DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference characters "1" and "2" have both been used to designate display member. Page 5, line 2 recites “display member 1” and line 3 recites “display member 2”. See paragraph 0021 and 0032.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5915852 to Rogers.
Regarding claim 1, Rogers teaches an evidence marker comprising more than one edge; a backing member (14, 514) having at least one of said edges(22, 522); a display member (base panel 16, 516) having more than one of said edges (panel 16 has opposite edges 28 and 30 and outer edge 32 and panel 516 has a rectangular cut-out area at 525 and has edges 528, 529, 530, 531 and 532); wherein at least one of said edges (22 and 522) is shared by the backing member (14, 514) and the display member (16, 516); wherein the display member (16, 516) is not substantially perpendicular or parallel to the backing member.
Regarding claim 3, Rogers teaches comprising apertures (hole 64, figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Rogers teaches the display member (16, 516) extends from the backing member (14, 514) at an angle that optimizes visibility of said display member (16, 516) when the placard is affixed to a surface (wall 160, figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Rogers teaches the backing member (14, 514) is continuous.
Regarding claim 6, Rogers teaches the display member (16, 516) is continuous.
Regarding claim 7, Rogers teaches the backing member (14, 514) is rigid (column 5, lines 49-51).
Regarding claim 8, Rogers teaches display member (16, 516) is rigid (column 5, lines 49-51).
Regarding claim 9, Rogers teaches the backing member is planar.
Regarding claim 10, Rogers teaches the display member is planar.
Regarding claim 11, Rogers teaches an evidence marker comprising more than one edge; a backing member (14, 514) having at least one of said edges (panel 16 has opposite edges 28 and 30 and outer edge 32); more than one display member (12 and 16; 512 and 516, wherein each of said display members has more than one of said edges; wherein at least one of said edges (22, 522) is shared by the backing member (14, 514) and at least one of said display members (16, 516); wherein at least one of the display members (16, 516) is not substantially perpendicular or parallel to the backing member.
Regarding claim 13, Rogers teaches comprising apertures (hole 64, figures 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Rogers teaches the backing member (14, 514) is continuous.
Regarding claim 15, Rogers teaches the display member (16, 516) is continuous.
Regarding claim 16, Rogers teaches the backing member (14, 514) is rigid (column 5, lines 49-51).
Regarding claim 17, Rogers teaches display member (16, 516) is rigid (column 5, lines 49-51).
Regarding claim 18, Rogers teaches the backing member is planar.
Regarding claim 19, Rogers teaches the display member is planar.
Regarding claim 11 and 20, Rogers teaches an evidence marker comprising more than one edge; a backing member (12, 512) having at least one of said edges; more than one display member (14 and 16; 514 and 516, wherein each of said display members has more than one of said edges; wherein at least one of said edges (18, 518) is shared by the backing member (12, 512) and at least one of said display members (14, 514); wherein at least one of the display members (14, 514) is not substantially perpendicular or parallel to the backing member.
Regarding claim 20, Roger teaches at least one of said edges (22, 522 is shared between display members.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5915852 to Rogers in view of US 6243958 to Ringley, Jr. (Ringley).
Rogers does not teach the placard comprising an illumination system.
Ringley teaches an illuminated evidence marker comprising a battery powered light unit 12 for illuminating the marker.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct evidence marker taught by Rogers with a battery powered light unit as taught by Ringley with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to illuminate the marker.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show a placard comprising a backing member and a display member: KR 19980038924 to Jongyoung Son; US 5724757 to Warden; US 3624688 to Miller; US 2720044 to Montalto; and US 1448823 to Bernard.
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631