another (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 17+30+etc.).
[Claim 20] Regarding Claim 20, Cousin discloses: wherein the pin receiving space includes a locking detent adjacent thereto including a cantilevered member that deflects under a contact force from the pin permitting the pin to move into the pin receiving space (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 17+30+etc.).
[Claim 21] Regarding Claim 21, Cousin discloses: A stroller board (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 1) removably mountable to a stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 5), comprising:
a child support platform (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 2) including at least one wheel (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 3) which, when the stroller board is in a use position, rests on the ground to maintain the child support platform in a desired position (See, e.g., Fig.1-7);
a first arm (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 4’) extending between a first end coupled to the child support platform and a second end (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 10’);
a first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 20+53) coupled to the second end of the first arm (See, e.g., Fig.1-7), the first stroller board mount being configured to slidably couple to a first stroller mount of a stroller (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 60) to which the stroller board is to be coupled (See, e.g., Fig.1-7); and
a first projection (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 53) extending from the first stroller board mount and positioned thereon so that, when the first stroller board mount reaches a mounting position on the first stroller mount, the first projection extends into a locking cavity of the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7, 69) to releasably lock the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cousin in view of Grodkiewicz et al. (US 11,820,419 B2).
[Claim 11] Regarding Claim 11, Cousin fails to explicitly teach: further comprising: a second child seat removably mountable on the stroller, the second child seat including a first seat mount having a structure that defines 1) an interior configured to slidably receive a terminal end of the first stroller mount or 2) a protrusion having a terminal end configured to be slidably received in an interior of the first stroller mount.
However, Grodkiewicz teaches a similar stroller (See, e.g., Grodkiewicz: Fig.1-14, 10) with a first child seat (See, e.g., Grodkiewicz: Fig.1-14, 18+20) mounted above a stroller platform (See, e.g., Grodkiewicz: Fig.1-14, 40) further comprising: a second child seat (See, e.g., Grodkiewicz: Fig.1-14, 10) removably mountable on the stroller (See, e.g., Grodkiewicz: Fig.1-14, 10), the second child seat including a first seat mount (See, e.g., Grodkiewicz: Fig.1-14) having a structure that defines 1) an interior configured to slidably receive a terminal end of the first stroller mount or 2) a protrusion having a terminal end configured to be slidably received in an interior of the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Grodkiewicz: Fig.1-14).
Grodkiewicz teaches that it is well known in the art of stroller design to provide a second child seat mounted on the stroller. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Cousin modified to include the second child seat mounted on the stroller such as taught by Grodkiewicz, for the purpose of conveniently providing the stroller with a second seat to accommodate an additional child during transport. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 12] Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Cousin in view of Grodkiewicz teaches: wherein the first stroller mount is positioned at a rear of the stroller (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7).
[Claim 13] Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Cousin in view of Grodkiewicz teaches: wherein the first stroller board mount includes a structure configured to slidably engage the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7, 53) and wherein the first stroller mount defines a locking cavity (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7, 69) extending transverse to a direction of travel of the first stroller mount as it is inserted into the first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7, 53), the locking cavity being configured to receive therein a projection of the first stroller board mount to releasably lock the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7, 51+53+66).
[Claim 14] Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Cousin in view of Grodkiewicz teaches: wherein the projection is a latch movable relative to the structure to releasably lock the first stroller board mount to the first stroller mount (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7).
[Claim 15] Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Cousin in view of Grodkiewicz teaches: wherein, when the first stroller mount coupled to the first stroller board mount, the latch is movable relative to the first stroller mount between a lock position in which the latch extends into a locking cavity in the first stroller mount and a release position in which the latch is withdrawn from the locking cavity (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7).
[Claim 16] Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Cousin in view of Grodkiewicz teaches: wherein the first stroller mount includes a slot open to the locking cavity (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7, 51+66+etc.), the slot slidably receiving the latch as the first stroller mount is inserted into the first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7), the slot extending parallel to an insertion/removal axis along which the first stroller mount is coupled to and removed from the first stroller board mount (See, e.g., Cousin: Fig.1-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613