Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 95 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6,412,501 to Onoda in view of US Patent 5,884,640 to Fishkin.
In Reference to Claims 1-4
Onoda discloses a substrate drying device comprising: a dry tank (Fig. 1, as showed) in which a plurality of substrates are aligned at a predetermined pitch; a treatment liquid supply part (Fig. 1, 97) that supplies a treatment liquid to the dry tank; an organic solvent supply part (Fig. 1, 105) that supplies an organic solvent to the dry tank; and an inert gas supply part (Fig. 1, 98) that supplies an inert gas to the dry tank, wherein the dry tank is provided with a substrate support part (Fig. 1, 5) that supports the plurality of substrates,
Onoda dose not teach an interval securing member
Fishkin teaches an interval securing member (Fig. 4, 170) that is driven to come proximate to ends of the plurality of substrates supported by the substrate support part and secure an interval between the substrates. (The Office considers the at secure an interval as the result of recited structure. Since the item 170 is a holding clamp, therefore, the relative position between substrates would be hold)
the interval securing member (Fig. 4, Fishkin shows a plurality of holding clamp 170) includes a first interval securing member that comes proximate to first ends of the plurality of substrates and a second interval securing member that comes proximate to second ends of the plurality of substrates.
the first ends are lower than the second ends, and wherein the substrate drying device further comprises: a first driving part that drives (Col. 8, Line 30-40 teaches: the control system actuates the holding clamps 170 to press their holding surfaces 64 against the substrate 55) the first interval securing member; and a second driving part that drives the second interval securing member. (AS showed in Fig. 4, 2 holding clamps are positioned above 2 holding clamps)
a controller, wherein the controller operates the first driving part and the second driving part at different timings. (Col. 8, Line 30-40 teaches: the control system actuates the holding clamps 170 to press their holding surfaces 64 against the substrate 55)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Fishkin into the design of Onoda. Doing so, would result in the holding clamp of Fishkin being integrated into the system of Onoda. Both inventions of Fishkin and Onoda are in the same field of invention, Fishkin teaches a method of securing the substrate position (Col. 8, 55-60) with a predictable result of success.
In Reference to Claims 5 and 6
Onoda discloses the substrate drying system.
Onoda does not teach the clamp holding system.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Fishkin into the design of Onoda. Doing so, would result in the holding clamp of Fishkin being integrated into the system of Onoda. Both inventions of Fishkin and Onoda are in the same field of invention, Fishkin teaches a method of securing the substrate position (Col. 8, 55-60) with a predictable result of success.
The combination of Onoda and Fishkin does not teach the detail operation step of the holding clamp.
Fishkin teaches a controller controlling the operation of the clamp, (Col. 8, Line 30-40 teaches: the control system actuates the holding clamps 170 to press their holding surfaces 64 against the substrate 55), Fishkin does not teach the operation steps of the clamp, However, according to MPEP: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
In Reference to Claim 7
Onoda discloses substrates are hold be the support 5.
Onoda does not teach the pitch angle. At the time before the effective filing date, it would have been common practice, which normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient, which is mere changes in shape unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.IV.B Therefore, it would have been a matter of obviousness rationale to have the substrate pitched as required angle of Onoda Reference to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
In Reference to Claim 9
Onoda discloses the plurality of substrates are placed in the dry tank with being contained in a carrier (Fig. ), and the substrate support part comes in contact with the plurality of substrates via a lower space of the carrier,
Onoda does not teach the interval securing member.
Fishkin teaches the interval securing member (Fig. 4, 170) comes proximate to the plurality of substrates via an upper space of the carrier. (as showed in Fig. )
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Fishkin into the design of Onoda. Doing so, would result in the holding clamp of Fishkin being integrated into the system of Onoda. Both inventions of Fishkin and Onoda are in the same field of invention, Fishkin teaches a method of securing the substrate position (Col. 8, 55-60) with a predictable result of success.
In Reference to Claim 10
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None prior art teaches the securing member has a part protruding into the gaps between substrates.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762